View Full Version : Reds, Snaps, and spotties to finish the year

Reefmaster
23-12-2009, 08:03 PM
Just got back from a couple of days fishing out from DI and Fraser. Headed north and wide fishing a spot in closer first that I found last trip. It produced a nice Red straight away and few other reefies before we moved on. Found another nice rock another 8km on which produced a few Maori Cod before I continued on to the better red grounds. Arrived only to find the current roaring and completely unfishable. Such a disapointment driving all that way to find the current so strong so headed in a bit and back south looking for new areas. Ended back where we got a few Moari cod on the new rock i found and straight away some good snapper hit the deck along with a heap of Moari cod, hussar and some qaulity Red Emperor. This continued on for a few hours before I headed back towards DI with a storm building to the west. Stopped on a spot I hadn't fished in years on the way in and the fish were biting well with a good range of species going into the esky but we had to leave them biting and head in trying to get into the lagoon at DI before it hit. Got in before the storm came over and there was a 4x4 stuck where he had tried to get around the logs etc in the bay. It was stuck good and coping plenty of water. Was still there this morning and even further under. Coped a ripper storm in the lagoon with an awesome lightning show but was kinda nerve racking watching lightning go everywhere around us. Fished in close this morning but was very quiet so headed for the bar and come across a few birds working and what looked to be spotties feeding. Sure enough spotties they were and loads of them. Tuna were mixed among them but the spots were swiming around the boat and you didnt even need to look for a breaking school you just cast a slug any where and you caught a spottie. We caught our bag and headed for home with the eskies full and smiles all round.

Merry Christmas everyone and be safe.

http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/DI221209001.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/DI221209022.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/DI221209011.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/DI221209023.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/DI221209032.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/DI221209016.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/DI221209062.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/DI221209051.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/DI221209040.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/DI221209056.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/DI221209070.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/DI221209071.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/DI221209063.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/DI221209066.jpg

dayoo
23-12-2009, 08:12 PM
Greg,

Nice fish and pics once again.
The boat I usually go fishing on 'Alexander" will be based out of Tin Can from March 2010 so will most probably bump into you on the red emperor grounds sometime next year.

Barry

lethal098
23-12-2009, 08:24 PM
top stuff Greg you certainly know where to find em, spotties look the goods as well, well done cheers Lee

therapy
24-12-2009, 06:44 AM
Thanks for all of your quality reports throughout this year Greg. For a bloke like me who gets to fish occasionally, your reports are something to keep me fired up. I will have to do the 3 hour run up that way one day and have a crack off DI. You make it seem easy. It is isn't it?!?! (after years of experience and trips of 300 k's or more..LOL)

Cheers......Terry..........

Vitamin Sea
24-12-2009, 06:46 AM
Onya again Greg

That's a cracker of a maori you are holding up, did you weigh him?

Cheers & merry xmas

Bill

ooglie74
24-12-2009, 08:08 AM
Awesome report as usual greg.

Cheers Troy

vertico
24-12-2009, 10:40 AM
tops stuff greg , where is that XOS parrot :P

Trent Butler
24-12-2009, 11:19 AM
Hey Vertico,

Greg can't be bothered chasing parrot of DI, there are enough "parrots" here on Ausfish to keep him busy enough.

Trent

Goldfinch
24-12-2009, 12:34 PM
What can I say other than you are the "Reefmaster". I'm moving to Noosa next year so I'll be hittin those DI grounds hard !!!

vertico
24-12-2009, 12:54 PM
Hey Trent,

Its a joke.

Sean

ballsie
24-12-2009, 01:56 PM
Hey Greg,
Nice fishing again mate, Did you get those snapper and reds on the same mark? Its pity the current was roaring further north. Hope you guys have a safe and merry Christmas. catch up in the year, hopefully for a fish....

Ballsie

Spot82
24-12-2009, 02:02 PM
You'll have to watch out Greg, with all the reds you have been catching Anna Bligh will introduce some new law to stop you from catching them :oP

Thanks for the report, you certainly know where to go and how to get them thats for sure!

Anthony

Reefmaster
26-12-2009, 07:54 AM
Greg,

Nice fish and pics once again.
The boat I usually go fishing on 'Alexander" will be based out of Tin Can from March 2010 so will most probably bump into you on the red emperor grounds sometime next year.

Barry

Hi Barry yeah about time those boys fished gods country;D Bring on the red fish for 2010.

Reefmaster
26-12-2009, 07:59 AM
Thanks for all of your quality reports throughout this year Greg. For a bloke like me who gets to fish occasionally, your reports are something to keep me fired up. I will have to do the 3 hour run up that way one day and have a crack off DI. You make it seem easy. It is isn't it?!?! (after years of experience and trips of 300 k's or more..LOL)

Cheers......Terry..........

Hi Terry thanks for the kind words and yes mate hook that boat up and drag it up there. Great area but I wish it was as easy as it looks. lol

Reefmaster
26-12-2009, 08:02 AM
Onya again Greg

That's a cracker of a maori you are holding up, did you weigh him?

Cheers & merry xmas

Bill

Hi Bill not sure on weight but I would guess around the 7kg mark. We don't often see them get much bigger then around that size.

Reefmaster
26-12-2009, 08:05 AM
tops stuff greg , where is that XOS parrot :P

They got cut up for red baits

Reefmaster
26-12-2009, 08:10 AM
Hey Greg,
Nice fishing again mate, Did you get those snapper and reds on the same mark? Its pity the current was roaring further north. Hope you guys have a safe and merry Christmas. catch up in the year, hopefully for a fish....

Ballsie

Hey Ballsie,
Yes mate got the snapper with the reds and they were also feeding hard on the bottom and wouldnt touch a floater. I was in a fair way from my usual red area but still not near where the snapper get caught in numbers. They seem to be pretty spread out up there at the moment. Ballsie I hope we can have a fish in the new year mate.

Reefmaster
26-12-2009, 08:13 AM
You'll have to watch out Greg, with all the reds you have been catching Anna Bligh will introduce some new law to stop you from catching them :oP

Thanks for the report, you certainly know where to go and how to get them thats for sure!

Anthony

Mate that will be every species at the rate there going. Bloody politicians. Thanks Anthony see you on the water sometime.

DALEPRICE
26-12-2009, 05:03 PM
well done once again men,
did you have a standout bait for the trip?
some very nice snappa.
cheers dale

Vitamin Sea
26-12-2009, 06:28 PM
Hi Bill not sure on weight but I would guess around the 7kg mark. We don't often see them get much bigger then around that size.

Thanks Greg, bigun all right, got one 13lb on the Banks a couple of year ago, thought that was a horse.

Well done

Bill

Deelirious
28-12-2009, 09:58 PM
Greg,
just stuffed a reply I think. Mate great fishing, looks like you haven't lost your touch despite backing off the fishing a bit this year - or at least thats how it seemed and it was awfully nice of you to let Trent hold up some of your fish for the photos.
Macca and I are getting serious about some new boats so don't be surprised if you have to start looking over your shoulder sooner or later ;-)
Hope you had a good Christmas and we'll catch up some stage in the new year.
Eddie J

Alchemy
28-12-2009, 10:12 PM
Greg,
just stuffed a reply I think. Mate great fishing, looks like you haven't lost your touch despite backing off the fishing a bit this year - or at least thats how it seemed and it was awfully nice of you to let Trent hold up some of your fish for the photos.
Macca and I are getting serious about some new boats so don't be surprised if you have to start looking over your shoulder sooner or later ;-)
Hope you had a good Christmas and we'll catch up some stage in the new year.
Eddie J

Didn't Trent catch that red?

Trent Butler
29-12-2009, 09:10 AM
Gee thanks Ed, my last trip offshore before the bub arrives and you stick it to me!

Cheers pal.

Trent

Benno1
31-12-2009, 03:05 AM
Top shelf...simple as that.

Mrs Benno1
Sunny

Donny Boy
02-01-2010, 10:51 AM
Gee-Zus............

What a top effort.
When I grow up...........I wanna be you.................;D

Deelirious
03-01-2010, 08:41 PM
I wouldn't worry Trento - plenty more trips once you are "home looking after the bub
;-)