View Full Version : Good Luck In The ABT Blokes!

BR65
11-11-2009, 08:46 PM
Good luck to the Ausfishers having a crack at the ABT this year, theres a few names we know, go get 'em boys!
You should be able to follow the results here:
http://www.australianbarra.com.au/

PaulMark
11-11-2009, 09:02 PM
Yep,good one Brian.Go get em guys.
Paulo

Obi _ Wan
11-11-2009, 09:14 PM
Good on yah Brian, well done mate.

I for one will be watching and waiting for the results to be posted on the web site.

And i too wish my good friends all the very best.

John.

Whitto
11-11-2009, 09:32 PM
Good Luck to all competing.......Always logged on to the website.....unfortunately there is no list of who is competing......I guess once the results come in we will know soon enough.....I know of a few competing and I wish you all well.....Go get em.

DEANO68
11-11-2009, 09:40 PM
well said brian, and ditto.....best of luck (and skill) too you all, and most of all, enjoy yourself..;) ..
deano...8-)

11-11-2009, 09:43 PM
Good Luck to all competing.......Always logged on to the website.....unfortunately there is no list of who is competing......I guess once the results come in we will know soon enough.....I know of a few competing and I wish you all well.....Go get em.

Try this link ...... just keep in mind that many teams dont enter till the day of the event.

http://www.fishingmonthly.com.au/bb3/viewforum.php?f=15

Whitto
11-11-2009, 09:50 PM
Thanks Chris.

Whitto
11-11-2009, 09:52 PM
well said brian, and ditto.....best of luck (and skill) too you all, and most of all, enjoy yourself..;) ..
deano...8-) Did the Red Devils come out to play tonight.

DEANO68
11-11-2009, 10:01 PM
Try this link ...... just keep in mind that many teams dont enter till the day of the event.

http://www.fishingmonthly.com.au/bb3/viewforum.php?f=15

chris thanks for that link and good fishing to you and trev, try not to trip over to many T.E.D. stubbs..;) :P
and i see pete and kyle are having a crack at the mondy leg, good on ya lads , hope ya nail em..;D

Did the Red Devils come out to play tonight.

sorta whitto, nath pulled hooks one one , i donated a hook to one, and one good fish beat me on the frikkin bank again,.>:( .not happy....im in very poor form at the mo..
they are winning....frustrating...:-/ ..
deano..8-)

leelee
11-11-2009, 10:31 PM
Good luck to all competing and can't wait to see the results.

Lee

11-11-2009, 10:34 PM
chris thanks for that link and good fishing to you and trev, try not to trip over to many T.E.D. stubbs..;) :P
and i see pete and kyle are having a crack at the mondy leg, good on ya lads , hope ya nail em..;D

sorta whitto, nath pulled hooks one one , i donated a hook to one, and one good fish beat me on the frikkin bank again,.>:( .not happy....im in very poor form at the mo..
they are winning....frustrating...:-/ ..
deano..8-)

No worries Deano ...... I'm going to be a good boy during the comps ::) - between comps - well :P

DEANO68
11-11-2009, 10:37 PM
No worries Deano ...... I'm going to be a good boy during the comps ::) - between comps - well :P

yea , whatever..::) ..enjoy, say hi to trev...;)

Tropicaltrout
12-11-2009, 06:31 AM
To Chris and Trev hey guys have a blast I know you will regardless of result, stay safe on those roads... and smash em

To all entrents same to you fellas enjoy have a top time...

Nath

robersl
12-11-2009, 08:25 AM
Go get them boys gest of luck to Nagg and trev on there quest to be number 1 on the water baby may you have safe travels and many hookups (with Barra)not girls.;D
shane

Pete62
12-11-2009, 08:48 AM
Best of luck lads, do us proud.

Pete.

Awoonga
12-11-2009, 11:59 AM
Thanks guys....But wait there,s more....Nagg Cam... Yes through the wonders of Nature.. opps sorry l ment Technol...Tech...You know what l mean...Watch this Sydney Bream Fisherman as he trys to Conquer the Barra tour .Watch him daily on u tube Well sounds good . l shall try to post updates as we go

robersl
12-11-2009, 12:19 PM
Hi Trev that would be great to see keep up the good work and don't forget the to keep him line ,and just make sure he ties on a gold bomber and not a micro mullet after all he is just a sydney bream fisherman at heart and he might think it is a bream tourny:P

shane

12-11-2009, 12:26 PM
Thanks guys....But wait there,s more....Nagg Cam... Yes through the wonders of Nature.. opps sorry l ment Technol...Tech...You know what l mean...Watch this Sydney Bream Fisherman as he trys to Conquer the Barra tour .Watch him daily on u tube Well sounds good . l shall try to post updates as we go

Thanks bloke:-[ :-[

As long as you dont video me while falling overboard , picking out birdsnest or trying to get lures out of the trees ::) .....

Any oyster racks at Faust :P

Pete62
12-11-2009, 12:31 PM
At least u will have video evidence next time he reshapes your prop Trev.;D

Pete.

rc@hinze
12-11-2009, 12:55 PM
All the best guys. Looking forward to following your progress and hearing all the stories afterwards. - Richard

tiges
12-11-2009, 01:06 PM
Good luck lads.

12-11-2009, 01:21 PM
At least u will have video evidence next time he reshapes your prop Trev.;D

Pete.

be nice turtle man ;D

Whitto
12-11-2009, 02:30 PM
AAAhhhh Cool........Barra Pornography::);D:laola::laola:

matt fraser
12-11-2009, 09:37 PM
Yep, safe travels for all the guys on the tour. I'm looking forward to catching up with everyone for the Awoonga leg of the tour, and possibly Mondy.

How good have Chris and Trev got it? They are leaving tomorrow (friday 13th) for Faust, and have got 23 days straight of impoundment barra fishing:o . Yes I'm a little green with envy.

Good luck guys,

BR65
12-11-2009, 09:40 PM
As we all are Matt.
Into em boys, it will be hard to remain keen, focused, and pro active, so just remember, it beats working!

12-11-2009, 09:43 PM
Best of luck to all those that are competing this year - & specially those that are having their first try ...... I'm sure you'll enjoy it :)

See you out there

Cheers All

nipsta
12-11-2009, 09:53 PM
yes good luck to all in the abt enjoy every minute of it im sure you all will

12-11-2009, 10:20 PM
Ditto to all of the above. Good luck boys. looking forward to some interesting video Chris.

Apollo
13-11-2009, 05:43 AM
Agree with all - best of luck to all that are competing. Hope you have a safe one.

Chris, take all that you have learnt from us and then forget it quickly if you want any chance!

Go the roughies (heads that is)

BR65
21-11-2009, 08:07 AM
Day 1 Teembura results are up, thanks for the heads up Pete.

http://www.australianbarra.com.au/modules.php?name=News&file=article&sid=75

nipsta
21-11-2009, 09:17 AM
well looks like a great first day of the comp for naggs well done sirr

21-11-2009, 09:50 AM
well looks like a great first day of the comp for naggs well done sirr

Thanks Simon

Trev & I are pretty happy with our first session ....... probably be a lot tougher this afternoon though :-/

Barry Ehsman
21-11-2009, 11:40 AM
Well done boys keep it up em...

Cheers Baz

PaulMark
21-11-2009, 04:59 PM
Well done guys,give it to em hard.
Paulo.

leelee
21-11-2009, 09:38 PM
Thanks Simon

Trev & I are pretty happy with our first session ....... probably be a lot tougher this afternoon though :-/

Well done guys,

Lee

Whitto
21-11-2009, 09:47 PM
Very decent start Lads......Maintain the Rage and May the Force be with you;D

22-11-2009, 06:07 AM
A day of missed opportunities :'(

Trev dropped his only 2 fish & I jumped 5 within the first couple of hours before scrounging up a couple of little fellas at the death -

As they say "some days are diamonds & some days are :-X" ....... That s life & we now move on to Faust :)

BR65
22-11-2009, 07:50 AM
Chin up mate, tomorrows another day.

And tell Trev to tighten his drag, or sharpen his hooks, or someting for petes sake!

darylive
22-11-2009, 08:03 PM
A day of missed opportunities :'(

Trev dropped his only 2 fish & I jumped 5 within the first couple of hours before scrounging up a couple of little fellas at the death -

As they say "some days are diamonds & some days are :-X" ....... That s life & we now move on to Faust :)

You Blokes get fair Dinkum now! check your stance 'n that ::)

This is the real thing you know 8-)

nipsta
22-11-2009, 08:10 PM

yeah i reckon they wherent doing there warm ups with the barra yoga

Peter4
24-11-2009, 02:40 PM
First round results from Peter Faust Dam are up! Taylor boys are leading again!

Chris (NAGG) and Trev (Awoonga) have both got a fish each....

24-11-2009, 03:40 PM

It wasn't any better this morning - at least 6 missed fish - placcys half ripped off the jig heads. :(

Had a bit of fun yesterday during our prefish with a big big Mondy barrel girl that had me stitched up -----
we used the boat to pull a tree over ....... & I went for a swim trying to work out line direction ........ found the line ( cut & re join ) ......... only to cut the wrong place. :( We had half the fish in the net at one stage when she surfaced exhauseted - It was the longest fight I've had ( around 40 mins)

So we see what tomorrow brings

TonyM
25-11-2009, 07:58 PM
Good luck with it guys!

Sounds bloody exhausting but what an experience. I hope Trevor got the line cutting incident on film Chris? ;D

25-11-2009, 09:14 PM
Still cant seem to keep the hooks in ( 3 boatside this morning) - Gotta get away from these smaller fish that are on speed :2vrolijk_08:

Off to Awoonga in the morning ....... 16 hour event starts 4pm Sat :P

Obi _ Wan
25-11-2009, 09:17 PM
Hi there Chris & Trevor,

Have a safe trip back to home waters and may the barra gods smile on you both.

John.

Tropicaltrout
26-11-2009, 07:16 AM
Going well boys lovein it chriso, hope it get even better towards the south.... nothing like seeing the bream fisher going so well. Trev stop playing games get serious lol.

SMASH EM

Nath

matt fraser
26-11-2009, 09:21 AM
Had a bit of fun yesterday during our prefish with a big big Mondy barrel girl that had me stitched up -----
we used the boat to pull a tree over ....... & I went for a swim trying to work out line direction ........ found the line ( cut & re join ) ......... only to cut the wrong place. :( We had half the fish in the net at one stage when she surfaced exhauseted - It was the longest fight I've had ( around 40 mins)

Chris, wow what a fight, so close.......yet so far! Trev said she was probably a 130 plus..That would have been an awesome story if you boated her. Damn Barra!

The most challenging fish in the world,

matt fraser
26-11-2009, 09:43 AM
Geez, you've had some issues sticking 'em! Obviously those stingers are up to sh*t:-/ . Still not too bad an effort up north. Now you guys are back on home grounds, I hope you find your patterns working, your hook sticking, and your net being used to effect often!

I'll see you up there tomorrow, can't wait to swim a barra lure!

ps How good are the Taylor Boys? They are freaks! Well done to them on the Northern leg, can anyone stop them on the Southern Tour?

Whitto
26-11-2009, 11:50 AM
Gee's I hope there's a bit of footage on that struggle Chris.......Best of luck to you both on the Southern leg's........Hopefully Karma will play a small part.......Nothing like home turf......Go get'em Boys......Whitto

26-11-2009, 01:28 PM
Chris, wow what a fight, so close.......yet so far! Trev said she was probably a 130 plus..That would have been an awesome story if you boated her. Damn Barra!

The most challenging fish in the world,

Maybe 120 + ....... but really fat - her first jump was a cracker (unfortunately no footage of her ..... or the efforts to net her (I did have my still camera in hand trying to photograph her)

SeekingBarradise
27-11-2009, 09:53 AM
Congratulations to everyone on the tour, good post Brian.

I'd also like to congratulate a couple of friends, the Taylors who let us know how they went and i'm in awe. I predicted at Teemburra bream tactics might go well and won some cash nice work, but barra tactics & barra fisherman also did well and won both competitions.

Teemburra Comp

1st Place: Cy Taylor: 5/5 barra on first day, bagged out.
Second Day 5/5 Bagged out.
Total: 10 Barra.

5th Place: Kerrin Taylor: 4/5 first day.
4/5 second day.
Total: 8 Barra.

Team Total: 18 Barra for the Teemburra Competition.

Team Position: 1st.

--------------------------------

Peter Faust Competition

Results

1st: Cy Taylor
First Day: 5/5, Second Day: 4/5. Cy's Total: 9 Barra Caught

2nd Place: Kerrin Taylor
First Day: 5/5, Secon Day: 4/5. Kerrins Total: 9 Barra Caught

Team Total: 18 Barra Caught.

Barra caught in 2 comps = 36 Barramundi.

Northern Tour Champion Team: Taylor Brothers
Northern Tour Champion Angler: Cy Taylor

Well done fella's and well done Chris, Trev, Steve and anyone i missed i wish you all well on the southern tour.:D

I'm off to watch the cricket.
Go the Aussies.:D

P.S.
*This is a congratulations type of post wishing people well, please don't find anything to argue about. Others have wished mates well, now i am.

I just think we might be seeing something special with these fella's, that doesn't happen in each generation, so i'm not taking it or granted.

Doing Something Different
E.g. In the early 90's Kelly Slater did yoga, many would have canned him for it, then he went on to win 9 world champs and is considered the best of all time. Mick Fanning took up similar training and won his world championship (As shown on 60 minutes).

Taylors Must Be Doing Something Different

E.g. if someone 3 years ago said "Some teenagers will beat and go past every competition barra fishermans results in the ABT & AFC before they are 20 and win 3 titles in a row, rack up the most ABT barra wins and total prize money by 21 years of age" You would have been canned on the net & mainstream & ended up the butt of all jokes. But what happened? It did happen. Amazing stuff. Note: I realise there are 100 current and ex guides not fishing the comps, but the Taylors have still done really well in my book. Well done everyone competing and good luck:D

Cheers Lyndon
Go The Aussies In The Cricket:D It's good to see a few young fella's from the Cricket Acadamy go on to make it in to the Aussie First 11. I hope Hilfy & the rest of the crew go well.:D

Tropicaltrout
27-11-2009, 06:22 PM
Yeah nice Lyndon they are going well, good to see the boys out in front... Just as well we cant afford to do it cause then we would see them win rather the read it;D :P

Anyhow good to see ya back on here mate, now we got to get back to basics and enjoy a bit of fishin....

nipsta
27-11-2009, 09:45 PM
Well said gentlemen and yes good to see ya back lyndon lets all not take things to serious and like nath said back to the basic fishing and relaxtion thatas what im all about works stresses flog us all this is a past time where work just dissapears out of the head for a while and i lov it cant wait tog et the boat back in the water now when will i go .

oh yeah i agree if i could get the time off work and afford to do it i would as welll just for the chance to see them taylors in action damm there good

Barraboss
30-11-2009, 08:56 AM
Some awesome fishing at the Awoonga night champs. The info I heard has really got my blood boiling and wanting to go barra fishing again....Double hookups on 120's in a comp, and numerous others over a metre...Now we are talking!!!!!

Lets see what this arvo brings, and hope for everyone the roll keeps on going

BR65
30-11-2009, 01:44 PM
P.S.
*This is a congratulations type of post wishing people well, please don't find anything to argue about. Others have wished mates well, now i am

Those boys are amazing, far and away better barra fishos than most, and consistant to boot. Anyone can have a good day, trip, season, year, but they just keep doing it.

Congrats gentlemen.

Steve B
30-11-2009, 02:48 PM
Lyndon,

Too right....the Taylors are just awesome. Not much else to say. I think you are right..we are witnessing something special with these lads.

I just read the Awoonga results too....wow, what a comp!! pretty tough when you get a 5 for 5 mtrs plus bag and scrape into the top 10!!!!!!

Cheers Steve

OverNover
30-11-2009, 09:44 PM
Good luck All, I'm heading up to Mondy for my 1st ABT event this weekend, in the amatuer ranks obviously, at the campground, look for the Silver D-Max Dual Cab. Not expecting too much, just having a crack, be stoked to get one in the boat.

PS - Thanx Trev & Matt for the tips, Soron combo is good to go and plenty of Hollow Bellies in the bag, Thanx for your help guys, Cheers, Jamie.

;D

Awoonga
30-11-2009, 10:49 PM
Well guys Session One is over and l was part off a awesome session... Six anglers...Three boats.Double hookups..every minute somebody was on.One angler lost at least ten fish...How did l go ? Not a bloody touch in 7 hours...

OverNover
01-12-2009, 07:17 AM
Bugger, that had to hurt!!!! I'm sure you'll come good, good luck today, Cheers, Jamie.

01-12-2009, 08:57 AM
Well guys Session One is over and l was part off a awesome session... Six anglers...Three boats.Double hookups..every minute somebody was on.One angler lost at least ten fish...How did l go ? Not a bloody touch in 7 hours...

Your turn today bloke ........ :)

Pretty awesome stuff to watch ...... & be part of ( a new Awoonga PB for me @ 113cm)

Pete62
01-12-2009, 09:11 AM

Pull ya finger out Trev;D

Nice work with the 113 Chris. Good to see your name so high up the list.

Good luck today boys.

01-12-2009, 09:13 AM
Good luck All, I'm heading up to Mondy for my 1st ABT event this weekend, in the amatuer ranks obviously, at the campground, look for the Silver D-Max Dual Cab. Not expecting too much, just having a crack, be stoked to get one in the boat.

PS - Thanx Trev & Matt for the tips, Soron combo is good to go and plenty of Hollow Bellies in the bag, Thanx for your help guys, Cheers, Jamie.

;D

I hope you enjoy yourself Jamie ....... I'm sure you will :)

01-12-2009, 09:15 AM
Pull ya finger out Trev;D

Nice work with the 113 Chris. Good to see your name so high up the list.

Good luck today boys.

Thanks Pete

It was looking pretty sad for me too ... :'( Then I landed 3 in the last 45 mins of the session :P

DEANO68
01-12-2009, 10:08 AM
on ya lads.....all the best for this arvo....:P

Whitto
01-12-2009, 10:18 AM
Im thinking Trev you may have to tie on" Donatello The Ninja Turtle" this may just bring the Barra around.....if you ask Chris nicely he just may let you use it........Good Luck everyone.;D

robersl
01-12-2009, 10:34 AM
Well done guys keep up the good work

shane

Obi _ Wan
01-12-2009, 01:22 PM
Well done on your Awoonga PB Chris, nice fish.

Trev, hang loose mate, it will happen.

John.

OverNover
01-12-2009, 04:53 PM
Thanx Chris and congrats on the PB, top effort. Might see you at Mondy? As I said, I'll be happy with one of any size..........then it'll be onwards and upwards!!! Cheers Boys and good luck.

;D

01-12-2009, 09:05 PM
Great stuff Chris. 3 fish....45 mins....including a 113 PB...gotta be happy. Pity the rest of the session wasn't as productive.

Trev....get amongst them bloke. Don't just video them;)

Awoonga
02-12-2009, 08:12 AM
Great stuff Chris. 3 fish....45 mins....including a 113 PB...gotta be happy. Pity the rest of the session wasn't as productive.

Trev....get amongst them bloke. Don't just video them;)
Paul, We sat on the spot from 3 to 830 .Though a thunderstorm as well .Casting, casting. At one stage l sat down because l thought that if l continued to cast the only thing l would win was a ticket to the Afterlife.....Nagg just kept casting....At about 830... they decided to feed. So we had a hour to catch five fish each...Yea right easy task...l caught a 113 and a 104. Chris caught one a 110 l think...Then it was time to go.. The other guys that where on the spot caught caught there bag... We even went back there after the Comp and Chris caught another one .Well over 50 fish have came from this location in three days and the smallest was a 750. Most of the fish are just like the Mondy girls.. Big and fat. The biggest being a 126..Off to Lake Misery..

Steve B
02-12-2009, 08:38 AM
Paul, We sat on the spot from 3 to 830 .Though a thunderstorm as well .Casting, casting. At one stage l sat down because l thought that if l continued to cast the only thing l would win was a ticket to the Afterlife.....Nagg just kept casting....At about 830... they decided to feed. So we had a hour to catch five fish each...Yea right easy task...l caught a 113 and a 104. Chris caught one a 110 l think...Then it was time to go.. The other guys that where on the spot caught caught there bag... We even went back there after the Comp and Chris caught another one .Well over 50 fish have came from this location in three days and the smallest was a 750. Most of the fish are just like the Mondy girls.. Big and fat. The biggest being a 126..Off to Lake Misery..

Sounds like a good comp overall for most...great to see awoonga producing a big haul....especially after last bloody year..bit of bad luck for you fellas though, but you still got a few, and I dare say had some fun.

Off to Mondy???? SE wind kicked in yesterday arvo:-[

Spent 3pm to 9pm yesterday on Mondy.....not a touch.

Cheers Steve

See you here

Whitto
02-12-2009, 09:18 AM
Good Luck Karma and all that to those competing at Mondy on the weekend......and just a little extra Good luck to Pete and Kyle having a crack for the first time:D

02-12-2009, 07:01 PM

Thanks Trev

Sounds like a few of you found the feeding grounds, but unfortunately those big girls were not in sync with the session times. Still, it sounds like good fishing in the end by all accounts.

Stick it to them again in Mondy.

03-12-2009, 06:31 AM
Sounds like a good comp overall for most...great to see awoonga producing a big haul....especially after last bloody year..bit of bad luck for you fellas though, but you still got a few, and I dare say had some fun.

Off to Mondy???? SE wind kicked in yesterday arvo:-[

Spent 3pm to 9pm yesterday on Mondy.....not a touch.

Cheers Steve

See you here

We went out around 4pm yesterday for a bit of a look ..... no rods

Ended up showing a mate of trevs pepper point & they generously gave us a rod each to use 8-)
Off to the producer area ( very shallow) & we anchored in 2 feet of water casting over the shallows. After a few casts (& now dark) I was introduced to the big bad biatch of mondy - zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz -
:helpa: :end: :stunned: - 80M non stop run into the timber & back to her creek bed ....

We eventually got over there to no avail ...... Its amazing how they know to run straight to the only spindly tree ::) I must say - She was kind enough to leave my slick rig on her bed side table (tree branch)....... though with a greatly modified stinger hook

Anyhow ..... not long after Trev landed a 60 ish & followed it up with a 105 which he managed to turn as it started a run through the trees ( nice rod work).....
A nice little 1 hour session ...... shame it wasn't an evening comp :P we would have found our #1 location :D

matt fraser
03-12-2009, 08:48 AM
Crikey Nagg! BIG FISH! Sounds like you found some good action.

We had three or four hours on Mondy yesterday for one hookup and spit! and two catties. Got off the water at dark.

I think its going to fish OK Friday and Saturday considering how the conditions were yesteday.

Ian and I (Team Berkley Nitro R&D) have had a top trip so far, Awoonga was fishing really well. That first night really saw some big fish come on the chew. I was lucky to nail 5 for 508cm including an equal PB of 120cm! Ian got 4 fish for 358cm. But how about the top three 5 fish for 583, 582 & 582!!!! Awesome results!

The next few nights weren't as red hot, but still pretty awesome! Records being rewritten for 5 fish limits and 10 fish limits, Well done to Daniel Gretch and Jason Wilhelm for taking out the events! Its a very close race for Southern and overall AOY, Mondy is really shapping up to be an exciting finish to the tour!

Its amazing to see how different spots in the dam are firing at different times of the day, But there are also definite bit periods that most team's scoresheets reflect. Both nights in the evening event finished at 10pm and the bite had just hotted up from 8.30pm and eveyone had to leave them biting.

Anyway we better get ready for Mondy today, This is Living!

03-12-2009, 09:11 AM

We had three or four hours on Mondy yesterday for one hookup and spit! and two catties. Got off the water at dark.

I think its going to fish OK Friday and Saturday considering how the conditions were yesteday.

Ian and I (Team Berkley Nitro R&D) have had a top trip so far, Awoonga was fishing really well. That first night really saw some big fish come on the chew. I was lucky to nail 5 for 508cm including an equal PB of 120cm! Ian got 4 fish for 358cm. But how about the top three 5 fish for 583, 582 & 582!!!! Awesome results!

The next few nights weren't as red hot, but still pretty awesome! Records being rewritten for 5 fish limits and 10 fish limits, Well done to Daniel Gretch and Jason Wilhelm for taking out the events! Its a very close race for Southern and overall AOY, Mondy is really shapping up to be an exciting finish to the tour!

Its amazing to see how different spots in the dam are firing at different times of the day, But there are also definite bit periods that most team's scoresheets reflect. Both nights in the evening event finished at 10pm and the bite had just hotted up from 8.30pm and eveyone had to leave them biting.

That's awesome Matt. Glad you are enjoying the tour so much. Sounds like a lot of fun (aside from the competition aspect).

Obi _ Wan
03-12-2009, 04:45 PM
We went out around 4pm yesterday for a bit of a look ..... no rods

Ended up showing a mate of trevs pepper point & they generously gave us a rod each to use 8-)
Off to the producer area ( very shallow) & we anchored in 2 feet of water casting over the shallows. After a few casts (& now dark) I was introduced to the big bad biatch of mondy - zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz -
:helpa: :end: :stunned: - 80M non stop run into the timber & back to her creek bed ....

We eventually got over there to no avail ...... Its amazing how they know to run straight to the only spindly tree ::) I must say - She was kind enough to leave my slick rig on her bed side table (tree branch)....... though with a greatly modified stinger hook

Anyhow ..... not long after Trev landed a 60 ish & followed it up with a 105 which he managed to turn as it started a run through the trees ( nice rod work).....
A nice little 1 hour session ...... shame it wasn't an evening comp :P we would have found our #1 location :D

Hi Chris,
Looks like you have had a run in with that big biatch that did me over six months or so ago.

Would be nice just to get a look at the big girl, certainly a mean mother with all the tricks.

Good luck Friday and Saturday evenings both of you.

John.

03-12-2009, 06:33 PM
Hi Chris,
Looks like you have had a run in with that big biatch that did me over six months or so ago.

Would be nice just to get a look at the big girl, certainly a mean mother with all the tricks.

Good luck Friday and Saturday evenings both of you.

John.

Yeh John ...... & it was hooked no more than 100M from where you got done over :P

03-12-2009, 06:43 PM

You guys have done really well ......... Happy days :P

a 5M bag ....... now thats some result

I certainly hope you are right about Fri / Sat ......... we noticed a 2-3 deg drop in water temps

warrior
03-12-2009, 06:55 PM
good luck trev and nagg the dam has been fishin really well for the boys in town here (hervey bay) 10 fish landed on the weekend and more lost ,all in the shallow bays close to home but only on lay downs ,blue slickies go get em

Steve B
03-12-2009, 11:00 PM
You ommitted about your zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz in our last conversation Chris!!!!:P

I have had 2 days of pre fish (tues and today) for ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZiipppppppp!!!!!!

not a touch, not a loook...oops..sorry, I did get a cattie trolling...looking for something!!

We are in strife for the comp..no plan A...let alone BCDEF etc..
see how things go!!

Cheers Steve

05-12-2009, 08:09 AM
Well done young Kyle on your first ABT barra ! :)

BR65
05-12-2009, 01:32 PM
Well done young Kyle on your first ABT barra ! :)

Chris, can you pass on congrats from the mob please mate, well done Kyle. Did it come from the points where the boys fished at Muster time?

See you matted one yourself, but Trev is eating pastries, come on Trev, fire up bloke

Pete62
05-12-2009, 04:04 PM
Chris, can you pass on congrats from the mob please mate, well done Kyle. Did it come from the points where the boys fished at Muster time?

See you matted one yourself, but Trev is eating pastries, come on Trev, fire up bloke
Hey B, they got 2 in pre fish out of the real Nth B and Pete said they would be fishing there again on day one.

Pete.

BR65
05-12-2009, 04:28 PM
Fishy looking spot at the moment up there to!

Obi _ Wan
05-12-2009, 10:10 PM
CONGRATULATIONS CHRIS (NAGG)

AFTER THE 2009 BARRA TOUR HE HAS BEEN RANKED NUMBER 9 ON THE OVERALL RANKING LIST 8-)

VERY WELL DONE BY A GUY THAT COMES FROM THE TOXIC BREAM WATERS OF SYDNEY :o

Must have been the skippers doing, Good on you Doctor, talk soon.

Well done mate,

John.

ps. We will have to have a big fire to celebrate.

nipsta
05-12-2009, 10:27 PM
welldone to all who entered and to naggs for getting 9th on the laddder that fishing yoga must be working i guess now you will have to come back to the reall world

05-12-2009, 11:01 PM
Thanks guys ....... very happy with taking out third place today - :) but totally undoable without Trev :P - what a great fishoe & bloke :thumbup:

baggersace
05-12-2009, 11:27 PM
Well done to Naggs and Matt a great result after some tough fishing:D

Naggs an excellent 3rd place with Matt getting 8th. Some hard times on the water. Lake Misery can break even the toughest fisherman, and this weekend it was tough. Well done to all, Trevor like me played hard and got bitten by the mondy curse.:-/

It's been a blast fishing with you guys and now look forward to next year.;D

Whitto
06-12-2009, 06:27 AM
Congratulations Chris, 8-)slowly but surely creeping up the ladder Well Done.....Whats that aged old saying "Actions Speak Louder than Words" mumble mumble Bloody Sydney Bream Fisherman ect ect;)..........Gee's John don't encourage him about his Pyrotechnic tendencies, he's now going to be uncontrollable::)......Well Done to all who competed:D.

DEANO68
06-12-2009, 06:55 AM
top result fellas well done.......now get back to work....>:(

deano..8-)

robersl
06-12-2009, 07:22 AM
Well done Chris and trev congrats on your results

shane

BR65
06-12-2009, 07:57 AM
Nice work Naggles!!!!!

See Trev picked up a $1 even, but Pete and Steve must have been at the bakery all week end - what happened boys?

Interesting results with the numbers of fish, day 1 compared to day 2.

06-12-2009, 08:11 AM
Superb Nagg. Congratulations on your persistence Chris. Congratulations to all who competed, and to Scott on your 7th and Matty on your 8th place. Of course Jas just keeps on racking up the results and secured the Southern AOY title....awesome mate. That's tops.

Gaz and I have the itch now, but it is a five year plan, and very steep learning curve.::)

Cy and Kerrin....what can you say.............people have run out of superlatives to describe you two. You have redefined the art of tournament fishing.

BR65
06-12-2009, 08:16 AM
Remiss of me not to sat congats to the Taylor boys,outstanding effort again!

BARRA Ranking List

Current after 2009 BARRA Tour 1
Cy Taylor2992
Kerrin Taylor2003
Jason Crofts1984
Jason Wilhelm
Jon Millard1596
Daniel Grech
Mike Connolly
Alan McNamara
Chris Nagiello
Kerry Symes

darylive
06-12-2009, 11:58 AM
Megalomaniac: (from the Greek (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Greek_language) word μεγαλομανία; megalo-, meaning large, and mania (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mania)) is a historical term for behavior characterized by an obsession or preoccupation

Nagalobarramaniac: (from the Greek (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Greek_language) word μεγαλομανία; megalo-, meaning large, the Australian, words Nagg- meaning large fisherman, Barra:- meaning large native fish and mania (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mania):- a historical term for behavior characterized by an obsession or preoccupation.
i.e. a large Nagg obsessed and preoccupied with large Barra.

Steve B
06-12-2009, 12:22 PM
YES CONGRATULATIONS CHRIS FOR YOUR 3RD PLACE. AND YOUR RANKING OVERALL OF 9TH.....AWESOME EFFORT FOR SOME AWESOME DEDICATION.:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

Also congratulations have to go to Kyle, he got a barra in his first comp...pitty about the 4 that got away...could have easily been kyle up there in the cash too.

There were plenty of great stories out of the weekend (away from the pub),

Carl Jocumsen (bass guru) smacking 4 on the last day, after doughnut day 1.

Seeing Dan Gresch get stitched up 2 or 3 times in the thickest of timber anyone would want to fish!! it was a laugh...We were really wishing him the best to get them as he was sitting pretty high on the ranking.

Spud-a-lishous my deckie..got 2 fish (16th overall)....one in the first 20 min of the comp and one on his LAST cast..in Kimmys hippie bay....We had 3 hits in there in the last 10min before leaving....kickin my ass for not going there as soon as the northerly kicked in!!!! Spud also dropped what I reckon was the biggest fish I have seen at Mondy. It was BIG...very BIG (Pete 4 saw the jump...and subsequent mayhem and $%#@!!!!)

Jon Millard winning the guide trip to FNQ...went to a top young fella who went well over the whole tour...probably one of the most consistant anglers.

Jas wilhelm winning SAOY....and his big sessions at Awoonga were awesome by all accounts.

And who can fault the Taylors, particularly Cy...winning 3 out of 5 comps!! Angler of the year, NAOY...just about everything.!! An effort I doubt will ever be replicated by anyone.....other than maybe by Kerrin!!

Me?? just making up the numbers!!! Had a ball though. Dropped 3 fish and a few other hits not converted into anything....my love hate relationship with SSS lures continues!!!! Also tried blowing up the Optimax by having the drive belt implode coming home on day 1.!! I thought the engine was dead..I could idle and it would splutter and fart all the way back at 6 knots!! Thankfully I bought a spare years ago, as I had heard of this happening before!! 5 min to fix in the morning and we were back in action.

Well done to everyone...especially those who did the whole tour.....Unless you have done it....its hard to explain what its like! Presentation night last night was terrific too...I am fighting a bit of a cramp in my forehead today though:P

Cheers Steve (doughnut king)

darylive
06-12-2009, 05:28 PM
Steve, that could be the wine flu. a bit of it about this time of year.

Tropicaltrout
06-12-2009, 05:37 PM
Bloody Bream fisho's

Awesome

07-12-2009, 07:37 AM
Bloody Bream fisho's

Awesome

Sydney! bream fishoe :P

PaulMark
07-12-2009, 09:57 AM
Well done Chris and Trev,a top result guys,:beer::beer: good to see all the hard work come to fruition. Bream fisho hey? Bloody big bream you blokes were chasing ;D

Paulo8-)

Peter4
07-12-2009, 10:39 AM
We shook your hand on Saturday night Chris but once again, congrats on a great Mondy result and a great tour overall...

Pete & Kyle

tiges
07-12-2009, 10:43 AM
Yeah well done to everyone. Looks like there was some mind blowing fishing mixed in with some tough times. Typical of barra fishing really.

And well done to the participating Ausfishers. And Nag, if only you were a thinking fisherman, who knows where you would've ended up.;)

OverNover
07-12-2009, 11:15 AM
Congrats on the 3rd place Chris, top effort, it was great to finally meet you, Trever, Matt, Peter & Kyle. Gettin a 104 to 'pop my cherry' was an added bonus, geez it went hard on 20lb spin gear, only comparison I can come up with is standing beside the M1 with a rope and lasooing a passing one tonner!!!!!!! Pretty happy to finish up 29th in my 1st comp, just needed that kicker fish to get me up a bit further.

Thanx heaps for all the advice and tips guys, I soaked it all in and put them in practice. I love the Soron!!! Cheers, Jamie.

;D Will post report & photos as soon as I get them emailed to me, not my camera.

OverNover
07-12-2009, 11:20 AM
Sorry, had to change that PB at the bottom.........ARRRGGHHHHH, That's better!!!!

;D

Steve B
07-12-2009, 11:23 AM
Well done Jamie!! thats a good result, and you have filled in an important 'blank' on you PB chart....awesome work!!!!!:D

Cheers Steve

SeekingBarradise
07-12-2009, 01:58 PM
Yeah nice Lyndon they are going well, good to see the boys out in front... Just as well we cant afford to do it cause then we would see them win rather the read it;D :P

Anyhow good to see ya back on here mate, now we got to get back to basics and enjoy a bit of fishin....

Hi Nathan thanks for the friendly reply. Yes cost is a fair whack when you have the option for a couple of NT trips & time with family for the same money with some change.

Yep basics are good fun, been getting a nice feed of flatties lately the run has been a good one.

May see you guys while doing a spot of camping on the dams in the next year or so.

Merry Xmas & Happy New Year.:)
Sorry for the late reply, i've been away.

Cheers Lyndon.:D

http://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo151/SeekingBarradise/TheTaylorbrothersthinkingabouttheda.jpg

SeekingBarradise
07-12-2009, 02:09 PM
P.S.
*This is a congratulations type of post wishing people well, please don't find anything to argue about. Others have wished mates well, now i am

Those boys are amazing, far and away better barra fishos than most, and consistant to boot. Anyone can have a good day, trip, season, year, but they just keep doing it.

Congrats gentlemen.

Cheers Brian, yeah from teenagers to 20 years young they have won

4 Individual ABT Barra Championships in a Row
4 Team ABT Barra Championships in a Row

Cy got a 120cm Barra, 119cm, 91cm and a 110cm and Kerrin got a 107cm, bloody amazing fishing for anyone to be proud of in a lifetime, man we are spoilt with these dams down here. Lucky we are.

Also a congratulations and well done to Trev, Steve, Chris, Matt x2,Robert and all the other names i missed on here. Well done as lake barra fishing ain't that easy.

Merry Xmas & A Happy New Year to everyone on Ausfish & Sweetwater.
Enjoy the summers social fishing.
Cheers Lyndon:)
ps. Again sorry for the late reply.

http://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo151/SeekingBarradise/CyKerrinTaylorincompetitionmode.jpg

BR65
07-12-2009, 04:12 PM
Merry Christmas to you and family as well Lyndon.
Catch you on the water, or around a fire some where in the New Year, stay safe.

07-12-2009, 04:22 PM
Congrats on the 3rd place Chris, top effort, it was great to finally meet you, Trever, Matt, Peter & Kyle. Gettin a 104 to 'pop my cherry' was an added bonus, geez it went hard on 20lb spin gear, only comparison I can come up with is standing beside the M1 with a rope and lasooing a passing one tonner!!!!!!! Pretty happy to finish up 29th in my 1st comp, just needed that kicker fish to get me up a bit further.

Thanx heaps for all the advice and tips guys, I soaked it all in and put them in practice. I love the Soron!!! Cheers, Jamie.

;D Will post report & photos as soon as I get them emailed to me, not my camera.

Thanks Jamie

Nice to meet you at Mondy and a big congratulations on the 104 ..... you should be proud

cy_taylor1
08-12-2009, 11:44 AM
Hi,

Thanks for the congratulations Lyndon and Steve B! Also, thanks to Lyndon for your info about the mental side of sport and how to use it in fishing - it was great!

We'd like to say congratulations & well done to:

- Chris Nagiello for his 3rd place at Lake Monduran - great result!

- Katie Sanderson for her 5th place at Lake Monduran and 2nd on Day 1 out of the 86 anglers!

- Dan Grech for winning the Awoonga Night Championships with a record 5/5 of 583cm!

- Jason Wilhelm for taking out the Southern AOY & Awoonga Evening event with very consistent results!

- Everyone for entering and having a go! It is great to see new people coming in and trying these events.

The Tour was great fun again this year - the anglers that enter are improving and getting better every year.

Here's some stuff that happened to us:

- Getting an Owner treble in my foot after a large Awoonga wave made me loose balance.

- Catching a 122cm, 123cm and 3 others over a metre in the NC and getting beaten by 3 anglers.

- Chasing big fish around the timber with the the outboard motor at Monduran.

- Listening to other anglers stories after the sessions are over - such as Jason Wilhelm loosing a 120cm at the net at Awoonga and Ian Miller breaking a Millerod on a big fish in the timber at Monduran!

Here's some images of fish we landed over the events. If you have any post them up!

Also, the AFC BARRA rounds are coming soon with the Awoonga round on the 27th of December and Monduran on the 3rd of Jan on Ten. They're also replayed on One.

Thanks,

Cy & Kerrin Taylor

Steve B
08-12-2009, 12:06 PM
Thanks for putting up a report Cy, and again congratulations. You lads deserve all the acolades that you get! You both are the bench mark in the sport, and with your attitude, effort and natural ability you have, and will go places...this forces the field to lift which is great news for the barra sport future I reckon.

That last photo....ouch!!!
Second last photo....well I always suspected you guys could walk on water.....thats just proof!!!;D

Yes, I also forgot to congratulate Katie too on her 5th...how could I forget that. Actually Her and Elaines 14 fish haul at Teemburra day 2 in a 2 hour smash-a-thon was another awesome achievement for 2 great female anglers!!!

Cheers Steve

darylive
08-12-2009, 06:34 PM
Thanks for the post Cy that's a beut hook up, :o at least a foot ;D

:'( I hope you had the bolt cutters handy.

It is great to see you blokes do so well from a tinny, while the jet pilots are tearing around looking flash. ;).

(get the movie 'bait shop' on DVD, I am sure you will have a laugh) 8-)

OverNover
08-12-2009, 07:38 PM
Yeah Congrats to you Cy, I would have congratulated you in person on Saturday night but to be honest, it was a bit daunting being amongst all the big names of the sport in my first ABT event, was like a kid in a candy store!!!! It honestly blows me away to see you and your brother absolutely braining the field yet you are content to stick to your yellow tinny!!! You guys have managed to keep your feet on the ground and are unbeleivably modest with your obvious natural talents, your attitude is brilliant. Credit to your parents I reckon.

Anyway, I'll no doubt see you on the upcoming DVD and will catch up with you next year at least at the Mondy event, bit hard to do more than that with a wife and two rug rats at home. I had an absolute ball and managed to "pop my cherry" so I'm stoked, problem now is my thumb's twitchin already and I've only been back 2 days!!!!!! Absolutely brilliant event, learnt heaps, those Gold Coast Flathead just aren't gonna cut it anymore!!!!! All the Best, Jamie.

08-12-2009, 09:56 PM
Cy and Kerrin

Ditto to all of the above. Fitting words are probably not enough. As an aside, your flair and creativity as shutter bugs is probably on the same pedestal as your abilities as anglers....unbelievable.... Steve took the words out of my mouth;) Some of those shots are spectacular.

Cheers and congratulations to you both.

matt fraser
09-12-2009, 09:58 AM

A belated congrats Jamie, Well done on your 104, what a way to open the account. Now you've got to try and keep the average above a metre:P

Great to meet you as well.

matt fraser
09-12-2009, 10:18 AM
Cy and Kerrin,

Well done on another fantastic tour, you guys are barra freaks!

Cy - huge effort getting 397/400 points for Overall AOY, that is unreal, and I doubt it will ever be repeated, except maybe by yourself.

Great to see you guys still getting these results from a tinny.

Fantastic photos, ouch on the treble! unreal walking on water pic, and those barra look excellent in your pics.

There were some great stories coming out of the tour. Lots of battles won and lost. Trev from the rum pigs got spooled at Awoonga! A fair few bite offs on 80lb leader! Straightened and broken hooks and snaps! XRaps being destroyed at an alarming rate. Rods broken, Outfits lost overboard, it was all happening.

How awesome was it to see Awoonga fire up like it did! when the big girls come on the chew like that, its game on!

Looking forward to watching you guys on AFC this year - fishing together for the first time.

Here are a couple of pics from the presentation night, well done to you and Jason.

baggersace
09-12-2009, 07:31 PM
Brilliant display of fishing ability by both Cy and Kerrin. Well done to you both a great effort.

Big Arnie in Predator said "if it bleeds we can kill it", I note in the photo with the treble in the foot, NO BLOOD, it does unsettle other fisherman thinking about that.

:D

SeekingBarradise
10-12-2009, 03:31 PM
Hi,

Thanks for the congratulations Lyndon and Steve B! Also, thanks to Lyndon for your info about the mental side of sport and how to use it in fishing - it was great!

We'd like to say congratulations & well done to:

- Chris Nagiello for his 3rd place at Lake Monduran - great result!

- Katie Sanderson for her 5th place at Lake Monduran and 2nd on Day 1 out of the 86 anglers!

- Dan Grech for winning the Awoonga Night Championships with a record 5/5 of 583cm!

- Jason Wilhelm for taking out the Southern AOY & Awoonga Evening event with very consistent results!

- Everyone for entering and having a go! It is great to see new people coming in and trying these events.

The Tour was great fun again this year - the anglers that enter are improving and getting better every year.

Here's some stuff that happened to us:

- Getting an Owner treble in my foot after a large Awoonga wave made me loose balance.

- Catching a 122cm, 123cm and 3 others over a metre in the NC and getting beaten by 3 anglers.

- Chasing big fish around the timber with the the outboard motor at Monduran.

- Listening to other anglers stories after the sessions are over - such as Jason Wilhelm loosing a 120cm at the net at Awoonga and Ian Miller breaking a Millerod on a big fish in the timber at Monduran!

Here's some images of fish we landed over the events. If you have any post them up!

Also, the AFC BARRA rounds are coming soon with the Awoonga round on the 27th of December and Monduran on the 3rd of Jan on Ten. They're also replayed on One.

Thanks,

Cy & Kerrin Taylor

Hi Cy & Kerrin, you guys go the extra mile that's for sure. If i had written mindset on here as a topic, i would have been laughed at for the rest of the year in posts. I'm glad you mentioned it, as fishing is a hard sport, and your dotting the I's and crossing the T's approach at such a young age is awesome clear thinking, with no concern or buckling to peer pressure.

In the future it will be looked back as visionary, but you might get canned now for sticking your neck out with different approaches and thought patterns. Anyway, Well done again.

Some Taylor Brothers Observations
People on here might not find this interesting, but maybe tackle shops or social fisho's who don't post much might find it interesting to get a bit more of an insight into what makes the Taylors 4 time champs, at such a young age. As a sportsfan i just find it interesting how people have their own individual approaches to achieve a similar goal, like different bowling styles/approaches from say Dougie Bollinger, Clint Mackay and Hilfy who are the younger bowlers coming through to the Aussie cricket team. All have the same goal (take wickets) but do it differently. Dougy is a class clown, Hilfy a hard trainer and Clint liked training less. All have good results in their own ways. All good competitors and nice blokes.

Campfire Chats

Sitting around the campfire with our mates the question pops up now and then.
"How have the Taylor brothers been so successfull in competition barra fishing?"

The answer from a couple of quiet fisho's and some guides goes like this:

They do what others won't.
Have a thorough thinking, observation and application path.

Whether it's in the thinking, or tinkering, or watching, taking on board ideas and so on, or too hard or too serious basket. No fishing or sporting topic is off limits, all are listened to, and usually expanded on way past our levels, me included.

Strange Happenings
Yet the topics covered with the Taylors years ago (Level 4-10), often end up in arguements on the net. Their record of 4 straight winning years goes a long way to showing all of us What can be done or What's possible.
It makes me wonder how i and a lot of others missed so much in the first place...
It makes me think that i've wasted a lot of years going down a much slower fishing path, compared to what these 2 do. Food for thought hey....Even if we just want to put a friend/family onto a fish, or catch one more fish a year etc.

WHAT IF THIS IS WHERE WE ARE NOW?

A light hearted look at a career from a sporting side of things.
(no arguements from anyone please it's Xmas)

Imagine if (Cy & Kerrin) are currently at level 6/10 in their careers, and won't peak for 20/40 years. If you were a 9/10 now you would have nowhere to go over your lifetime, that's why a 6 gives you room to move up in your 30's, 40's and 80's. Also room for people to go past as well. Some are working very hard to catch and go past you guys. Fulltime.

Having said that i reckon you and i know that it's possible a level 7 or 8 fisherman or woman is out there now, because before you guys were around, nobody would have thought 2 teenagers then early 20 year olds could go past the entire comp field.

Food For Thought
If you catch double or tripple the fish than many of us (you do in ABT & Social Stats) including some guides, well placed comp anglers and so on.
That leaves a lot of us at level 1.5-2-3/10, (Me to) and many first timers at 1/.10.
As lake barra fishing is not a easy entry level sport. (Most of the time).*

A scary table hey, but also a motivating thought path if we are positive, as you are living proof that your systems work, just like guiding systems for clients in 5 hour shifts. Yours have worked on barra in comps 4 years straight, and on TV.
I don't think anyone will want to argue with that.

BT (Before Taylors)
Before you guys entered the scene many thought they knew a fair bit about barra, but now i'm thinking as a collective we might know 1%. Who knows we will see what else is discovered possible in the next 50 years, at the very least it will be a fun trip for anyone in social, bait soaking, guiding or comp angling.
I couldn't imagine the barra industry without you guys. As Steve said, your raising the bar will drag a lot of the industry up. "What's possible".

Future
I look forward to the fishing journey you and everyone else takes in fishing, (Ausfish & Sweetwater Members) at the end of the day we should all learn a lot from each other. It's been interesting hearing what the differences are e.g. what the approach of the top tournament anglers is compared to the rest of the scene. Each to their own, yep ok, but the different approaches are interesting.

Attention To Detail
Watching your attention to detail while camping with you guys was fun, and that day you guys arrived at the Monduran boat ramp to launch with JM, then went straight to the water to start picking up stones, wading through the weed and so on had my mate smile while saying "How many people do you see doing that?"

"I said so far mate regarding barra, none", and he replied,
"Yep and that's the difference."

I have shared some observations in this post regarding the Taylors and some of the things that a few of us noticed made them different (Comp winners).

Many people don't know much about the Taylors, so i thought a bit more of an insight into what makes them different would be appreciated by anyone wanting to know a bit more about their barra fishing.

If we can all learn one thing from their approach i reckon posting on here was worth it. No arguements please.

:D :D :D
Merry Xmas & Happy New Year
Cheers Lyndon

http://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo151/SeekingBarradise/TaylorBrothersHarroMitchellFitzyJus.jpg

TinarooTriumph
10-12-2009, 07:20 PM
Cy & Kerrin,

I still remember this one night in 2006 when myself, Dave Powell, Warren Adam's and Lumpy were at the ramp after the first nights session of the Shimano Event that year @ Tinaroo. We pulled the pin a little early as we had a shocker & so did the other boy's although Waz got a nice fish (116 from memory). We were all having a chat & thought everyone would of done it hard until we got back to the Holiday Park to get stuck into a few beers when we heard you boys had landed 11/12 fish in that session. To say we were all shell-shocked was an under-statement! You went onto catch I think from memory 12/13 fish out of 20 fish that were caught in the whole Tournament and beat your nearest rivals by a fair bloody margin!

You guys havn't looked back, and the world of respect is held for you both by a lot of anglers up here. Myself included. To completely DOMINATE nearly every BARRA event over the past few years is incredible to say the least. Lyndon made 1 or 2 comparisons above, and if I could liken your results to some other aussie sportsman I would definetely throw the names of Skaife & maybe even the Stauffer boys up there. For years these guys held such a huge gap over their competitors that they actually had to change the format of the racing & points allocation to square things up, not to mention implement things such as Project Blueprint to try and give the Fords a chance in the V8's! The Stauffer boy's are very much like yourselves... brothers & competitors who have won nearly everything in their chosen field.

Best of luck on your future adventures guys.

If the ABT directors had their head screwed on, then a trip to the US and appropriate rewards should be in order for you both. They do it for BASS dudes, then I can't see why 2 such dominate anglers shouldn't be allowed to have a crack at it and possibly come away with perhaps even better results! The worlds your oyster.

Theo

Plastic_Magic
10-12-2009, 08:58 PM
Recapping what Lyndon and Theo have already summed up,

Well done on your acheivments Kerrin and Cy. Its a page in your book that many poeple should be reading, reading and reading again to follow what you 2 have done to get were you are and to have achieved what you have.

From and young fellas perspective Its great to see such young guys get out there and do what they love best. Its a part of life that many people around our age dont understnad the self satisfaction of getting outdoors and achieving what you 2 have achieved. As a a 17 y/o the peir pressure of getting asked out to parties every weekend, no doubt you guys have had the same thing happen to take that part out of your life and enjoy the outdoors and have loads more fun while getting the self satisfaction of being 2 of the Best Barra anglers in the Nation.

The day when we had JM, Harro, Lyndon, you 2 boys and myself chatting at Awoonga made me think that there is alot of potential for a great future for the barra industry. It just need to be highlighted that the harder you work and the more you think the greater the rewards will be.

Well done again and lookign forward to watching the AFC series.

Cheers Lachy

11-12-2009, 06:55 AM
Well deserved accolades for Cy & Kerrin ....... a class act8-)

aside from the hard work , dedication , time on the water , coaching , natural talent & focus ......... I see their fairly unique relationship as probably their biggest asset and greatest strength when it comes to tournament fishing.

Often we see in sport how siblings emulate each other and reach the same lofty heights ....... ie Ella bros (Rugby) , Safins (Tennis) & Chappels (cricket) - let alone twins like the Waughs (cricket) & Walters (league) ........

Being as closely related to each other combined with such a strong bond has allowed them to learn & grow at a rate which would far exceed others........ They fish together socially , prefish together , learn together & compete as a team ........ Certainly a unique situation :)

cy_taylor1
15-12-2009, 12:01 AM
Hi guys,

Thanks for the nice comments!

Hi Chris, yes that's definetely a huge part of the what helped us get into fishing and learn everything about it - having someone who is closely related & equally keen helps you learn a lot faster!

Hi Lyndon, thanks for the detailed post! The info you post is always interesting to read and learn from so thanks heaps for taking the time to write it. Yeah, it'd be great to see what impoundment barra fishing is like in the future - it'd be cool to go ahead 50 years and then come back with all of the gun techniques & lures! Ha ha!

Hi Theo, thanks for the congrats! Yeah, that was a great night at Tinaroo! Hopefully it'll be in the Barra Tour again soon. The ABT organisers were talking about making the Barra Tour into two seperate tours with a large gap in between. Something like 3 northern rounds and 3 southern rounds with Tinaroo one of the northern events - hopefully it works out!
Thanks again for the comments. :)

Cy & Kerrin

nipsta
15-12-2009, 09:13 AM
Your right lyndons post have a few tips all could learn from for sure i need every tip i can since the back and birth of my son my barra time has been cut too nil basically so i reckon having constant contat with a dam is very helpfull for all of us who may get up there twice a year that is for sure so thanks lyndon keep them coming .

Cy and kerrin wel done to both its great to see 2 nice young fellows doing so well hope it keeps going for ya talk to yous soon and cant wait to watch the afc for sure im getting the bug for a barra fish bad and that will top things off ibd will be through the roof by feb if the back is up to it :D