View Full Version : ReBait. repaired.

17-11-2009, 12:43 PM
I got the big rig back today after attending the doctors for a couple of weeks.

Below is pics of work that was done. Basically I ended up re-enforcing the targa with upgraded size support tubes, extra support / grab rail and gussetts.

Also had targa mounted rocketlaunchers removed and holes welded, a new ' drinks ' shelf / plate fitted under the bait board and extra rod holders welded onto the back of the baitboard. Other TIG repairs done throughout the boat and then painted. Thanks to Col and Richard at Origin Boats at Clontarf for this amazing job and the understanding of what I wanted to achieve.

A new windscreen fitted by Marine Windows Australia and then next door to Steves Custom Canopies for new clears and the cabin lining.

It was a bonus to have all the above repairers within a street of each other and Col co-ordinated the moving / delivering of the boat from business to business.

Tomorrow she goes down the coast to get hydraulics checked over and then the Vynalite flooring goes in next week, and then it is put back together ready for the Xmas onslaught.

Cheers phill

http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm246/Lucky_Phill/New-dashgussett.jpg

http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm246/Lucky_Phill/New-dash-gussettrhs.jpg

http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm246/Lucky_Phill/New-double-grab-rail.jpg

http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm246/Lucky_Phill/New-cabinlining.jpg

http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm246/Lucky_Phill/New-shelfunderbaitboard.jpg

http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm246/Lucky_Phill/Newrodholders.jpg

http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm246/Lucky_Phill/Newcomplete.jpg

.><> ><> ><> ><> ><>

17-11-2009, 01:27 PM
Bloody hell, Phill, she looks beautiful! Can't wait to see her in action!

17-11-2009, 02:02 PM
not too shaby Phil, but can it find the fish??

17-11-2009, 02:31 PM
OH, I went down to Bias boating yesterday and purchased a Fish Magnet. Only got the chinese branded one, so hopefully the warranty is good. ?? ;D :P ;)

me.

17-11-2009, 03:37 PM
Buddy,

Looks a lot better than when I saw it last mate. As long as you're happy with the job then that's all that counts.

Did you get gussets over the cracks along the steps or a straight weld. What about the sides of the targa at about waist level where it ha gone right around.

Don't get it too pretty I might hit you up to take it to NW next year:P

17-11-2009, 03:54 PM
Straight weld on the step access and the big one at waist level also fixed. All cracks done now. After all, it is Alloy and they are prone to stress cracks.

Just remembered I have to make some minor repairs to the scuppers to try to stop water coming in, but the amount of water is bugger all in the scheme of things.

And I just got word, my Vynalite flooring is coming from Melbourne and will take about 10 days. damn.....
..><> ><> ><>

Hell Boy
17-11-2009, 04:08 PM
You will be happy with the Vynalite, it's soft on the feet and easy to clean, you will never want to go back to carpet..

17-11-2009, 04:09 PM
Just looking at the 2nd last pic it looks like the ride would be a bit rugged on the ol date Phil??? Or was that another custom mod you didnt tell us about;D

Just kidding, she looks good, I like the drink shelf idea too

trymyluck
17-11-2009, 04:41 PM
You sure you want to put that in the water, might get dirty.;D;D

Looks good.

sailfisher580
17-11-2009, 07:00 PM
Col at "Origin Boats" - Is that the Col I think it is???? If so good luck to him, I hope he lands on his feet.
Sailfisher

17-11-2009, 07:33 PM
Argle, mmmm yes , would be a bit ' ordinary ', the fully padded seats will go back in soon. :P ;D ;D

sailfisher580. Yes, Col Svennson is Origin Boats. 8-)

><> ><> ><> ><>

ashh
17-11-2009, 09:32 PM
what happened to it? or were you just 'adding' stuff to it?

17-11-2009, 09:58 PM
ashh. here is the link to issues after the Agnes Water / 1770 M & G.

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?t=155226&page=3

phill

Searaider 2
18-11-2009, 01:02 AM
Geday Phil ,
The mighty Rebait looks better than new ,
What is the material your using on the floor & do you have any info on it .

18-11-2009, 09:38 AM
Bloody hell Peter, what are you doing up at 1am ?????

OK, here is a couple of links for the flooring.

this one has a pic of product:-

http://www.materialshandling.com.au/pc-703-104-vynalite-matting.aspx

this one is where I got it from in Brisvegas.

http://www.qldcleaning.com/matting/vynalite.html

I also believe that Clark Rubber may stock it.

Same stuff that Baitrunner charters has on his floor. I hope to get a green to match the pinstriping on ReBait.

I think the colours available are Green, black, grey and blue.

900mm about $61 mtr and 1200mm about $76 mtr.

Cheers phill

Matt_F
18-11-2009, 10:44 AM
What brand of boat is that Lucky_Phill?

Thanks,
Matt.

18-11-2009, 01:21 PM
It is a Pacific Sportfish Super Vee 6.2 Centre Cab. One of the last sportfish off the line before Noble took over building them in China.

The boat was purchased as a bare hull, we painted it, wired it and done the fitout. The upholstery was done professionally, as was windscreen and clears.

Replacement value...about 75K.

Matt_F
18-11-2009, 01:29 PM
Thanks for that. Just interested and couldn't read the brand name in the photos.

John_R
19-11-2009, 05:09 AM
Phil,

Noble only started building them in China recently. Until then they were building them in Clontarf.

I have a Noble 2003 model 6.2 centre cabin and it is very similar to yours, but different targa width etc. Only had it for a month or so and it's only done two trips both at 1770.

19-11-2009, 08:48 AM
Yep, John, could have wrote that better. :-/

There was a bit of argey / bargey when Noble took over, something to do with the ownership of the name and hull design, from memory. ???

With the current economic circumstances, we may see more high profile alloy boats being made overseas ????? Certainly with the Aussie dollar at 94 cents against the greenback, importing Yank boats is looking good.

BTW, Hydraulics were tested by Marine Control Systems down the coast and all came up good. Thanks to Gary for his honesty in appraising the job.

Now, to start putting it back together..... I am seriously thinking of removing the 27meg....... don't believe I have used it in 12 months...

Hope to see you at 1770 next year John....... OH, and how does the Noble rate against the old glass boat ????

cheers phill

trueblue
19-11-2009, 09:00 AM
mate of mine up north had a big pacific sportfish - great boat. little bit rolly at rest, but pretty good ride in the heavy slop

2iar
19-11-2009, 06:08 PM
She's looking great Phil.

Nice to bump in to you today - hope it's not so long next time, I hope to get back to a 1770 M&G sometime.

Good luck,

John_R
19-11-2009, 06:09 PM
Phil,

There is a report on the Noble in the SeaMedia website. Apparently both Noble and Yamba Engineering thought they had secured the designs when Pacific went belly up. Leading to all sorts of dramas, but they must have sorted it because mine is very similar to yours. Mine's Red though.

I had a Quintrex 530 Spirit before this. It still for sale at AMC if anybody is interested. It was a great little boat that performed really well, but I couldn't keep up with the big glass boats in the PBA.

The Noble does that easily and the centre cabin design is great for fishing around the boat.

Hopefully the Ausfish and PBA 1770 trips will re-align next year.

shano
19-11-2009, 10:44 PM
i was just thinking the other day wonder when ya gonna come visit????? oh i see lol! nice job!

murf
20-11-2009, 06:02 AM
pretty :)

now to get it blooded again

cheers Murf

20-11-2009, 06:29 AM
ReBait. reaired. RETARDED! You should have put a lighter lid on and got rid of that silly prop. That way she wouldn't roll like a fatso in the water and she'd have a half decent top speed!

"Having dropped his clanger, TimiBoy runs for cover!"

;D;D;D;D

26-11-2009, 09:42 PM
Timi.........:rifle:

Yes well T.W. some of us have to work to keep our boats unlike the White Shoe Brigade :P

Slowly coming together. Hold floor is now covered in carpet / soundproofing and dash has new material.

My Vynalite arrived today, so by end of next week, she'll be ready for anything. Bring on those Hervey Bay spotties..... ;) 8-)

><> ><> >:::> >:::> >:::>
/\/\/\/\/\ <>< ><>

26-11-2009, 11:02 PM
those welds Col did must be great..the speed you passed us on the M1 it is any wonder it cracked.

ospery888
27-11-2009, 10:22 AM
going to have t call you hollywood mate ,great rig mike

tropicrows
27-11-2009, 12:28 PM
Hi Phil,
I hope you got the windscreen set at the right hight this time, or do I need to bring my own box next time.

BaitThrower
27-11-2009, 03:51 PM
Ahem... where is your ausfish sticker?? :P

06-12-2009, 10:23 PM
That's a good question.......

I usually have the www.ausfish.com.au on the targa...... ............

Mrs Ronnie H
07-12-2009, 09:45 AM
Hi Phil
Just one question----- When are we going fishing.?????

LOL
Ronnie

07-12-2009, 10:23 AM
Soon Ronnie, soon. ;D 8-) 8-)

Hopefully the spottie macks come in and we can sort out a few off the sunnie coast. I will be heading to Hervey Bay sometime over Xmas to chase them up the inside of Fraser.

2 little jobs to do and she's ready..... maybe I'll get them done today :-/

.cheers

07-12-2009, 11:20 AM
Some pics that shows her with new flooring material.

It's Vinylite... rubber tubing like the stuff on pub floors behind the bar.

Looking forward into cab..

http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm246/Lucky_Phill/new-flooringfront.jpg

Looking back to stern.

http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm246/Lucky_Phill/New-flooring2.jpg

A higher view.

http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm246/Lucky_Phill/New-flooring1.jpg

new carpet on dash

http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm246/Lucky_Phill/Dash-new-carpet.jpg

Looking into the cabin. lined and cosey... ;)

http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm246/Lucky_Phill/Cabin-lined.jpg

The baitboard. just need to put the two spare rod holder rod protectors in place.

http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm246/Lucky_Phill/baitbaordalbut.jpg

that makes her just about ready to get her bum wet again. ;D ;D

07-12-2009, 11:28 AM
OH...one more showing radios in targa...

http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm246/Lucky_Phill/dash-and-targa.jpg

. ><> ><> ><>

murf
07-12-2009, 11:40 AM
looking good mate :)

did you end up putting some form of ventilation up with the radios?

cheers Murf

07-12-2009, 11:51 AM
Yes. Found the problem as well. At the bottom of the anchor light, water was getting in past the wiring and straight into the radio area. Fixed that and also drilled hole in bottom of radio mount area.

tropicrows
07-12-2009, 11:53 AM
Looking pretty swanky now phil. Is the flooring held down in any way, or does it just sit there.

07-12-2009, 02:06 PM
Just sits there Bruce, just in case I need to remove it. The rubber has a firm grip on the floor, but I have glued ( loctite 406 ) some area to the kill tank lid. I also used the loctite to glue the seams together. Works a treat , but boy is it expensive.

It contracts and expands a little due to heat and cold, but really sits there well and will not move / slip under foot.

07-12-2009, 02:48 PM
The next time you go to Landcruiser Park and someone says "Only a couple of feet deep!" I'd take your boat along to test first to ensure your 4wd doesn't mysteriously vanish again.:P Nice looking boat Phill. I hope that fish magnet works well. Keep the receipt just in case though.

nidrac
07-12-2009, 03:52 PM
Looking good mate... we have that rubber flooring in our 5.8m sportsfish and its bloody brilliant... stops you from falling a*se up in the middle of the night in the patch of fish slime you forgot to wash off... doen't stop all the heat in the day but beats the bare aluminium..

Nidrac.

Mrs Ronnie H
07-12-2009, 09:38 PM
Hi Phill
Just in time for xmas. I have holidays and don't go back to work til jan 4. will look forward to a day on the water. Expenses shared of course.

LOL
Ronnie

08-12-2009, 07:41 AM
You've buggered it mate... too pretty now.

08-12-2009, 12:06 PM
Don't worry Brett, I plan on " bloodying " the floor as much as possible next year.

I also heard that fish are attracted to " pretty " things.......... maybe that's why the big reds have eluded me at 1770... ::) ::) ;D

No worries Ronnie....... I'll keep in touch.. and stop topping my high scores :P :P :P 8-) 8-)

.cheers

Chong
08-12-2009, 04:18 PM
Looks great Phill,
is that new floor JOY protected::)

Pick us up on the way thru, could get some nannies as well;)

08-12-2009, 08:44 PM
Forgot to mention new rules for ReBait.

No Joy

No Durries

No battery operated toys

No " baby on board " signs

No ETS advocates

No " soft plastics "

No... skirt wearing, shandy drinking, soap avoiding, limp wristed, tree hugging minions .... either !!!!!

No.. pink rods, eagle claw hooks, brass swivels, jarvis walker line or wire traces...

In fact,

if you're not up to gettin ya goolies wet, hand down a cods throat, sunburn, cramped forearms, pillie juice under the fingernails or even eating mullet soaked chicken sangas for lunch.......... then don't bother applying.,, :P

In the front side pocket is a jar of cement so you southern fairies can have a spoon full and harden up for the trip :-*

mmmmmm tooo many cruisers....... oh well.... cheers....8-) 8-)

legsy11
08-12-2009, 11:52 PM
nice boat,
so now you have joined the individual matts,is it still able to remove for cleaning.?

09-12-2009, 05:03 AM

No Joy

No Durries

No battery operated toys

No ETS advocates

No " soft plastics "

No... skirt wearing, shandy drinking, soap avoiding, limp wristed, tree hugging minions .... either !!!!!

No.. pink rods, eagle claw hooks, brass swivels, jarvis walker line or wire traces...

In fact,

if you're not up to gettin ya goolies wet, hand down a cods throat, sunburn, cramped forearms, pillie juice under the fingernails or even eating mullet soaked chicken sangas for lunch.......... then don't bother applying.,, :P

In the front side pocket is a jar of cement so you southern fairies can have a spoon full and harden up for the trip :-*

I was waiting for :

NO CRUISER DRINKERS

But Phil..does it have the obligatory bottle of green ginger in the side pocket...it serves many purposes..thirst quencher, warming agent on cold nights, medicinal purposes also (not sure if it cures any ailments but drink enough of it and you soon will forget about them)..plus many other uses not mentioned.

murf
09-12-2009, 08:56 AM

Bahahahahahahahaha

ya been on them pink girly drinks again :-*

cheers Murf

09-12-2009, 09:06 AM
legsy11.

Yes, I need to remove the seats ( which simply slip off ) and the the whole florring can be removed in one hit. Maybe need a hand to do it.

GH,

Yes..... there is always a bottle of Green Death about somewhere :)

Saturday lookin OK.....

Mrs Ronnie H
10-12-2009, 08:38 AM

No Joy

No Durries

No battery operated toys

No ETS advocates

No " soft plastics "

In fact,

Hey Phill
Well I at least fit the rule criteria-- maybe with one or two exceptions. :o And at least one of us will remain sober:-* And remind me to swap the skirt for a pair of shorts.

LOL
Ronnie

murf
10-12-2009, 05:43 PM

mmm who is that buying pink girly drinks in the budget ladys straw hat with the 20 cent draw string cord????????????????????????????
http://i362.photobucket.com/albums/oo64/murfgq/Agnes09226.jpg

murf
10-12-2009, 05:45 PM
on the upside it was at Agnes Water and the bottle shop is drive through (boat included :) )

http://i362.photobucket.com/albums/oo64/murfgq/Agnes09225.jpg

shrunken pojie
15-12-2009, 01:25 PM
No " soft plastics "

So why is it that I am still finding jigheads on the Skanky Hoe then?

Col did the repairs to her as well. Great job.

15-12-2009, 02:26 PM
duuno Phill, maybe they were snuck on by some crew.

I might give Col a call and see if it was my driving that did the damage or old age... lol

cheers phill

15-12-2009, 06:57 PM
I saw someone breaking another rule on board on Saturday..hehe

Mrs Ronnie H
16-12-2009, 06:03 PM
I saw someone breaking another rule on board on Saturday..hehe

Which rule was that Greg. There's a fair list to remember and at my age its not getting any easier to do that.

While I am here I had a great time out. Thanks Phil once again. That boat seems to handle well and rides good. The new flooring Phil has put in is great on your feet. Run around all day with no shoes and didn't get hot feet once. Doesn't seem to be slippery under foot either if you get abit of water on it. If you are considering changing from carpet this stuff would be ther ideal replacement for it.

LOL
Ronnie