View Full Version : Ice fishing in Norway

Karl Inge
11-01-2010, 06:22 PM
I`ve seen on the news that some of you guys have record high temperatures now, as do parts of Norway-but in the other end of the scale.....

Beautiful weather in western Norway in the start of 2010, but its VERY cold, I dont think I have ever experienced a so long and cold month ever as these last 3 weeks. But the good news is- ice!
Finally managed to comvince myself to get out in the cold and had a great day fishing :) Fishing were ok- lots of smaller fish, whitey, mackerel, dabs etc.
Beautiful start of the day, -10celsius
http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2724/4263218568_8636eaacd5_b.jpg
My friend Thor
http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4045/4262468395_6609b99d30_b.jpg
The best end of a fishing trip- back home with fresh whitey in the pan :)
http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4021/4263068959_f148ba5e97_o.jpg

indy
11-01-2010, 08:14 PM
That looks like a yakka to me is that whats on the dinner plate, we use them for live bait over here

TCSunCoast
11-01-2010, 09:09 PM
Looks like good flesh, might have to eat yakka

Looks like hard work over there for a feed.

Karl Inge
11-01-2010, 09:23 PM
The fish I`?m eating is whiting (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Merlangius_merlangus) , its an ABSOLUTE DELIGHT when fresh, but loses quality fast when frozen, Put it in the pan same day you caught it and you dont really need anything more on your plate, its so delicious :)

Not hard work, hard fun :D

11-01-2010, 10:37 PM
thanks for the overseas report...thought i was going to see holes cut ot of the ice and you pulling killer whales out of them...lol

Karl Inge
11-01-2010, 10:48 PM
Wheres the sport in that- whales are so stupid they beach themselves :D At least the fish you have to trick to get them above water :)

TimD
11-01-2010, 11:03 PM
Here is a picture of what we call a whiting and a picture of a yakka rigged up with a hook through its back ready to be sent into the depths

cheers tim :smiley:

sleepygreg
11-01-2010, 11:34 PM
Thanks for the report from the Northern Climes Karl. I believe the "whiting" that you are referring to is a member of the true cod family, caught in northern atlantic waters and more closely related to what we refer to as "ling". It turns up in our market place as frozen fillets, marketed as "north sea whiting", its not bad eating in that form, so would imagine that it would be superb on the table when caught fresh. I may be wrong in that, as you may have similar discrepencies in fish marketing and common names of local fish as we do here.

From my friends and relos who come from the colder northern regions, and indeed those from the colder southern waters, I believe that a lot of the cold water species have brilliant firm white flesh, and very high in Omega3.

Please keep your reports coming....it opens up our minds to how others fish, and keeps us in touch with the rest of the world.

Many thanks

Karl Inge
11-01-2010, 11:43 PM
God info her :) Your whitey is not like ours I see, as said above- our whiting is part of the cod-family, also related to the ling as mentioned :)

The yakka however seems very similar to the fish my friend has caught, which is a Horse Mackerel (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Atlantic_horse_mackerel)

hellfisher
12-01-2010, 05:20 AM
-10 . At least you wouldn't have to by ice for the esky you could just throw your catch on the ground behind you .

Karl Inge
12-01-2010, 06:48 AM
LOL
The bait froze to the ice, seriously. And I had to defrost the fish when I got back home before I could filet my frsh catch :D

BR65
12-01-2010, 07:40 AM
Thanks mate, interesting stuff, and totally differant from my trip last week!

hookinin
12-01-2010, 10:42 PM
Great to see such a different climates fishing and i agree with you on the hard fun . Looking forward to more reports so you may just have to go fishing to give us more ;)
Cheers Gaven

reefer
13-01-2010, 06:39 PM
I agree with Sleepygreg. whiting is the smaller cousin of the cod and grows up to about 3 kilos in UK waters. They are a welcome bycatch when fishing for winter cod in the south of england and taste really good.
The baitfish is a horse mackeral and is very similar to the Yakkas here.

I hope you get a cod soon.

Reefer

Karl Inge
16-01-2010, 05:31 AM
Small clip from last trip:
http://www.youfish.no/video/316/Isfiskeforresfjorden-klipp

Karl Inge
16-01-2010, 09:00 AM
Another day on the ice- not to much fish but hey- a bad day of fishing kicks ass compared to any day working :)

Beautiful day
http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2677/4276706223_41596f0e72_o.jpg

Simple but effective
http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2791/4276706295_6ae9540a4e_o.jpg

Good times :)
http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2710/4276706411_05a7f02db5_o.jpg

Got cold when the sun diseappeared
http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2746/4276706457_4f1459f3b4_o.jpg

Perfect ending
http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4008/4276706509_25bb14bf3e_o.jpg

Nice cod
http://www.youfish.no/video/319/Nice-cod-on-the-ice

Very happy to finally have bought a videocamera, more videos will follow :)

the baker
16-01-2010, 11:34 AM
That would go good with a bridle and circle hook off it's nose

the baker
16-01-2010, 11:40 AM
your right about the not being at work that landscape is awesome so do you check the ice much to see if it safe to be on and how thick is it

Karl Inge
16-01-2010, 06:40 PM
It depends- in this case we had been told from others it was about 30cm which pretty much holds a car- but if were not sure we will test by making holes every 5-10m from shore and out until we feel secure. We use floatingequipment and of course- never go on the ice unless its 100% safe.

Karl Inge
18-01-2010, 07:38 AM
Icefishing again today, but no fish for me :(

Slow fishing, so we arranged a drilling-contest lol
http://www.youfish.no/video/321/Isboringkonkurranse

First attempt using new videocamera underwater- put my hand down in the hole-cold!
http://www.youfish.no/video/322/Whiting-underwater

Friend with NICE haddock
http://www.youfish.no/video/325/Hyse-25kg-Haddock

Karl Inge
26-01-2010, 03:31 AM
Another day of icefishing- nothing for me but my friend caught qa couple of nice cods

Cods
http://www.youfish.no/video/329/A-couple-of-cods-on-the-ice

Grey Heron on the ice
http://www.youfish.no/video/330/Grey-Heron

fishing111
26-01-2010, 02:42 PM
That ice dosn't look that thick to me, braver than me..good stuff Karl:)

FireFly
26-01-2010, 10:20 PM
Great reports Karl, keep them coming mate! :thumbsup:

Those photos are simply spectacular and like some have already said, nice to see how it's done on the otherside of the globe :)

Cheers Rob