View Full Version : 12v LEDs for under gunnel lighting

Tunzafun
31-01-2010, 01:54 PM
Does anybody know where I can get hold of some 12v LED strip lights to mount under the gunnels for down lighting while night fishing? Would really need to be waterproof as I generally give it a goiod spray up there when cleaning the boat (its amazing where scales finish up).

Have tried Jayco etc but they don't have anything suitable.

Leighton
31-01-2010, 02:17 PM
http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?t=158450&highlight=lighting

leelee
31-01-2010, 03:16 PM
I use BLUEWATER LEDS -

http://www.bluewaterled.com/

Conatac Mike via email and he will answer all your questions and offers a lifetime warranty on the ligths so thats whatdid the deal for me. A few of us have them here in QLD.

Yes you really do want them waterproof because the salt air will get into them no matter what.

Lee

black runner
31-01-2010, 08:44 PM
Tunzafun,

I just fitted some fully sealed units under the gunwhales - available from whitworths. Made some ally brackets (extrusion from bunnings) for fixing to the gunwhale braces which angles them nicely out to the floor.

These are 4 led $14 but they do have 6 or 8's

01-02-2010, 06:49 AM
For strip LED's that are waterproof look here
http://www.besthongkong.com/
or more specificallyfor the waterproof strips look here http://www.besthongkong.com/index.php?cPath=21_71

Delivery in less then a week and great service.
I get all my LED's here.

01-02-2010, 07:29 AM

For the best LEDs and all commercial grade, speak with Lindsay at CreateLED, in at Rivergate. 33905050

timddo
01-02-2010, 07:33 AM
i paid $21 delived from Hong khong for the same waterproof strips for 2.1 meters ( 3 x 72cm lengths).

Postage cost $12 though. Those lights are superbright.

Paul007
01-02-2010, 09:59 AM
Where did you order your lights from Tim do you know what the part number was.
That is one of the probelm I have with ordering those sort of things online, it's hard to know what you are geting, so I prefer to buy on a reccomendation of someone who is happy with the product.

timddo
01-02-2010, 10:06 AM
Dude here is a link

straight from ebay
http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Car-Blue-72-LED-Flexible-Strip-Waterproof-Light-Bulb_W0QQitemZ170429120631QQcmdZViewItemQQptZAU_Ca r_Parts_Accessories?hash=item27ae5e0077

Cost is bugger all. I have had 2 on my boat for the last 2 years. Just getting a few more

Paul007
01-02-2010, 10:17 AM
Thanks for that link. They are for blue ones. Do you use blue or white?

01-02-2010, 11:01 AM
I'd be using red for under the gunnel.
The red saves night vision.

On mine I used a set of red and a set of white. I only use the white when I need the extra brightness.

Volcano
01-02-2010, 04:04 PM
I've just completed this excercise.
Bought a 5m roll of the same stuff timmdo is talking about with 100 waterproof endcaps from a wholesaler in china delivered for about $120.
Cut the strip light so it was 3 LED sections, soldered 200mm of wire between them and used 3M tape to stick them under my gunwhales. Worked a treat.

JB
01-02-2010, 04:33 PM
I fit a set of boat light fishing .com versions... google it. They are excellent, would highly recommend them. Good quick service to your door also.

timddo
01-02-2010, 07:59 PM
Thanks for that link. They are for blue ones. Do you use blue or white?

I actually brought white. Here is another link

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Car-White-Flexible-72-LEDs-Bulb-Grill-Light-Strip-12V_W0QQitemZ170429649234QQcmdZViewItemQQptZAU_Car _Parts_Accessories?hash=item27ae661152

Tunzafun
01-02-2010, 08:27 PM
Thanks guys, lots of good info there. I knew I could not be the only one that thought of it :)

cam0511
02-02-2010, 01:55 AM
I recently installed a set from boatlightfishing. They are not the cheapest but they are excellent quality. Link below:

http://www.boatlightfishing.com/

Cam.

02-02-2010, 06:36 PM
Those Boatlight brand ones...when switched on is the total length turned on ?
I have been thinking about something like these also but don't want the entire place lit up like a Xmas tree..would take ages for eyes to readjust. Just need something birght enough for these aged and weakening eyes to be able to see to re-rig.

02-02-2010, 08:45 PM
Go the red Greg. It does not upset the night vision.
The Boatlight ones are all lit upin one go by the looks.

If you want to try some red ones I have some here that I can post up for you.
I think they're around the 300mm long but can come in lengths up to about a metre.We use a blue one about 1/2m long for the squids. We chuck thewhole length into the briney so they're waterproof I'd say.

Steeler
15-02-2010, 09:29 AM
Dude here is a link

straight from ebay
http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Car-Blue-72-LED-Flexible-Strip-Waterproof-Light-Bulb_W0QQitemZ170429120631QQcmdZViewItemQQptZAU_Ca r_Parts_Accessories?hash=item27ae5e0077

Cost is bugger all. I have had 2 on my boat for the last 2 years. Just getting a few more

Hi timddo

Took your tip and ordered some of the white ones,delivered in 6 working days and are excellent value.

Live4Fishin
15-02-2010, 06:25 PM
Im installing Hella marine DuraLED lights. at $255ea and i needed 4 it hurt the wallet a bit:'( . they come with a 5 year warrenty.

MEGA'bite
15-02-2010, 08:11 PM
boatlightfishing.com.au call ron on 0429293486 better than the chinese crap around

Jabba_
15-02-2010, 08:25 PM
boatlightfishing.com.au call ron on 0429293486 better than the chinese crap around
I'll second that Flatty..
You won't find as good a led system as these... Their the ducks nuts

http://boatlightfishing.com.au/

http://boatlightfishing.com/images/banner_02.jpg
http://boatlightfishing.com/images/banner_03.jpg

sagair
15-02-2010, 08:32 PM
Dude here is a link

straight from ebay

Mine arrived this afternoon, quick delivery. Thanks

Mike Delisser
15-02-2010, 09:25 PM

So where are their L.E.D.s made?

16-02-2010, 05:07 AM
LOL Mike..you aren't suggesting they are made in China are you ?

Jabba_
16-02-2010, 05:23 AM
So where are their L.E.D.s made?

The package is made to Ron's spec's in the US... Then once there here in Aust, every package is hooked up thrown in the pool and tested....

The kits contain all the wiring (tinned) and each LED is about 3" long and is linked to for a chain off LEDs from 4m to 8m... The chain can be cut and lengthened so you can customise your lighting they way you wont it...

The LED are virtually indestructible, there a solid resin construction and water proof.... Hence why their tested in the pool....

Volcano
16-02-2010, 02:38 PM
Jaba_
First things first, even though the LED strings may be put together in the USA, I would be gobsmacked if the LED lights themselves were manufactured outside of china. Scales of economy and all that.

The lights I have used are bought from a chinese company direct, and I used my own tinned wire, soldered and sealed them myself. I can assure you that they are NOT "crap" as you imply, and are an outstanding qauility product and a fraction of the cost.

Just because a product is made in China doesnt mean sh*t. Granted you can get good and bad, but you have to do your OWN homework.

Jabba_
16-02-2010, 06:31 PM
Jaba
First things first, even though the LED strings may be put together in the USA, I would be gobsmacked if the LED lights themselves were manufactured outside of china. Scales of economy and all that.

The lights I have used are bought from a chinese company direct, and I used my own tinned wire, soldered and sealed them myself. I can assure you that they are NOT "crap" as you imply, and are an outstanding quality product and a fraction of the cost.

Just because a product is made in China doesn't mean sh*t. Granted you can get good and bad, but you have to do your OWN homework.

You might want to go back and read my 2 posts on this subject, and tell me where I have implied that yours or any other LED light is crap.....

Volcano
18-02-2010, 09:02 AM
Sincerest apologies Jabba_, it was in actual fact flattyfinder - you simply seconded his notion that chinese LED's are crap.

Jabba_
19-02-2010, 05:28 AM
Sincerest apologies Jabba_, it was in actual fact flattyfinder - you simply seconded his notion that chinese LED's are crap.

I second his notion simply because I have looked for months for some high quality LED strip lighting.. Checked every thing from Ebay, Super cheap, every boating shop in my area and on line, even lighting shops... And the best gear I found was at Boat light fishing.... For the money you spend with them, you will get more for your buck then anywhere else, and the quality is top notch, and there super endurable... You can litury take a hammer and screw driver and belt it with that and you wont be able to brake them all that easerly...

13-03-2010, 07:50 PM
Look who is going to be ready for the winter night fishing this year!!!

Yippeeeeeee!!!! :D

I have just finished wiring my boat this afternoon with 420 LEDs on strips under the gunwales.

'Tis the best lighting that I have ever had in my little runabout. Awesome!

These lights will only be switched on as required for baiting, re-hooking, donging giant tailor, etc ;D so I have wired them with a switch at the helm where I only occasionally sit under the canopy and also with concealed waterproof switch under the gunwale adjacent to where I normally sit on the rear seat when it is in or on my big esky (usually) at the back of the boat.

http://img.skitch.com/20100313-d5s1gkdx8p5q7yqms78ehdsm21.preview.jpg (http://skitch.com/charleville2/n33bf/page-1)
Click for full size (http://skitch.com/charleville2/n33bf/page-1) - Uploaded with plasq (http://plasq.com)'s Skitch (http://skitch.com)

Awesome!

Thanks to the people who advised the sources of the strip lights in this thread. :)

(Yes - I know that the inside of my boat could do with a good clean up but the reason for that is that my boat got used this week whereas yours didn't! ) ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

14-03-2010, 07:11 AM
(Yes - I know that the inside of my boat could do with a good clean up but the reason for that is that my boat got used this week whereas yours didn't! ) ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Your not really rubbing it in are you matey??

14-03-2010, 08:05 AM
Your not really rubbing it in are you matey??

Heheheh!

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

timddo
19-03-2010, 08:49 AM
Heheheh!

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

So you brought it from ebay i assume.????

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Car-White-Flexible-72-LEDs-Bulb-Grill-Light-Strip-12V_W0QQitemZ170457044103QQcmdZViewItemQQptZAU_Car _Parts_Accessories?hash=item27b0081487

For anyone else who is interested in cheap stuff.

19-03-2010, 09:35 AM
So you brought it from ebay i assume.????

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Car-White-Flexible-72-LEDs-Bulb-Grill-Light-Strip-12V_W0QQitemZ170457044103QQcmdZViewItemQQptZAU_Car _Parts_Accessories?hash=item27b0081487

Yup. Thanks! The quality looks damn fine to me.

The postage arrangement is a bit gross though. It is a shame that they have pre-packed each strip such that if you want six of them, you have to pay six times the postage.

Overall, the price is ok though.

The amount of light that they put out is quite stunning really.

timddo
19-03-2010, 10:10 AM
I got some green ones for under the backsetp - or marlin board or whatever they call it. It will be used to attract baitfish, and thus larger predators.

19-03-2010, 03:44 PM
I saw strips of LEDs at the Tackle & Tinnie/4X show today for $47 per metre.

Gasp!!!! :o

Not the same strips as I have used but not all that un-alike.

I remain very happy with mine.

19-03-2010, 03:45 PM
I got some green ones for under the backsetp - or marlin board or whatever they call it. It will be used to attract baitfish, and thus larger predators.

Please tell us if they achieve that purpose.

scuttlebutt
27-03-2010, 05:10 PM
Thanks all for the good info. I'm waiting on a few of the cheap strips from ebay to arrive. Will be very pleased if they work as well as mentioned here. Cheap enough for a gamble anyway.

dnej
27-03-2010, 08:56 PM
me too. I have ordered mine

Jabiru658
27-03-2010, 09:07 PM
Wow... at that price why not.

*opens eBay window and starts ordering* :)

Steeler
27-03-2010, 09:50 PM
Fitted my cheap eBay strips and very happy with them,i figure at a couple of bucks a strip even if i get a couple of years out of them i will have no cause to complain.

Steeler

MattyDucati
28-03-2010, 11:40 AM

I have just finished wiring my boat this afternoon with 420 LEDs on strips under the gunwales.

These lights will only be switched on as required for baiting, re-hooking, donging giant tailor, etc ;D so I have wired them with a switch at the helm where I only occasionally sit under the canopy and also with concealed waterproof switch under the gunwale adjacent to where I normally sit on the rear seat when it is in or on my big esky (usually) at the back of the boat.

http://img.skitch.com/20100313-d5s1gkdx8p5q7yqms78ehdsm21.preview.jpg (http://skitch.com/charleville2/n33bf/page-1)
Click for full size (http://skitch.com/charleville2/n33bf/page-1) - Uploaded with plasq (http://plasq.com)'s Skitch (http://skitch.com)

Awesome!

Thanks to the people who advised the sources of the strip lights in this thread. :)

Good job, how many did you put on ether side??

Razgo-
28-03-2010, 12:55 PM
i got lights from that ebayer too. anyone notice the putrid stench from the lights when you open the pack?

deckie
28-03-2010, 06:26 PM
smelly lights ;D ?

Hey what do people think is the best low level colour as a background light when fishing ? under gunnel.
Was thinking of doing the whole thing in white led's but i'd need to swtich it off when fishing to see better without the glare.

Thinking a seperate swtich for a kind of "marine brothel" look in red might be the go ( not that i;d know what that looks l8ike of course)...anyone been on a rig using a colour other than as a fish attracting thing ?..in which case how was the night vision ?

MattyDucati
28-03-2010, 08:08 PM
red i've just ordered 8 sets:)

Razgo-
29-03-2010, 01:23 PM
smelly lights ;D ?

Hey what do people think is the best low level colour as a background light when fishing ? under gunnel.
Was thinking of doing the whole thing in white led's but i'd need to swtich it off when fishing to see better without the glare.

Thinking a seperate swtich for a kind of "marine brothel" look in red might be the go ( not that i;d know what that looks l8ike of course)...anyone been on a rig using a colour other than as a fish attracting thing ?..in which case how was the night vision ?

either red or blue light will do. both are good lights to see under.

timddo
29-03-2010, 01:46 PM
I just used plan old white. Might need to get some blue ones.

I heard there is a red light district in Holland. So a boat with red light will mean the same;D .

Jabiru658
29-03-2010, 01:47 PM
Just a thought... could using red lights put one at risk from the various enforcement authorities if it was visible from outside the hull?

(I agree red is best for maintaining night vision though).

Razgo-
29-03-2010, 03:09 PM
red or blue is good for night vision. neither is better than the other. probably just a preference thing.

not sure why law enforcement wold be concerned?

MattyDucati
29-03-2010, 07:51 PM
I just used plan old white. Might need to get some blue ones.

I heard there is a red light district in Holland. So a boat with red light will mean the same;D .

I'll have to take the mrs out fishing at night, i'll let you know if your theory is right:D

Jabiru658
29-03-2010, 07:57 PM
not sure why law enforcement wold be concerned?

They gave me a warning a couple of years back for using a red LED torch (from my other hobby of astronomy), I was wondering if I'd get a similar warning (or worse) for red LED lights mounted to the boat.

Their 'reasoning' was that my red torch could be confused for a nav light...

29-03-2010, 08:18 PM
I can understand a torch, but led strips mounted under the gunnels would put most of the light into the boat.

IMO, nav lights & white light would not be particularly affected. If the leds were that powerful, it would simply make your boat more visible.

30-03-2010, 12:51 PM

Are you hoping to attract some Long Toms or maybe some catfish?

You might also get a few grinners.

;D

timddo
30-03-2010, 03:07 PM
Are you hoping to attract some Long Toms or maybe some catfish?

You might also get a few grinners.

;D

Now NOw . I am just looking for some white pointers . I beleive they pull harder and have plenty of energy under the red led lights.:D :) . They also tend to bit pretty hard too.

30-03-2010, 03:44 PM
I suppose that if you take your boat north, you might get a few grunters as well.

;D

Razgo-
30-03-2010, 05:20 PM
They gave me a warning a couple of years back for using a red LED torch (from my other hobby of astronomy), I was wondering if I'd get a similar warning (or worse) for red LED lights mounted to the boat.

Their 'reasoning' was that my red torch could be confused for a nav light...

good to know. will have to be aware of that then.

30-03-2010, 08:00 PM
I was considering buying some of these but with all the conjecture over white, blue, red and whatever other colours I reckon I would be better off with the Dolphin torch option.

What is wrong with having white ones...has to be far better for rigging up etc.

timddo
30-03-2010, 08:18 PM
I was considering buying some of these but with all the conjecture over white, blue, red and whatever other colours I reckon I would be better off with the Dolphin torch option.

What is wrong with having white ones...has to be far better for rigging up etc.

go the white, i have 5 white strings on the boat and the glare is minium. I only have green underneath the boat. The white is superbright. the only downfall of these led lights is every man and his do will know ur spot X at nite.

Blue and red are romatics colours. You wouldn't want to turn ur deckie on will ya Pinhead.:D .

30-03-2010, 08:22 PM
go the white, i have 5 white strings on the boat and the glare is minium. I only have green underneath the boat. The white is superbright. the only downfall of these led lights is every man and his do will know ur spot X at nite.

Blue and red are romatics colours. You wouldn't want to turn ur deckie on will ya Pinhead.:D .

Thanks for that..no worries with others seeing where I am..no such thing as a spot X.

Turn the dekcie on? get serious..been married to her for nearly 30 years.

30-03-2010, 08:48 PM
I reckon I would be better off with the Dolphin torch option.

Not in any way, whatsoever. I have used mine a couple of times now and will do so at 2 am tomorrow morning and I have to say that they are stunning. I used six strings of 70 cm each in the back of my little runabout.

I also wired in waterproof switches at front and rear of boat for them and that has proven to be a terrific idea as well.

Ya gotta feel for the poor old caught fish though. Just imagine being in the dark below and being hauled out of the water and dropped on the floor of the boat in the dark and all of a sudden they get hit with a blaze of brilliant white light when you switch on the lights. :o

Axl
31-03-2010, 03:38 AM

Awesome!

Charleville how did you attach them did you use double sided 3M tape?

leelee
31-03-2010, 07:49 AM
h though. Just imagine being in the dark below and being hauled out of the water and dropped on the floor of the boat in the dark and all of a sudden they get hit with a blaze of brilliant white light when you switch on the lights. :o

I have blue on mine and need a dimmer switch, but they are far superior for night vision the white led's. If you catch a glimpse of the white led when fishing at night it can make seeing very difficult for a few minutes. That is why red or blue is better.

Lee

01-04-2010, 03:02 PM
Charleville how did you attach them did you use double sided 3M tape?

No.

Where I could, I used cable ties to tie them securely to existing cabling supports and existing cable looms.

Where there was inadequate support, I used these clips which utilise double sided tape but it is intrinsic to the clip ...
http://img.skitch.com/20100401-manc8qnek51p9wku7m6mbu38nh.preview.jpg (http://skitch.com/charleville2/nh3ye/page-1)
Click for full size (http://skitch.com/charleville2/nh3ye/page-1) - Uploaded with plasq (http://plasq.com)'s Skitch (http://skitch.com)

I have discarded the container that these clips came in but I think that they might be a 3M product anyway.

In some cases, I used a cable tie to secure the LED strips into these clips.

I used such clips several years ago to support other cabling in my boat and they have held well over six or seven years so far.

All of the soldered wiring joints have been sheathed in shrink plastic tubing.

01-04-2010, 03:37 PM
Hey Charlie...
I had a look at the site you posted the link to and got one of these to try.
http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.33059
No worries about the night vision. Once it's on it's all over red rover for any vision for about 2 minutes if you look at it.
Bright as.
I fact I'm thinking about putting them in the shed as lighting over the bench. I won't be able to clobber fluoro tubes any more if I use LED's.
Thanks for the link :)

scuttlebutt
01-04-2010, 05:10 PM
Some of my cheapies off ebay arrived today. Strewth they are bright! The wiring is fairly light but the light strip itself seems fairly rugged and maintenance free. The whole light assembly is set in a clear rubberised plastic. They say they are waterproof and they do appear to be.

I'm planning on stitching them onto the canvas of my canopy (when it arrives) to give a large area of light from overhead. I went with the white ones. This talk of night-vision does concern me a little, though I've only ever fished with white light before and never noticed an issue.

01-04-2010, 06:34 PM
This talk of night-vision does concern me a little, though I've only ever fished with white light before and never noticed an issue.

It would be a problem if you were to be driving your boat with them on or immediately after switching them off.

However, if you are not driving the boat with them on, there would be no problem at all, IMHO. Your eyes would need a few minutes to adjust to the dark but it would not take too long.

Yes, the connecting wires are lightweight but perfectly sound. Enclosing the wires in shrink plastic tubing or any tubing, I guess, would protect them from being damaged by your head or hands on the canopy.

'Tis a good idea to stitch them to the canopy, I reckon. I have been thinking about replacing the insipid boot light in my car with a couple of lengths of these as well.

01-04-2010, 06:41 PM
Hey Charlie...
I had a look at the site you posted the link to and got one of these to try.
http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.33059
No worries about the night vision. Once it's on it's all over red rover for any vision for about 2 minutes if you look at it.
Bright as.
I fact I'm thinking about putting them in the shed as lighting over the bench. I won't be able to clobber fluoro tubes any more if I use LED's.
Thanks for the link :)

'Tis my pleasure, Finga. The good part about that site is that the delivery is free.

BTW, I reckon that I saw something very similar to those ones in the 4WD section of the Tackle & Tinnie show last month for $47 per strip. So $12.22 delivered to your door looks like a good deal to me.

I have generally been happy with the products from that site. I have bought a fair bit of stuff from them.

01-04-2010, 06:53 PM
I have blue on mine and need a dimmer switch, but they are far superior for night vision the white led's. If you catch a glimpse of the white led when fishing at night it can make seeing very difficult for a few minutes. That is why red or blue is better.

I am ecstatic about the amount of light that now floods the floor of my boat but after the last couple of night fishing trips, I though that I might now add a couple of short strips above my sitting position as tying knots is better with light above rather than under as is the case with the under-gunwale mounted lights.

I shall take the advice of Finga and yourself and get some blue ones for that purpose. There is so much flexibility in application offered by these waterproof plastic strips that canopy mounted lights or cutting board mounted lights etc are just so viable and so dirt cheap.

I would not think that the plastic strips are UV stabilised though so it is probably best to shield them from the sun.

Razgo-
01-04-2010, 07:16 PM
jeez, with all this bright light night fishing going on moreton bay will be well lit up with lights all over the place. planes better not mistake a row of boats for a landing strip ;D ;D ;D

01-04-2010, 07:39 PM
jeez, with all this bright light night fishing going on moreton bay will be well lit up with lights all over the place. planes better not mistake a row of boats for a landing strip ;D ;D ;D

Well, I reckon that it will certainly confuse all of those "spy" satellites that you see soon after dark out there when the sun is still illuminating them above the horizon. ;D

There sure are a lot of them to be seen.

leelee
01-04-2010, 08:00 PM
I am ecstatic about the amount of light that now floods the floor of my boat but after the last couple of night fishing trips, I though that I might now add a couple of short strips above my sitting position as tying knots is better with light above rather than under as is the case with the under-gunwale mounted lights.

I shall take the advice of Finga and yourself and get some blue ones for that purpose. There is so much flexibility in application offered by these waterproof plastic strips that canopy mounted lights or cutting board mounted lights etc are just so viable and so dirt cheap.

I would not think that the plastic strips are UV stabilised though so it is probably best to shield them from the sun.

I am actually gettign a dimmer switch for mine asap as i cannot run my decklights as they are just to bright.

need to get the boat back from some warranty repairs and i will take some pics of the boat at night with all the lights on.

My led strips have a lifetime warranty so any failures and I get new ones sent to me straight away.

Lee

Axl
01-04-2010, 08:15 PM
No.

Where I could, I used cable ties to tie them securely to existing cabling supports and existing cable looms.

Where there was inadequate support, I used these clips which utilise double sided tape but it is intrinsic to the clip ...
http://img.skitch.com/20100401-manc8qnek51p9wku7m6mbu38nh.preview.jpg (http://skitch.com/charleville2/nh3ye/page-1)
Click for full size (http://skitch.com/charleville2/nh3ye/page-1) - Uploaded with plasq (http://plasq.com)'s Skitch (http://skitch.com)

I have discarded the container that these clips came in but I think that they might be a 3M product anyway.

In some cases, I used a cable tie to secure the LED strips into these clips.

I used such clips several years ago to support other cabling in my boat and they have held well over six or seven years so far.

All of the soldered wiring joints have been sheathed in shrink plastic tubing.

Thanks charleville mate I have a question on wiring them up.

I am planning on buying six strips three up either side and I am assumming that you would take the three positive & negative wires solder them togehter (neg to neg pos to pos) and add an extension to them to get into my c/c.

This would leave me with 2 wires on either side 1 pos & 1 neg. I would then have four wires comming into my c/c 2 from either side they would be 2 neg & 2 pos.

Could I then solder them together (neg to neg pos to pos) adding another extension so i would then have 1 neg 1 pos to go to my switch panel where i have three spare switches 1 of which will become my floor lighting switch?

Does this sound alright?

Also what wire would you recommend to use as extension wire?

02-04-2010, 08:13 AM
Yeah Charlie...how would you wire them??

Yeah Axle that sounds good.
Any sized wire BUT tinned wire gives you a longer life span and use a suitably sized resin filled heat shrink over the soldered joints.
heat shrink like this...http://www.jaycar.com.au/productView.asp?ID=WH5640&keywords=heatshrink&form=KEYWORD
Just make sure on an off cut of the teeny weeny wires that come with these LED's that the heatshrink shrinks small enough.
You should be able to see a band of goo come out of the heatshrink around the wire when you shrink it.
I should get off my lazy behind and go out to the shed and see. But as I mentioned...I'm lazy.
But I might have a look later as I have some of those LED's (I think/should) and some of that heatshrink.
Cheers Scott

02-04-2010, 09:29 AM
Yup, Axl. That will do the job.

In my case, I just ran one pair or wires all the way around under the gunwales of the boat and across the back of the boat in a covered space available there and fed each set of LEDs off that, soldered and encased in heatshrink plastic , as Finga says.

I prewired the run before I installed it in the boat so it pays to be a bit generous with the length of wire. Any excess length midway does not matter as it will be hidden from view under the gunwales. Excess length at the ends can be cut off.

As for the size of the wire, I just bought the thinnest tinned copper wire that I could get from Whitworths when I was there one day. The gauge would be far thicker than really required but it was the thinnest that they had. Get your wire anywhere but it should be tinned if you want it to survive the marine environment.

There are not too many mistakes that you can make doing this job. If you use cable ties or double sided tape of clips as I have done and something does not fit as well as you would like, you can just redo the job without drama.

Such is my caution though, I have added a dedicated 5 amp fuse in the circuit just to be sure. It might have been 3 amp - I would have to check - but a 5 amp fuse will do the job.

Without knowing of your wiring experience, please forgive me for giving some simple advice - solder everything! Secondly, if you have not used heat shrink, just use a hot air gun or a hair dryer to blow warm air on the heat shrink. Don't be in too much of a hurry so as to melt the insulation on the tiny wires coming from the LEDs. If unsure, use lots of insulation tape instead.

Good luck. You will love the results. Remember that they are light emitting DIODES and so you need to wire the polarity the right way around otherwise you will get no light.

timddo
02-04-2010, 10:10 AM
Charle

I used Cat 5 Solid core network cable. There are 8 cables in there which you can control 4 sets of independent lights through switches.

i soldered the connections and smude some silcone inside then heatstrink.
I'm too tight to buy heatshrink with glue inside and tinned cable.

My setup is like charleville but have an extra white one attached to the frame of the bimini ( cable tie). My lights are left on mostly all nite.

Shouldn't we be support the local fellas guys. i would scrap those $7 dollar led lights and pay $47 for them.;D

02-04-2010, 11:00 AM
I hope it wasn't glazier's silicon??

Any of the neutral cure silicons will do the job timddo has described and sikaflex works real well.
Glaziers silicon is acid based and will destroy wires fairly quickly.

Timddo...if you want some small stranded tinned wire (old PABX hook up wire) I have oooodles of the stuff that I'll donate to worthy causes such as yourself...all different colours too :)

Geoff-
02-04-2010, 11:23 AM
Such is my caution though, I have added a dedicated 5 amp fuse in the circuit just to be sure. It might have been 3 amp - I would have to check - but a 5 amp fuse will do the job.

ahh as an engineer I approve of your sensibilities :D

wiring should always be suitably fused, the wiring in our boat is a bit dodgy there is no fuse on the fishfinder at the moment just the 20 amp main fuse from the battery. I need to rip it all out and start from scratch!!

Charle
I used Cat 5 Solid core network cable. There are 8 cables in there which you can control 4 sets of independent lights through switches.

pet peeve of mine using cat 5 to run power for things!! although with LED lights you will get away with it if you're under 1 amp. careful with solid core cable, it doesn't like repeated flexing.

02-04-2010, 11:53 AM
ahh as an engineer I approve of your sensibilities :D

Thanks. Of course it helps that I also am a professional communications and electronics engineer - was an MIE (Aust) and registered as an RPEQ once but let that lapse - plus prior to that I was an electronics technician and tech instructor. ;D ;D ;D All certified and degreed.

Nonetheless, I value any confirmation of technique as I am a long way out of touch as I discovered recently when a mate sought help on the maths of a class A basic transistor amplifier circuit to help his grandson with his grade twelve homework. :o I could not remember any damn thing about them and I used to design them 35 years ago! ::) 'Tis marvellous how one can lose basic engineering knowledge after moving into the commercial parts of a business for twenty years or so.

a
pet peeve of mine using cat 5 to run power for things!! although with LED lights you will get away with it if you're under 1 amp. careful with solid core cable, it doesn't like repeated flexing.

There is not a lot to be lost in using cat 5 cable in this application especially if you are getting it for free which is possibly the case. ;D If it fails after a couple of years and you need to rewire it, it is no biggie.

My concerns would be whether its insulation is up to an outdoors, marine environment. It may be but I just would not know. That is why I bought my wire from Whitworths because I assume that what they sell is true marine grade stuff if there is such a thing.

BTW, whilst I fondly remember being an electronics engineer etc, it was such a long time ago and I am getting lazier in the head every day so in establishing my fuse size, I did not do any sums. I just stuck in a one amp fuse which blew and then went up a size.

That is, six strings of 70 cm long LED strips will obviously draw over 1 amp.

(Note to Finga - Yes, Finga, in case you are wondering, I do own a multimeter but am generally too lazy to get it out to measure something like current flow in the LEDs. :) )

02-04-2010, 11:59 AM
Shouldn't we be support the local fellas guys. i would scrap those $7 dollar led lights and pay $47 for them.;D

Yes - of course you would. ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

What do you think that they paid for them? :o

timddo
02-04-2010, 03:48 PM
I hope it wasn't glazier's silicon??

Any of the neutral cure silicons will do the job timddo has described and sikaflex works real well.
Glaziers silicon is acid based and will destroy wires fairly quickly.

Timddo...if you want some small stranded tinned wire (old PABX hook up wire) I have oooodles of the stuff that I'll donate to worthy causes such as yourself...all different colours too :)

Yes the Cat 5 cable was free. Silicon was aquarium silicon so it's neutral( that was free too). Soldering line ( free), soldering gas ( free). I basically had to pay for the beer and $3 for heat shrink.

Axl
02-04-2010, 07:13 PM
Thanks for the info guys I will be placing my order tonight. I get home from work on Tuesday so with easter being apon us hopefully late next week or early the one after they will arrive.

timmdo I agree yes we should be supporting the local guys but I tend to agree with charleville when he says "What do you think that they paid for them?"

deckie
08-04-2010, 11:43 AM
Think i'll hook up a cpl of 2m runs, one blue, one white with a similar wattage...see if the blue is better on the night vision esp at rest. Red might be the go for the eyes but i just cant see myself out there in red 8-). Hopefully blue works well at rest...whichever is the go i'll get more.

Razgo-
08-04-2010, 12:25 PM
here is some good info on red lights effect http://www.flashlightreviews.com/qa/nightvision.htm

Q: I've heard that a red LED light will preserve my night vision. Is this true?
A: Short answer: Yes. A dim red light will preserve your night vision.

The LONG answer:

The back of our eye, called the "retina" detects light and allows us to "see". The retina is made of of 2 types of structures, cones and rods.

The cones are responsible for our normal daytime vision. Cones detect both the wavelength (color) and intensity (brightness) of light that goes into our eyes and passes that information to our brain.

The rods are responsible for our "night adapted vision". Rods do not detect wavelength (no color), but are very sensitive to intensity (brightness) of light. They pass on only shades of gray to our brain. They only work at very low light intensities (dim light), are most sensitive to light at about 500nm (turquoise/cyan), and are blind to red light (around 620nm).

here is some more info that touches on the blue light http://www.aoa.org/x5352.xml

PURKINJE SHIFT

Rods and cones are not equally sensitive to visible wavelengths of light. Unlike the cones, rods are more sensitive to blue light and are not sensitive to wavelengths greater than about 640nm, the red portion of the visible spectrum.

The Purkinje shift is the relatively greater brightness of blue or green light, compared with yellow or red light, upon shifting from photopic to scotopic adaptation.

For example, in a darkened room, if one looks at two dim lights of equal illumination (one red and one green) that are positioned closely together, the red light will look brighter than the green light when the eyes are fixating centrally. If one looks to the side of the dim lights about 15-20 degrees, the green light will appear brighter than the red.

Central fixation involves the cones and photopic vision while fixating eccentrically involves rods and scotopic vision. The cones are more sensitive to yellow and red, but the rods are more sensitive to light of the blue and green wavelengths.

The most sensitive wavelength for cones is 555nm (yellow-green). That is why the "optic yellow" tennis and golf balls are, in fact, easier to see under photopic conditions.

The most sensitive wavelength for rods is 505nm (blue-green). Thus, blue-green lights will generally look brighter at night than red lights. The sensitivity of the eye changes from the red end of the visible spectrum toward the blue end when shifting from the photopic to scotopic vision.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

from what i make of it the blue may seem a little duller to see in compared to the red which may give greater brightness.

but nothing that the average person would be able to tell the difference with i don't think.

but as above the actual brightness or wattage of the red or blue light will be a factor in the results that you get.

russ

08-04-2010, 01:54 PM
I am still confused. If these things are up under the gunwhale then the light is just projected downwards and across the floor? If so, then another light is needed for re-rigging etc ..with that light at a higher level. If that is the case then no need for lights shining on the floor in my case..prefer to be in the dark anyway.

08-04-2010, 03:15 PM
prefer to be in the dark anyway.

As I do when I am fishing also. However, if I land a fish at night-time I want to know all about him. In particular whether he is a baby snapper and not a "Happy Moments". Likewise, I want to know that that bit coral on the end of my line is just that and not a stonefish.

So being able to flood the floor with light at the flick of a switch is a major advantage for me.

Secondly, even though the light from under the gunwales floods the floor, there is enough coming up to tie knots and bit hooks etc.

Nonetheless, you are correct, Greg, in that a light above your task would be much better and that has been my experience with the indirect lights that I have installed under the gunwales.

For that reason, I have just ordered a couple of short blue strips that I will rig above a couple of little bait cutting boards that I will place on top of the gunwales on both sides of my boat. (I hardly use my elevated rear bait board anymore as I am getting too lazy to stand up to use it). Even though those lights should be easier on the eyes, I will still install a switch with them as I prefer to fish totally in the dark with just the white nav light on above my canopy. These little removable, blue lit baitboards will be connected to power via cigarette lighter sockets that I have on both sides of the boat.

scuttlebutt
08-04-2010, 10:50 PM
I'm well impressed with the 72cm strips, but have just ordered a 5metre 300 led strip which I intend to run around the gunnels ($44 delivered). A mate of a mate got one and was very happy with it. That combined with 8 x 72cm strips fixed to the canopy (4 white and 4 red which can be run together or seperately) will give a total of 860 leds. Hopefully that will be enough? I mean it is a 5.4m boat after-all!!!

30-04-2010, 01:06 PM
This is a bit of a rough and ready job but good enough for me to give a try on my next night trip. I thought that I might share it to invite other people's ideas or examples of what they have done.

As described above, I have wired 420 white LEDS under the gunwales in my boat with switches fore and aft and when switched on these lights give me tonnes of light within the boat without shining any on to the water.

The problem though, also as stated above, is that the lights are not quite as useful for tying hooks or baiting with because the lighted floor is effectively backlight rather than top-light to the task. So a light above the task area is needed to make life really easy.

Whilst I have an unused, nice, shiny, good quality, deck light available, I really wanted to see what I could do with LEDs and have made up this contraption which clips on to the rails on the side of the boat and which will give me light above the task but below my eyes and not shining into the water.

As you can see, I have wired it with a waterproof switch so it is just for use when doing a task like tying a hook. The other end of the wiring has a cigarette lighter plug to connect to the cigarette lighter sockets that I have hardwired into both sides of my boat.

http://img.skitch.com/20100430-dsg1yh234jqc9qh2jkqnr48rwb.preview.jpg (http://skitch.com/charleville2/dbj8x/skitched-20100430-124803)
Click for full size (http://skitch.com/charleville2/dbj8x/skitched-20100430-124803) - Uploaded with plasq (http://plasq.com)'s Skitch (http://skitch.com)

http://img.skitch.com/20100430-thh88g31y5k2rs6nniayjqefr4.preview.jpg (http://skitch.com/charleville2/dbj8u/skitched-20100430-124921)
Click for full size (http://skitch.com/charleville2/dbj8u/skitched-20100430-124921) - Uploaded with plasq (http://plasq.com)'s Skitch (http://skitch.com)

http://img.skitch.com/20100430-papkra27ekks86pjj3cdjdkq8r.preview.jpg (http://skitch.com/charleville2/dbjey/skitched-20100430-125246)
Click for full size (http://skitch.com/charleville2/dbjey/skitched-20100430-125246) - Uploaded with plasq (http://plasq.com)'s Skitch (http://skitch.com)

http://img.skitch.com/20100430-fcgi68gesfsbrui7nqeabnkm7b.preview.jpg (http://skitch.com/charleville2/dbje8/skitched-20100430-125359)
Click for full size (http://skitch.com/charleville2/dbje8/skitched-20100430-125359) - Uploaded with plasq (http://plasq.com)'s Skitch (http://skitch.com)

I have used blue LEDS for this contraption but I might get some red ones and try them in a similar gadget.

30-04-2010, 01:27 PM
Gees matey. If you think that's rough you see a lot of boats on the water..They make you wonder how anything works at all.

You mentioned something along the lines of "yes, I know that I should trim off the excess" etc etc but trimming to make the wires just long enough is one of my pet hates.
I always have a neat little roll of wire at each termination just in case it's needed.
Nothing worse then putting a new female spade crimp terminal to push onto a switch and there's no extra to get some nice clean wire.
A lot better off, in my books anyway, to have too much then not enough.

Why don't you have a blue and a red string side by side and use a double throw switch??
Then you can do a scientific type study on which is best.

Also you can get some really good double sided tapes now to stick the strings on with. You can get it from the panel beater supply places.

Another trick of the trade is to use a sharp knife to trim your cable ties instead of sidecutters. That trims very close to the clampy bit of the cable tie and does not leave any sharp edges to catch yourself on. Those sharp little edges have cut me...the buggers..and it hurts. http://www.smileyhut.com/sad/cry2.gif

What's next for the boat??
Blue lights on the transom under the waterline to get the fish closer??

30-04-2010, 01:42 PM
I have decided against using those strip lighting thingies..I don't need nor want that much light. I have bought just a couple of LED lights..one each side of the boat. Those plus cateyes and a torch will do fine.

30-04-2010, 01:59 PM
Why don't you have a blue and a red string side by side and use a double throw switch??
Then you can do a scientific type study on which is best.

I will do the next best thing and make up another one of these with a red lights and just try them side by side.

That way, I have two, one of which a guest can use on the other side of the boat. (Not that I welcome guests very often.)

Anyway, I shall see if the contraption is mechanically sound enough as it is before I build another one. It seems sound on dry land but it needs a live test on the bay to really test it.

What's next for the boat??
Blue lights on the transom under the waterline to get the fish closer??

Only if you tell me that is a good idea. :wink:

I did read your comments previously about using the blue lights to attract squid and that has fascinated me because I caught a lovely snapper on a squid which was dumb enough to attack a prawn of mine at Mud Island a few weeks ago. He went straight back down as fresh bait and the fish went crazy over him.

BTW, thanks for the tips, re the knife to trim the cable ties, etc.

30-04-2010, 02:05 PM
I have decided against using those strip lighting thingies..I don't need nor want that much light. I have bought just a couple of LED lights..one each side of the boat. Those plus cateyes and a torch will do fine.

It depends on how much night fishing you do, Greg.

I have used the Cateyes and torch for a long time and found them to be superior to some of the other arrangements that I have tried with small flouros etc. However, I have to say that the under-gunwale lights do add significant value to comfortable use of a boat. I remain very happy to have installed mine.

I reiterate a sentence that I wrote earlier in this thread ...

"... if I land a fish at night-time I want to know all about him. In particular whether he is a baby snapper and not a "Happy Moments". Likewise, I want to know that that bit coral on the end of my line is just that and not a stonefish."

Being able to instantly flood the floor with light gives me that comfort.

Razgo-
30-04-2010, 05:18 PM
Just for baiting hook etc... have you tried those hat/caps with 3 built in LED lights from bunnings? they work a treat for doing things like that.

russ

30-04-2010, 06:31 PM
Just for baiting hook etc... have you tried those hat/caps with 3 built in LED lights from bunnings? they work a treat for doing things like that.

Thanks Razgo. I have not used the $20 Bunnings caps but have used the clip on Cateyes and cheaper brands.

The Cateye style 5 LED cap lights are pretty good. My first set cost $28 but got ruined in a bad storm out on the bay one night. The last lot that I bought, I imported three cheapies from China for about $3 each to my door from this crowd... http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.2782 They are pretty good as well.

The annoying about all of those lights is that you cannot just switch them on and off. You have to cycle through five lights to three to flashing and then off. They are pretty, good other than that.

The benefits of the clip-on cap lights as distinct from the integral Bunnings cap lights is that you can clip them onto any cap or hat. In particular, at night I wear a Frillneck cap which has the curtain thing that hangs down to protect neck and face. This is quiet useful to wear at night time as it keeps those annoying mossies away.

The Bunnings caps do look pretty good, though. They seem to shine a lot of light.

I am wanting a fixed easily switchable light in the boat, though.

Razgo-
30-04-2010, 08:17 PM
yeah you have to cycle through the bunnings cap lights too with a little built in button in the cap. 1x, 2 lights on. 2x, 3 lights on 3x, one front light on then 4x, it switches all off.

I use the cap on the computer at night so i don't need to turn the main light on :)

russ

MattyDucati
07-05-2010, 11:17 PM
Got around to fitting some of the led strips i got. I have fitted 1 strip in each storage bin in the side of the quiny, its not as bright as the pics show, i will put 1 more down the back and 1 more up the front on separate switches.

08-05-2010, 07:16 AM
I've been into a few nightclubs that look like that. :grin:

deckie
08-05-2010, 07:36 AM
Got around to fitting some of the led strips i got. I have fitted 1 strip in each storage bin in the side of the quiny, its not as bright as the pics show, i will put 1 more down the back and 1 more up the front on separate switches.
Sweeeet...yeah thats the "marine brothel" look i was getting at...not that i'd know what they look like of course :grin:.
V nice....from what i've read it wouldnt screw up your night vision outside the boat too much either. Dont really need a lot of actual light with a seperate deckflood on a switch.

08-05-2010, 08:35 AM
I've been into a few nightclubs that look like that. :grin:

Was that 'The Beat' in the valley Charlie?? :huh:

08-05-2010, 12:12 PM
Was that 'The Beat' in the valley Charlie?? :huh:

That sounds like the sort of place that I am pleased to say that I don't know of. :grin:

Nah - more like the Jet Club and Whiskey-au-go-go, ie the clubs in the Valley in the early seventies and a few interstate joints that I have stumbled into on my regular travels in more recent years.

Of course, Whiskey-au-go-go got firebombed so that was the end of that.

Actually, I was walking past some of the inner city nightspots last week and two things struck me:-

1. How they all seemed to have queues of people lining up to get in at late hours. I never saw a queue like that in my day.

2. How loud the music was. Unbelievably loud! I now know why young peole have to use online dating agencies like RSVP because no one could chat up a chick in that noise. In fact, I doubt if she could hear you talk two hours after the music stopped. :shocked:

scuttlebutt
10-05-2010, 09:15 AM
Here's a few lights on my boat. I've got a 5m white strip around the gunnel and a few white and red strips on the cross bar of the canopy. Still waiting on a couple of strips but impressed with the result so far.

For anyone still considering these lights, I would suggest going for the 5 metre 300 led strip from Ebay for around $40. Appear to be much better quality than the 70cm strips - neater appearance, heavier wires and have good 3m adhesive on the back.

http://img38.imagefra.me/img/img38/6/5/9/scuttlebutt/t_f1j2vfljnsm_290b067.jpg (http://imagefra.me/view.php?img=/6/5/9/scuttlebutt/f_f1j2vfljnsm_290b067.jpg&srv=img38)

dnej
10-05-2010, 11:50 AM
scuttlebutt,
You get 7 X 72 LED, for around the same price as the 5 m one, and the 7 strips give you 504 LED V 300 on the 5m.
Just fix them with Sika flex.
David

scuttlebutt
10-05-2010, 01:06 PM
Dnej,

I paid $7.48 each delivered for my 72 led strips.

I paid $39.57 delivered for my 5 metre strip. Hunt around for the ones offered in English pounds - the exchange rate helps.

Either I paid too much or your calculator's broken.

Plus the 5 metre strip is better quality, and you have less joins when running decent lengths. Heavier wire + less joins = less work, less problems, neater installation + greater reliability.

I must add the disclaimer that I've only just fitted them and none of them have been exposed to salt-air yet. Will post up again after some use.

Good idea on the sika - that is my intention once they've all been soldered and heatshrink added.

timddo
10-05-2010, 01:30 PM
scuttle - this is what you purchased

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/5-Meters-Waterproof-SMD-LED-Strip-12V-Blue-Light-500-cm-/250613333360?cmd=ViewItem&pt=AU_Lighting_Fans&hash=item3a59b7fd70

It's actually a different product. You will fine 72cm ones super bright compare to urs.

10-05-2010, 07:32 PM
That sounds like the sort of place that I am pleased to say that I don't know of. :grin:

Nah - more like the Jet Club and Whiskey-au-go-go, ie the clubs in the Valley in the early seventies and a few interstate joints that I have stumbled into on my regular travels in more recent years.

Of course, Whiskey-au-go-go got firebombed so that was the end of that.

Actually, I was walking past some of the inner city nightspots last week and two things struck me:-

1. How they all seemed to have queues of people lining up to get in at late hours. I never saw a queue like that in my day.

2. How loud the music was. Unbelievably loud! I now know why young peole have to use online dating agencies like RSVP because no one could chat up a chick in that noise. In fact, I doubt if she could hear you talk two hours after the music stopped. :shocked:

Lucky you have not been to my place then Bruce..7 speakers round the room and usually loud when I play something...it has to be loud..no such thing as "soft" music.

As for the lighting..i just got 2 LED cabin lights and put them on the inside of the gunwhales..I don't want much light at all.

10-05-2010, 08:43 PM
Lucky you have not been to my place then Bruce..7 speakers round the room and usually loud when I play something...it has to be loud..no such thing as "soft" music.

Ah well, they say that old rockers never die. They just go deaf. :grin:

scuttlebutt
10-05-2010, 10:38 PM
scuttle - this is what you purchased

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/5-Meters-Waterproof-SMD-LED-Strip-12V-Blue-Light-500-cm-/250613333360?cmd=ViewItem&pt=AU_Lighting_Fans&hash=item3a59b7fd70

It's actually a different product. You will fine 72cm ones super bright compare to urs.

Timddo, that does look similar, though I bought from a different seller and it was a lot cheaper.

I've got 4 x 72cm white, 3 x 72cm red and 1 x 5m white strip installed on my boat so I think I can offer an opinion of what I find best and how they compare. The 72 led strips might be a fraction brighter but the 5m strip is a better product (and still very bright on it's own). If I was doing it again I'd just go a couple of 5m strips.

18-05-2010, 12:51 PM
In post #88 here, I described making up a clip-on light thingy with a short strip of blue LEDs to give me some top light above whatever task that I might be doing that needed top light. This was the prototype ...

http://img.skitch.com/20100518-dsg1yh234jqc9qh2jkqnr48rwb.preview.jpg (http://skitch.com/charleville2/dbj8x/skitched-20100430-124803)
Click for full size (http://skitch.com/charleville2/dbj8x/skitched-20100430-124803) - Uploaded with plasq (http://plasq.com)'s Skitch (http://skitch.com)

Well, I used it in very dark conditions at Peel Island last night and I have to say that it was not a success.

There are three problems with it:-

1. The first is a simple one in the holes that I drilled, through which the LED strip is lashed with cable ties, simply allow too much escaped light to shine into one's eyes. That would be easily solved by using double sided tape rather than cable ties.

2. The second problem is more serious and that is that the blue LEDs light up every bit of white surface as though it was a night club with UV lights. ie boats are full of white surfaces and the blue lights on those surfaces creates blinding reflections. Blue is not the colour to use!

3. Whilst the white LED strip lights are stunningly successful when mounted under the gunwales, I found that the strip lights were giving me far too much light when used as an overhead light in a boat. The glare was overpowering at times. I had used the clip-on blue LED gismo in several places on the boat - on the side rails, on the rear bait board above where I sit, and clipped onto the overhead canopy frame, and the light was just too much. I actually found it more convenient to use my less intense three-LED cap light for general baiting and replacing hooks etc. The exception was when I held the task just below the gunwale level so that I was getting the white light from under there onto where there are no white surfaces for the light to reflect off - just the grey carpet on the floor. That was not so bad.

So its back to the "drawing board" for me. I shall get some red ones to try or alternatively some white overhead ones with something to dim them a bit.

sid_fishes
18-05-2010, 05:04 PM

As for the lighting..i just got 2 LED cabin lights and put them on the inside of the gunwhales..I don't want much light at all.

come on greg thats not loud, thats just right
ian

adamleah
29-06-2010, 10:16 PM
I just got delivery of 4 strips from the Ebayer reccomended in here originally and found that 2 of the strips only have the first 1/4 of the strip working and presume the card must be cracked within as it comes on halfway on one of the strips if you wiggle it ever so gently..........
Seems like Cheap rubbish to me,,,, but I am used to working on expensive LED street lights ... will just have to wait and see what Ebayer says about my request for 2 new ones at no cost and make decision after I install

nondo66
10-09-2010, 09:34 PM
OK guys its about time i set you all straight on the LEDs BEING SOLD ON ebay
One very important thing to remember is that Buying LEDs is like buying a light bulb
you get what you pay for!!!!
The only reason i have not put anything on this web site before is that these people copy the info and it shows up on theyre (yes Murray i'm talking about you)e bay web sites the next day
But here goes any way
1. All led chips are graded when they leave the factorys in china
commercial grade , domestic grade and christmas tree grade for want of a better word
They all shine 25-35 % brighter for about 150 hrs and then will maintaine that light intencity for the next 50,000 hours

the guys on e bay are getting christmas tree lights and putting them in the same packaging as ours and selling them as a copy of the original boat light

We have tested numerous LEDs from e bay not one has passed the light test

a quick way to find out is ask them what certification they have on them and im not talking about CE and ROS approvals
I bet they dont even know what your talking about

As for the pirana LEDs they are absolute crap
The major companys stopped making them 3 years ago due to high failure rates.Then people in china buy the old technology and sell it on e bay

Pirrana leds use a taiwan chip which uses 3 x the power for 1/3 the light out put our leds produce (they look almost as bright to look at, but cant push the light out
they have a 100 deg light radius, ours have 160 deg , thats why they put them on the side of the boat instead of underneath the top of the gunnel

This causes them to blind you every time you put your head below the gunnel

And of course the typical e bayer is here one day gone the next
do they have an address and a phone number you can ring if you need information
try getting warranty claims from these six months from now off these guys
they dont pay import tax,or gst on there lights, they dont have to put marine switches, silicone ,connectors ,joiners and every thing else that goes into our boat light kits

They dont have to pay for proffesional boxing

They also dont have to sell to the retail stores at 50% discount

They dont give tax invoices

Theres plenty more but i need a beer

regards kirk

Boatlight fishing

Steeler
10-09-2010, 10:39 PM
I just got delivery of 4 strips from the Ebayer reccomended in here originally and found that 2 of the strips only have the first 1/4 of the strip working and presume the card must be cracked within as it comes on halfway on one of the strips if you wiggle it ever so gently..........
Seems like Cheap rubbish to me,,,, but I am used to working on expensive LED street lights ... will just have to wait and see what Ebayer says about my request for 2 new ones at no cost and make decision after I install

If you have problems with the seller regarding replacement and you paid Paypal put in a claim.

Steeler

10-09-2010, 11:32 PM
which uses 3 x the power for 1/3 the light out put our leds produce

You are probably right in what you say, albeit some specific numbers might help win the argument for you if you have them. As they say, we don't treasure what we don't measure.

Nonetheless, I wired my boat with cheap eBay LEDs and six months later, I remain delighted with the result.

If the el cheapos produce 1/3 of the light of the goodies as you assert, I suspect that people will soon identify that just means that a greater number need to be used. It is only if the cost of doing that is comparable to the premium product, does the exercise favour the premium product.

However, I suspect that the average mug boatie is still likely to try the cheapies simply because in the vast majority of cases they seem to work.

The problem is that there is no standardised definition of quality for the LEDs so it becomes a Holden versus Falcon debate. ie no substantive arguments to sway the popular opinion decidedly in either direction are possible so the debate becomes one of desperation name calling or the use of standard fear, uncertainty and doubt tactics.

....and who would want to buy from someone who uses those tactics? After all, if something went bad with the installation, what might we expect in customer service from someone who uses those tactics?

Kero
11-09-2010, 06:27 AM
OK guys its about time i set you all straight on the LEDs BEING SOLD ON ebay
One very important thing to remember is that Buying LEDs is like buying a light bulb
The only reason i have not put anything on this web site before is that these people copy the info and it shows up on theyre (yes Murray i'm talking about you)e bay web sites the next day
But here goes any way
1. All led chips are graded when they leave the factorys in china
commercial grade , domestic grade and christmas tree grade for want of a better word
They all shine 25-35 % brighter for about 150 hrs and then will maintaine that light intencity for the next 50,000 hours

the guys on e bay are getting christmas tree lights and putting them in the same packaging as ours and selling them as a copy of the original boat light

a quick way to find out is ask them what certification they have on them and im not talking about CE and ROS approvals
I bet they dont even know what your talking about

As for the pirana LEDs they are absolute crap
The major companys stopped making them 3 years ago due to high failure rates.Then people in china buy the old technology and sell it on e bay

Pirrana leds use a taiwan chip which uses 3 x the power for 1/3 the light out put our leds produce (they look almost as bright to look at, but cant push the light out
they have a 100 deg light radius, ours have 160 deg , thats why they put them on the side of the boat instead of underneath the top of the gunnel

This causes them to blind you every time you put your head below the gunnel

And of course the typical e bayer is here one day gone the next
do they have an address and a phone number you can ring if you need information
they dont pay import tax,or gst on there lights, they dont have to put marine switches, silicone ,connectors ,joiners and every thing else that goes into our boat light kits

regards kirk

Boatlight fishing

Hi Kirk,
I'm really looking forward to getting my "Boatlight" kit (order placed). I looked into ebay, but your pricing (boat show) was pretty good value.:)

deckie
11-09-2010, 07:37 AM

regards kirk
Boatlight fishing
Whilst i'm not doubting your intent to market what you consider to be a higher quality product, this "you only get what you pay for" has been the catchcry of anything to do with the marine business in this country since Captain Cook came ashore looking for a well priced chandlery. The other catchcry "preserve our jobs" seems to also come out regularly as guilt trip marketing.

As boaties we have long supported what the rest of the world would consider ridiculous pricing for basic equipment....being an isolated and small to medium marketplace we have always accepted a premium for anything with the word "marine" tagged to it, to the point of paying more for less quality thinking there is no option. My experience as a long time consumer of the word "marine" is that paying more is no guarantee of getting a better product here.

We (as the end consumer and the only truly essential cog in the wheel) have also have supported our government through the high indirect taxation applied to both locally manufactured and imported items by the time they get to us. On top of that we have supported the classically Australian layer cake of multiple layers of handling, usually due simply to a seeming inability or desire of local retailers to directly source knowing we seem only too happy to pay over the top prices....we have supported many thousands of ancillary businesses all attempting to carve out a living by adding that magic margin at various points.

As boaties we have also blindly accepted excuses for terrible service in the past and are a nation of very forgiving and patient people. We try not to whinge but dont really want that to be abused. Basic quality control at a manufacturing level is something we havent really expected until more recent times...but already most manufacturers in the marine business assume we now wish to pay an added margin for it, rather than being an essential part of their own cost of production. Quality control in manufacturing should not be thought of as a luxury item the consumer should be paying extra for...it should be an integral part of manufacturing process in this country. As consumers we are partly to blame for this by being forgiving tolerant souls unwilling to kick up a stink in general. We have all experienced the "doesnt exist" or "you wont be able to get it and should buy this" or "not our fault due to the exchange rate", but then we understand we are talking to businesses unwilling to part the money to carry and house essential inventory...when you have a naive and tolerant consumer its best to simply pass these costs along the chain and make excuses for ones own business practice.

We now have at our disposal a worldwide marketplace...we can comfortably shop from home and save enormous amounts of hard earnt in the process. It may seem cruel to be kind, but in essence unless we shop worldwide we will commit our own local manufacturing base to death through lack of competitiveness....that desire to find a niche in a market with cashed up clients too lazy to shop around will remain...but our experience is that paying more doesnt get us more.

It is not as simple as telling us (as part of your hopeful client base you wish to access for free) that other people charging less produce garbage. Its not that easy to justify charging double or triple the price whilst relying upon customer ignorance.

If you have a product that is worth double, triple and quadruple the price it is up to you to PROVE it is worth it.

Just saying so isnt enough...saying "not one has passed the light test" aint enough because it sounds like a cynical and shallow marketing exercise assuming we are ignorant gibbons. What YOUR "light test" is really isnt important unless we know what it is right ? We may not not care one iota whether things are boxed correctly, or have a tax invoice, or have silicone connectors, have your problem with retailers, or even want a warranty on a budget product we are happy to run a small risk with.

We are happy to support local businesses, but its really up to you to do the work and prove your product out there over time for the price you want us to pay. How you do that is up to you. Otherwise we will continue to seek out a similar item that does the same thing for a fraction of the price.

Treat us as difficult clients to convince...we have a much bigger shop these days and for small ticket items are often happy to run a small basis risk. We would like nothing more than to believe your product is far far superior and support another local business but you are asking what seems a lot of money for something that we can access at a fraction of the price...convince us that we are TRULY getting three times the product for three times the price.

11-09-2010, 08:50 AM
On top of that we have supported the classically Australian layer cake of multiple layers of handling, usually due simply to a seeming inability or desire of local retailers to directly source knowing we seem only too happy to pay over the top prices..

Ain't that the truth?!!!

The greatest testimony to that always seems to me to be in the cost of downriggers.

I could accept a price penalty of maybe 20 - 30% for buying a north American manufactured product from a local tackle retailer but when the penalty is 200 - 300% over importing the exact same thing directly from a US retailer, and that same pricing exists across all Aussie retailers, then it is evident that something is desperately wrong with the business model.

nondo66
11-09-2010, 12:03 PM
Only time will prove me right or wrong
But at the end of the day can you ring him if its not working?
go on a few led forums and see for your self

11-09-2010, 01:30 PM
Only time will prove me right or wrong
But at the end of the day can you ring him if its not working?

True.

If however, any local business is not price competitive then it won't survive and so its warranties and back-up service will amount to nil as well.

It is indeed a "Catch 22".

snodger 08
12-09-2010, 08:11 PM
Guys I have only read the last page here, but I put a set of boatlights on the Gale Force that I bought at the Toowoomba camping and leisure show. They are simply fantastic. The light is soft and doesnt wreck your night vision, very easy to install (all the gear supplied).
I paid for quality, as you need that with electrics on a boat. I have had enough electronics fail me in the past.
Perhaps its not so important for house or car purposes. But for a boat, I wouldnt use anything of less quality personally.

OPTI
19-09-2010, 07:03 AM
i ran the led rope lighting ,which is priced from 20 dollars a meter to 75 per meter depending where you buy it from . it works great easy to install and you can hose it etc as its fully sealed and water proof.
the first pic shows you what it looks like hanging over the shelf .
the second pis show it on under the shelves in the cabin ,that is the soft white colour
the third pic is the cockpit ,i went blue colour and i have 2 white led down lights in the rear corners,you can also get red and bright white as well ,i fitted this to my mates pontoon with an converter and it lights up 2meters around the pontoon,looks really cool for a couple of hundred bucks

deckie
20-09-2010, 07:31 AM
Looks terrific opti....compliments a fantastic job on that rig.

Any specifics about the lights would be appreciated such as where u got them, how many led's per m etc.

Coz i fish a lot at night i'm leaning toward running two sets side by side under the gunwhale around the deck...a red and a bright blue. Lesser strength red for night vision when fishing and a much brighter blue for when needing plenty of light and at the ramp or not fishing.

OPTI
21-09-2010, 06:18 AM
i got mine from dave at east coast marine electrics at the gold coast city marina,he has all colours in stock ,just work out how long you need it ,he has the end caps and joiners too.
im guessing the leds are every 25mm,cheers dave

Grouse
21-09-2010, 06:29 AM
12V 10m rope light wired recently.

dunny
11-10-2010, 06:04 AM
Went camping on the wend( left early as it pi##ed down the whole time)
Mate was using a strip led same as these and the bugs loved em. Could have sworn that I read about them not attracting bugs. Anyone actually know if its only a certain colour or just someone trying to upsell the product.

11-10-2010, 09:23 PM
I have only seen these ones in person - http://www.bushranger.com.au/Flexible_LED_Strip_Lights.php

60 little tigers in one metre and bright as all get out. Not he cheapest. These are very light, very thin and have 3m self adhesive tape on the back. Mounting would be very easy and in very tight spaces. I would be keen to go the cheapies for my use - but can you easily cut and solder the bestofhongkong cheapies?

Grouse
12-10-2010, 06:42 AM
Went camping on the wend( left early as it pi##ed down the whole time)
Mate was using a strip led same as these and the bugs loved em. Could have sworn that I read about them not attracting bugs. Anyone actually know if its only a certain colour or just someone trying to upsell the product.

Off topic but, I thought that any LED colour lights didn't produce UV light and that's why insects and moths weren't attracted to them ?????

FishHunter
12-10-2010, 08:27 PM
I just bought these
http://boatlightfishing.com.au/product_info.php?products_id=92