PDA

View Full Version : Bait Tank Plumbing Advice

FireFly
06-01-2010, 09:55 PM
Hi All,

Firstly, I must apologise for the bad weather through Christmas...you see, I bought a boat ...last time I did that it rained for weeks as well !! >:(

Anyway, I'm new to the AF forums and recently bought a 4.5m Bluefin Predator (2nd Hand - only 10hrs!) and plan on fishing the local estuaries and hopefully Moreton Bay on good days. I'm concerened about the Live Bait tank plumbing and will explain as best as I can...

The bait tank on the Predator is flush fitted into the rear casting deck which is quite low. It has a through hull bilge/pick-up with 19mm hose to the tank and this part seems okay? My concerns are with the outlets from the tank...there is a outlet up high next to the inlet in the tank, and another at the bottom which I think is normally plugged during use and unplugged to let the water run out back at the ramp? Anyway, it appears who ever has plumbed this thing has joined the two outlets with a tee piece and both outlets flow to a THROUGH HULL outlet which IS BELOW WATER LEVEL right next to the pick up?? Is this usual practice on Boats with lower inbuilt Bait Tanks??

Has anyone had any experience with these lower mounted bait tanks?? Just want piece of mind as sinking the wife and the kiddies ain't gunna go down well! ...Will take rubber bungs just in case ;D

Thanks, Rob

Damned67
06-01-2010, 10:23 PM
I'm not an expert by any means, but water shouldn't flow 'uphill'. That is to say, that despite the fact that the outlets are below the waterline, it 'shouldn't' feed water up into the bait tank. That's why most people use pumps to pump the water up into their tank.
In my eyes, the only risk of sinking would be from the outlet not being sealed (and I'm sure it is sealed properly) and allowing water into the hull?

Edit: Oh, and congrats on the new boat!!!! A 4.5 will get you all over the bay in decent weather!

FireFly
06-01-2010, 11:18 PM