View Full Version : New Plate Boat finished - Viper

nickstock
16-12-2009, 08:27 AM
G'day fellas,

My new boat is finally ready to go on the water. The baitboard and clears still need to go on and then I am sorted.

All I need to do now is to get it out to the Ribbons flicking poppers for G.T's, Trout and Jobbies!:D

A few pics of Phil's first attempt of this style/size of boat. Very happy with the build quality and finish of the Viper teams work. 10 / 10 for the boat build I think.

http://i238.photobucket.com/albums/ff241/viridis1/viper1.jpg

http://i238.photobucket.com/albums/ff241/viridis1/viper12.jpg

http://i238.photobucket.com/albums/ff241/viridis1/viper3.jpg

http://i238.photobucket.com/albums/ff241/viridis1/viper222.jpg

http://i238.photobucket.com/albums/ff241/viridis1/viperdd.jpg

http://i238.photobucket.com/albums/ff241/viridis1/viperf.jpg

http://i238.photobucket.com/albums/ff241/viridis1/viperss.jpg

http://i238.photobucket.com/albums/ff241/viridis1/vipper.jpg

http://i238.photobucket.com/albums/ff241/viridis1/viper43.jpg

http://i238.photobucket.com/albums/ff241/viridis1/vipeer.jpg

http://i238.photobucket.com/albums/ff241/viridis1/vip1.jpg

nickstock
16-12-2009, 08:28 AM
http://i238.photobucket.com/albums/ff241/viridis1/GetAttachmentCAH76AB4.jpg

http://i238.photobucket.com/albums/ff241/viridis1/0011.jpg

http://i238.photobucket.com/albums/ff241/viridis1/0021.jpg

http://i238.photobucket.com/albums/ff241/viridis1/0031.jpg

http://i238.photobucket.com/albums/ff241/viridis1/1171.jpg

Nick

Bear001
16-12-2009, 08:42 AM
Thats a great looking boat Nick. Have you christened it yet?
Would like to see some internal photo's....and what size motor did you go?

STUIE63
16-12-2009, 08:44 AM
Nick that is one sexy boat . well done to viper on a magnificent job . how big is it ? you just need to blood it now

nickstock
16-12-2009, 09:31 AM
Thats a great looking boat Nick. Have you christened it yet?
Would like to see some internal photo's....and what size motor did you go?

Thanks Bear001,
I went with an2009 115 Opti (bought it at a bargin price), depending on how it goes I may look at 140 Suzi if I am not happy with the performance ect.

Nick that is one sexy boat . well done to viper on a magnificent job . how big is it ? you just need to blood it now

G'day Stuie,

It was exactly what I had in my head and Phil came up with the goods. It is 5.5 meters mate. I am yet to take it for a spin on the water (have not even picked it up yet) but I cannot wait to chase some fish in it.

Nick

firstlight
16-12-2009, 09:59 AM
That is one sweet looking ride Nick and just in time for chrissy, Lol... well done mate.

Looking forward to reading one of your offshore reports in the new rig.

firstlight

nickstock
16-12-2009, 10:36 AM
That is one sweet looking ride Nick and just in time for chrissy, Lol... well done mate.

Looking forward to reading one of your offshore reports in the new rig.

firstlight

Thanks mate,

I am busting my arse to get it up here before x mas. I am having trouble finding a freight co that can get it here before x mas. If I cannot find one by this arvo I will fly down from up here and hire a car to tow it back before x mas. I only have 2 days off work before the x mas break so I better get something organized ;D

Good weather up here this weekend too!

Nick

Jonno Lucas
16-12-2009, 10:45 AM
G'day Nick,

Looks like I'll definitely be making that trip to FNQ now that you've got a new boat!

Jonno

nickstock
16-12-2009, 10:59 AM
G'day Nick,

Looks like I'll definitely be making that trip to FNQ now that you've got a new boat!

Jonno

Thanks Jonno,

Anytime your keen mate, the problem is you will not want to move back to S/E QLD once you have tasted the fishing up here.

Worth every dollar I reckon! Who said reptiles don't pay:P

megafish71
16-12-2009, 11:26 AM
Looks the goods Nick, If you didn't need (want) it up here so soon I could have towed it back up for you on the 10th of Jan. Don't blame you for wanting it here asap, nice looking machine mate, keen to see it up this way.

Cheers Ron

16-12-2009, 12:17 PM
Looks like a very well made hull . Strong with good welds, no bird poop there. Will be interested to read your comments on how it performs, guess you can't wait to try it out.

spelchek
16-12-2009, 12:48 PM
That is the sweetest looking platy I've ever seen. Congrats!

I know what you're going through re: itching getting her on the water. I'm going to be lucky to get my new sea jay on the water before the end of the weekend (delivered to me monday). Might even have to wait till next weekend.

murf
16-12-2009, 03:43 PM
sweet looking rig mate :)

looking into building a 5.5 myself, will be nothing as pretty as this though haha

cheers Murf

vertico
16-12-2009, 03:55 PM
good stuff nick cant wait to see some fish caught on those flys out of that sparkling new rig...

16-12-2009, 05:22 PM
good stuff nick, sweet looking ride, ill have to come up there now and show ya how to fish from it haha :P top effort

justin

frankgrimes
16-12-2009, 05:25 PM
Schmick Nick!!

Liking it a lot.

LBGaddict
16-12-2009, 05:54 PM
Thanks Bear001,
I went with an2009 115 Opti (bought it at a bargin price), depending on how it goes I may look at 140 Suzi if I am not happy with the performance ect.

G'day Stuie,

It was exactly what I had in my head and Phil came up with the goods. It is 5.5 meters mate. I am yet to take it for a spin on the water (have not even picked it up yet) but I cannot wait to chase some fish in it.

Nick

I had a 140 Spook on the back of my platey, 950kg hull, then a 115 opti, the optimax added 10mph to the top speed and smoked the suzuki out of the hole, obviously different hulls will perform differently, but it was very surprising to see the change in performance from dropping 25hp

Wahoo
16-12-2009, 07:00 PM
Wow Nick what a boat mate, its huge, you wont know yourself in that boat, congrats

PS : Im about due for a fish, just in time eh!!! hehe

skippa
16-12-2009, 07:11 PM
Nick,

That is sweet mate, Phill and the boys do a top job, I'm sure you'll be delighted with her.

PS those grahics look ok too eh (DR) :)

surveyor
16-12-2009, 07:46 PM
hey nick
That is one of the best boats ive seen let alone aluminium .the welds look to be spot on as mentioned and looks as strong as boxed everywhere i rekon the opti will be fine they are great engines .hope your not too scared to dirty it up by fishing and hope it goes as well as it came together:) :) :) beautiful

nickstock
16-12-2009, 07:50 PM
Thanks for all the comments fellas, I cannot wait to get it up here.

good stuff nick cant wait to see some fish caught on those flys out of that sparkling new rig...

Thanks Sean,
I have been meaning to call you. I tried those fly's out over the last few trips in mates boats. The fishing has been slow up here over the last few months (pro trouties have been averaging 12 trout a day per dory compared to 45).

I absolutely got molestered by big reefies and G.T's on the bloody fly's. I landed a few nice Bar Cheek but got hammered on 80 braid with the remaining fly's fished with live Hussar. Those things are bloody great Sean!

good stuff nick, sweet looking ride, ill have to come up there now and show ya how to fish from it haha :P top effort

justin

You will have toi tow your big rig up here and sort these big Trout out mate! The Footballer's are spawning at the moment and fish upto 15 kilos are being caught in the gutters out on the Ribbons. Sound tempting???????

nickstock
16-12-2009, 07:59 PM
Wow Nick what a boat mate, its huge, you wont know yourself in that boat, congrats

PS : Im about due for a fish, just in time eh!!! hehe

Anytime Daz! Yours will hopefully be finished very soon too mate. I am looking forward to a few trips!

hey nick
That is one of the best boats ive seen let alone aluminium .the welds look to be spot on as mentioned and looks as strong as boxed everywhere i rekon the opti will be fine they are great engines .hope your not too scared to dirty it up by fishing and hope it goes as well as it came together:) :) :) beautiful

Yep,

"Down Under" sure is a nice looking rig! If she performs as good as it looks I will be laughing. There will be blood and guts splatted from one side to another mate don't you worry!!!;D

16-12-2009, 08:10 PM
Does it what mate :P , i think i will be up that way for a few weeks early next year, we are bring 2 boats up to fish flat out around march at this stage! im starting to get my run now for the next few months so im going to be too busy lol ;D

justin

nickstock
16-12-2009, 08:21 PM
Does it what mate :P , i think i will be up that way for a few weeks early next year, we are bring 2 boats up to fish flat out around march at this stage! im starting to get my run now for the next few months so im going to be too busy lol ;D

justin

Sounds good mate,
Keep me posted and I am sure Daz would also be keen to get into the action!
Nick

Damned67
16-12-2009, 10:34 PM
Absolutely beautiful boat... but then again, coming from Phil and the guys, I'm not surprised!

I wouldn't trade my Viper for anything (except maybe a bigger Viper), and as you now know, the customer service is beyond exceptional.
The quality of their boats, coupled with their customer service, will undoubtedly lead them to great success in their business.
I just wish every business I dealt with had customer service half as good as theirs!

Anyway, that's one of the nicest boats I've seen in a hell of a long time!

Cheers!

Stik-ugly
17-12-2009, 08:35 AM
Buy the looks of it another happy Viper customer.:)

siegfried
17-12-2009, 09:27 AM
10 out of 10 for coolness and build quality I reckon

17-12-2009, 09:12 PM
Wow,Nick,thats a flash looking machine.

Very nice indeed.

don-one
17-12-2009, 10:31 PM
that is an awesome looking rig nick. what options have you got inside her and what angle deadrise at the stern did you end up getting?

pilchardjones
18-12-2009, 06:03 AM
great looking boat nick.
looks really well finished. those guys obviously take a lot of pride in their work.
i hope you get to enjoy it over the break.

steve

nickstock
18-12-2009, 06:56 AM
Thanks for the replys everyone,

that is an awesome looking rig nick. what options have you got inside her and what angle deadrise?

I will put some pics up of the centre cab layout ect once I get her up here. I still need to do a few things to it over the next few months in regards to fit out ect.

Included in the package, Phil threw in a HDS combo, VHF radio and a CD player ect in. With the Merc I got chrome Binnicle controls, smart craft, hydrolic steering ect.

Once I get it up here (and funds allow) I will add a deck wash and a Furuno sounder.

I went with 19 deg deadrise mate.

Nick

bluefin59
18-12-2009, 07:17 AM
Excellent looking boat it would have to be one of the best platties i have seen on these pages ,i will be interested to see how it goes ones you get your hands on it . I hope it lives up to your expectations ,please keep us posted on its ride and performance ..matt

Wahoo
19-12-2009, 06:52 PM
did you pick the color Nick?????

bit Gahyish you think............lol..........

19-12-2009, 07:28 PM
19deg YAY!, when I saw the first pics I thought uh-oh another 14 or 15/16 degree plate thump and crasher, of coarse i couldn't say anything on here and you had already bought it, agree with the others now a VERY nice boat you have there. enjoy.

DR
19-12-2009, 10:09 PM
PS those grahics look ok too eh (DR) :)
not me..Phil has a fella next door, saves a lot of time & stuffing around..:D
good to see Phil starting to get the recognition he deserves. The man does a fantastic boat..

stinky-stabi
20-12-2009, 05:46 AM
wicked lookn boat nick ,, well done and hope you enjoy m8
merry christmas

Jabba_
20-12-2009, 08:02 AM
I never thought a plate boat could look so good.... What a sleek and stunning looking boat that Viper is... By the look off those pictures, it is built well also...

dinky
20-12-2009, 06:08 PM
that looks awesome. congrats...

nickstock
20-12-2009, 07:27 PM
Thanks fellas,

It is the first plate boat that I will have owned so I hope it lives upto it's expectations.

Weather nearly killed me today, 10 knots and no swell.........................fingers crossed we get more like it once I get Down Under up here!

20-12-2009, 07:41 PM
::) Hi Nickstock

Very nice rig. Should be a treat:)

just got the latest F&B mag produced by Peter Webster and co. He referred to the plate Alloy Boats book 5 and invited builders of plate boats not involved with Sea media to get involved. P 6

Why don't you let Peter Webster do a test of yours before you truck it?
Just a thought for Xmas::)

Cheers Chimo

nickstock
21-12-2009, 06:44 PM
I have had a fair few PM's aking for the rough build cost of that exact boat. To get one similar built will cost around 45-47 K depending on fitout.

did you pick the color Nick?????

bit Gahyish you think............lol..........

PMSL,

That's what happens when a colourblind muppet (me) picks the colours!

You should have seen Holly's face when she came back from spending a week with work in Brisbane and I had painted both stories of our house:o :o

Axl
21-12-2009, 07:14 PM
Very nice rig mate I hope it all works out well as I am sure it will.

Jabba_
21-12-2009, 07:14 PM
IMO 47K for that boat is a reasonable price, I was expecting it to be a little over 50...

Your going to turn a few heads with that boat once you get it home...

nickstock
21-12-2009, 07:59 PM
IMO 47K for that boat is a reasonable price, I was expecting it to be a little over 50...

Your going to turn a few heads with that boat once you get it home...

If I get it home::) . A mate that lives on the Gold Coast just called in to see it and it is still not finished yet. Lucky I did not drive the 4000km round trip to pick it up::).

Looks like Santa is not bringing me a boat before x - mas...........................not happy Jan

21-12-2009, 08:14 PM
Looks great Nick - congrats you must be wrapped with the finished product.
You putting tabs on it?

blueline
21-12-2009, 09:48 PM
looks great nic, cant wait to see the pics of you blooding it.

DOGFIGHT
22-12-2009, 02:49 PM
wELL dONE ON A VERY NICE BOAT NICK, dAZ TOLD ME ALL ABOUT IT, BE GREAT WHEN WE WILL HEAD UP YOUR WAY FOR A FISH AS SOON AS dAZ GETS HIS BOAT READY

SHANE

Live4Fishin
22-12-2009, 08:38 PM
Nick, awesome looking boat mate, looks very well built.
Beau.

Wahoo
03-01-2010, 05:07 AM
few pics of the inside Nick, does the boat go as good as it looks?

nickstock
03-01-2010, 07:18 PM
Will post a few pics in the morning Daz. I still need to do a few things in regards to fit out ect.

I took it for a spin today in 15-18 knots of S/E slop. Went well I thought punching into it sitting on about 20 knots and coming back behind me was quicker cruising on 25 knots.

Happy chappy:P

nickstock
05-01-2010, 07:03 PM
wELL dONE ON A VERY NICE BOAT NICK, dAZ TOLD ME ALL ABOUT IT, BE GREAT WHEN WE WILL HEAD UP YOUR WAY FOR A FISH AS SOON AS dAZ GETS HIS BOAT READY
SHANE

Sounds like a plan Shaneo!

few pics of the inside Nick, does the boat go as good as it looks?

A few pics Daz,

I need to get the electronics sorted but I bought a Garmin 556s combo to get me going.

http://i238.photobucket.com/albums/ff241/viridis1/Boat001.jpg

http://i238.photobucket.com/albums/ff241/viridis1/Boat004.jpg

http://i238.photobucket.com/albums/ff241/viridis1/Boat006.jpg

http://i238.photobucket.com/albums/ff241/viridis1/Boat008.jpg

http://i238.photobucket.com/albums/ff241/viridis1/Boat010.jpg

http://i238.photobucket.com/albums/ff241/viridis1/Boat007.jpg

http://i238.photobucket.com/albums/ff241/viridis1/Boat011.jpg

Nick

Alchemy
05-01-2010, 07:44 PM
Wow Nick. Down Under really is a great looking boat. I'll have to find an excuse at work so I can visit again sometime soon!

nickstock
06-01-2010, 07:40 AM
Wow Nick. Down Under really is a great looking boat. I'll have to find an excuse at work so I can visit again sometime soon!

Thanks Dave,

Nic and yourself must be due for a fish up this way soon!

Nick

maztez
06-01-2010, 07:48 AM
Gee Nick , that fitout certainly changed the look of her from the last time I saw her ...looks like the ultimate fishing machine and I know you will enjoy your new Viper ...keep the pics coming mate .

nickstock
28-05-2010, 08:05 AM
After a few brief trips Down Under is now up for sale. I have relocated this boat to the Gold Coast for sale so if anyone is interested, drop me a line on the following number 0412 360 634

Mods,
I will be doing a proper for sale ad today once I get a bit more time.

Nick

scorpionNQ
28-05-2010, 08:33 AM
WTF??? Holy crap Nick, whats goin on?? I was just about to say what a great looking machine! Between you and Alchemy I feel like getting a plate boat built myself. Tell me Nick that you are surely upgrading?
Lee

frankgrimes
28-05-2010, 11:31 AM
Geez Nick - No good at all mate...she looks like a cracker of a boat.....good luck with the sale.

bigjimg
28-05-2010, 04:15 PM
Great looking rig Nick,i'll bet the sale ad starts with Regretful.......Jim

nickstock
30-05-2010, 08:31 PM
Going bigger guys.

It's is a great boat and priced well below cost to replace it today. I managed to catch some stonking fish out of her in the three trips that I did in it ha ha

Nick

bigjimg
30-05-2010, 08:45 PM
Who are you getting too build for you Nick....dare i ask.Good to hear things havn't gone pear shaped.We live in a shakey world these days.Look forward to see what you get.Jim

nickstock
31-05-2010, 07:23 PM
Hi mate,

I am still toying with the idea however if I do it will be something along the lines of a big Fisher.

Got to sell this one first before wifey allows a new one.

Nick