View Full Version : Lookout Dolly

07-01-2010, 04:16 PM
I did a quick hit and run through South Passage before work today With my brother Glenn (Cervelo). Scored a couple of Bonito early on minnows before tying on the high speed lures for a qicker troll. After 15mins or so the line screams off and out pops a very acrobatic Dolly. It fought all the way to the boat. It went just on 9kg and punched well above its weight.
The call was made to hit the road early as the wind was picking up and I was at work not long after 11.00am:-/

Spectre
07-01-2010, 05:10 PM
Well done Neil.

A nice fice & a nice feed ....gotta be happy with that !!!!!

Phil

SWANY22
07-01-2010, 05:25 PM
nice work thoes dollies are defently on my catch list.

bayfisher
07-01-2010, 05:32 PM
Maybe not the hoo you were after, but not a bad bycatch ;D.

Cheers Chris

Goldfinch
07-01-2010, 05:56 PM
Nice one Neil. How wide did you have to go to nail the Dollie? Looks like it was pretty choppy out there.

07-01-2010, 06:06 PM
Nice one Neil. How wide did you have to go to nail the Dollie? Looks like it was pretty choppy out there.

Dave, the Dolly came from the Southern 29s area. The water did not look all that flash and was not the sort of stuff I normally associate with Dollies etc. The swell was only a little over a meter but had a cross chop that made it messy:P

07-01-2010, 06:08 PM
Maybe not the hoo you were after, but not a bad bycatch ;D.

Cheers Chris

Those Hoo are a little elusive this season. I'm sure they will turn up soon. I certainly don't mind the bycatch like that

Pistol_P
07-01-2010, 06:31 PM
Nice Dolly Horse,

A mate of mine got a wahoo today .... more dollies around than wahoo it seems though.

Ratman
07-01-2010, 06:31 PM
Nice colour there Neil. Goodonya.

rogerb
07-01-2010, 08:09 PM
Some good chewing there Horse. I had some Dollie for dinner tonight, bloody tasty shallow fried in a crispy crumb coating. Thanks Jeffo for the spare fish.

Cheers, Rog

ON-THE-CHEW
07-01-2010, 08:12 PM
Neil,
Well done on the Dollie, good thing you didn't have a sleep in two days in a row. Was a the dollie on the skirts? Nice fish for a quick run out..

07-01-2010, 08:46 PM
Neil,
Well done on the Dollie, good thing you didn't have a sleep in two days in a row. Was a the dollie on the skirts? Nice fish for a quick run out..

Yea, it was a Hex Head style skirt. I kicked myself on Wed when the weather sorted itself out. Still not a lot of activity out there at the moment though

GPB
07-01-2010, 09:37 PM
Those Hoo are a little elusive this season. I'm sure they will turn up soon. I certainly don't mind the bycatch like that

WHOOPS!! THIS WAS A REPLY TO Post#8 by Pistol_P

Just the one Wahoo on a Green X-Rap 20 for the day Pete, but caught a small Dolly and lost a YFT on the same lure, scored a YFT on a 160 Halco in YFT colour.
No hits on the Halco Max or Masta Blasta which were wire rigged, and no hits on any skirts.

cobiaman
07-01-2010, 11:47 PM
nice fish neil, well done

sleepygreg
08-01-2010, 12:48 AM
great looking Dollie. there is some nice chewing there. The chicken of the sea (along with Albacore).
Well Done

Midnight
08-01-2010, 10:20 AM
Nice one mate, always fun to catch!

They are better than chicken Greg!;D

Myles

wak69
08-01-2010, 12:30 PM
Great catch.

bigjimg
08-01-2010, 10:33 PM
Not a bad way to psych yourself for work.It would have the opposite effect on me,I wouldn't go to work,not after catching a Dollie.Bloody good will power.Good one.Jim

rakinray
09-01-2010, 08:02 AM
Nice work Neil i have been waiting for weeks to do the same trip and see whats about ! Havent even got the lures wet this season but might have to get out asap after i heard that this week with the SE winds blowin that the Fast brigade have hit town. Top lookin Dollie mate, did you have a look around the WRB ?

cheers ray.

09-01-2010, 01:04 PM
did you have a look around the WRB ?

cheers ray.

G'day Ray

We only did the Group, Sevens and then over to 29's. I reckon the WRB might be holding Gold;D

madmackrel
09-01-2010, 04:36 PM
8-) Good on ya Neil, getting out tomorrow mate, and heading in that same area, hope we do alright

Cheers Perry