View Full Version : Mercury or Etec?

breakthelines
20-11-2009, 03:57 PM
About to buy a blue fin 4.5m predator and have 2 motor options.

Mercury 60HP EFI 4 Stroke or Evinrude Etec 50HP?

Any opinions or advice.

20-11-2009, 04:47 PM
Have you searched the boating section for an answer?

Dodgy_Back
20-11-2009, 05:08 PM
Mate ,
This will just start The old Etec v Merc debate again.
I know you are only after a bit of advice but you will just get an overload and you will end up even more confused.

Good luck with your choice, both good.

And enjoy your new boat

ross_woody
20-11-2009, 05:09 PM
have a 4.5 bluefin with a 60hp 4st Merc. Did the same sums as well, having 4 cyls compare to 2cyls made my decision. Currently approaching 200hrs in 18months of use. Has all the grunt and economy is outstanding.

breakthelines
20-11-2009, 05:22 PM
have a 4.5 bluefin with a 60hp 4st Merc. Did the same sums as well, having 4 cyls compare to 2cyls made my decision. Currently approaching 200hrs in 18months of use. Has all the grunt and economy is outstanding.

Where did you buy from?

20-11-2009, 05:41 PM
I will stick my neck out...go the merc!

marty+jojo
20-11-2009, 05:47 PM
I love the grunt of a 2 stroke, every 4 stroke powered boat has been very slow out of the hole.
Marty.

Wahoo
20-11-2009, 05:54 PM
if you love the stinkin smell of a 2 stroke than go with the e tec, or if you like the quite no smell better fuel eco, than go the Merc 4 stroke

dreemon
20-11-2009, 07:32 PM
The smell of diesel makes me think of the work ute,

2 stroke fumes says fun times on the water ;)

black runner
20-11-2009, 07:38 PM
Both new tech low emmision motors, however rrp indicates 60hp merc is approx $1k less for 10hp more. On that basis (plus I am biased toward yam/merc 60 efi 4 bangers cause I have one) would go the merc depending on deal you can strike. All other things being equal, should also get longer life from the merc due to being less stressed in your application - 4cyl 4stroke vs 2cyl 2 stroke.

bluefin59
20-11-2009, 08:17 PM
My mate has the suzuki 4 stroke i know its not a merc but he has no problems getting up on the plain and it is so quit compared to my 2 stroke mariner so at the end of the day i would buy the 4 stroke because no matter what they say about the etec its still a bloody 2 stroke mate ,and THAT is old tech just my opinion ...matt PS,MY mate also has a predator8-) 8-)

breakthelines
20-11-2009, 08:25 PM
Both new tech low emmision motors, however rrp indicates 60hp merc is approx $1k less for 10hp more. On that basis (plus I am biased toward yam/merc 60 efi 4 bangers cause I have one) would go the merc depending on deal you can strike. All other things being equal, should also get longer life from the merc due to being less stressed in your application - 4cyl 4stroke vs 2cyl 2 stroke.

Been quoted the same price for both packages.

BARRA73
20-11-2009, 08:48 PM
Mate if you go for the 2 stroke forget a 50 and go for a 60hp etec. I have a bluefin wildcat with one and I definitely wouldn't go any smaller as the bluefins are quite heavy boats.

The merc 4 stroke i think is also a good motor but make sure you go 60hp with whatever brand you get because you will regret it if you don't. And try to ignore comments about stinking 2 strokes as you will see a sticker on all modern motors with a thing called emissions ratings. And the last time I checked evinrudes and mercs have 3 star ratings unless they have changed recently.

Best of luck with your decision.

Steeler
20-11-2009, 08:50 PM
Merc,no brainer really !!!!!!.

ross_woody
20-11-2009, 10:02 PM
Purchased from Mr T, now out of business. Theo still in the game at Coorparoo Marine, suggest you give him a call to see what deal he can do for you. I know he still selling Bluefin and can power it with Mercs as well. Welcomed to send a pm with your contact details if you want to discuss the performance over a phone call. good luck

breakthelines
20-11-2009, 10:40 PM
Purchased from Mr T, now out of business. Theo still in the game at Coorparoo Marine, suggest you give him a call to see what deal he can do for you. I know he still selling Bluefin and can power it with Mercs as well. Welcomed to send a pm with your contact details if you want to discuss the performance over a phone call. good luck

Thanks mate, dealing with Theo and Paul from Logan River marine.

They have both offered me a great price and the same price but one package comes with the etec 50 and the other merc 60.

I like the merc at this stage.

sleepygreg
20-11-2009, 11:46 PM
Go the 60....you wont regret it.

deckie
21-11-2009, 05:19 AM
Yeah go with the 60 only for the hp advantage though. Advantages for and against 4stk and 2 stk but in the end its all about putting as much grunt as u want for the least weight. Both motors are quite heavy for their hp...less deadweight on the back + more hp equals serious power up onto the plane.
May as well check out all your options...so see if you can get a 70 yammie 2stk on it. You will probably find its even lighter than the others with much more grunt. The thing would positively fly.

21-11-2009, 07:54 AM
Who really cares about the speed???? Isn't the point of the exersise to find better fuel economy???

Yep get the 70...flat out for about 5 km.....then row back ::) ::)

TOPAZ
21-11-2009, 08:48 AM
Here's some food for thought - a couple of posts have said the Merc wins because it is 4 cyl. against the Evinrude 2 cyl.
In each revolution of the motor, BOTH engines fire TWICE.
In the E-tec both pistons have a power stroke, whereas in the Merc, the 2 that fire (per revolution) are "carrying" the other 2

Just a thought!

Richard

Dodgy_Back
21-11-2009, 09:11 AM
Motors aside if I was to pick what dealer to get it from I would be getting it from Coorparoo marine.
I have found them to be very helpful and would be my first choice when buying a new motor.
If you can't decide on motor , then think about after sales service.

charlieash
21-11-2009, 10:02 AM
Heres something to think about the etec comes with a stainless prop and as far as i m aware the merc dont thats $500 in ya pocket allso you dont have to service the etec for 3 years factor that savings in .whats the warranty on the merc ?the etecs five years full factory . Finally 2 of my mates have 4.5 bluefin vikings one with a 50 etec one with a 60 yammie 4 witch i beleive is a simmilar motor and only one points sky ward when it takes off the other is already on the plain top speed allso goes to the etec allthough now old mates got a ss prop ont his yam there be a pussie hair of difference in it . Yep im a happy customer of logan river the two mechanics in there service centre would be hard to beat , and yeah i dealt with plenty of places.

21-11-2009, 10:08 AM
How much is the service after 3 years?????

Regular maintenence vs once every 3 years..... I know which I'd prefer...

21-11-2009, 10:13 AM
Was out in a 4.8 mtr tinnie yesterday with a 60 merc 4 banger which had just rang up 360 hrs. The owner is very happy with the motor, reckons the economy is unbelievable. Minor warrenty issue at 2 hours over warranty finish date but fixed under warranty. Dealer choice is very important.

Can't say anything about the etec as no real experience of them.

Hope this helps.

charlieash
21-11-2009, 10:17 AM
My 75 etec just cost me $489 to get serviced after 3yrs and 260 hrs . You merc guys really dont like alternative opions ha. i got a galvanised anchor on the front dont need a black one on the back L.O.L

bluefin59
21-11-2009, 10:39 AM
I have the 60 hp mariner and to be honest the extra 10 cc barely get used ,its not a ski boat its for fishing crying out loud ,the speed thing means zip in this case . As i said my mates 50 suzi has no poblem as it is set up properly ,the extra horses are great for me but really not needed at the end of the day you need to drive the boat enother thing a lot of blokes dont understand . They try and drive them flat out and then get on here and tell everbody how wet a boat is when in actual fact its there lack of boat driving skill in some conditions . And the comment about alternatives as far as etec goes wake up its still a 2 STROKE dont you guys get it you still have to add oil and the oil for these are not cheap this is the 21st century get a 4 stroke for sure ..matt

Bear001
21-11-2009, 10:50 AM
Who really cares about the speed???? Isn't the point of the exersise to find better fuel economy???

Ummm, I'm not sure of the main use of this boat, but as mentioned by others go the max hp (60) on either motor. I would imagine getting your boat up on a plane comfortably without putting too much load constantly on the motor would be pretty important in anyone's books?:-/

I have ETEC(40) on my hornet and very happy with it so far. I havent waited 3yrs for my service - common sense tells me to get it checked before the start of every fishing season/summer. (about $65-$85 for a once over etc)
I had an issue with my injector but fixed all OK - having a good dealer is very important too.

I went in 440 hornet last night with 60HP Yammie 4st high thrust - and very, very, doey to get up on the plane, really put the poor girl under some pressure with 3 of us & gear in the boat. Your boat will be a lot heavier I think.

So:-
1. Go 60hp
2. Be happy with your dealer (mine came & collected/returned my boat - 300klm round trip - to fix my injector problem!!)

Cind

deckie
21-11-2009, 11:26 AM

I gather u didnt really want to help him out...and are u trying to tell him those 70's break down a lot are u ?

No..the object of everyone's boat purchase isnt to reduce fuel consumption and have speed as low as possible. Others like to put less strain on a motor and have effortless power...they dont use it as speed.

Who cares about oil and petrol costs.. will take anyone a stupidly long time just to recoup the difference in purchase price and/or added servicing costs after u buy it so hardly worth worrying about any $ savings between the 2stk and 4 stk.

Breakthelines...burn the fuel matey...burn as much as u want to..if you're chasing surface schools hard or wanting to make a kid on a biscuit scream with fun then the hp is the go. You can spend an extra $500-1000 on 1st yr services for a 4stk or an extra $500-1000 on years worth of extra fuel and oil for a 2stk. Big deal.

HP is HP...usually the people who made the mistake of not putting enough on their rig tend to try to justify it. Get it out of the hole and on the plane assuming added weight onboard...u want to add a livey tank u then CAN..u want to let the kids sit down back as u take off u CAN.

People just plug what they have. Bugger all difference between any motor so just think about what u will use it for.

21-11-2009, 12:51 PM
One thing to consider is that 60Hp is the most common size motor arround that horespower and it is a competitive market.....you'd have to be getting better bang for your buck in a 60 regardless of brand.

Sorry but will all the bad press that the etec has had i wouldn't be touching one with your barge pole.

The 4 cylinder will be smoother and according to merc's adds....quieter than the etec...seen those adds...if it wasn't true everrude would have had merc in court over it.

Sheik
21-11-2009, 02:48 PM
i have a 60hp merc on my stacer 469, which is more like a 480. I have found over the years that getting the max hp in a medium sized tinny is a must. Fuel use is kinder, but more importantly, a bigger motor can mean more safety. COming back over the Wide Bay bar last weekend, Manboobs and I must have been carrying an extra 2-300 litres of water as the bilge pump had failed (clogged? not sure). The Stacer is rated to a 60 and i was very glad I had it on. THe stainless prop certainly helped. I had a 60 yammie 4stroke before this. Both are fantastic motors. THe yammie in my opinion is quieter, and maybe ... maybe... more grunt. THe merc economy is outstanding. WIth a 70 litre tank I can easily do over 200k's and that's in rough water. WOuld recommend it in my experience for what it's worth. Never had an etec. They have a lot to recommend them, but the extra horses would sway me every time. Safer, as I mentioned, but also less load on the motor every time it's used.

21-11-2009, 03:26 PM
About to buy a blue fin 4.5m predator and have 2 motor options.

Mercury 60HP EFI 4 Stroke or Evinrude Etec 50HP?

Any opinions or advice.

Been quoted the same price for both packages.

As BTL has said - same dollars for both packages. So I read this as money is the main objective.

I have had a few different makes and models over the last 20 odd years and the one thing that remains the same ---> the faster you go the more fuel you use.

If you drive it sensibly, in turn the results speak for themselves. As DECKIE says - put a 70 on it, it'll fly.......and mate you'll chew your fuel for no good reason. It's a bit hard to fuel up in the middle of the bay..::) ::)

Cindy - the comment has been explained above re fuel usage.

Deckie - "who cares about oil and petrol costs?" - I'd say about 90% of the boating fraternity.

Breakthelines - It's you who is buying the boat/motor package so it's your decision in the end.
Buy 2 Stroke and you have to buy oil as well - pros - you may have the extra power. cons - can't forget to buy oil and a little extra noise.
Buy 4 Stroke - pros - no need to buy oil and quieter - cons - service price more expensive and a little slower out of the hole.
If you need to get on the plane quicker (with a 4 stroke) then add a hydrofoil.

Well that's enough from me.

Just another bl**dy expert.

All the best with your new boat.

Wags

troy
21-11-2009, 03:44 PM
One thing to consider is that 60Hp is the most common size motor arround that horespower and it is a competitive market.....you'd have to be getting better bang for your buck in a 60 regardless of brand.

Sorry but will all the bad press that the etec has had i wouldn't be touching one with your barge pole.

The 4 cylinder will be smoother and according to merc's adds....quieter than the etec...seen those adds...if it wasn't true everrude would have had merc in court over it.

oldboot might be a lot of bad press about the e tecs but also a lot of happy owners.
All motors are good these days and e tecs are not the only ones that have bad press.
Troy

21-11-2009, 04:37 PM
try this

google etec problems, the google mercury outboard problems... then make up your own mind.

the bottom line is this.

there is a lot more freedom to engineer a more efficient motor using a 4 stroke technology than two stroke.
With 4 stroke you have the freedom to use variable valve timing and lift in conjunction with variable ignition timing and electronic fuel injection.
It allows the designer to manipulate all aspects of the combustion cycle... this technology is proven and used in a great many of the current motor vehicles...and is responsible for the significant improvements in economy, power and flexibility in current road cars.

In fact many of the parts used will be either directly taken from road vehicles or very closely related....thus the parts will be better proven more consistent and likely to be cheaper

It requires no major alteration to the fundamental 4 stroke process and requires no highly specialised lubricants.

A new generation two stroke particularly the etec that is anything like competitive will depend on very expensive highly specilised lubricants.
Because those lubricants are finely engineerered, it is likely that fuel quality may be more of an issue and in two stroke the lubricant works in conjunction with the fuel.

I have seen claims that some etcec failure have been blamed on fuel quality.....where that would not have been consider reasonble in other motors.

There have been doccumented problems with the etec....that is suposed to have a proporitary and unique injector and a whole pile of other things that have been specilay developed for the
etec product.
There have been known issues with injector failure in these motors.

now I own neither motor, so I have no axe to grind

I just call it as I see it.

If and when I replace my motor it will certainly be a 4 stroke.

As for hole shot................BH.....is this such a big issue.....once its on the plane who cares..... you have a half hour trip to where ever you are going........so who cares if it takes you 5 or 10 seconds to get up on the plane.

troy
21-11-2009, 05:26 PM
I do not need to google anything as all i am saying is that i have not seen any brand of motor that has not had issues whether small or large.
And i will not get into bagging other brands as i said they are all good.
And yes i do own a e tec and also a yamaha.
If you think the e tecs are not a good Outboard then that is your opinion and i have mine.
Mine could blow up tomorrow so could any of the other brands.
Troy8-)

21-11-2009, 05:43 PM
We have a 50hp EFI merc 4 stroke on our rescue boat at the yacht club. If you take a good look, it looks awefully like a yamaha block. Even shares the same fuel connector as the yam. In saying that, the leg and gear box are certainly different. The Merc is a lot louder than the yam too. The engine is pretty good, and we have never had any issues with it.

Me personally, given the choice I would seriously consider the etec. The merc is a really good engine, but there is a lot of little things about it that annoy me. The control box is one of those things. The only thing that would stop me looking at the etec is the fact you have to put oil in it. I really love just rocking up to the servo and putting fuel in and not worrying about anything else. Let the mechanic put the oil in!!!

siegfried
22-11-2009, 07:12 AM
Bloke I work with just came back from attempted trip to Awoonga Monduran etc for weeks tec $hit itself again (injector failure) unable to get component net result 2week trip no fishing at all third injector in 240 hrs one in arnhem land that r00ted that trip as well. I know lots of people havnt had issues but there has been enough to steer me well away from em The Merc 60 4 on the other hand has the runs on the board and it and the yammy have proven themselves in both rec and commercial applications a thousand times over

twist
22-11-2009, 07:50 AM
Buy a Honda 60hp. They're better and I own two etec 50's

23-11-2009, 01:29 PM
I am always amazed at how people can say a 4 stroke does not need any oil! when in fact the amount of oil used at oil change (and disposed of somehow) along with an over priced filter and labour relates to almost EXACTLY the cost of oil used in a 2 stroke over the same period! it is a moot pint, always was, always will be.

STUIE63
23-11-2009, 01:35 PM
it amazes me the amount of people that say they don't like mixing oil in the etec .etecs have a separate oil bottle and are self mixing

23-11-2009, 01:47 PM
Hmmm.....with my 2 stroke merc (current one and the 50hp) I had to fill an oil reservoir as well as the fuel tank.
With my last 4 stroke Yammy.....only needed to fill the fuel tank.

This is the point I was trying to make.

23-11-2009, 01:55 PM
so you never had any oil in the sump that needed changing? and it does not need to be "added" somehow? or the filter replaced?

siegfried
23-11-2009, 02:29 PM
Defend em anyway yez want boys, 4stk is king

STUIE63
23-11-2009, 02:38 PM
horses for courses is my beliefs

23-11-2009, 03:01 PM
so you never had any oil in the sump that needed changing? and it does not need to be "added" somehow? or the filter replaced?

My outboard mechanic sorted that stuff. I'm a fitter/machinist and know SFA about outboards. If I wanted a toilet fixed I'd call a Plumber or some powerpoints installed I'd call an Electrician. Therefore - an Outboard Mechanic would service my outboards.

A service for a 4 stroke would include new oil and filter.... If you had serviced a 4 stroke then you'd know this. So why bring up a stupid post like your last??

Grow up!

honda900
23-11-2009, 03:07 PM
couple of things thing I would add,

not to take sides,

but what I noticed, changing from a 2 stroke to a 4 stroke;

the noise levels between the engines at real travelling speed the 4 stroke is quieter but only marginally.
The 4 v 2 hole shot can be fixed with correct propping on the 4 stroke.
But the one thing I do notice is that the 4 stroke in bad conditions does not suffer so much in the performance stakes and is able to maintain its revs and speed much better, the 2 stroke required much more on and off the throttle, which in turn burns fuel.The engines I mention are not the same as what you are looking at, Good luck with your choice, really dont think you can go wrong either way.

HOnda.

23-11-2009, 04:13 PM
I'm no great hater of two strokes...as anybody who has read some of my recent posts will know.

But the available technology has come down very strogly in favour of the 4 stroke....there is simply more room and more proven materials and processes to engineer a good, reliable, high performing motor with current 4 stroke technology.

as for the oil thing......the higher the usage the better a four stroke looks, because every hour any two stroke runs consumes more oil........

in reality the service interval remains the same once the engine is run in,....so you have to take your 4 stroke in for some early services .

Once you have replaced 3 injectors in three years.....( not my experience but plenty have the same story).....your 3 year no service period of your etec goes out the window.

So this 3 year no service period.......do you not inspect the cooling system for foreign matter and the impeller for dammage...do you not pull the prop and check the seal hasn't been chopped out by fishing line picked up. are you telling me there is a superiour tecknology in the tilt tube, ot the trottle linkages, or the pivot rod that it needs greasing less than some other

so after run in, the service period remains the same.....once a year.

All the promoted advantages of new technology 2T over 4 can all be found to be not the case In at least 1 case.
4 stroke is heaver......not always
4 stroke has a slower hole shot.......may be... who cares
4 stroke definitely uses a lot less oil when you start to look at high usage motors and any brand new technology 2T oil is expensive.

and so on.

23-11-2009, 06:32 PM
I should point out I dont like white motors, unhelpful i know but they dont look right on a boat.

Saying that, its all a bit serious about motors, as long as they get you home and you have a good mechanic who services them right and you have confidence in them from your experience, id go with the trusted mechanic/service regardless of brand every time.....

Dicko
23-11-2009, 07:12 PM
I stay out of these type of arguments most of the time, because the more things change, the more they stay the same. Even 5 or 10 years ago everyone said once you'd had a 4 stroke you'd never go back to a 2 stroke.

That's a myth.

I've always had regular 2 strokes. I went to a 4 stroke for a couple of years, then the last 2 purchases have been DFI 2 strokes.

Running costs are much the same, but you can't replace the performance in the way they punch out of the hole and the free reving acceleration of a 2 stroke. Sure, you can prop a 4 stroke to get them down to pull, but you lose it in the rest of the rev range. A 2 stroke propped well will perform in all rev ranges.

For basic chugging around either a 2 or 4 stroke is fine, but if you want a smile on your face from some some snap and sparkle when you open it up, a 2 stroke wins hands down.

Look at the performance end of the market like the ski racers/boat racers or the bass boat guys in the US. Very, very few 4 strokes in the fields. There's a reason for that. ;D

On a plus side, the new version yammies in the higher HP class, and the new small range Hondas seem like they are going to close the gap.

siegfried
23-11-2009, 07:41 PM
That free revving high performance sparkle will probably wear off after a few injector failures and somehow I suspect that those seppos you are talking about with their flash little boats ,high performance engines and silly shirts dont pay for em like the average Australian boat owner who requires nothing more than a quiet reliable economical motor...like pretty well every modern 4 stk, just about all of which have proven themselves over quiet a few years now

24-11-2009, 07:21 AM
My outboard mechanic sorted that stuff. I'm a fitter/machinist and know SFA about outboards. If I wanted a toilet fixed I'd call a Plumber or some powerpoints installed I'd call an Electrician. Therefore - an Outboard Mechanic would service my outboards.

A service for a 4 stroke would include new oil and filter.... If you had serviced a 4 stroke then you'd know this. So why bring up a stupid post like your last??

Grow up!
hahaha, that's the funniest thing I have read for a long time, you never need to put oil or a filter in your 4 stroke, because someone does it for you!! geees that's funny, I guess you could take your 2 stroke to a service guy as well and get him to top up the oil for you if it was all that difficult as well, don't think for one minute I have not had or do currently have a 4 stroke, I do not rate either as being better than the other, but fact is fact, can't get any simpler than that, I think I am well and truely grown up.

Jabba_
24-11-2009, 08:34 AM
couple of things thing I would add,

not to take sides,

but what I noticed, changing from a 2 stroke to a 4 stroke;

the noise levels between the engines at real travelling speed the 4 stroke is quieter but only marginally.
The 4 v 2 hole shot can be fixed with correct propping on the 4 stroke.
But the one thing I do notice is that the 4 stroke in bad conditions does not suffer so much in the performance stakes and is able to maintain its revs and speed much better, the 2 stroke required much more on and off the throttle, which in turn burns fuel.The engines I mention are not the same as what you are looking at, Good luck with your choice, really dont think you can go wrong either way.

HOnda.
I know what your saying about 2st dropping from a plane easy at low rpm/slow planing speed....

But speaking off the E-tec only.. I was having a similar problem with the viper prop.. I have since changed that to a Rebel and the E-tec holds a slow plane very easy... I have helped a few other E-tec owners that were have the same problem.. They too now have a more controlable motor at slow planing speeds with the correct prop...

By propping your 4st to get a quick hole shot it will reduce your top speed and requires a higher rpm to get a the same cruise speed with a slightly bigger pitch prop.....

Don't think I am out to shit-can the 4st,,, I'm not... just adding some balance to the thread.... The Yamie or Suzuki are motors I am very interested in having on my next rig.. I'm even looking towards a deisel inboard..

but thos new SHO Yammies, are sooooo tempting.. And the fact that I have a good mate that works for yammie, he will make sure I get a sweet deal if I go that way..

gav73
24-11-2009, 09:44 AM
Mate what do you want to buy a fishing boat or race boat. I hade a 75hp Honda on my old boat and it was a nice quiet engine, now I have a 90hp Optimax on my new boat. It is noiser and I have to put oil in now and then who cares you should keep a eye on your equipment every time you use it.If you look after it you shouldn't have a problem you abuse it(Whatever the brand) then open your wallet .Try and go for a run in both then make up your mind. Cheers Gav

Skusto
24-11-2009, 06:21 PM
can i say one thing to the amount of oil the 50 etec would chew would be sweet F**k all.. both motors will serve its purpose. we went from a 4stroke 2 a DFI 2 stroke. both have been great motors and both have there good points and bad points. buy either one with confidence! and if u really cant make up ya mind just buy whatever one looks better on the back.