View Full Version : Weather for Saturday 11/12/09

timddo
11-12-2009, 08:48 AM
Looking at the weather.

Seabreeze says perfect day

and this is what bom says

Saturday: Wind: E/NE 10/15 knots ahead of a 15/20 knot SE change reaching as far north as Cape Morton by the afternoon. Sea: 1.7 metres. Isolated showers and thunderstorms

Now with that kind of a conditions - it's home for me. 1.7 meters is big sea's

Crunchy
11-12-2009, 08:54 AM
I'm going out early and coming back early...should be nice in the early a.m.:)

Micadogs
11-12-2009, 11:22 AM
If you look at the wind chart on the BOM then it suggests that Seabreeze is correct. (This is where Seabreeze gets its forecasts). I have found that the BOM is very late in updating its forecasts based on its own predictions. Check after 3.15pm today and the BOM and Seabreeze should match.

tropicrows
11-12-2009, 12:33 PM
That was my thinking, as I am heading out late Sat arvo in the bay do drop a line. however the thunder storms may change my mind ????

11-12-2009, 03:33 PM
I'll be out very early and back before the rush hour...

Buoyweather and seabreeze are spot on.... BOM has issues.

timddo
11-12-2009, 03:36 PM
Wind: NE 10/15 knots ahead of a 15/20 knot SE change reaching as far north as Noosa by about midday before easing and tending E'ly 10/15 knots in the evening. Sea: 1.7 metres. Isolated showers and thunderstorms.

yip... seabreeze 5 knots. hmmmmm

11-12-2009, 03:43 PM
Saturday 12/12

Morning
http://www.buoyweather.com/new/images/greenflag.gif Light and variable winds with smooth seas. Small short period wind waves.
Winds: S 4 to 5 knots
Seas: ENE 3 feet at 8 sec.
Afternoon
http://www.buoyweather.com/new/images/greenflag.gif Light and variable winds with smooth seas. Small short period wind waves.
Winds: ESE 4 to 6 knots

Crunchy
11-12-2009, 04:15 PM
Saturday 12/12

Morning

Winds: S 4 to 5 knots

Afternoon

Winds: ESE 4 to 6 knots

where's that from Phil?

Sitting here thinking "Shall I go and set up or pour another burboun"....the sea looks OK this arvo, some wind chop but no swell...so the wind will drop out overnight, its going to be nice and calm @ 4a.m. will be back b4 12 and going to stay in close....decision made....better go get set up...see you on the water!

Kero
11-12-2009, 04:29 PM
BOUY WEATHER... good site!
http://www.buoyweather.com/wxnav6.jsp?region=AS&program=nww3BW1&grb=nww3&lat (http://www.buoyweather.com/wxnav6.jsp?region=AS&program=nww3BW1&grb=nww3&lat)

Peter4
11-12-2009, 04:35 PM

3rd degree
11-12-2009, 04:48 PM
Sundays the go!

mowerman
11-12-2009, 05:09 PM
Sundays the go!

Yep.

Might take the kids over to Amity.

Rod

mookyandlumpy
11-12-2009, 06:45 PM
BOM UPDATE
Issued at 6:20pm EST on Friday the 11th of December 2009

Saturday: Wind: NE 10/15 knots ahead of a 15/20 knot SE change during the
morning, tending E'ly 10/15 knots in the evening. Sea: 0.9 metres. Isolated
showers and thunderstorms.

11-12-2009, 07:30 PM
I am finding this truely amazing.

If, as one should do, check the weather before venturing and you take notice of 2 respected weather forecasters and go, then the 3rd forecaster gets it right and the weather is crap and ya get into strife...who is to blame.... ?

SWANO1
11-12-2009, 08:23 PM
just make sure your in a boat that can handle the worst forecast or simply dont go, pretty easy really .
see yas out there:D
cheers swano

liltuffy
11-12-2009, 08:40 PM
Well I reckon it will be OK, looking at the 4 day chart and forecast chart, winds will generally be in accordance with seabreeze with the possibility of a bit of a squirt when the SE change and or storm comes through.

Heading to DI in the morning for three days

BREEZE470
11-12-2009, 09:06 PM
Have Fun Boys .... I have to stay home this weekend :(
apparently my hubby needs help mowing the yard, doing the washing, ironing & generally cleaning up around the house for Xmas ... hmmmmmm he usually has all this stuff under control ..... tsk tsk

rosco1974
11-12-2009, 09:18 PM
will be the bay for me sat,hutchies on sunday
cheers rosco

blackjew
12-12-2009, 06:55 AM
Check out willyweather on google and follow to the site.

12-12-2009, 08:42 AM
I got up this morning 2am, checked the latest observations which showed the SE change had come through and stronger than seabreeze predicted. Called my mate and cancelled trip out from Caloundra. Not much fun in 15-20 knots.

Peter4
12-12-2009, 08:47 AM
I got up this morning 2am, checked the latest observations which showed the SE change had come through and stronger than seabreeze predicted. Called my mate and cancelled trip out from Caloundra. Not much fun in 15-20 knots.

Smart move Jeremy - seems BOM got it very right for once!

Tomorrow looks good though!

SWANO1
12-12-2009, 08:53 AM

we did same and canned it , look at the bastard at 6.30 below 10kts @ the cape:-[
cheers swano

slyman
12-12-2009, 11:29 AM
Currently 7 knots at the Cape, but both Inner Beacon and Peel Island have a solid 15 knot SE...

12-12-2009, 01:12 PM
There were quite a few potholes in the Bay this morning

timddo
12-12-2009, 01:28 PM
So Bom was rite this time. At least you guys got out.
I spent the day doing christmass shopping and baiting shopping. ( at least that is all over and i can concentrate on fishing.)

yanjarra
12-12-2009, 02:19 PM
so is heading out in a 4.2mtr tinnie to the rous channel for the 1st time to fish the evening run out today not the best idea??? or could i get away with it do you rekon? was it pretty rough those that have just gotten back?

Crunchy
14-12-2009, 12:50 PM
For the record seabreeze was spot on for the sunny coast and BOM was way off, it was fair glassy up here.....