View Full Version : Big Spano

BLOOEY
30-01-2010, 02:46 PM
Hit the water this morning at 5am up the sunny coast, hoping to get a fish in before the wind and rain started. Found some mack tuna working the surface and spun one up on a slug. Pinned him on (all 2kgs of him) and towed him around for a bit. One almighty surface strike later and i was onto a big fish. Some time (around 40mins)passed and several long powerful runs later i had a horse of a spaniard in the boat. Went 145cm and guessing around 20kg. What a blast. Had a dead tailor chopped in half after that with no hookup before it got a bit too rough for my tinny. Ben

supertinny
30-01-2010, 03:30 PM
Good stuff Ben. I like what you did with the tuna.

fishfreak01
30-01-2010, 03:35 PM
Thats one big bait and one bis spaniard, well done

BLOOEY
30-01-2010, 03:44 PM
Ta guys. Supertinny, after being bitten off a few times lateley a new tact was in order,1.5m of 90lb 7strand wire ahead of the live tuna seems to work!
Fishfreak, the one in the photo is about half the size of the one that got the spano!:o Huge bait and massive hit. Ben

30-01-2010, 03:47 PM
mate were you in the centre con? thought i saw you out there well done top fish.

frankgrimes
30-01-2010, 04:04 PM
Great spannish Ben - Well done mate!

Fish_gutz
30-01-2010, 04:06 PM
nice work Blooey top spanish. Cheers Andrew

jayvee
30-01-2010, 04:13 PM
awsome spano mate, we were out off mooloolaba aswell this morning and trolled up 3 spano's and a spotty in about an hour aswell. all on hardbodys. biggest spano went 11.5kg's. looks like we're in for a top season, cant wait for the big boys to start commin through.
JAYVEE

BLOOEY
30-01-2010, 04:51 PM
Yep skipalong 4.5 bluefin warrior c/c. I reckon the spearos in that area were doing alright! How did you fare?
Jayvee. Great catch mate. Interesting you got them on hardbodys. Have been giving them a fair go lately for not much, but a switch to dead bait gets results,and a switch to live gets even more. Any tips on lures and speed? Ben

30-01-2010, 06:10 PM
Mate well done thats a top fish

30-01-2010, 06:36 PM
Great fish Mate
You can't beat a livey out on the end of your line

FireFly
30-01-2010, 07:00 PM
Great fish Ben:thumbsup:

If you don't mind me asking...(I'm new to trolling livies), what style and size hooks do you use and does the Stinger have a majority hook up? Also what size wire are you using?? Would about 4-6knots be about your troll speed?

Thanks Mate!

30-01-2010, 09:09 PM
That is a great conversion.

Give the cat some first won't you.

jayvee
31-01-2010, 06:30 AM
BLOOEY- anything you can troll at speed (lively lures mac baits,rapala x-raps) we were trolling at 6.5 knots, but a little quicker would be even better. we noticed the long toms jumping out of the water everywhere to so assumed they would be feeding on them and put lures out that closest resembled them! go a shallow diver and a deep if your running 2 rods. the deep got all the hits except for the big spano which took the shallow diver

JAYVEE

indy
31-01-2010, 06:42 AM
Great fish mate the pic says it all, my mate got three spanish in the same area a couple of weeks agao on the red and white halco's.

BLOOEY
31-01-2010, 09:41 AM
Firefly, pretty new to it myself mate but 9/0 tarpon at the front and 3/0 trebble behind flemish eyes and crimps in the 90lb seven strand. 1.5m of it above the hooks.
angla, My cat 'Tuna' got a gutfull last night and is all good this morning.
Not wrong horse. Ben

FireFly
31-01-2010, 12:15 PM
Thanks Ben. I'm going to try this and will keep you posted if I have success!

ddobson
31-01-2010, 12:17 PM
Now how yah going to put that thing in the esky. Well done ben and in a tinny to.