View Full Version : QLD Boating Registration Fees Increase

SnapHead101
18-01-2010, 02:02 PM
Hi All,

Sometime ago QLD boating fee registration fees jumped markedly. Does anyone know a percentage of how much they went up, or where the info can be found. I've googled it and can't locate the info. I may be in our local paper re another boating issue in Mackay and want to fire off a shot about the recent fee hike as the jouro seems interested.

18-01-2010, 06:31 PM
Mate, it went up ages ago. Before last October anyways as that was when one of my rego's was due.
Do a search for boat rego in the boating section and you'll get a gew threads about it.
They did not go up as a percentage but went up astronomically in some size ranges....like 300% if I remember right.

Donny Boy
18-01-2010, 08:03 PM
Mine went from $ 103 ......to $ 157.............according to me, that's 65.6%. :o >:(

That was last year.........:-/
and doesn't include the Trailer......>:(
or the unit/s I pull the bloody thing round with.........>:(>:(>:(>:(>:(

I wonder when they'll come after the first-born male child ?????

gr hilly
18-01-2010, 08:18 PM
wait for the new taxes fellas sugar is going up 35% as for a cold beer well im pleased i dont,the biggest rise will be any thing made outside of china for some reason they miss out maybe they have sweet talked rudd.

hilly

datamile
18-01-2010, 08:34 PM
I believe they went up on 20/10/2008

Up to and including 4.5 m $ 68.90 $ 81.50
4.51 m - 6 m $108.50 $161.30
6.01 m - 10 m $148.15 $268.05
10.01 m - 15 m $174.50 $393.85
15.01 m - 20 m $214.05 $488.30
20.01 m and over $267.00 $614.50

Just paid mine today. Another 157+161 ;(

Here's the transport site link

http://www.transport.qld.gov.au/Home/General_information/Boating/Boating_news_and_events/

tigermullet
18-01-2010, 08:46 PM
That sounds right. Mine was due in May 2009 and increased to $268.05 from $141.40 the previous year. The discrepancy in figures must mean there was a slight increase between May and Oct 2008.

Whatever - an increase of 89.5% in one jump is a bit much really but what can be done when the Queensland Government goes wild with spending? The State is deep in debt.

tigermullet
18-01-2010, 08:58 PM
wait for the new taxes fellas sugar is going up 35% as for a cold beer well im pleased i dont,the biggest rise will be any thing made outside of china for some reason they miss out maybe they have sweet talked rudd.

hilly

Hell's bells! 35% for sugar?? The cost of each 750ml bottle of home brew is on the rise by a couple of cents. What a parlous situation to be in. Damn.

On a more serious note, the cost of things made in China won't hold steady because of any deals done with Mr. Rudd. China has a problem of over capacity and they will probably flog things for whatever they can get to keep jobs and their population relatively quiet. The last thing China wants is to see the masses turn to revolution out of desperation.

But thanks, Hilly, I didn't know about any planned increase for sugar.

These increases lead me to believe that we are shagged - and it's getting worse.;D

19-01-2010, 07:03 AM
I believe they went up on 20/10/2008

Up to and including 4.5 m $ 68.90 $ 81.50
4.51 m - 6 m $108.50 $161.30
6.01 m - 10 m $148.15 $268.05
10.01 m - 15 m $174.50 $393.85
15.01 m - 20 m $214.05 $488.30
20.01 m and over $267.00 $614.50

Just paid mine today. Another 157+161 ;(

Here's the transport site link

http://www.transport.qld.gov.au/Home/General_information/Boating/Boating_news_and_events/

One of the advantages of having a NSW address as well.
Registration is on a sliding scale
$48.00 for vessels up to 3 metres, then $8.80 per half metre there after, to a maximum of $533.00
http://www.maritime.nsw.gov.au/rec_boating/rec_fees.html#transfer