View Full Version : Shelf on Friday 2,2,1

Midnight
06-12-2009, 05:22 PM
Gday,
Headed out wide of Cape Moreton on Friday in ideal conditions.
We had the lures in the water at 0730 and got a Blue on at 0825, 22nm N.E of Cape Moreton in around 1200m of water.

It took the short rigger and put on a magic display on the surface for the first 40 seconds and then took off! We chased the fish hard with the boat and my mate Richie fought it at 12kgs of drag, with out a stand up harness, just my cr@ppy old Shimano bottom basher gimbal, for an hour before I said to sunset it (15kgs on that reel) for the last half hour. We had the leader at the 30 minute mark but the decky couldn't hold it, I'm glad he dumped the wraps when he did or he would have joined the fish in the water!
Sadly the fish came up dead. I feel it died around 15 mins before we boated it.
I was surprised that it died so quickly? Does that sound normal to you guys in the know?

Anyway, we managed to haul it onboard for some photos before returning it to the sea. I didnt have a tape but I would call it 10feet short length from the beam of my Bertram 25. Anyone estimate the weight? We called it 300lbs. I will post pics when I work out how.

We got another one on around lunch time that followed the lumo sprocket on the long rigger and billed it a few times before inhaling the 6 inch fruit salad I had in the shotgun. This one was a Black hooked in around 300m of water due east of deep tempest. It grey hounded across the surface and peel the 50lb outfit like it was in freespool hahaha I was on strike this time;D and we charged after it and picked up a lot of line when it decided to turn and charge at the boat, it went under it and out the other side before we could turn, i shoved the rod tip in the water and backed the drag right off but I got busted off>:(

It was an awesome day out at sea, dolphins escorting us for around 3 hours in the afternoon, cruising around and looking at the lures too. We found a turtle on the surface about 25nm east of Mt Tempest with 2 large Mahi Mahi with it, a bull and a female. We trolled it, cast slugs, poppers and nothing could interest them. I very nearly went for the gaff to get one haha

There were two boats I spoke with on the radio but I cant remember the call signs. One was a white BW34 im pretty sure, it was near us in the morning when we got the Blue, and another Black Watch Express with a black hull in the arvo.
How did you guys go??

Thanks all that gave me advice on this site and helped me get my first Blue;D ;D

Myles

Midnight
06-12-2009, 05:47 PM
Gday again,
Can anyone tell me how I can resize my 3mb or so pictures down to the limit of 100kb and still have them bigger than a postage stamp so that I can post them?

Myles

06-12-2009, 05:58 PM
Congrats Myles

Mate blues just do that and is the reason why 37 kg is the go and even then as you found out it's still no garantee! How did your set up wotrk out with the braid? I bet the whole time you were thinking i'm gald i wasn't using 24 kg though!

Ps. i get you sunset up towards 18 kg if you can

Midnight
06-12-2009, 06:06 PM
Gday Ian,
Thanks mate.
It never made it to the braid to my surprise! I must have a bit more mono than I thought, maybe 300m. I drove the boat like I hated it as you said haha at one stage I was almost on the plane trying to get away from it.

Yes mate, im glad I went to the 80lb.

I am still using my 24kg rods, so I was happy with 15kg of sunset drag. Waddaya reckon??

I have to buy a harness this week! I flet so sorry for my mate having to use my old gimbal, especially at 15kgs of drag.

Mate, I am still smiling about it all and I think I may have to go and watch the videos again hahahahaa

Cheers for all your help Ian,
Myles

06-12-2009, 06:07 PM
The Deep V 340 was Estiva and I don't know if they saw anything. Blu Reela was the Black Watch 280. They got one around 300lb too. It was Roger B's boat from on here so I expect he might put up some pictures of it when he gets a chance. None tagged Saturday but a few seen.

Congrats on your fish. Yep they can do that, that quick for sure. A heavy tackle black if they decide to go off out here are always fun.

Midnight
06-12-2009, 06:14 PM
Thanks Smithy,
Yeah the Black went berserk, it was great! It was a shame we lost it.

Hey, can you help me with posting pics? I cant seem to get them resized so that they will be under the 100kb and not be the size of a stamp?
I have a nikon photo editing program but as I am a computer gumby I cant seem to make it happen.

Myles

Duckfish
06-12-2009, 06:29 PM
Go to Infranview site and download their program to resize your pixs. Shouldn't be a problem. Congrats on your fish.

Duck

bakes
06-12-2009, 07:14 PM
myles u can have a go at using photobucket.com to get your pictures on here. Congrats on your fish mate

trueblue
06-12-2009, 08:13 PM
Myles

PM me your email address and I'll send you a simple program to resize photos

Midnight
06-12-2009, 09:34 PM
Thank you all very much for the congrats, much appreciated.

And thank you for the help with the photo thing, I will hopefully get some posted tomorrow.

Myles

sleepygreg
06-12-2009, 10:59 PM
well done Myles. Will you be at the meeting on Tuesday night?

MyWay
06-12-2009, 11:11 PM
well done Myles

how you going with photos

looks like was easier to get bills than resize the photos

my way

Midnight
07-12-2009, 04:59 AM
hahaha myway, yeah seems that way hey, wish it was like that all the time!

No Greg unfortunatley I go back to work on tuesday morning and get back saturday morning. I might be able to fish sunday for the club weekend though.

Thanks everyone for their help re the photos and especially Mick for your email, your a champion.

I have managed to fiddle more with my Nikon program and looks like I have got it going right now.

Myles

Midnight
07-12-2009, 05:06 AM
Photos
The group shot is of Dicko, Richie (angler, first ever marlin and is recovering from his latest round of cancer treatment, so a monumental effort from him, I'm super stoked we got one for him!), Jacob (video man), Peter (Decky, leader man)

The lure is a Pakula Pacemaker or Beer Barrel not sure now ( Billy Billson gave it to me out of his "no longer used" box, so thanks Billy!), I reskirted for this season in those colours yahooo haha

Myles

swabio
07-12-2009, 06:42 AM
nice pictures !

re the picture resizing.... I have been a big fan of picasa (a free google app) for non destructive editing and very simple resizing etc.... works good and is only a small download....

yalta
07-12-2009, 08:13 AM
you will be able to resize your pictures with the original program you got with your camera when you bought it just bring up your picture files and right click on the picture you want to resize and all will come up for what you want to do.
hopefully

Midnight
07-12-2009, 10:07 AM
Thanks Yalta,
Yeah I got it worked out this morning. I just had to play around with a few settings.
Myles

TCSunCoast
07-12-2009, 10:09 AM
Well done Myles, great to see you getting a few.

Looks like a cracker day from the photo's

rogerb
07-12-2009, 06:09 PM
Hi Midnight,

We were in the Blackwatch 28 Express called Blu Reela. We raised two blues near where you were fishing, one just took a quick swipe at the teaser and disapeared. The next teased slugishly and then nailed a Moldcraft squid that we moved next to the teaser in the short corner. It only jumped a couple of times but slugged it out underwater, fight time was about 40 minutes on 37kg estimated weight of 140kg. What a beautiful day on the water.

Cheers, Rog

siegfried
07-12-2009, 06:31 PM
Nice fish Myles, grab yaself a black magic or OTR stand up harness, your anglers will love you for it

Midnight
07-12-2009, 07:43 PM
Gday Rog,
Good one. Sorry about the chat on the radio, I had the volume up too high so that I could hear the radio when I wasn't at the wheel and it was distorting badly so it made it really difficult to copy what you were saying, I turned it down and got closer to the radio and could read you fine then, but that was at the end of our conversation. It was good to pass you out there. Did you see the turtle with the mahi mahi I mentioned, East of where we passed.

It was a PERFECT day out there, doesn't get any better and we got 2 on, so a good day had by all.

Thanks Siegfried, yep the harness is on order! I don't want to have to fight a fish like that if it is my turn on strike hahaha I think I would pass it on and stick to the wheel work! Im going to get a Black Magic XL Wide.

Cheers fellas,
Myles

outwide1
07-12-2009, 07:50 PM
Check Your Pm Myles.good Report Mate,welldone.