PDA

View Full Version : Northstar Fuel flow meters

Kondo 1
12-01-2010, 06:41 AM
Gday Guys,

This is not a strictly boating question - howver I am hopeful someone can help me.

Just wondering if anyone has had much to do with the northstar/Navman fuel flow meters?? I was initially looking at the Lowrance meter but it is apparently not suitable for Diesel.

I am looking seriously at doing and engine swap in my landcruiser for a chev diesel and was wondering whether or not I could get a fuel flow meter like this to work?? It will be linked up with a Garmin 76csx GPS which apparently has a NMEA 0183 output.

What do u reckon? Could I get it to work or does anyone have any other suggestions??

Cheers.

Kero
13-01-2010, 04:49 PM
I'm no expert on this but I do have one hooked up to a Northstar GPS/Plotter.
I can't see why it wouldn't work on a Garmin since it's just a paddle wheel with magnets that counts revolutions as fuel flows through it. You just need to be able to calibrate your GPS to get it to read accurately.
I find that, once calibrated, they are a very accurate tool/guide.
Hope this helps!:)

FNQCairns
13-01-2010, 05:40 PM
Only problem you will have is with the fuel return, if you can get it to read only what the engine takes and uses then it will work fine, although I do not know that engine I suspect your idea will not be possible.

cheers fnq

Redrocks
15-01-2010, 05:09 PM
Kondo,

As FNQ says, you will only be able to do it with 2 units. One measuring what the transfer pump draws from the tank, and the other measuring the "spill" to tank. The difference in numbers is your consumption.

Redrocks

FNQCairns
15-01-2010, 07:58 PM
Kondo,

As FNQ says, you will only be able to do it with 2 units. One measuring what the transfer pump draws from the tank, and the other measuring the "spill" to tank. The difference in numbers is your consumption.

Redrocks