View Full Version : Chaos Cat - 250Hp tiller Demo day

matmuller85
19-11-2009, 09:12 PM
Hey guys if anyone is interested Chaos cat co, will be comming to Townsville in the not to distant future. Please send me a PM if your interested in having a look at a boat or taking a ride. Couple pics attached.

Matt Muller

NIZ180
19-11-2009, 10:40 PM
That thing looks awesome. We need more boats like this in Australia IMO. Would love to see a centre console with nice big front casting deck setup like the american bay boats.

I'm interested to know more!!! Are they built here? & what are the specs & price like?

the baker
20-11-2009, 12:29 AM
:o my 40hp tiller just got a complex;D

matmuller85
20-11-2009, 05:51 AM
Built in north queensland i believe hes has a centre console & the side console. the side console is very popular so far.

littlemac
20-11-2009, 07:04 AM
they look like some fun

brett

20-11-2009, 10:03 AM
damn, as tiller steer that must be hard on the arms steering.

20-11-2009, 10:19 AM
Think they have some sort of hydraulic arrangement going by the earlier pics.

Thats one bad ass boat and I want one.

bennyboy
20-11-2009, 01:38 PM
I would like to know to what standard the boat is built to, the Australian Standard has specifications as to length, beam, number of people and HP.

Not that anyone could catch you to check

Getout
20-11-2009, 05:29 PM
That boat is rated to carry 250HP???
There would only be one thing worse than hanging onto a tiller-steer 250 at full noise...........letting go of it and going into a donut pattern!!!!!!

joey_1987
20-11-2009, 05:33 PM
the steering is zero feedback i believe, it's on mercury's website. it's like power steering on a tiller ;D

marty+jojo
20-11-2009, 05:51 PM
That is some crazy sh*t. An accident waiting to happen.
Marty.

dodgyone
20-11-2009, 07:36 PM
Marty.

Yeah, but alot of fun. My 18 ft Flat bottomed drag boat hull weighs 250kg bare. 400 horses of Chev makes it a little dangerous if your not paying attention but is a whole lot of fun. Fastest crabbing boat in town too.;D

NIZ180
21-11-2009, 03:53 PM
Marty.

I've seen those tiller setups in the US before. I think most people over here would go the centre/side console option with that much power. I would love to know more about the boat so post up the specs & estimate price range.

frankgrimes
21-11-2009, 04:19 PM
Crikey! What's her top speed?

Stuart
21-11-2009, 04:29 PM
0 to dead in 3.2 seconds.

Stu

frankgrimes
21-11-2009, 05:12 PM
0 to dead in 3.2 seconds.

Stu

Reckon you'd have to be a keen man to take it to WOT!

21-11-2009, 07:10 PM
What pitch prop is on it? like a 26-28 or something.

SNAPPERCOFFIN
21-11-2009, 07:23 PM
OptiMax 250 Pro XS with Big Tiller ‘amazing’

Mark Nissen might have been in business for only about a year, but he’s already known for creating high performance sports and spear-fishing boats… and his new Chaos Cat 520 is only going to build his reputation.

http://www.ausfish.com.au/buy_a_boat/news_images/content_images/Image/Mercury_Choas/Chaos Cat 520 Opti.jpgThe 5.2m purpose built aluminium catamaran has been tearing through the water off Mission Beach, North Queensland – where Mark is based – powered by an OptiMax 250 Pro XS and controlled by Mercury’s unique Big Tiller.

‘I’ve only had the boat in the water for a few hours but everyone who’s seen it tells me it’s amazing,” Mark said.

“With the OptiMax 250 Pro XS, the power-to-weight ratio is phenomenal. We’ve been cruising at 45-50 mph (72-80 km/h) in one-metre seas.

“Some might say I’ve overdone it with a 250 motor but I wanted to see what was possible.”

By changing his current 23 pitch propeller to a 25 pitch Mercury Laser II prop Mark’s confident he can hit 65-70 mph (104 – 112 km/h).

http://www.ausfish.com.au/buy_a_boat/news_images/content_images/Image/Mercury_Choas/Chaos Cat 520 seats.jpg“But the fuel economy is amazing as well, which is why I chose this engine in the first place. I’ve gone for a long run and fuel consumption was less than one litre per nautical mile, and that’s into 12-15 knots of wind,” Mark said.

“The 200 litre tank means we can go 100 miles (160 kilometres) off shore for spear fishing.”

Big Tiller
When he was building the boat, Mark wanted tiller control to allow more room in the craft but he wasn’t sure about matching a tiller to an outboard as powerful as the OptiMax 250 Pro XS.

“I thought it might be too sensitive, but it’s brilliant. The feel and control you get with it is just perfect. Whoever designed it has got it just spot on.”

http://www.ausfish.com.au/buy_a_boat/news_images/content_images/Image/Mercury_Choas/Chaos Cat 520 airborne.jpgThe Big Tiller was designed with a ergononomically-friendly, easy to use tiller handle with integrated shift, trim and throttle controls located within easy reach, along with user friendly adjustment knobs which allow for easy modification of the tiller handle angle, throttle handle and valve tension making it very easy to operate. The power steering option (not available on 40-60efi FourStroke models) allows for effortless use for long periods of time without causing fatigue to the operator.

It was created specifically for high horsepower Mercury and Mariner outboard engines;
• 75 to 115hp FourStrokes,
• 75 to 250hp OptiMax engines, and
• 135 to 200hp four-cylinder Verado engines with SmartCraft Digital Throttle & Shift (DTS).

The Big Tiller has proved very popular in commercial applications across a broad range of outboard sizes, particularly as it allows full engine functionality. DTS power steering is available on all four-cylinder Verado outboards and OptiMax engines with DTS. The system allows for adjustable steering pressure with the touch of a finder and has zero engine feedback through the tiller arm.

Sea Patrol
Mark’s Chaos Cat 520 has already caught the eyes of some great ambassadors – the people behind TV’s popular Sea Patrol series.

“We went out for two days scouting for new locations and they said some great things,” Mark said.

Keep an eye out for one of Mark’s six metre catamarans in an up coming episode, and they are now looking at using his new creation as well.

At the moment, Mark says the Chaos Cat 520 is purely a demonstration model. And it surely is - demonstrating Mark’s ability to build a great boat, the power and fuel-efficiency of the OptiMax outboard, and the fantastic control provided by Mercury’s unique Big Tiller.

The OptiMax, Big Tiller and accessories were supplied by the crew at Tully Boating World.

Chaos Cat 520

• Mercury 250 Pro XS OptiMax
• Mercury Big Tiller with power/hydraulic steering
• Length 5.2m, width 2.2m, max hp 250
• Fuel 200L (Bermuda fuel tank)
• Lenco trim tabs
• Garmin 500 GPS combo, GME flush mount cd/mp3/af/fm stereo, flush mount speakers, GME
gx600 VHF radio
• Spear gun locker
• Custom Rex marine fittings (switch panel, grab handles, fuel breathers, fuel filler)
• Targa/folding canopy
• Rae-line bucket seats
• Chaos Cat custom alloy trailer
• Freshwater tanks
• Ballast tanks
• Deck wash
• Electric motor mounts

21-11-2009, 07:45 PM
Ok so it's not a bare boned racer, it's more a very fast fishing boat!

Would be lots of fun on a calm day.

NIZ180
22-11-2009, 11:10 PM
Any contact details for Mark? Also any more shots of the interior

shacar
06-11-2010, 01:48 PM
gdhetyh dyhyh6rj

mookyandlumpy
06-11-2010, 03:47 PM
http://www.youtube.com/user/chaoscatco

same guys??

shacar
06-11-2010, 04:23 PM
8098ybkhu nb jhgkjh

No Fear
06-11-2010, 05:39 PM
What's one worth?

shacar
06-11-2010, 05:57 PM
ykjnij 3t26 grg4gg45g4

smashed crabs
07-11-2010, 09:09 AM
I would love to do an open sea trial on one out to the shelf and stick it up against some monsters , tiller steering just love it . Whats it like for 15 to 20"s ?? can you still take her out ?

shacar
07-11-2010, 09:37 AM
fghhjyv sthtrrehb

smashed crabs
07-11-2010, 10:06 AM
Awsome i know them waters well and it takes alot to scare me ha ha ha , get old mate to build one and i will take it from melbourne to broome , get the video cameras ready

07-11-2010, 10:10 AM
Awsome i know them waters well and it takes alot to scare me ha ha ha , get old mate to build one and i will take it from melbourne to broome , get the video cameras ready

I'd like to see that.

smashed crabs
07-11-2010, 10:19 AM
I'd like to see that.

Me too :D , didn't the great Melcom Douglas take a trailcraft from tassie to broome? We go that way , awsome weather across the straight , i have done the trip a couple of times on the Spirit of Tassie , biggest waves i ever did see

shacar
07-11-2010, 10:49 AM
gndfntyjty aezfbtheth

smashed crabs
07-11-2010, 10:54 AM
for those of you who are interested....Mark nissen 0428654454.... give him a ring smashed crab if ya want to go for a ride he's just up the road.

Will he let me thrash the guts out of it ??

Horizontal bungee jumping ;D

brisbane_boy
07-11-2010, 11:55 AM
250 seems a bit excessive, a 5m kevlacat only needs half that power lol

07-11-2010, 01:06 PM
Thats not a boat! It is a motor support bracket that floats!

smashed crabs
07-11-2010, 09:04 PM
Thats not a boat! It is a motor support bracket that floats!

Yeah and how awsome it would be to own one :P

I wonder if they come with air ride seats so ya don't bust a nut on landing but being a cat i imagine the landing would be soft sitting on the arse