View Full Version : Formosa Tomahawk Questions

brute898
14-12-2009, 05:02 PM
Hi all, my father and I are looking into a new boat for late next year, we really like the look of the Formosa 580 Centre Cabin Tomahawk.
I have a couple of problems, first of all my dad has a automatic sv6 commodore so would we be able to tow it with that car, what would the total weight roughly be with trailer, hull, motor and full of fuel?
Second question is would the 580cc tomahawk model be able to hold the Honda 150hp VTEC. Also does anyone roughly know what price I would be looking at for this set up?
Thanks Brock

blueline
14-12-2009, 07:20 PM
http://www.ausfish.com.au/boatcontent/e/logo.gif (http://www.ausfish.com.au/)

Home (http://www.ausfish.com.au/DesktopDefault.aspx?TabID=804575)
Boats for Sale (http://www.ausfish.com.au/boats-for-sale/search.aspx)
Dealer Boats (http://www.ausfish.com.au/boats-for-sale/results.aspx?N=896+604+258)
Private Boats (http://www.ausfish.com.au/boats-for-sale/results.aspx?N=896+604+257)

New Boat Info (http://www.ausfish.com.au/new-boats/search.aspx)
Boat Accessories (http://www.ausfish.com.au/accessories/)
Chandlery (http://www.ausfish.com.au/accessories/chandlery/)
Electronics (http://www.ausfish.com.au/accessories/electronics/)
Fishing (http://www.ausfish.com.au/accessories/fishing/)
Berthing (http://www.ausfish.com.au/accessories/berthing/)
Engines (http://www.ausfish.com.au/accessories/engines/)
Safety (http://www.ausfish.com.au/accessories/safety/)
Trailers (http://www.ausfish.com.au/accessories/trailers/)
Watersports (http://www.ausfish.com.au/accessories/watersports/)

News & Reviews (http://www.ausfish.com.au/news-reviews-advice/)
Boat Dealers (http://www.ausfish.com.au/boat-dealers/search.aspx)
Sell Your Boat (http://www.ausfish.com.au/sell-your-boat/)
Create an Ad (http://www.ausfish.com.au/DesktopDefault.aspx?TabID=2608315)
Edit Your Ad (http://www.ausfish.com.au/DesktopDefault.aspx?TabID=1409002)

Boat Research (http://www.ausfish.com.au/boat-research/)
Boat Insurance (http://www.ausfish.com.au/boat-insurance/)
Boat Finance (http://www.ausfish.com.au/DesktopDefault.aspx?TabID=804590)
News and Reviews (http://www.ausfish.com.au/news-reviews-advice/)

Help (javascript:void%20window.open('http://helpcentre.carsales.com.au/','helpcentre','width=630,height=730,scrollbars=ye s,resizable=yes'))
Buying a boat (javascript:void%20window.open('http://helpcentre.carsales.com.au/help/buying-a-boat/','helpcentre','width=630,height=730,scrollbars=ye s,resizable=yes'))
Selling a boat (javascript:void%20window.open('http://helpcentre.carsales.com.au/help/selling-a-boat/','helpcentre','width=630,height=730,scrollbars=ye s,resizable=yes'))
Play It Safer Online (javascript:void%20window.open('http://helpcentre.carsales.com.au/help/play-it-safer-online/boats/','helpcentre','width=630,height=730,scrollbars=ye s,resizable=yes'))
Contact us (javascript:void%20window.open('http://helpcentre.carsales.com.au/help/contact-us/','helpcentre','width=630,height=730,scrollbars=ye s,resizable=yes'))
Terms & Conditions (http://www.ausfish.com.au/terms/)
Privacy Policy (http://www.ausfish.com.au/info/privacy-policy.aspx)
SiteMap (http://www.ausfish.com.au/DesktopDefault.aspx?TabID=804611)
Subscribe to the Boatpoint Newsletter (javascript:openSubscribebp();)
Competitions (http://www.ausfish.com.au/DesktopDefault.aspx?TabID=303068)
Competition Winners (http://www.ausfish.com.au/DesktopDefault.aspx?TabID=303071)

FORMOSA 580 CENTRE CONSOLE

$39,990* AUD Drive Away No More to Pay

---
http://www.ausfish.com.au/boatcontent/e/step3.gif
show your interest
Found the boat you want? To find out more on this boat fill out the form to the right.

need insurance?
Buying this boat? Have you considered insurance cost?

get insurance (http://www.ausfish.com.au/boat-insurance/)

need finance?
Do you need a loan to buy this boat? Maybe you should see how much you can borrow by using our boat finance calculator.

get finance (http://www.ausfish.com.au/boat-finance/)

http://www.ausfish.com.au/boatcontent/ads/abl_165x180.jpg (http://ad.doubleclick.net/clk;217605617;28007398;l?http://www.aussieboatloans.com.au/finance.html)

[/URL]

(javascript:history.back())

8 photos
View Slideshow (http://www.ausfish.com.au/print.aspx?R=5671280&tabID=302921&ModID=606732)

http://liveimages.boatsales.com.au/boatpoint/boat/dealer/bd5610770482617073054.jpg?width=300&height=255&Aspect=FitWithinNoPad (http://www.ausfish.com.au/Tig/UI/Photos.aspx?R=5671280&Silo=1106&p=bd5610770482617073054&TabID=302921&photoIDs=bd5610770482617073054,401115836,bd5615933 664847163498,bd5435962128277255831,bd5452019551421 249747,bd5297287931078074348,bd5435977892557009249 ,bd4870611856010011432)

http://tcimages.net/DisplayImage.aspx?path=/boatcontent/dealers/A/austmarinecentre/austmarinecentrebanner.gif[U] (http://australianmarinecentre.boatpoint.com.au)

AUSTRALIAN MARINE CENTRE
my name

my email

contact number

my location
(select a region) Australian Capital Territory New South Wales Northern Territory Queensland South Australia Tasmania Victoria Western Australia Overseas

my comments

* mandatory field

photo gallery

http://liveimages.boatsales.com.au/boatpoint/boat/dealer/bd5610770482617073054.jpg?size=thumb (http://www.ausfish.com.au/Tig/UI/Photos.aspx?R=5671280&Silo=1106&p=bd5610770482617073054&TabID=302921&photoIDs=bd5610770482617073054,401115836,bd5615933 664847163498,bd5435962128277255831,bd5452019551421 249747,bd5297287931078074348,bd5435977892557009249 ,bd4870611856010011432) http://liveimages.boatsales.com.au/boatpoint/boat/dealer/401115836.jpg?size=thumb (http://www.ausfish.com.au/Tig/UI/Photos.aspx?R=5671280&Silo=1106&p=401115836&TabID=302921&photoIDs=bd5610770482617073054,401115836,bd5615933 664847163498,bd5435962128277255831,bd5452019551421 249747,bd5297287931078074348,bd5435977892557009249 ,bd4870611856010011432) http://liveimages.boatsales.com.au/boatpoint/boat/dealer/bd5615933664847163498.jpg?size=thumb (http://www.ausfish.com.au/Tig/UI/Photos.aspx?R=5671280&Silo=1106&p=bd5615933664847163498&TabID=302921&photoIDs=bd5610770482617073054,401115836,bd5615933 664847163498,bd5435962128277255831,bd5452019551421 249747,bd5297287931078074348,bd5435977892557009249 ,bd4870611856010011432) http://liveimages.boatsales.com.au/boatpoint/boat/dealer/bd5435962128277255831.jpg?size=thumb (http://www.ausfish.com.au/Tig/UI/Photos.aspx?R=5671280&Silo=1106&p=bd5435962128277255831&TabID=302921&photoIDs=bd5610770482617073054,401115836,bd5615933 664847163498,bd5435962128277255831,bd5452019551421 249747,bd5297287931078074348,bd5435977892557009249 ,bd4870611856010011432) http://liveimages.boatsales.com.au/boatpoint/boat/dealer/bd5452019551421249747.jpg?size=thumb (http://www.ausfish.com.au/Tig/UI/Photos.aspx?R=5671280&Silo=1106&p=bd5452019551421249747&TabID=302921&photoIDs=bd5610770482617073054,401115836,bd5615933 664847163498,bd5435962128277255831,bd5452019551421 249747,bd5297287931078074348,bd5435977892557009249 ,bd4870611856010011432) http://liveimages.boatsales.com.au/boatpoint/boat/dealer/bd5297287931078074348.jpg?size=thumb (http://www.ausfish.com.au/Tig/UI/Photos.aspx?R=5671280&Silo=1106&p=bd5297287931078074348&TabID=302921&photoIDs=bd5610770482617073054,401115836,bd5615933 664847163498,bd5435962128277255831,bd5452019551421 249747,bd5297287931078074348,bd5435977892557009249 ,bd4870611856010011432) http://liveimages.boatsales.com.au/boatpoint/boat/dealer/bd5435977892557009249.jpg?size=thumb (http://www.ausfish.com.au/Tig/UI/Photos.aspx?R=5671280&Silo=1106&p=bd5435977892557009249&TabID=302921&photoIDs=bd5610770482617073054,401115836,bd5615933 664847163498,bd5435962128277255831,bd5452019551421 249747,bd5297287931078074348,bd5435977892557009249 ,bd4870611856010011432) http://liveimages.boatsales.com.au/boatpoint/boat/dealer/bd4870611856010011432.jpg?size=thumb (http://www.ausfish.com.au/Tig/UI/Photos.aspx?R=5671280&Silo=1106&p=bd4870611856010011432&TabID=302921&photoIDs=bd5610770482617073054,401115836,bd5615933 664847163498,bd5435962128277255831,bd5452019551421 249747,bd5297287931078074348,bd5435977892557009249 ,bd4870611856010011432)

features
MakeFORMOSAModel580 CENTRE CONSOLEHull Year2010Metres5.8Feet19.03HullMonoPowerPowerUsageF ishing.CurrencyAUDPrice$39,990* Drive Away No More to PayReference Codeag-18250Stock NumberFORM580CC

engine
Horsepower115 hpsMakeEvinrudeRelease year2008

general
Number of Engines1

specifications
Beam Length2.4 metres / 7.87 feetHolding Tank150 litresHull MaterialAluminium

description
FORMOSA 580 CENTRE CONSOLE 4MM PLATE BOTTOMS, 115HP EVINRUDE ETEC & TANDEM BRAKED GAL TRAILER. TOUGH BOAT, TOUGH MOTOR, BIMINI, 12 MTH QLD REGO, F/F, SOUNDER, HYDRAULIC STEERING, DELUXE SKIPPERS PADDED DOUBLE CHAIR WITH FOLDING BACKREST, SAFETY GEAR, PAINTED WHITE WITH MARLIN GRAPHICS, BILGE, WIRING LOOM WITH NAV LIGHTS ETC, BIG BEAMY BOAT WITH 150LTR FUEL TANK. PRICES FROM $39990, PACKAGE ONE TO SUIT YOUR REQUIREMENTS FINANCE, INSURANCE & FREIGHT AUSTRALIA WIDE IS AVAILABLE, FOR AFTER HRS ENQUIRIES CALL 07 3808 7333 AND LEAVE A MESSAGE. WE WILL RETURN YOUR CALL THE NEXT DAY.

blueline
14-12-2009, 07:25 PM
that didnt work the way i wanted, but have a look on boat point.

WalFish
14-12-2009, 09:19 PM
G'day Brock, check my post out at http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?t=154516

I toyed with the idea of the 150 Honda, and ended up happy with the 135 after a test run in a 580 Formosa Classic centre cab. The QLD Fishing Monthly had a test with the 150 Honda on a 620 Cuddy Cab and were very happy with the performance, so can't see why a 135 wont be great on the 580.

The set-up will cost me about $52,500 on water, but the Tinnie Shack have advised me to insure for $60,000. Must have got a good deal8-) . PM me if you need to know more...... only 34 mor days until I pick her up.

levinge
15-12-2009, 07:47 AM
Hey Wal, if you like mate I'll sacrifice some of my time to pick her up, test it and get her all ready "run-in" for ya before you get home.

I could even put a few marks in the Chartplotter for you......hehehehe

Brock, I have sent off a PM to one of the guys from The Tinnie Shack, he might be able to give you all the info you need, he is a gun with the Honda's

BTW I run a Formosa 580 Centre Cab with the 135 HP Honda on, but I have a larger prop than standard - 14 x 3/4 x 18 Solas Stainless. Great hole shot, great economy and tops out 5600rpm = 38.5kts

Your only drama with the car, may be slippery ramps. The Car should be able to tow okay. I tow mine with a Mitso Challenger 3ltr V6 but I have the ability for 4wd. Might worth picking up a cheap 2nd hand 4wd to use as a tow...

brute898
15-12-2009, 11:10 AM
Hey guys, thanks for the help. I bet you are itching to pick the new boat up walfish. Thanks levinge I am waiting to hear from him. The only thing I am worried about is the towing but I think the v6 commodore should be ok, I will ask my local holden dealer. Also I live down here in Vic so there is only one Formosa dealer so I dont think I could get as good as a price as you guys do. But I will have to go and see what happens.
Thanks for the help.