View Full Version : Life jackets and children?

Robbo76
26-11-2009, 02:55 PM

I was just wondering, do children have to wear the jackets at all times whilst on the boat? I make my 9yo boy wear it always on board, but it is starting to put him off going out, as he complains that the jacket is uncomfortable while fishing at anchor. I have noticed in some photo's and vids that kids are not wearing them at anchor while fishing. Be a shame to lose him as a fishing buddy:( .

I don't want to break any safety laws on this. If it is mandatory that they wear it "fulltime", I will then continue to enforce this rule to him.

I would like to hear from parents that fish with their little ones as to how they tackle this.

Thank you,

ronnien
26-11-2009, 03:06 PM
rob,
while traveling yes, at anchor no.
this is for smooth water only, outside he wears it all the time until it starts to hurt him, but only at anchor will i let him take it off.
night time on all the time!

ron.

Robbo76
26-11-2009, 03:11 PM
Thanks Ron, He only comes out with me if the weather is pretty much flat. Nighters, not yet. I'll wait till he is a bit older for that.

Spin
26-11-2009, 03:16 PM
Here
try this
http://www.qorf.org.au/01_cms/details.asp?ID=540

Harro75
26-11-2009, 03:17 PM
In QLD children under twelve must wear a PFD when underway in a vessel under 4.8m

STUIE63
26-11-2009, 03:22 PM
Rob I don't know what type of jacket the young fella has but I got my kids a bit dearer ones than the standard as they are a lot more comfortable and I had less trouble getting them to wear it at the time .

Robbo76
26-11-2009, 03:24 PM
Hi Harro, ok. Mine would be 5.1-5.2 meters, so he doesn't have to wear it underway i guess. I think I will still stick to him wearing it underway anyway, just incase.

Robbo76
26-11-2009, 03:26 PM
Yeah Stuie it's just the basic bulky kids type, came with the boat. I might go and look for something a bit more comfortable for him, thanks mate.

STUIE63
26-11-2009, 03:33 PM
Rob get him something like this and you will have a fishing buddy for life
http://www.bla.com.au/index.php?fn=productGroupView&dId=1&id=3881&eId=10&sId=d8809aa6bcf8adb76f0a79379fcb1c1e

Robbo76
26-11-2009, 03:39 PM
Thanks Stuie, I will def. get one of those or a couple! even the boy said they look cool.

Spin
26-11-2009, 03:56 PM
Hang on i have 1 here i had for my young fellow
i just got him a new 1 hes 13 now.
it is for 22_40 kgs size xs
its a pdf type 1
same as stuie63 mentioned.
hardly used.

frankgrimes
26-11-2009, 05:28 PM
Reckon you'd have to be mental NOT to make a kid wear a life jacket regardless of being underway/size of boat.

26-11-2009, 05:58 PM
my grandson is 8...he knows that before the boat starts he has to have a life jacket on. He even wore it on the 30' boat.

Robbo76
26-11-2009, 06:45 PM
Yep, as i mentioned, he will still wear a jacket underway regardless. I just couldn't do it without.

DONTdoIT
26-11-2009, 07:56 PM
i got same jacket for my 1 and 2 year old......
when moving they allways got Jackets on and when we stopped they come off.. i went into BCF and got myne around same price aswell ;)=

BILLY THE KID
26-11-2009, 08:06 PM
the kiddo is 4 , she knows the life jacket goes on as soon as she is out of the car , and it comes off back at the car . no complaints from her as she knows its no boat if it doesnt happen that way

Robbo76
26-11-2009, 08:30 PM
Yeah billy, that's a good routine to have for a young child. I have a 4yo also, he wears his when on board at all times.

BREEZE470
26-11-2009, 10:45 PM
Rob get him something like this and you will have a fishing buddy for life
http://www.bla.com.au/index.php?fn=productGroupView&dId=1&id=3881&eId=10&sId=d8809aa6bcf8adb76f0a79379fcb1c1e

Our 4 & 7 yr olds have this type as well. They aren't allowed in the boat without their lifejackets on - they go on at the boat ramp.

They haven't complained yet about them ;)

STUIE63
26-11-2009, 10:51 PM
neither did mine until the boy was about 10 then he would only wear it when we were moving but they were the rules to go out in the boat

Robbo76
27-11-2009, 08:54 AM
Thanks for the replies people. My boys always wear their jackets when in the boat fishing/underway, I agree, no jacket=no boat!

I am not worried about underway or jumping in and out of boat (they are always on!). My question was really aimed at, when anchored do they have to wear their life jackets.

The jackets stuie mentioned look very comfortable for the kids. If my boy can fish with this on no worries, problem sovled, i'm happy for him to wear it "full time" and will encourage him to do so.

Thanks again for your replies;)