View Full Version : Your Best Fish of 2009

ON-THE-CHEW
31-12-2009, 09:07 PM
It has been a tough year this year with a lot of dodgy weather and seasons not being as they should but what is your best fish of 2009, doesn't have to be your biggest, maybe a fish you have been after for a while.

I will start things off, mine is a 25kg GT I caught, best thing about it is was caught locally and in my own boat. We had already caught a couple in my boat but I had not until this one, definately a high light for the year among a few other pb's and new species I had not caught before.

01-01-2010, 12:48 PM
Youre not kidding about the bad weather. Between it, work and some mechanical issues my trips have been few and far between:-/ .
My standout memory was a large (50lb) Cod I pulled of a ledge in the northern bay on a placcie on a $150.00 outfit.
The amazing thing was the fact that Chris (bayfisher) had lost a good fish a few weeks before in the same area. Inside this beasts gob was the remains of the lure Chris was using (Storm Wildeye Mackeral);D

All the best for 2010 and bring on the bent rods

vertico
01-01-2010, 01:23 PM
11 kg red off 1770 was part of my first bagout of reds.....
http://www.petackle.com/images/stories/reds/DSC00409%20%28Small%29.JPG

Chamelion
01-01-2010, 04:28 PM
My PB GT (by far).. caught on a live silver biddy, 6-10kg mojiko rod, pflueger patriarch reel and 15lb braid.

http://i225.photobucket.com/albums/dd46/Chamelion/IMG_4177B.jpg

01-01-2010, 04:39 PM
I can't actually recall catching a fish in 2009 so they must have been insignificant to say the least....or it's just the Alzheimer's

01-01-2010, 05:50 PM
my best fish in 2009 was the grilled snapper at cleveland rsl.......:):):)

bluefin59
01-01-2010, 06:11 PM
A couple of great catches there guys ,i would have to say the fish i caught in the territory on my 5 day charter where fantastic so i had to put up one for my self and one of the misses with her best for the year . Hope this year proves to be as good i hope you all catch some great fish in 2010 ...matt8-) 8-) 8-)

TimD
01-01-2010, 11:30 PM
My best 2 fish of 2009 were my PB Snapper at Mud Island and a Longtail from Hervey Bay taken on a popper.

cheers tim :smiley:

Mac1952
02-01-2010, 04:49 AM
Finally, that elusive first Marlin.

stonecold
02-01-2010, 08:38 AM
hard to choose but think its one of these

02-01-2010, 08:54 AM
Midway through 2009 I upgraded my boat that still has not seen offshore work very much because of the aforementioned crap weather, but whenever I did get offshore, the catch has usually been fantastic, be it myself or one of the crew out with me.

My YT kingy trip at Hutchies was a ripper, but I still get a buzz out of catching the humble snapper on light string, this one, 90cm caught on 10lb main and 12 pound leader off southport seaway (local) will take some beating. Also the fact she was released adds to the reason I choose this fish as best for 2009.

http://i414.photobucket.com/albums/pp223/Scalem/ScalemSnapperweb.jpg
http://i414.photobucket.com/albums/pp223/Scalem/100_6728.jpg

vertico
02-01-2010, 11:06 AM
top stuff scalem takes a big man to let something like that go :P

02-01-2010, 11:16 AM
Well if it doesn't have to be big because I have caught nothing this year bigger than in the past so then it's a goatfish i caught, pretty sure never seen one in the flesh before.

Most exciting fish all round was spotting a clown fish (nemo) when snorkelling with my 5yo daughter as it's the fish we used as the carrot to learn and practice the techniques required.

TimD
02-01-2010, 11:47 AM
top stuff scalem takes a big man to let something like that go :P

Yeah i told him he was mad putting it back but he was determined to see it swim off, it took quite a while to revive but ended up swimming off strongly.

cheers tim :smiley:

02-01-2010, 12:22 PM
The shark was 8 feet easy, and well over the 100 Kg mark. Bloody good fun, but WAY too much work on jigging gear. Check the size of the jig in his gob (350g) and you get an idea on the size of the shark.

The Ambo was 11 Kg bled, caught at Agnes.

A very quiet year, but 2010 will be catch up year!

ronnien
02-01-2010, 12:45 PM
for me & my son just a couple.

pb red.

http://i264.photobucket.com/albums/ii161/ronnien_photos/Picture319.jpg

luke's pb... slug caught queenie.

http://i264.photobucket.com/albums/ii161/ronnien_photos/Picture291.jpg

pb gt.

http://i264.photobucket.com/albums/ii161/ronnien_photos/PC190356.jpg

& first ever trout on metal slug.

http://i264.photobucket.com/albums/ii161/ronnien_photos/Picture284.jpg

ron.

02-01-2010, 12:54 PM
As everyone knows, i don't manage to catch many fish..went on a few charters in 2009 and caught some reefies and a couple of tuna..I think there is only one pic of me holding a fish and that is in a group pic..never had a pic taken with just me and a fish and never will..not into that..HOWEVER...as far as fish go, there have been some great catches by various members during 2009. Many seen in the reports section.
I believe the best one was a thread started by Scalem:
http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?t=149395

I have copied the pic and pasted it here Scalem..truly shows what fishing is about..the mateship and helping out a mate when you can. Well done.

02-01-2010, 10:29 PM
Thanks Greg, Dave does deserve to have his spot here, his yella will most likely be his PB fish for many years. ... He can't do anywhere near the amount of fishing as I do and boating is out of the question with his condition which is brittle bone disease.

Thanks M8!

thelump
04-01-2010, 09:59 AM
Mine would be this beast. Went 32kg caught on a live pike on 30lb mono.

Jurkyjj
05-01-2010, 08:19 AM
Mine would have to have been my first "legal" spangled Emporer.
Not a huge fish, but, certainly gave me a hurry up.

Jason.

honda900
08-01-2010, 01:12 PM
22kg Jewie, for me but had a few over the year, snapper round the 8kg mark, and a Golden trevally up around the 8kg mark..

Honda.

Mac1952
13-01-2010, 04:22 PM
Undoubtedly the marlin I have been chasing (forever, it seemed):D :D :D . It may not seem much to you experienced guys, but to me it was very special.

Thanks to Rob (Smithy) Jeffo and Guy for advice and help in making this dream come true. And two days before Christmas too!!!!

Pity we could not revive him:'( :'(

CHAPPY
15-01-2010, 06:57 AM
Biggest for 2009 was a Golden Trevally 850mm long caught at Tin Can under the power lines on peeled green banana prawns.

Iam still grinning.
Chappy

Robbo_Townsville
16-01-2010, 11:51 PM
Well 2009 was very friendly to myself as far as PB's goes:D . Mine was a Barracuda caught livebaiting behind one of the reefs off Townsville. It went a whopping 52 1/2 pounds and strethed the tape to 1.56 metres;D ;D ;D .
An enlarged photo in the living room reminds me of that day!! Thought it would have come up a little better on the bbq so had to mix and match between bbq's and curries!!
I know a lot of people would like to know where i went and all i can say is:-X :-X :-X :-X :-X :-X :-X :-X :-X :-X

Karl Inge
17-01-2010, 12:01 AM
Lot of cracking fish her m8s :) Love the shark photo, sharks are definetely most beautiful in the water :)

I alos love the photos of Ronnies son :) Coraltrout?

My best catch was a carp- a solid PB and my first angling trip abroad, it was caught in Denmark:
http://www.fiskersiden.no/images/artikler/reportasjer/danmark2009/danmark2009146.jpg

Skusto
17-01-2010, 11:38 AM
Wasnt a very impressive year but still learning mine would of had to be the 13.5kg chinaman fish up at 1770 and also the 10,5kg amberjack caught at deep tempest!

http://i354.photobucket.com/albums/r406/skusto/SDC10060.jpg
http://i354.photobucket.com/albums/r406/skusto/SDC10080.jpg