View Full Version : Humminbird Down Imaging and Switchfire Images and More!

Doug Vahrenberg
24-01-2010, 08:27 AM
Here's an image from TSUCampbell on TFF that was his first day with Down Imaging and only his second time on the water with his Humminbird 997c. Not bad for your first day and only second time out.

http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e6/imonem/S00001jpg.png

Here's some more images that I have received from others consumers.

http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e6/imonem/dvv1.png
Thanks Dale V. - Texas

http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e6/imonem/Brushpiles3.jpg
Thanks Jim P. Arkansas

http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e6/imonem/S00061-1.png
Thanks Russ W. - Oklahoma

http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e6/imonem/S00161-2.png
Thanks Mike Bucca - Georgia

http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e6/imonem/S00156-1.png

http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e6/imonem/S00135jpg.png

http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e6/imonem/S00140-1.png

http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e6/imonem/S00146.png

http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e6/imonem/S00131.png

battler1
24-01-2010, 09:48 AM
Now thats better than any HDS pictures ive seen looks great'

Joe

Toddy_again
24-01-2010, 10:24 AM
WOW!!!!!!!

bluefin59
24-01-2010, 01:46 PM
Well thats going to make the lowrance blokes happy ,a better image without all the extra cost .I take it this is without any sort of an add on to the unit other than a software upgrade thanks ...matt

24-01-2010, 01:59 PM
The SI capacity on a Humminbird only comes with specific units - it's not an add on, you have to buy the specific unit.

Having said that, I did buy the 797 (smaller screen than that big 997) and the images are superb, but limited to about 30 m depth.

TonyM
24-01-2010, 02:59 PM
I just did the free software upgrade on my 797 to add the down imaging capability, and a few other features/updates - certainly was a nice surprise that they made the effort to provide this feature for obsolete models that were capable of supporting it, full marks for customer service!

There's a comparison on the unnoficial humminbird side imaging website that shows the HDS images being better quality, although I'm happy enough with the quality on my current unit and certainly don't feel the need to outlay heaps of moola to change.

I've had a few Humminbird SI units now and they've been reliable, the Lowrance units seem to have been having a few teething problems, they look great but I wouldn't look at getting one until they get the teething problems sorted out personally.

24-01-2010, 03:42 PM
It's like science fiction, that full width shot with individual fish is gob smacking. So is the one below showing cluster arch's (my word) and then next to it the actual individual fish they are representing, it's just WOW!...... how much money do I have in my bank account!

GAD
24-01-2010, 04:55 PM
I see now said the fisherman . Gee great images , such clarity , those pesky little blighters can't hide now , I just can't see one on my boat for a little while .

Toddy_again
24-01-2010, 07:55 PM
Where to next from here for sounder technology?
Its mind boggling to think they will improve.

Toddy

Steve B
24-01-2010, 08:07 PM
Guys, these are definatley amazing shots.

BUT, I reckon the last three shots are from a Lowrance sounder?? The first 4 are definatley from a hummingbird sounder.

Have a look at the raw sonar (not the down image pic)

Hummingbird and Lowrance have distinct colours and images, and arches etc.

Just something I noticed, might be wrong.

CHeers Steve

TonyM
24-01-2010, 09:40 PM
Gday Steve,

I haven't had a decent look at it yet since I installed the software update, however part of it is new colour pallettes for the standard sonar view - that's possibly what makes it look different from what you've seen on the birds before?

sagair
24-01-2010, 10:47 PM
http://www.bassing.co.za/bassingforum/boating-equipment/3095-lowrance-hds-downscan-v-s-humminbird-downimaging.html
Some more comparisons are on this link, may have to cut and paste, cheers

sagair
24-01-2010, 10:49 PM
http://www.fishtec.co.za/downimaging%20and%20downscan.htm

Sniper
25-01-2010, 01:31 PM
Doug, great stuff.

Great to see you on this site too. You've given a lot of people some great advise on BBC in the states. They guys down here will really benifit from your knowledge of the Humminbird product.

I updated my 797 the other week and have only had a chance to try it out once. It was only on a shallow lake with little structure, however it did show the difference between weed and baitfish a lot more clearly.

Top marks to Humminbird for coming up with a solution to the 797 issue. For those who don't know, when Humminbird first announced the release of Down Imaging, the 797 was incompatible due to the processore. Since then, they have worked extremely hard to be able to find a solution to this issue. Thanks Humminbird and all the tech staff!!! :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :2thumbsup:

eureka
25-01-2010, 02:10 PM
can someone help with this I've got a 797 and registered on the humminbird site but when I go to down load the upgrade there's nothing there do i need to put the sd card in the computer first and download it straigth to the card hope some one can help with this
thanks matt

Doug Vahrenberg
25-01-2010, 02:53 PM
IF you look at this page from the 2010 Catalog there are new color pallets for the 2D (Bottom Left): http://www.dougvahrenberg.com/images/HB011.jpg and new color pallets for the SI/DI screen views (Bottom Right): http://www.dougvahrenberg.com/images/HB007.jpg

For Downloading updates you have to have the unit registered. THis guide will help you with many common "How To's": http://www.dougvahrenberg.com/files/Humminbird_How_To_s_for_Customers2.pdf

More and more images are rolling in daily. I'll try to share more as I get them and get some time. Really Crazy with all the new models and features.

Maccas
26-01-2010, 09:34 AM
I tried to register but I couldn't because even though I selected other country, ( not US or Canada) you still need to choose a state and the options in the the drop down menu are all US states so that makes your address wrong. Have sent a message to Humminbird but haven't received a reply. Did anyone else have this problem. What did you do.

Maccas

TonyM
26-01-2010, 09:56 AM
I tried to register but I couldn't because even though I selected other country, ( not US or Canada) you still need to choose a state and the options in the the drop down menu are all US states so that makes your address wrong. Have sent a message to Humminbird but haven't received a reply. Did anyone else have this problem. What did you do.

Maccas

There's a state called "Other"

Doug Vahrenberg
26-01-2010, 12:52 PM
Humminbird Down Imaging finds PacMan....Actually a Bass Just above a huge concentration of Baitfish!

http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e6/imonem/Down%20Imaging/S00008.png

So many Baitfish but the Bass is still there:
http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e6/imonem/Down%20Imaging/House1.jpg

Zoom in of tree reveals the Bass:
http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e6/imonem/Down%20Imaging/House3.jpg

Maccas
26-01-2010, 04:36 PM
Thanks Tony. Was obviously a bit tired last night when I tried to register but found it now so all good.

Cheers ,

Maccas

TonyM
26-01-2010, 07:06 PM
Thanks Tony. Was obviously a bit tired last night when I tried to register but found it now so all good.

Cheers ,

Maccas

Don't feel bad about it, I only found it on my second attempt at registering after having a good grumble about bloody septics forgetting the rest of the world as usual ;D

Scott Mitchell
27-01-2010, 06:39 AM
Gday Steve,

I haven't had a decent look at it yet since I installed the software update, however part of it is new colour pallettes for the standard sonar view - that's possibly what makes it look different from what you've seen on the birds before?

What boat is the new unit in now - I saw you sold the stealth ?

Our new one is about 4 weeks away - Scotto

TonyM
27-01-2010, 02:16 PM
Gday Scott,

I downsized to a 430 Quintrex Topender as part trade on the Stealth. Just the ticket for banging around up the creeks with Jamie who's very keen and not half bad at casting for a 5 year old :)

Fortunately it had a Humminbird in it (and all the other bells and whistles I need) as I'd really miss the side imaging now I've used it.

You must be getting excited now it's finally almost done, can't wait to see the new rig when she's finished :thumbsup:

leelee
27-01-2010, 03:11 PM
Some great pics there that’s for sure. As for the price difference well for a 798 v's a hds there is only a few hundred in it, but if you have a separate HDS GPS or another sounder combo unit then you can network up to 3 units together through the ethernet box for lowrance for extra added functionality. This is especially good for larger offshore boats that might have a unit up on a fly bridge etc or bass boats where 2 units are common.

Now thats better than any HDS pictures ive seen looks great'

Joe

There are heaps of great HDS shots and I have seen heaps that are as good or if not better.

I have just had the LSS1 unit fitted to my unit and first tripout was amazing. I will take a few screen shots next time out and put them up.

Lee

sagair
27-01-2010, 03:42 PM
Some great pics there that’s for sure. As for the price difference well for a 798 v's a hds there is only a few hundred in it, but if you have a separate HDS GPS or another sounder combo unit then you can network up to 3 units together through the ethernet box for lowrance for extra added functionality. This is especially good for larger offshore boats that might have a unit up on a fly bridge etc or bass boats where 2 units are common.

There are heaps of great HDS shots and I have seen heaps that are as good or if not better.

I have just had the LSS1 unit fitted to my unit and first tripout was amazing. I will take a few screen shots next time out and put them up.

Lee
http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y94/redhsv/fishtechumminbirddownimaging455kHz.jpg
http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y94/redhsv/fishtechumminbirddownimaging800kHz.jpg
http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y94/redhsv/fishteclowrancedownscan455kHz.jpg
http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y94/redhsv/fishteclowrancedownscan800kHz.jpg

x2, These pics were from the link I posted on the previous page. The bloke that took these is not sponsored by Lowrance or Hummingbird and presented this as an independent test.

sagair
27-01-2010, 03:57 PM
From the forums in the USA and on here it appears Hummingbird is so far ahead with customer service and repairs and customer product help/advise etc that there is no comparison between Lowrance and Hummingbird in this respect.

leelee
27-01-2010, 04:00 PM
From the forums in the USA and on here it appears Hummingbird is so far ahead with customer service and repairs and customer product help/advise etc that there is no comparison between Lowrance and Hummingbird in this respect.

You can't believe everything you read on the net that’s for sure? Well I hope you don't becuase if you do I can put you onto a few sites that will really change your thoughts.

I had 2 units go back to navico and be replaced in less then 5 working days and I am a no-one to Navico. Sure you get bad things happen but then again you do with all makes, just the publicity that some receive are unjustified because it is a typical American propaganda that takes place to push their products. Sometimes there are faults but they are quickly rectified by both Hbird and Navico.

Here are some hard facts about Navico AUS that all the would be Navico bashers don't look at.

1. When you buy any Navico unit and install it yourself and you can't get it to work properly, don't blame the producer of the unit as 95% of the time the user has screwed things up.

2. Every time I call navico, normally with really brain frying questions re networking and performance, they know the answers, so if they can answer issues surround complex networking, then they can surely answer your questions surrounding simple set ups.

3. I have been a avid user of navico products long before they became fashionable and never once have i received inferior customer service.

4. If you buy a unit from O'seas then tough luck if it breaks. Deal with it and be prepared to pay the money to either get it fixed here or send it back from where it came to be repaired.

5. Your navico dealer can either install or organise an installer for you. If this happens you always have extra assured of a job well done and if something goes wrong well it wasn't the back yard job or splicing some wires together that caused the problem.

6. Learn to use the unit. Most people I help out with sounders/gps don't read the manual or get frustrated in trying to get something to work. the answers are almost straight in front of you all the time.

I have used Hbird prior to Navico and am well versed in side imaging and sounders so I can look past all the hype and see what is the best for me.

x2, These pics were from the link I posted on the previous page. The bloke that took these is not sponsored by Lowrance or Hummingbird and presented this as an independent test.

I am not sponsored by Lowrance or Humminbird either so my comments are not based on who will give me what for free or cheaper but the value for money my unit has for me and both company's make excellent units with outstanding results for us as end users.

My comment was based around the fact of people stating that the hbird shots were better then anything from lowrance and I stated to basically have a betetr look around. Here is a few I was talking about -

http://www.pbo.co.uk/imageBank/s/shot_4b.jpg (http://www.pbo.co.uk/imageBank/s/shot_4b.jpg)

http://fishinweb.com/messages/messages/8/14620.jpg (http://fishinweb.com/messages/messages/8/14620.jpg)

http://i796.photobucket.com/albums/yy249/sktr20I/shot7.png (http://i796.photobucket.com/albums/yy249/sktr20I/shot7.png)

That looks pretty good to me.

Just didn't want anyone to think I was afiliated with Navico in any way, shape or form.

Lee

sagair
27-01-2010, 04:15 PM
[x2] I was agreeing with your previous post. The quote and what I said was separated by the pictures. Having a thunderstorm here and the computer is rolling and dropping out. I agree the pictures are clearer [have read better technology LOL not that I understand]. I posted those pics to reaffirm what you had laid out as in Fishton's test the Lowrance pictures were clearly better to most people. However Doug Vahrenberg was not happy with the H'bird pictures [no offence meant Doug]. To me it is really a Holden Ford thing LOL. Best Regards

leelee
27-01-2010, 04:17 PM
[x2] I was agreeing with your previous post. The quote and what I said was separated by the pictures. Having a thunderstorm here and the computer is rolling and dropping out. I agree the pictures are clearer [have read better technology LOL not that I understand]. I posted those pics to reaffirm what you had laid out as in Fishton's test the Lowrance pictures were clearly better to most people. However Doug Vahrenberg was not happy with the H'bird pictures [no offence meant Doug]. To me it is really a Holden Ford thing LOL. Best Regards

i agree totally. 2 years ago I believ 1 make was much betetr then the other but now its a pretty close race. Shame about the storm but surley you have had enoguh rain up there by now;D

Lee