View Full Version : Haines Hunter Appreciation Thread

littlemac
06-11-2009, 11:36 PM
hi everyone,

sorry if i am out of place but i thought i would put up this thread about the great HH.
i have seen them for cruise craft and seafarer. i did a quick search and could not find one for the HH.
sorry if one already exists.
anyway mine is a 600r breeze with a 150 etec, anchor winch, lowrance sounder and gps, electric toilet and other goodies. i love it

brett

ps sorry if the pics a bit small i cant figure out the resizing

Jabba_
07-11-2009, 06:36 AM
Good work Brett, this will be a great thread no doubt... Top boat too..

Knotpretty
07-11-2009, 07:02 AM
Very nice rig. They are a quality product enjoy.

07-11-2009, 07:52 AM
what is the "electric toilet" ????

siegfried
07-11-2009, 08:20 AM
HH233 formula ,hard top full clears, volvo 200 aftercooled turbo diesel 290 duoprop, ttabs 585 1kw, lowrance 7200 ....neat I reckon:P . cant post pics cause retard on computer

littlemac
07-11-2009, 08:48 AM
what is the "electric toilet" ????

it is for the wife and kids-it keeps them happy

brett

littlemac
07-11-2009, 08:50 AM
[quote=siegfried;1093832]HH233 formula ,hard top full clears, volvo 200 aftercooled turbo diesel 290 duoprop, ttabs 585 1kw, lowrance 7200 ....neat I reckon:P . cant post pics cause retard on computer[/quo

pm me and will try

07-11-2009, 08:56 AM
LOL Brett..I know what a toilet is for..i was enquiring as to how the electric toilet operates.

Roughasguts
07-11-2009, 08:58 AM
HH233 formula ,hard top full clears, volvo 200 aftercooled turbo diesel 290 duoprop, ttabs 585 1kw, lowrance 7200 ....neat I reckon:P . cant post pics cause retard on computer

You and me both why is it so hard to post a piccy on here!:-/

Even stupid face book I can do! but on here to hard.>:(

dodgyone
07-11-2009, 09:11 AM
Deep breath...... Mines a 17r with 115 Johnno. About to be joined by a 14r that I just cant pass up. Little boat with a big heart.

Offshore rig is a 635l. Aftermarket Ally pod with 250 HPDI Yammy.

07-11-2009, 09:16 AM
a quick resize for you Brett

Jabba_
07-11-2009, 09:28 AM

Your selling it arn't you...

Jabba_
07-11-2009, 09:30 AM
You and me both why is it so hard to post a piccy on here!:-/

Even stupid face book I can do! but on here to hard.>:(

I gave up trying to post pics on this site... Your better off loading them up to Photobucket and then post a link here,,,, much, much easier..

siegfried
07-11-2009, 10:00 AM
make an offer between $ 65000 & $ 65001 and its yours 8-)

Vitamin Sea
07-11-2009, 10:51 AM
'79, 19C, 200 Merc, Bait Tank, esky, electric toilet, plumbed sink, volvo tabs, bla, bla, bla.

Get's me there, quickly;D

Bill

markbxy
07-11-2009, 11:59 AM
my tub 79 565L just had cannopies fitted am doin floor and re flow coating at the momment hence why i am not out fishing and i am here :(

http://i741.photobucket.com/albums/xx51/markbxy/th_DSC00268.jpg (http://s741.photobucket.com/albums/xx51/markbxy/?action=view&current=DSC00268.jpg)
http://i741.photobucket.com/albums/xx51/markbxy/th_DSC00409.jpg (http://s741.photobucket.com/albums/xx51/markbxy/?action=view&current=DSC00409.jpg)

Jabba_
07-11-2009, 12:12 PM
make an offer between $ 65000 & $ 65001 and its yours 8-)

Strangly enough thats the sort off dollars I'm wanting to spend on my next boat.. problem is I won't be able to buy untill mid to late next year... I need to upgrade my house before I am alowed to buy another boat...

I would like to see your boat, can you send a few pic's via email, I'll pm you my address....

Turbo deisel motor would be very economical,, yes?

two dogs
07-11-2009, 01:56 PM
Grandad has a HH 680SF with 200Etec... no pics but if you watched the Coolangatta Gold you may have seen it marshalling

Uncle has a Formula 233 which has been on here before as i was a part of the refurb he did on it...i love being on this boat. 250 Suzi, original back to back seats that received a nice face lift...custom bait board which can slide down to sit flush with the stern or can be raised to various heights...ill try post some pics later

krazyfisher
07-11-2009, 03:19 PM
what about the oldest haines???

Duckfish
07-11-2009, 04:03 PM
'81, 565L, '95 Merc 175HP EFI, Hydrive Hydraulic Steering, Bimini, Bennett Trim Tabs, Furuno 620 Sounder, Lowrance Global Map 5200, etc etc etc.

Duck

mowerman
07-11-2009, 04:04 PM
Here is a few of my old v17c.

How old? Wouldnt have a clue.

Perfect bay boat.

Shredded the canopy on the way to Tin Can in September. Just finished putting a glass top on it. Guess where that came from?

Rod

rhycebullimore
07-11-2009, 04:44 PM
haines v17...cc....1/2 way though complete rebuild, every single chip of wood is removed...replaces with full composites everything redesigned right through to new gunnels and flood in kill well, center consol two rear comparments in combing/brand new motor well that can be esky's or live bait...coming along very very nice...10" bobs machince shop hydraulic jacking plate, brand new 140 suzuki, hydraulic steering, full glassed bow sprit front achorwell/dry storage...

does anyone feel the need for trim tabs on this model boat ?

07-11-2009, 05:39 PM
haines v17...cc....1/2 way though complete rebuild, every single chip of wood is removed...replaces with full composites everything redesigned right through to new gunnels and flood in kill well, center consol two rear comparments in combing/brand new motor well that can be esky's or live bait...coming along very very nice...10" bobs machince shop hydraulic jacking plate, brand new 140 suzuki, hydraulic steering, full glassed bow sprit front achorwell/dry storage...

Would love to see some pics of that refurb Rhyce I think it deserves its own ongoing thread.

I have a 16r 1985 that was prestine until I got hold of it mid year but as I told my mate its a work boat now not a museum piece. The 70 zuk works well with it and will not be too heavy in the rear once I move the fuel tank foward.

Will be raising the rear around the well to the gunnels soon adding a rocket launcher and perhaps a designer wave breaker as well.

Hey dodgy would love to some pics of the HH line up you are raising there. The 14 is a really good boat, there was a pic here of one with an 80 on the back a while ago.

mowerman
07-11-2009, 05:44 PM

Have you seen this one.

Rod

http://www.seamedia.com.au/pdf/previews/RFBDIY6_prev.pdf

rhycebullimore
07-11-2009, 06:03 PM
yes, thanks for that, he is a very good friends of mine who built that...i have gone to the extent of doing alot more than that...that was a part rebuild using existing stringers,floor, anchorwell,motorwell etc...as i said i have gone 100% composites and redesigned everything. will post some progress pics one day when i get around to it.

Vitamin Sea
07-11-2009, 06:14 PM

Do the tabs, will make it better.

VS

Duckfish
07-11-2009, 06:28 PM

Definately put the tabs on. The boat will lean into the wind with any breeze at all and you can put the head down when heading upwind.

Duck

hercules
07-11-2009, 08:03 PM
1997 haines 585 seeker , 150yam 4 stroke , tabs , furuno 1kw sounder , reelax riggers . Will see me at the tweed canyons when the weather permits .
Would like a bigger tank , well would love a 680 patriot , anyone want to swap?

sheridan
07-11-2009, 09:16 PM
Hi all tried to put photos of my haines up but can't seem to have put photos on before i shrink in irfanview 400by 300 but it says my photos are too big what am i doing wrong

Geoff

Goldfinch
08-11-2009, 03:57 PM
Hey Brett,

Saw the thread and couldn't resist putting up a few pics of my baby.

HH Classic 600, 2006 model, 200hp Yammy 4-stroke on the back. Bought in May 2008 with 206 hours on clock. Now 410 hours on clock. She is getting a lot of use. Fantastic boat for fishing. Big kill tank, big live bait tank, big bait board, 200litre fuel tank, plenty of rod holders, heaps of storage space and a cabin that sleeps two people. Extremely dry and handles well is choppy seas. Top speed is approx 43mph with 2 POB, fuel, esky etc.

Only other boat I may consider selling it for is a HH Prowler 680, just for the walk around feature.

dave

08-11-2009, 06:00 PM
Don't know how to send a link but there is a very rare early HH 19 center console on ebay at the moment. Looks to be all genuine.

rhycebullimore
08-11-2009, 06:14 PM
its custom made..it use to be a 19L by the looks of it

Vitamin Sea
08-11-2009, 06:17 PM
its custom made..it use to be a 19L by the looks of it

No such beast

Spin
08-11-2009, 08:43 PM
'79, 19C, 200 Merc, Bait Tank, esky, electric toilet, plumbed sink, volvo tabs, bla, bla, bla.

Get's me there, quickly;D

Bill

WTG
Been fishing on this boat quite a few times 150 Yamaha
Good value.

ozbee
08-11-2009, 09:45 PM
hh 680 patriot with a black baby

http://i279.photobucket.com/albums/kk123/ozbee_photos/SANY0361.jpg

http://i279.photobucket.com/albums/kk123/ozbee_photos/SANY0375.jpg

threw the pedestal seats out and fitted a decent esky after a year
http://i279.photobucket.com/albums/kk123/ozbee_photos/FishingPhoto006.jpg

dash area seemed dull so with a bit of scrap wood

http://i279.photobucket.com/albums/kk123/ozbee_photos/SANY0381.jpg

it sure feels like a fishing boat now though it was scary getting a brand new boat and changing things.
http://i279.photobucket.com/albums/kk123/ozbee_photos/RIMG0037.jpg

littlemac
09-11-2009, 06:44 AM
very nice

brett

pilchardjones
09-11-2009, 09:16 AM
that timberwork looks beautiful ozbee.
very impressed.
goes well with red too.
steve

ozbee
09-11-2009, 03:22 PM
did the running boards two . its funny though the timber seems to give a feeling of depth or personal soul if you get my meaning . for a couple of hundred bucks or less the side runners was old claimed floor boards it can make a vessel far more appealing.
http://i279.photobucket.com/albums/kk123/ozbee_photos/SANY0377.jpg

ronnien
09-11-2009, 03:34 PM
ozbee hows the boat going??

ron.

ozbee
09-11-2009, 04:14 PM
in townsville havent really checked on it been to busy anyhow winds been a pain. hopefully the gunnel rubber been pulled off by now for haines to check

09-11-2009, 04:46 PM
Looks good mate - re your comment about some soul Whitley tend to agree with you :)

sheridan
09-11-2009, 07:44 PM
Couple of photos of my 1974 haines 163c old girl but a great boat have done a few modifications since photos will post some more pics

Geoff

Wahoo
10-11-2009, 09:15 AM
My Nephew brought a 600R not long ago (just about stole it from a farmer) floor needed doing, motor untrust worthy, Gal trailer as new, floor and stringers has now been replaced, new fuel tank (240lts) boat resprayed (yellow) and a brand new 07 model 175 Opti with full wan;ty, i will see if he can send me a pic of it to post up, keeping it for a year or so and getting a plate boat built

Robbo76
10-11-2009, 10:15 AM
My old girl the v17c. Does the job for me. Happy how it handles and I agree, it's much better with the tabs.

Also nice timberwork and boat ozbee!

ozbee
10-11-2009, 04:23 PM
theres a guy here who for his living he gets in haines from 17 to 26 and re does them stringers and all , pods some so they can carry those four bangers . they come out twice as strong as any new haines and better looking. while i like my patriot if i had a choice again i would grab a 23 foot forumala / haines for about 12 grand (stringers stuffed spend spend 24 , 000 extended also to 26 feet) add forty for a new 300 zuk plus $ 16000 for a perfect multi roller trailer comes to $92000 . a saving of $30 000 dollars plus a larger vessel

BILLY THE KID
10-11-2009, 06:18 PM
>:( God damn this thread !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Everytime i see a thread like this i hate it :P

wishing i never sold the Breeze in january !!!!! >:(

http://i156.photobucket.com/albums/t2/billythakid666/DSC00048.jpg

jason p
10-11-2009, 07:02 PM
very nice rig ozbee. would like to think my next boat would be something similar.

10-11-2009, 07:10 PM
Ozbee, thought you would have taken that silver toy off the back by now :)

pilchardjones
11-11-2009, 07:45 AM
i had better chime in as i've had a few nice haines'
19R
17C converted to CC
445R converted to side console

11-11-2009, 08:31 AM
Ozbee I'm a timber worker myself but am still trying to work out how you did the bends in the shade thing over the sounder. Laminations or steam bends I guess. Beautiful job all up.

I have some holes in my dash after a change of motor. Sounds like a winter project.

littlemac
13-11-2009, 11:06 PM

maybe,

i dont want to but i do want to pm me and i will give some details

brett

littlemac
13-11-2009, 11:09 PM
my tub 79 565L just had cannopies fitted am doin floor and re flow coating at the momment hence why i am not out fishing and i am here :(

http://i741.photobucket.com/albums/xx51/markbxy/th_DSC00268.jpg (http://s741.photobucket.com/albums/xx51/markbxy/?action=view&current=DSC00268.jpg)
http://i741.photobucket.com/albums/xx51/markbxy/th_DSC00409.jpg (http://s741.photobucket.com/albums/xx51/markbxy/?action=view&current=DSC00409.jpg)
great boat markbxy

brett

littlemac
13-11-2009, 11:10 PM
i had better chime in as i've had a few nice haines'
19R
17C converted to CC
445R converted to side console

thats a nice 19r, i love those little 445's

brett

Wahoo
14-11-2009, 04:54 PM
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v647/4xgold0/haines1.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v647/4xgold0/haines2.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v647/4xgold0/haines3.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v647/4xgold0/haines4.jpg

MyWay
14-11-2009, 05:08 PM
LOL Brett..I know what a toilet is for..i was enquiring as to how the electric toilet operates.

that is good one

:LMAO:

littlemac
14-11-2009, 05:42 PM
hey wahoo,

that looks like it has come up a treat

brett

Wahoo
14-11-2009, 06:08 PM
hey wahoo,

that looks like it has come up a treat

brett

Yes it did come up very nice, he had his heart set on a 200 Opti, but the 175 price was way too good to pass up

Shanoss
14-11-2009, 07:51 PM
theres a guy here who for his living he gets in haines from 17 to 26 and re does them stringers and all , pods some so they can carry those four bangers . they come out twice as strong as any new haines and better looking. while i like my patriot if i had a choice again i would grab a 23 foot forumala / haines for about 12 grand (stringers stuffed spend spend 24 , 000 extended also to 26 feet) add forty for a new 300 zuk plus $ 16000 for a perfect multi roller trailer comes to $92000 . a saving of $30 000 dollars plus a larger vessel

You dont happen to have the phone number of this guy do ya Ozbee?

littlemac
15-11-2009, 07:43 AM
hay wahoo,

any more pics

cheders

brett

Pazz01
16-11-2009, 07:51 AM
Hey Daz

Who painted that boat in the pictures? It came up an absolute treat. Would like to have some more info and prices etc if you know any more information.

Pazz

ozbee
16-11-2009, 07:04 PM
shannos it noel ferguson ph 478333981

two dogs
17-11-2009, 10:06 AM
uncle's formula 233 that i helped refurb (well i sanded and masked up for the paint job lol) and as i said earlier i just love being on this boat, nothing like it. Gutted it, new paint job, new engine, new windscreen, new canopy. Came up a treat.

Shanoss
17-11-2009, 09:17 PM
shannos it noel ferguson ph 478333981

Thanks mate. Will give him a call

Redbream
17-11-2009, 09:19 PM
Heres my old girl. 1990 HH 635L. 225 Merc Optimax. Lowrance Electronics.

http://i210.photobucket.com/albums/bb5/haines635l/Hunter001Medium-1.jpg

Redbream
17-11-2009, 09:24 PM
http://i210.photobucket.com/albums/bb5/haines635l/635.jpg

Pazz01
18-11-2009, 07:56 AM
Hey Redbream

Nice rig, got one the same, however with no pod.

How does it go with the pod on it?

Pazz

NIZ180
18-11-2009, 11:26 AM
Has anyone been in a Haines 2100SO?? Just wondering if the hull would be suitable to be converted into a inshore fishing platform much like the american bay style boats??

Redbream
18-11-2009, 01:21 PM
Hey Redbream

Nice rig, got one the same, however with no pod.

How does it go with the pod on it?

Pazz

Hi Pazz.

A mate of mine has the same boat with the engine well, and after being in both boats, this one does ride better. The extra length of having the engine set back I guess. Also, there is a lot more room, with no well.

Also backs into the slop very well.

http://i210.photobucket.com/albums/bb5/haines635l/HH635L.jpg

http://i210.photobucket.com/albums/bb5/haines635l/12.jpg

http://i210.photobucket.com/albums/bb5/haines635l/8.jpg

Pazz01
18-11-2009, 02:04 PM
Hi Redbream,

Thanks for that. Something to keep in mind later down the track if we do a refurbish on the old girl. Thinking about that when we replace the motor in the next few years. Only thing, I don't know if the shed will be big enough for the extra length.

But I do like the idea of more room in it.

Pazz

18-11-2009, 02:50 PM
Niz180 -

I made it from the Pinkenba ramp to Tangalooma resort in 25minutes flat in a 2100SO and it certainly wasn't calm conditions. My sunnies were literally imprinted into my head.

Without a doubt one would make a very special tournament hull that carves it up in the rough stuff too.

P.S. Do you blokes let signatures into this thread or do we have to start our own?

18-11-2009, 02:58 PM
Has anyone been in a Haines 2100SO?? Just wondering if the hull would be suitable to be converted into a inshore fishing platform much like the american bay style boats??

Hey NIZ180 .....funny you should ask that. A crazy mate about five years ago somehow got hold of a set of moulds for the 21 sq and had 4 or 5 hulls made up but put a center consul on them. I think he thought he was going to make his next mil.

I think he eventually sold them all or gave them away. I know he refused to pick up the last batch of orders from the glassers with not very nice consequences.

If he had marketed them in Qld he might have stood a chance but a bit cold for Vic. He was selling them for around $30,000 with a second hand motor.

He also didn't believe in underfloor tanks so had 25ltr polys in them.

Then he developed his own trailer suspension system and got a world wide patent on it but was last seen playing guitar.

18-11-2009, 07:59 PM
Thats pretty funny.

Q. How many 25l tanks would it take to get an SO from pinkenba to Tangalooma and back running an old school evinrude 300 h.p. v8 at 60+ knots???:P:P

siegfried
18-11-2009, 09:26 PM
Niz180 -

I made it from the Pinkenba ramp to Tangalooma resort in 25minutes flat in a 2100SO and it certainly wasn't calm conditions. My sunnies were literally imprinted into my head.

Without a doubt one would make a very special tournament hull that carves it up in the rough stuff too.

P.S. Do you blokes let signatures into this thread or do we have to start our own?
Signitures in this thread is like tryin to open a pig farm in Jerusalem boy;D

gofishin
18-11-2009, 09:42 PM
Here’s a mates 19R that he has fully restored over the last few years, and to perfection I might add too. Prior to going under the grinder it still had the original 100hp Evinrude V4 Starflight, and it still worked! Trailer is still original too, and in top condition with no rust (although now has been upgraded with a dual Alko carriage). Note it still has the original rego numbers too.

He bought it off the original owner, and it had hardly been used all its life, so was in top condition however all the timber was rotten. Works summary (from memory); all timber stripped out, including bow-eye backing block, new stringers with all hand laid dble bias glass, duracore (Balsa) floor glassed both sides, transom cut off & modified from L to XL, airtight full length u/floor compartments, new ~150L u/f tank, u/f storage, all limber holes fully hand glassed, all screws predrilled (oversize) & epoxy cored…you get the drift, hard for this baby to get rot again. New toughened glass w/screen, all original chrome fittings stripped & re-chromed, and the original HH decals copied too…the list goes on.

She has probably ended up a little lighter than original, but that hasn’t changed her sweet ride. The 140 zuke is a perfect match too, and she goes extremely well (although we still have to play with motor height & props). Yep, she’s a beauty.

littlemac
18-11-2009, 10:26 PM

thats gold LOL

littlemac
18-11-2009, 10:28 PM
very nice gofishin

brett

19-11-2009, 03:24 PM

Oooh - Bitch!!8-)

Pazz01
25-11-2009, 09:31 AM
Hey everyone,

Better late then never, but seeing we used the old girl on the weekend I thought I should get a pic of her.

1988 Haines Hunter 635L, 97 200 Merc.

Pazz

littlemac
25-11-2009, 04:40 PM
nice one pazz01

brett

EDNA
26-11-2009, 03:47 PM
This is our baby, "Sea Eagle" 1989 SLC 490, 90 Mercury Saltwater on the back.
We have had her for eight years, great boat, new motor a couple of years ago and new top and clears last year.

littlemac
26-11-2009, 05:29 PM
great little boat edna

brett

BREEZE470
26-11-2009, 10:55 PM
2001 (?) model 470Breeze with a 70hp 4stroke
Gotta work out how to post a piccy (actuallly need to take a good piccy) - bought her from 'Billy The Kid' so anyone who knew his boat knows mine :)

Justlenny073
24-01-2010, 11:36 AM
Hello everyone

my haines hunter is the 19c im not sure what year it is but i think its between a 81 and 84 model if anyone knows how to find out be sure to let me know, here is is some photos of her....ps. im looking at putting gelcoat on to her and also a pod but the pod wont be til the end of the year and canopy.

HH565L
24-01-2010, 01:06 PM
Nice collection of boats.

Here's a few of pics of my 1983 Haines Hunter 565L.

http://i192.photobucket.com/albums/z14/HH565L/Image013.jpg

http://i192.photobucket.com/albums/z14/HH565L/My565355.jpg

http://i192.photobucket.com/albums/z14/HH565L/My565370.jpg

Justlenny073
24-01-2010, 01:08 PM
Great boat HH565L

HH565L
24-01-2010, 01:12 PM
And a few of a mate's 1984 Haines Hunter 445F

http://i192.photobucket.com/albums/z14/HH565L/Apex%20Marine/AM023.jpg

http://i192.photobucket.com/albums/z14/HH565L/Apex%20Marine/AM022.jpg

http://i192.photobucket.com/albums/z14/HH565L/Apex%20Marine/55-2.jpg

Justlenny073
24-01-2010, 08:22 PM
hey there just wondering if anyone can help me out where would i find the year that my boat was built is there somewhere on the old haines that has a id plate of some type, thanks

24-01-2010, 08:58 PM
Thats a sweet looking V19C mate - the opti would go well and I see the QL's on her...what does she cruise at and what is the top speed.

Vitamin Sea
25-01-2010, 05:45 PM
hey there just wondering if anyone can help me out where would i find the year that my boat was built is there somewhere on the old haines that has a id plate of some type, thanks

G'Day

If no one has taken it off, there should be a plate located on ouside of the well, inside the cockpit, between the 2 jump seats.

Most have been taken off for some reason or another by now.

Were it says serial number it will start with the last 2 numbers of it's year of manufacture, mine starts with 79#######

1979#######

VS

Justlenny073
25-01-2010, 05:49 PM
thanks for that, there, theres nothing there on the boat must of been removed for some reason, id say mine would be a 79 model but not to sure

Vitamin Sea
25-01-2010, 06:01 PM
Thats a sweet looking V19C mate - the opti would go well and I see the QL's on her...what does she cruise at and what is the top speed.

I try to sit on about 3800 most of the time, that's giving 26knts and real good economy (1.8km/l), it tops out at about 42 knts, could probably get a bit more if I played with props.

QL's (or any tabs) are great on the Haines', best money I've spent on the boat.

Bill

littlemac
25-01-2010, 10:19 PM

hey hh565l

thats is once tidy unit, very well kept

brett

Spin
25-01-2010, 10:22 PM
Anybody ever run a tape over a V19c
The boat i measured was only actually 17.72 Ft long (5.4 meters)
That was the boat without an outboard.
I thought it was a bit strange.
Interested to hear what other people have to say?

26-01-2010, 10:48 AM
mate - that would not surprise me about the measurements - I have a Vagabond that is sold as a 6.4m/21 footer, but tape length is 19"9 or 19'10 without the outboard and bowsprit (and the bowsprit I addeed as a roller set up)...they used to run the tape to the back of the outboard and I think some manufacturers still list length overall which for them is to the back of the motor.

PS. VC - thats a nice cruise set up mate. I might still be lured by Brian and get an opti. If you are going out in the next few weeks I am keen to get Nine Mile out and would love to see you opti in action.

troutcatcher
02-02-2010, 11:40 PM
Haines 773

ozbee
04-02-2010, 04:20 PM
troutcatcher you swinging 16x17or 18.5 . have you found a prop in between the two.

troutcatcher
04-02-2010, 07:38 PM
Hi ozbee
Yea i'm swinging a 16x17.... Im not grabin my revs so i would like to find a prop inbetween. Havn't had a chance to investigate props yet, i have been to busy goin fishing- spear fishing .....

Stressless
06-02-2010, 06:59 PM
Oooh - Bitch!!8-)

Don't worry GBC

I'm refitting a 1989 Signature 2250SB, and it will be an eye opener for anyone that owns a mass produced glass boat.

Pics of the before, during and after have been taken and will be posted when time permits

matt fraser
17-03-2010, 09:45 AM

Looking at doing a similar job on a V17 c to cc. Just looking for info on where you get the composites stringers, new gunnels etc.

Would love to see some pics

TJ Bear
17-03-2010, 10:56 AM
Matt talk to the guys at Sharpline Boats in Lonsdale www.sharplineboats.com.au (http://www.sharplineboats.com.au) they should be able to help you out with glass stringers and gunwale rubber.

mowerman
17-03-2010, 03:23 PM
Looking at doing a similar job on a V17 c to cc. Just looking for info on where you get the composites stringers, new gunnels etc.

Would love to see some pics

Have a look at this one

http://www.seamedia.com.au/_tmp/seamedia-SWYUSN.pdf

Rod

deckie
17-03-2010, 06:34 PM

One of the most beautiful as well as functional rigs i've seen. Absolutely luv that model and any mods you've done just work in brilliant with its lines.
Some boats are just sweet and i'm guessing it isnt by accident...lots of thought must've gone into it.
Credit toy you. If she rides as well as she looks never let her go.

IMO much better looking rig than anything on the market today.

chop duster
18-03-2010, 10:40 AM
very nice troutcatcher!
what sort of performance numbers are you seeing with the 300. What powered it previously?

hempy
20-03-2010, 12:17 PM
Ozbee, Did you end up finding out where the freshwater was leaking into the cabin?
Hempy

matt fraser
22-03-2010, 09:55 AM
Have a look at this one

http://www.seamedia.com.au/_tmp/seamedia-SWYUSN.pdf

Rod

Link isn't working Rod, but I've seen the boat through searching old threads. Very nice!

vegemite
07-05-2011, 12:10 PM
Heres a few pix of our 1978 Haines Hunter v213c (my wife is a signwriter so we have put the 'modern' Haines Hunter graphics on her & the metric designation 640c) this boat spends most of her life nowadays chasing SBT out of Warrnambool...

vegemite
07-05-2011, 12:15 PM
our girl swinging offf the port campbell crane (thats why its got the stainless plates in the transom...

07-05-2011, 01:36 PM
Hi Veg

That crane will save wear and tear and corrosion on your trailer. Is that a self service setup?

vegemite
07-05-2011, 03:45 PM
Yes the crane is self service. You have to join the Port Campbell fishing club (for insurance) & Parks now run the crane, you have to have 'approved' lifting attachments in the boat with 'approved' lifting straps, no slings can be used.

The crane is on the pier for the pro cray boys.

We wish we had a boat ramp rather than a crane tho as its only 1 in 1 out & the pro boys have right of way & it often breaks down, we do a lot of our fishing out of Warrnambool, tho fishing out of Port Campbell allows us to run down to the Cape.

copie
07-05-2011, 08:40 PM
Here is mine its an old 19R but i do love it, does everything we need it to do.

Pazz01
09-05-2011, 07:50 AM
Heres a few pix of our 1978 Haines Hunter v213c (my wife is a signwriter so we have put the 'modern' Haines Hunter graphics on her & the metric designation 640c) this boat spends most of her life nowadays chasing SBT out of Warrnambool...

My old man had one of those years ago when I was a young fella. Awesome boat and the inboard makes them just purr a long. It looks like a real flash one now. Did you re-paint it?

Pazz

vegemite
09-05-2011, 03:32 PM
My old man had one of those years ago when I was a young fella. Awesome boat and the inboard makes them just purr a long. It looks like a real flash one now. Did you re-paint it?

Pazz
The Hull is still all original Gellcoat 8-) Yes its an awesome blue water boat!

HH565L
30-05-2011, 08:33 PM
Thought this might be the most appropriate place to post, so here goes.

For those of you who are not aware the next edition of Trailerboat Magazine will feature a 12-14 page spread on Haines Hunter boats, starting with some early models and moving through to current rigs.

A few of us in Melbourne were given the opportunity to spend a day on the water with photographers and videographers taking snaps and vids of our boats in action. The action included fast fly by's and tight figure eights. Conditions were very calm so no air but still a great day of fun on the water.

The following is a series of photos I took myself. Unfortunately there are no action shots in this lot, but I'm sure we'll see them shortly.

Hope you enjoy the pics.

445F

http://i192.photobucket.com/albums/z14/HH565L/TBM%20HH%20Day/TBMHHDay012.jpg

490SLR

http://i192.photobucket.com/albums/z14/HH565L/TBM%20HH%20Day/TBMHHDay033.jpg

V17L

http://i192.photobucket.com/albums/z14/HH565L/TBM%20HH%20Day/TBMHHDay011.jpg

560F

http://i192.photobucket.com/albums/z14/HH565L/TBM%20HH%20Day/TBMHHDay020.jpg

635L (right background)

http://i192.photobucket.com/albums/z14/HH565L/TBM%20HH%20Day/TBMHHDay041.jpg

650R

http://i192.photobucket.com/albums/z14/HH565L/TBM%20HH%20Day/TBMHHDay022.jpg

V233

http://i192.photobucket.com/albums/z14/HH565L/TBM%20HH%20Day/TBMHHDay005.jpg

Boats at hold point waiting their queue. In case you're wandering, that's my bow rail in the foreground. No pics of my boat.........so far ;)

http://i192.photobucket.com/albums/z14/HH565L/TBM%20HH%20Day/IMG_0030.jpg

http://i192.photobucket.com/albums/z14/HH565L/TBM%20HH%20Day/IMG_0033.jpg

http://i192.photobucket.com/albums/z14/HH565L/TBM%20HH%20Day/IMG_0046.jpg

Where's the horizon?

http://i192.photobucket.com/albums/z14/HH565L/TBM%20HH%20Day/IMG_0055.jpg

Another shot of the 233, you gotta love those lines. This boat has race history ie Townsville to Goldcoast. Now spend most of it's time chasin' tuna and bill fish.

http://i192.photobucket.com/albums/z14/HH565L/TBM%20HH%20Day/IMG_0060.jpg

A curious onlooker wanting to get in amongst it all. Nice boat fella but it ain't a Haines.

http://i192.photobucket.com/albums/z14/HH565L/TBM%20HH%20Day/IMG_0065.jpg

The crew from Trailerboat Magazine cooking up a feast of roast beef with red wine sauce and some snags for the less sophisticated amongst us. They did an awesome job.

http://i192.photobucket.com/albums/z14/HH565L/TBM%20HH%20Day/IMG_0079.jpg

More pics later ;)

OPTI
31-05-2011, 06:10 PM
looks like a great day spiro,how flat was the bay,thats tinnie conditions,lol.thanks for the pics

matt fraser
01-06-2011, 08:58 AM
Thanks for all the pics Spiro, nice collection of boats there.

Interesting to see nearly every one has the snapper racks, nearly a standard option for Victoria by the look of it.

The little 445F is certainly a pocket battleship.

01-06-2011, 10:06 AM
Good pics Spiro, you'll have to put up some of your boat. I love that 233. Was thinking of taking the 16r but haven't got the right snapper racks. ;D

HH565L
01-06-2011, 01:50 PM
Hahahaha, now that's funny.

Yep, snapper racks have just about become stadard fitting for those who fish Port Phillip Bay and Westernport.

Would have loved to see a 16R and some other models there. I tried everything I could to get a 445R, V19R, 565R and 773L there without success. Having said that, Bear was very happy with the turn out. Any more would have made it difficult to get through what we needed to in the time available.

Several of the lads enjoyed the day so much, they're talking about regular get togethers. Will let you know when the next one will be.

oldie
01-06-2011, 07:48 PM
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/7-3mtr-BOAT-Haines-Hunter-454-CHEVY-/320707716565?pt=AU_Boats&hash=item4aabab65d5#ht_904wt_1141

great project for someone wanting the classic 7.3, i guess a pod or twin OB set up would be good, if only i had the time and $$$

wirlybird
04-08-2011, 06:55 PM
My new 233 project

Pazz01
05-08-2011, 08:47 AM
Hey Whirly, that was on ebay a few months back. I was keen on it too for a project, only thing it was a long way away from my, otherwise I would have seriously considered buying it. Did you end up getting it for a good price? What's the plan - offload the inboard and put an outboard on it?

Pazz

mal555
05-08-2011, 10:43 AM
What about an 8.2 litre big block MPI, 425 HP and keep the weight and grunt factor where it was designed to be?

Probably work out cheaper on install mod. and new engine/s costs, if fishing room wasn't a big concern.

wirlybird
05-08-2011, 05:32 PM
Yep that's the one. He didn't even know what he had weird. I got it for $12 grand it has 100 hours on the motor so i am going to put an MPI kit on it. I have an alloy hard top roof being made should be in Brisbane in a couple of weeks then its off to paint (Metallic Silver from the chine to the gunnel).

Im off to Andaman in a week for the teak decks i may also do the Bow in teak just to complete the look im a bit undecided there.

The stringers and main deck frame were replaced recently and have been done by a professional i don't think you should skimp in those situations bad ju ju's if you get it wrong.

The most time consuming part is stripping the old 5mm of antifoul off with out doing damage to the gel coat but i will get there.

I have a list of parts as long as my arm but unfortunately longer than my bank account but i have set a target for the end of September.

FYI the guy doing the paint job painted the batmobile so it should look the goods

wirlybird
05-08-2011, 05:38 PM
I may sell the seats for a carton of beer if somebody wants them other wise they are the next thing to go to the tip. They have esky boxes underneath them.

giddyup58
07-04-2018, 08:00 PM
Hi all.

I've been skulking about these pages for a couple years now, and I can't believe that Haines Hunters aren't actually revered.
The Seafarer Appreciation Thread has 37 pages, nearly 550 replies and nearly 90,000 views!
No one has even bothered with the Haines Hunter Appreciation thread in 7 years!

Seafarers are a nice boat, which I can attest to from personal experience, as my 1st boat when I was 20, was a 20' Vagabond with a 175 Black Max.
But as soon as it tried to hurt us, I got rid of it. It had as propensity to broach (stage left) in a heavy following sea.

I went on to own several Haines's over the years: a 19R reverse chine with a 150 straight 6 merc, an 1800SO with a 200 Merc; a 635L with a 288 Mercruiser, a 635L with a 200 Merc another 19R converted to a centre console with a with 225 Evinrude and I never experienced any "moments" in any of those boats, despite being much younger and sillier than I am now and venturing out in every sea state at warp speed.

I'm just curious why the Seafarer's have such an avid cheer squad, yet no one seems to mention the Haines's. Those things were designed in the hayday of ocean racing, and all their hulls were classics!
Like who would not love to own a Formula 233 (OK, not designed by Haines, but lessons definately learnt), a 213C or a 1600SO? Even the more modern stuff are latter day classics.

Don't get me wrong - I'm not "anti Seafarer". I loved the style of the Vagabond and I was recently looking for an old Ventura to refurbish, but it only just became apparent to me that Haines Hunters' are not adored zealously as are the Seafarers. At least, not on this site...

So I'm doing my bit. As the Mustang 24 is all but finished, I just purchased a sad early bubble deck 1600SO for a full refurb, as I believe it will become a future collectable...
And I need to play boat builder...

Hopefully, it will turn out something like this:

davez104
13-04-2018, 05:01 PM
All the Haines guys are probably still out fishing while the Seafarer guys are inside sooking about the weather and posting in the Seafarer appreciation thread :LMAO:

Had a V17L for a few years. Loved the boat, the Black Max sucked (fuel, at a ridiculous rate), and I always reckoned the boat was a touch too small for my taste. But I miss it, it was an awesome rig in rough water.

Been without an offshore boat for probably 7 years or so now. Getting the itch real bad again so picking up this V19C on Tuesday. Getting keen as to get out and get her dirty.

13-04-2018, 06:35 PM
Haha. You could not go wrong with Haines or Seafarers from the 70's. I ran both brands. There is nothing in it but the Seafarers were better built with more solid transom and floors (Generally speaking). Cheers

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk