View Full Version : Over width boats - New permits

bennyboy
06-11-2009, 02:49 PM
The Department of Transport has advised Marine Queensland that they will be issuing a new Class permit to permit the towing of over-width boats up to 2.9 metres wide, subject to meeting various conditions.
http://email.nuovon.com.au/download/files/08120/985717/boat-tow-trailer.jpgThe most significant change with the proposed permit will be the nature of tow vehicle permitted to tow over-width boats. The new permit will allow vehicles with a GCM of 4.5 tonnes to be used. Vehicles that meet this requirement includes Toyota Landcruisers, Nissan Patrol, Nissan Navara’s, etc. There are also other requirements relating to the towing of the over-width boat.
The permit will be available on the Department of Transport and Marine Queensland web sites and are free of charge. As soon as the new permit is approved, members will be advised.

From Marine Queensland News

06-11-2009, 05:26 PM
I thought they were going to standardise all these things in Australia. Do you reckon this will happen in other states?

2.9m is a serious width and not for the inexperienced- hope they don't regret this.

Watch out for some hellish big caravans and motorhomes in your lane soon and a mass of imported boats on the roads.

Wonder if Aussie makers will rejig the moulds like they do when they know it is a moored boat?

Wahoo
06-11-2009, 05:49 PM
The Department of Transport has advised Marine Queensland that they will be issuing a new Class permit to permit the towing of over-width boats up to 2.9 metres wide, subject to meeting various conditions.
http://email.nuovon.com.au/download/files/08120/985717/boat-tow-trailer.jpgThe most significant change with the proposed permit will be the nature of tow vehicle permitted to tow over-width boats. The new permit will allow vehicles with a GCM of 4.5 tonnes to be used. Vehicles that meet this requirement includes Toyota Landcruisers, Nissan Patrol, Nissan Navara’s, etc. There are also other requirements relating to the towing of the over-width boat.
The permit will be available on the Department of Transport and Marine Queensland web sites and are free of charge. As soon as the new permit is approved, members will be advised.

From Marine Queensland News

Good stuff, the sooner the better me thinks

walruss
06-11-2009, 05:49 PM
From reading what Bennyboy posted you may need to be careful with the permit. the post says GCM of Gross Combination Mass. This means that all up weight of both the towing vehicle and the load being carried.

Given my T/D L/Cruiser weighs in the region of 2.4T and my boat a 6.5 Haines weighs about 2.4T when I go away I already exceed the weight factor of the permit.

Most of the boats that exceed 2.5m will wigh similar or more and require a vehicle similar or better to tow it. They will exceed the GCM of 4.5T quite easily in my opinion.

Whilst a permit may be an idea it is not practical as a T/D Landcruiser has a GCM from the manufacturer of over 5 tonne! (3.5t towing capacity plus vehicle).

Russ

wrxhoon
06-11-2009, 09:32 PM
LC200 Tare weight is around the 2700 kg mark for the TTD , depending on spec.
GVM is 3300 kg and tow capacity 3500 kg in Australia, 8500 lbs in USA.
Permits can be used now in all states but in NSW they are very restrictive as to time of the day you can tow, roads you can use etc..

06-11-2009, 10:50 PM
I don't fully get it, does it actually mean a GCM of 4.5T and above? trying to find a reason they would bother doing this for the general publics sake and behind a patrol or cruiser?? one of those yank trucks is starting to sound better/safer, doesn't make full sense but I am not up on the in and outs of towing permit sized loads.

walruss
06-11-2009, 11:06 PM
Permits do not apply for Victorian pasenger Vehicles. They are only for Heavy vehicles not passenger vehicles as has been suggested.

Victoria still has one rule. For passenger application vehicle it cannot exceed 2.5 m. All the overdimensional rules only apply to various heavy vehicle classes not passenger vehicles

Russ

Mister
07-11-2009, 02:58 PM
Can not quite work out what they are on about here? Can anybody explain what it all actually means? While you are explaining how this will all work then keep in mind a Ford Falcon Ute has a GCM of 5.5t

hercules
07-11-2009, 09:21 PM
sounds strange? Have a mate that rang up 2 days ago and was told that they ( not sure who he spoke to) would not issue a permit to tow an overwidth boat on the goldy . He said that it couldn't be done . I was told similar a few months back and that you needed a truck with a gvm of at least 4.5 tonne?
He was going to import a boat from the us and on that advice has decided to get one under 2.5m .
I will talk to him again and confirm who he talked to .
If the permit is true , who will issue it , the police or dept transport and for how long will the permit last?
Going on my discussions the guy i talked to from qld transport held no hope that i could ever tow an overwidth boat unless my truck was over 4.5 gvm and then you would still need a permit that they willnot issue on the goldy !!
So confusing?????

07-11-2009, 09:57 PM
Going to be interesting if they change their mind and the äpproved permits"are not grandfathered or all of a sudden you need a larger truck and heavy vehicle lic. Do they relate to the vehicle, trailer , combination or the owner? Expensive for anyone who wants to resell.

07-11-2009, 11:00 PM
I recon if you wrang up the DPT monday... they would probaly still tell you the old line..NO...because remember the people on the phone are only clarks and only say what they have been told.

I expect it will be towing vehicles with a GCM of over 4.5 tonnes... that sounds reasonable.

As for the premit being free......that sounds suspicious.....when was the last time QLD government did anything free.

AND......lets see what the conditions on the permit are....
Now everybody else has to have an licenced escort for loads over a certain width.....so expect that one............remember the wording of the act says the commissioner can "from time to time" allow all sorts of things at his discression..... but the permits could just as easily be withdrawn.

And there seems to be an attitude that it isn't intended for this sort of thing to be a normal daily thing.......probably to "allow relocation" rather than to just tow the thing about.

There is no way I'd be coughing up my hard earned' on a overwidth trailer boat.

It'll be interesting to see

rat_catcher
08-11-2009, 04:37 PM
The new permit will allow vehicles with a GCM of 4.5 tonnes to be used.
Surely this would have to be for vehicles with a GCM of 4.5 tonnes or greater!

rat_catcher
10-11-2009, 06:21 AM
Has anybody uncovered anything more on this yet?

10-11-2009, 08:32 AM
I really can't see a load of 2.9M wide (regardless of what is towing it) being allowed on roads without an escort, if it does become legal, then we will see a lot of side scrapes on vehicles, be pretty interesting when two such loads approach head on!

Tazmaniac
10-11-2009, 07:48 PM
Here in Western Australia overwidth boats can be legally towed with a permit.
Permit cost is around $50-60 for 2 years and certain condition must be adhered too i.e. can't tow outside of daylight hours, must have "overwidth" signage visible and a flashing amber light must be in operation when the tow vehicle is moving. The system seems to work o.k. here, wouldn't think things would be any different in Qld.
Taz.

10-11-2009, 10:26 PM
Of course things are different in QLD, and different again in VIC and NSW...and so forth.....and in NT..who cares......you don't even have to register a boat up there.

From what I hear, you should be very gratefull you live in WA.....because you don't suffer some of the foolishness we have in the east.

Tazmaniac
11-11-2009, 12:49 AM
Oldboot,
I understand that different states have different laws.
What I meant was that what works in one state should work elsewhere, and the ruling seems to work here.
And I'm not so sure that we don't suffer similar foolishness..............Our new demersal fishing restrictions for instance, a closed season from 15th Oct until 15th Dec to help conserve stocks (I can handle that bit). However this only applies to recreational fishos, it's business as usual for the pros !
And when the season opens we will now be allowed a total combined bag limit of 2, yes 2 catergory 1 fish (just about everything we fish for falls into cat.1) with no more than 1 dhufish in that bag. Of course the pros can take all the fish we are forced to throw back. That means it is possible to get you limit on your first drop after travelling 20 miles offshore. But now I've got right away from what this thread was about !
Cheers, Taz.

11-11-2009, 09:54 AM
Note I said "some" of the foolishness.

Yeh I can understand the differences in the states.

In Victoria... the state that in a slim Dusty Song was to be distributed to truck stops ( with little or no parking) in other states for parking......the population and traffic density is much greater than in WA or QLD.

In much of QLD you can run a 3 trailer road train, and in WA you can run up to 4 trailers........I doubt that there would be a suitable road for that sort of stuff in VIC.

heading north from brisbane to Cairns on highway 1...much of it is two lanes and there are dozzens of fairly narrow 2 lane bridges on 100 & 110K sections that they have to stop traffic to allow long wides pass.

All over dimension loads have to stop and wait for the bridge to be closed and for the local escort to cross the burdiken river between home hill and ayr.....this is on highway 1.

Last time we went noth we got held up when some drongo tried to push his luck and ended under a long wide crossing a bridge in a 100k section.

Seriously.....I am not at all keen on seeing people drag over dimension loads arround as a daily thing..........particularl if they don't have the training, certification and experience of the professionals who regularly deal with these things.

It s not those that realy know what they are doing that concerns me......it is the joker with a bit of cash up his sleve or who has sold his house to go roaming.....with no prervious heavy vehichle experience....deciding they are going to buy this or that big thing and start dragging it about.
The large and within dimension caravans are bad enough...... but mix some over dimension stuff with that and other road users and it is a worry.

Remember the standard lane width is only 3 metres.....and once you are north of gympie or west of toowoomba...... much of the "highway" is two lane and has no sealed sholder....

If you are going to allow overdimension loads to be towed by recreational users....there need to be permits and the need to have at least the same conditions as the professionals... probably more.

11-11-2009, 01:23 PM
I can just see it now, two "grey nomads" with the Falcon loaded to the hilt, and the 2.9M wide van hooked on, the other with the 28' Bertram hooked onto the F100, and one trying to over take the other on a skinny p!ss poor road! or even worse meeting head on and seeing who can get to the single lane bridge first so he has right of way!

11-11-2009, 02:25 PM
here's another thaught......

once you have dragged this monster boat with its flashing lights, flags and wide load signs......and you get to the ramp and there is a sign.

"NOT SUITABLE FOR HEAVY VEHICLES "
" MAXIMUM LOAD ####"
"PENALTIES APPLY"

All my local ramps have such a sign, likewise most I have seen.

I cant remember for sure, and it may vary from ramp to ramp...... but 7 tonnes comes to mind... or was it 5...I must look next time
So that big dodge, chevy, ford stationtruckwaggon "tow car", weighs in arround 3 tonnes.... empty.

So where can you put that big catamaran house boat in the water. Ya know the one at the 4wd & camping show, with enough room for a tinny underneath between the hulls.

just a thaught.

Mister
11-11-2009, 02:28 PM
I can just see it now, two "grey nomads" with the Falcon loaded to the hilt, and the 2.9M wide van hooked on, the other with the 28' Bertram hooked onto the F100, and one trying to over take the other on a skinny p!ss poor road! or even worse meeting head on and seeing who can get to the single lane bridge first so he has right of way!

What is new then, been going on for ages, they are called TRUCKS. Try running the Newell or Rocky/Mackay north of Marlborough any day of the week to see idiots in action.

But try night time for the real idiot action.

The "grey nomads" at least are not in a hurry and try to muscle the road

Mister
11-11-2009, 02:31 PM
here's another thaught......

I cant remember for sure, and it may vary from ramp to ramp...... but 7 tonnes comes to mind... or was it 5...I must look next time
So that big dodge, chevy, ford stationtruckwaggon "tow car", weighs in arround 3 tonnes.... empty.

All this is going to be limited to towing 4.5 tonnes anyway otherwise you have to deal with the real towing rules.

11-11-2009, 02:42 PM
not too many trucks have a 2.9M wide load, without correct signage and professional driver, even though we have all seen a thousand "professional" truck drives that leave a lot to be desired. Also the truck is designed to carry/tow such loads! that was the whole point of the post, rules MAY be changing, when?how? who knows for sure.

Mister
11-11-2009, 04:01 PM
But we also are not talking about altering any vehicle standards with regard what it is designed to do either, are we? Just a change to width and permits and it is really no big deal at 2.9m

Can not see where and why any talk about weight comes into this, no changes to weights.

11-11-2009, 05:45 PM
All this is going to be limited to towing 4.5 tonnes anyway otherwise you have to deal with the real towing rules.

Even if it is limited to 4.5 tonnes towed.

4.5 tonne trailer and a 3 tonne ( empty) vehicle ... you are still over the 7 tonnes some ramps may be rated less.

OK
turbo diesel landcurser station waggon, curb weight 2.7 tonnes, GVM 3.3 tonnes..... towing capacity 3.5 tonnes ( not a big boat by any means once it is on a trailer)..........so whats the load rating of your favorite ramp?

then we start talking about those ford & chevvy stationtruckwaggons.....some of them have a curb weight of 3 tonnes and a GVM of over 5 tonnes......then you have to add the boat and trailer.......remember they will be talking about the total weight of the rig.

It wasn't all that long ago you had to have a truck licence to drive anything that wasn't a car and could carry over one tonne.

Mister
11-11-2009, 07:01 PM
This new width policy still makes no difference to any current load or tow limits does it? So what is the drama? If you can not use a ramp now this will not change in any way shape or form will it?

It is not the weights that are changing it is the over width permit system, you need to separate these two otherwise you are getting very confused.

White Pointer
11-11-2009, 08:04 PM

I smell off fish. Is this a belated April fools day joke?

The 2.5M maximum width relates to chariots and is the old 8 foot 2.5 inches, around which our street widths are designed. You might be allowed to go to 8 foot 6 inches in some parts of Australia on gazetted roads without an escort but with a permit.

Above that a permit is required for the convoy consisting of a lead vehicle, the load vehicle and the following vehicle. Then, if you are passing through multiple council areas you may have to apply for local approvals so that they can close intersections and charge you for it.

Don't believe it.

White Pointer

Mister
11-11-2009, 08:10 PM
Don't believe it.

If that is a question? Then No

walruss
11-11-2009, 08:55 PM
The whole problem with all the permits is that they do not cover "Private Vehicles."

They wholly and soley cover commercial vehicles.

At the moment there is no legislation anywhere in Australia that permits a private vehicle to tow anything greater in width than the maximum specified of 2.5 metres.

The weight situation is the same. All weights specified relate to commercial vehicles. ie rigid, medium rigid, semi, etc

Private vehicles are bound by manufacturers specification as to the load limits they can tow. ir L/Cruiser 3.5 tonne. A GVM is specified but there is no mention of GCM.

Given that a T/D L/C has a GVM of 3.3 tinne and can tow 3.5 tonne they would have a GCM of 7.1 tonne. This requires no special licence etc as you are NOT using them as a commercial vehicle.

Russ

Mister
11-11-2009, 09:16 PM
The whole problem with all the permits is that they do not cover "Private Vehicles."

They wholly and soley cover commercial vehicles.

At the moment there is no legislation anywhere in Australia that permits a private vehicle to tow anything greater in width than the maximum specified of 2.5 metres.

The weight situation is the same. All weights specified relate to commercial vehicles. ie rigid, medium rigid, semi, etc

Private vehicles are bound by manufacturers specification as to the load limits they can tow. ir L/Cruiser 3.5 tonne. A GVM is specified but there is no mention of GCM.

Given that a T/D L/C has a GVM of 3.3 tinne and can tow 3.5 tonne they would have a GCM of 7.1 tonne. This requires no special licence etc as you are NOT using them as a commercial vehicle.

Russ

Arh come on fellas lets get it right. What a load of rubbish, of course private vehicles can tow with permits, all vehicles are bound by manufacturers specifications commerial/private don't matter.

Come lets get it right of course a landcruiser has a specified GCM and it applies to your so called private use as well. A

And a Toyota land cruiser certainly does not have a GCM of 7.1 tonne. Where does all this rubbish come from?

walruss
11-11-2009, 09:27 PM
Mister,

All vehicle bound by manufacturers specs. Yep thats right

Yes it has a GCM. The combination being the vehicle and the trailer. Add it together and you get a Max of 7.1 tonne. That is the max allowable.

Please show me the relevant legislation the applies to non commercial vehicles that applies to permit issue.

You have stated that private vehicles can tow with permits. Can you please advise where these permits are available and what they cover, since previous entries on this thread say otherwise.

Look forward to your answer.

Russ

Mister
11-11-2009, 09:35 PM
Mate the GCM of a Toyota landcruiser is 6800kg.

You have obviously never towed an over width vehicle in your life in a private situation AND you are trying to tell me private vehicles can not tow over width, get a life.

Mister
11-11-2009, 09:36 PM
The problem here is Russ that many simply do not know what they are talking about.

11-11-2009, 09:37 PM
NO... according to my understanding of current polocy you should not be issued with a permit to tow a an overdimension load with a pasenger vehicle....certianly not one over 3 meters wide.

As for the load rating of boat ramps............If larger boats were permitted to be towed thy will most likley to be heavier and the load restriction on ramps may become an issue.

manufacturers specifications have nothing to do with over dimension loads.

there are some of these stationtruckwaggons that have 4.5 tonne towing capacities and are bigger and heavier than an F350.....they are importing and converting them specificaly for towing fifth wheel caravans.

Anyway it will all be interesting to see.

Mister
11-11-2009, 09:41 PM
Arh but old boot we are not alking about 3 metres are we? We are talking about 2.9 metres.

Again this is NOT a weight discussion but an over width discussion, there is no change to towing weights at all.

Over 4.5 tonne then you are then talking about a TRUCK complete with all the goodies including real proper air brakes and all.

11-11-2009, 11:37 PM
Mate you need to pull your head in.
You have sucessfully pissed people off in at least 3 threads in the last couple of days with your agressive attitude.

If you have no information to contribute but out.

the difference between 2.9 and 3 meters is completly acedemic......the limit now is 2.5 mteres and not a mm more.

nobody is talking over 4.5 tonne....and legaly in QLD you can tow up to 4.5 tonnes with up to 4.5 tonne vehicle...making a total of 9 tonnes..........on a car licence.... if you can find a vehicle that will do it. without cheching figures, I believe the chevy silverado will.

It's matter not if a person has or has not towed an oversize load to have an opinion that should be respected.

towing an oversized item sooner or later will become a weight issue or havn't you been following the discussion.

the problem here mister is that you are probaly not aware of the series of threads on this subject that have been running on this forum for months.... and you come in here with little or no constructive information telling people they do not know what they are talking about.

When you have dragged thru the legeslation and the published guidelines ( as some of us have) and made yourself familiar with the ongoing issues.....and changed your attitude... feel free to make a usefull comment.......otherwise... keep your comments to your self.

12-11-2009, 12:47 AM
Ok guys I don't want to get involved in the argument but all this talk of weight has me confused. I know Ratcatcher is very interested in the outcome of this so lets keep the personal opinions out and stick to the facts. So I'll ask a simple question so I have this right.

Under the proposed policy change one will now be able to tow a BOAT (didnt see any talk of caravans or anything else) up to 2.9m in Width, PROVIDED the boat can legally be towed under the manufacturers weight specifications?

Have I got that right?

Under current rules as I understand them, I could build a 2.51m wide Baulsa wood boat that weighs 100kg and sits on a 100kg trailer and I couldn't legally tow it with a F150.

So have I got it right, that basically there has been so much demand for US boats that are often 2.59-2.69m in beam that they are making an exception for one to tow thier boat to the water from home and back under a permit?

THIS MAKES A TONNE OF SENSE!!!! Were talking boats here aren't we people? Trailering a boat from home to water and water to home. Not Grey nomads throwing thier houses under a triaxle and terrorising the highways.

Have I totally misread something?

12-11-2009, 01:07 AM
Yeah i think that's it Chris, the saving grace for the total weight towed was the boats width, with extra width comes substantial extra weight. The old rule worked to keep the numb nuts off the road in say their V8 cruiser towing boats with weights approaching legally approved capacity at 100km/h...now that might become relatively common place.

The 2.5 maximum width laws keept a cap on this because lots of great boats where kept out of the choosing and therefore off the road. The cat fans are going to LUV it!

12-11-2009, 04:21 AM
Thanks FNQ thats what I thought. All this other crap in the thread was mostly irrelevant. This should see some very nice boats hitting our QLD coastline in the near future. The Glacier bay range being one of them and a heap of nice monos also.

12-11-2009, 10:11 AM
Most of what you say is correct....
and it is reasonable for people to tow a large (read over dimension) boat a short distance to a suitable ramp, rather than have to keep it on a mouring or hard stand.

Especilay in some of the "quiet fishing towns" like 1770 and Turkey Beach ( hell who cares at turkey).

But if this is taken to the silly end of expectations we could have loonies, dragging big heavy monster boats all over the place because they can.

If it is allowed you can bet next years bait and beer money that plenty will try to tow their big fancy boats up the highway to the Northern parts of QLD, from brisbane and other places, just to go fishing.

Then expecting to put it down some lightly constructed poorly maintained ramp in some creek.

I tell you what....it would definitely be some exitement to come around one of those bends on those narrow coastal "B" roads and come across a 9 tonne 2.9 meter wide thing comming the other way across that barely two lane causeway......of course it will be in the middle.

12-11-2009, 10:42 AM
Is there a actual link to the original press release?

An average bloke with 2.5 m 25 footer is pretty dangerous

An average bloke with 3.00m is deadly , inconvenient and dangerous regardless of what distance to tow of the shitty roads we have. I have done it with tractors and farm machinery between properties and even if your own judgement is Ok other drivers judgement is crap. Your load and possibly the wheelbase will have to be over the middle line or in the dirt on the shoulder - insurance company heaven for an excuse in a accident.

Might be OK for a specific permit on a specific road route at specific times like 1770 ( home to ramp) to be sorted by the local copper ( old seargent with some common sense who knows his area and the applicant) but it wouldn't be sensible in bigger city. Geeze he does that now with the tractor and trailers with no brakes for the locals- god only knows what happens if there was a accident or a visiting copper. Bigger city coppers will just say no as it is easier.

The next question on all of this is which insurance company is going to cover you at what cost. If you think you are going to do this on a standard policy it will take the insurance companies about 10 minutes to work out they need a higher premium. Moving overwidth machinery the guys used to have to get individual trip policies a few years back and they were not cheap.

2.6 or 2.7 is a lot more reasonable but should include some knowledge test or something to make people aware of the extra dangers.

Can't have one rule for local boaters and another one for motorhomes etc.

Sort of a be careful what we wish for.

12-11-2009, 11:12 AM
I recon in places like Turkey and 1770...this will not be an issue for the locals.

At turkey most people launch off the sand next to the fancy government ramp and the tow vehickle of choice is an unregistered tractor.....last time a copper was at turkey he was probably fishing.

We blew thru 1770 earlier this year.....in the boat ramp car park was this huge trailer with 4 axles so it would have been over 3 tonnes GVM using cable brakes and towed by a 4wd ute (landy, 75 series cant remember).. and wide with it.
That rig would last 5 minutes down here....hell you would be flat out getting it arround the corners to get at the ramp at wello.
But like a lot of the boats there it probably get towed less than 2Km to the ramp...and most of that is flat.
If a narky copper turned up at the ramp one afternoon in good weather... he'd put half the town off the road.

BM
12-11-2009, 12:16 PM
In Victoria you are required to carry a copy of "Oversize Load Carrying Vehicles" Information Bulletin at all times when towing overwidth loads. This document applies to all vehicles (private and commercial) up to 49.5ton.

It allows travel around Victorian roads, without a permit and up to a maximum vehicle width of 3.5m

The document can be found on the Vicroads website or by contacted the Road Safety section of Vicroads on 131171.

Mr__Bean
12-11-2009, 07:28 PM
With regard to a driver of a passenger vehicle being able to tow an over width trailer/load, then I don't think it unreasonable to expct that the driver should hold at least a Medium Rigid truck licence.

These are not hard to obtain and the training ensures that the driver is considerate of the peculiarities of driving long and wide loads.

- Darren

12-11-2009, 07:43 PM
I don't think I would wanted to have towed my previous boat..3m beam and 4.5t dry weight.

sure would be a bugger to get on and off the trailer

Tazmaniac
12-11-2009, 08:21 PM
Wallruss stated that :

This is NOT correct, we CAN tow over width in a private vehicle, with a permit here in Western Australia. Go to the site below and read page 6
Cheers, Taz
http://rac.com.au/Motoring/Motoring-advice/About-my-car/~/media/Files/PDFs/motoring_DPI_safe_towing_guide.ashx

Dicko
12-11-2009, 08:32 PM
After 4 pages, does anyone have a link to the actual wording of this new 'proposed' permit ?

White Pointer
13-11-2009, 08:21 PM
After 4 pages, does anyone have a link to the actual wording of this new 'proposed' permit ?

Ditto Dicko.

I'm a doubter. This subject has cause a bit of agro between members which could have been cleared up by a clear and unequivocal statement by a relevant State transport authority.

I suggest that the Moderator seeks such a statement. At the very least it give us clear and unambigous advice, or will tell us that something is being considered, but we don't know what yet, or you are all up yourselves - go fishing.

Weather looks good this weekend around Brissie.

White Pointer

rat_catcher
14-11-2009, 08:47 AM
I go away for a couple of days and come back to a sh*tfight! Anyway yes I am very interested in the outcome of this......and I would also like to see a link to a Govt website with the details listed.

From what was written initially I am not talking about towing an 'overweight' boat, but rather one with an 'overwide' beam of 2.67m so also not the 2.9m that is being thrown around.

And yes with a Chevy Silverado you are legally able to tow a 2.5m beam boat up to 4.5 tonnes today. So I just need to know if this new permit will allow me to tow the < 4.5 tonne boat that has a 2.67m beam.

I know it should be real simple, but these towing discussions always seem to end in grief! ;D

rat_catcher
14-11-2009, 08:49 AM
So where is 'bennyboy'? He made the original post and hasn't been heard of in this thread again!

Dude are you out there? Where did you get the information you originally posted?

rat_catcher
14-11-2009, 08:51 AM
sure would be a bugger to get on and off the trailer
Mate....you just need to get the trailer bearings wet and she would slide right off! ::)

lee8sec
24-11-2009, 07:37 PM
double post

lee8sec
24-11-2009, 07:40 PM
Nick / BM, is this the info you where talking about for victoria? http://www.vicroads.vic.gov.au/NR/rdonlyres/3B9992E3-D9B7-4F5E-B0A6-9AA6ED4E3DE2/0/VRPIN00966.pdf

If so that is heavey vehicle section.

Can some one put up the info from each state where it says its ok to tow over width loads with passenger vehicles ? Leigh

PS, I have looked for vic, nsw & qld & all the info i can find( doesn't mean there isnt more) is all related to heavey vehicles ie over 4.5t