View Full Version : 5m shark cat

stinky-stabi
02-11-2009, 07:31 PM
there is a 5m shark cat up the road from me for $24000 1986 still has original gel coat , has twin high thrust 60 yammies 4/s o8 models with low hours in very good condition......what are the opinion's on these little catz ?
are they as good as the 5.6m s/c.......just seems to be a good buy having two new motors on it,,,,,,??????

Dean1
02-11-2009, 09:01 PM
Ive never been in a 5m sharky but i know they arent a good as a 560. The 5m have a good reputation tho, just believe they can be prone to cop the odd wave over the bow due to lower stance in water, 1 less clinker on the side than the 560.

Good price with those motors i dont think you could go wrong really with the boat for those $$$.

Deano..

spizzy
02-11-2009, 10:41 PM
The 5m sportsman is a top little boat for its size if that is the boat you are reffering to. I can vouch for it as i currently own one. Not as good as the 560 as I also fish out of one regularly. The 5m is a lot more nippier than the 560 due it being lighter in weight i have found, but can hold its own even when the going gets a little rough. If the boat you are talking about is the one that I am thinking of it is in immaculate condition due to it being garaged all its life from its previous owner. For the boat that it is you will be very impressed for its ride stability and is very towable due to it not being to heavy. The older 5m sharkcat im not sure of as I have not been in one so i can't comment on that model. I have not yet experience the wave comming over the front but suppose could happen but i have clears installed above the windscreen to combat that just incase.The secret is don't overload the cabin with a heap of gear putting a lot of weight up front as that might cause nose to droop at slow speeds eg trolling. For the price that it is with 4strokes it sounds like a great little buy especially if you can bargain him down a little. Take it for a test run and trust me you will be impressed. Good luck.
Spizzy

stinky-stabi
03-11-2009, 06:52 AM
The 5m sportsman is a top little boat for its size if that is the boat you are reffering to. I can vouch for it as i currently own one. Not as good as the 560 as I also fish out of one regularly. The 5m is a lot more nippier than the 560 due it being lighter in weight i have found, but can hold its own even when the going gets a little rough. If the boat you are talking about is the one that I am thinking of it is in immaculate condition due to it being garaged all its life from its previous owner. For the boat that it is you will be very impressed for its ride stability and is very towable due to it not being to heavy. The older 5m sharkcat im not sure of as I have not been in one so i can't comment on that model. I have not yet experience the wave comming over the front but suppose could happen but i have clears installed above the windscreen to combat that just incase.The secret is don't overload the cabin with a heap of gear putting a lot of weight up front as that might cause nose to droop at slow speeds eg trolling. For the price that it is with 4strokes it sounds like a great little buy especially if you can bargain him down a little. Take it for a test run and trust me you will be impressed. Good luck.
Spizzy

spizzy the boat in question is located in moffat beach and is yellow with a red stripe....was used as a pro boat as can see the numbers covered up under the red paint ....maybe it needs a set of pods to 5.6 it .lololol

spizzy
03-11-2009, 07:41 PM
stinky I think the boat that i was refferring to was orange with red strip on the top sides. Trust me you don't need to do a thing to it. Take it for a spin and pick a windy day and you will be very impressed. When i bought mine and drove it down to sydney from hervey bay a couple of years ago my mate who has had a few cats and still does called me up and said mate its blowing 25-30kt southerly in botany bay perfect weather to test out your liitle cat. i gave him the helm and i tell you what i was so stoked that he made me buy it.It just ate up whatever came its way. He was having so much fun jumping from wave to wave just like he had a jet ski in his hands he didn't want to come back to the ramp. Mind you he knows how to drive cats. Trust me you don't need to do a thing if you do buy it, use it and enjoy it. Good luck.

stinky-stabi
04-11-2009, 11:08 AM
this is the boat http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=7522164
how would this differ in ride was to a 5.2 kevla cat ???

spizzy
04-11-2009, 11:55 AM
That boat looks very similar to the one that I was talking about but was for sale a couple of years ago which also had 4strokes on it but was bought just for the motors and then sold again without motors. I was told that the gelcoat was immaculate and original so could possibly be the same boat. I cannot compare it to a 5.2 kevla cat as i have never been in one. From what i have read the 5.2 kevlacat i an awesome little big boat but also has a nice price tag with it. For the amount of money the 5m sportsman is worth it is a great compromise. You get a small cat that handles pretty much anything thrown at it.

stinky-stabi
04-11-2009, 08:31 PM
Ive never been in a 5m sharky but i know they arent a good as a 560. The 5m have a good reputation tho, just believe they can be prone to cop the odd wave over the bow due to lower stance in water, 1 less clinker on the side than the 560.

Good price with those motors i dont think you could go wrong really with the boat for those $$$.

Deano..

they say deano that in the 93 models on the 5m that the sponsons sit an extra 300mm at rest and 400mm on the plane due to a hull revamp so if it does happen will be lookn for an old rough l8 model to refurbish(he's hope'n the minister for finance see'e the point ..lolololol as if )

05-11-2009, 03:40 AM
Just buy it Tono!

We'll see you coming from 20miles away though with that colour scheme!

stinky-stabi
05-11-2009, 06:56 AM
Just buy it Tono!

We'll see you coming from 20miles away though with that colour scheme!

g'day smithy , im dubious about buying a 24 yr old boat , thinkn maybe better to spend another 20grand on top and just get a l8r model . a smithy shouldnt you be in bed m8 at 3.30 am..
---

2004 SHARK CAT 5.25 Power, Multi Hull, 17.39 ft (5.3 m)
$38,990* AUDDrive Away No More to Pay (http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=7027752)
http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boatcontent/e/certifications/mercury-WithBorder.gif

NOWRA MARINE

---
http://tcactivity.net/a.tca?at=0&id=5521853&pid=241228&ao=30
1987 BRUCE HARRIS 5.60 SERIES 2 CUDDY CABIN Power, Multi Hull, Leisure, 18 ft (5.49 m)
23990 (http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=7859173)

Private Seller - Queensland

http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boatcontent/e/print_icon.gif (http://www.boatpoint.com.au/print.aspx?tabID=804585&Ntt=cat&ModID=1612290&N=896+604+609+1003+1047&Ntk=BoatAll&Dx=&Nne=15&Ntx=&Ns=&D=cat)
http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boatcontent/e/email_icon.gif (http://javascript%3Cb%3E%3C/b%3E:EmailAFriend%28%27Path=jYBwtC%2fLk7xz1RP9r%2b 496xAVRMwT%2fcRPFWRxrKTkBpM8HAVLkO8%2b%2b4soQVKwBR MVE23JNGN7q4LdGsdvbU%2bpxuLuORFyiFGa2%2fEsK2Vwgbkt fC0%2baTCsZQ%3d%3d&Type=Used+Boats&ActivityOrigin=30&ItemID=-1&TabID=804585%27%29)
http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boatcontent/e/next_button.gif (http://www.boatpoint.com.au/DesktopDefault.aspx?tabID=804585&No=15&Ntt=cat&N=896%20604%20609%201003%201047&Ntk=BoatAll&Dx=&Ntx=&D=cat)
(http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boats-for-sale/details.aspx?R=3033169)
1989 SHARK CAT 5.25 Power, Multi Hull, 17.22 ft (5.25 m)
$17,990* AUD (http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boats-for-sale/details.aspx?R=3033169)

(http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=7859173)

Dean1
05-11-2009, 02:07 PM
Mate that 2004 sharkcat certainly isnt a sharkcat they were noosacat then so unsure what breed it is. And those other 2 arent as late model as they state. you want about 1985 onwards with the one 3 piece screen at the front and the raised front cabin. My mate just bought Grunters off here. I'll put up a pic he's in the process of of refurbing her. I have known this boat for a long time if I had the $$$ I would have bought it myself. Very rare with the factory pods giving a much bigger deck (still not as big as a 5.2kc tho ;D ) Cheers.

julian1
05-11-2009, 02:17 PM
i know where there is a late model 560 for sale with a pair of 115 Ocean Pro's, the owner just bought my old boat. And yes this 560 is the good later model (not podded though) it will be reasonably priced, it is yellow if thats a problem

05-11-2009, 02:25 PM
geees I nearly bought that boat before Grunter got it, he just beat me to it, and I ended up keeping mine, and indeed they were quite rare the 18' with pods, good boat too. I kind of doubt that 2004 one is even a genuine Sharkcat.

05-11-2009, 02:28 PM
OH, and that "87" model is as old as the hills

Dean1
05-11-2009, 02:37 PM
Yeah noelm I nearly bought Grunters boat 2 owners before Grunter in about 2000. I was the first cat i had had a REAL run in when blowing 25kts 2m off mooloolaba. Blew me away what it did. I told my mate to pounce on it coz its a balltearer, he has had the whole rig painted and some 2000 model Yammie 90's have just been aquired that will do the job until some 4's will end up on the back. Hey Grunter the port motor self destructed after the 1st run but thats boats.

And Yeah both those 18's are old especialy the yellow one!!

05-11-2009, 02:43 PM
90's would be a good power option for that boat, nice and light, the 70's would have been way too small I would reckon, they would be OK, but only just, shame the motor crapped out first trip though huh!

Dean1
05-11-2009, 03:09 PM
90's would be a good power option for that boat, nice and light, the 70's would have been way too small I would reckon, they would be OK, but only just, shame the motor crapped out first trip though huh! Yeah mate the 90's are in mint condition theyve come off a 2100 KC. Should work well, except for the smell :o Im spoilt now. Well the 1st run about 500m after leaving the ramp, they were lacking some TLC but. Anyway be good to have another cat on the team, maybe it wont hurt so much if Ihave to sell mine.. Cheers..

julian1
05-11-2009, 03:41 PM
Yeah mate the 90's are in mint condition theyve come off a 2100 KC. Should work well, except for the smell :o Im spoilt now. Well the 1st run about 500m after leaving the ramp, they were lacking some TLC but. Anyway be good to have another cat on the team, maybe it wont hurt so much if Ihave to sell mine.. Cheers..

how does the SC560 (the good model)compare to the KC5.2 Deano ? obviously the bow will sit lower while trolling but i mean underway for ride performance and stability at rest ?

06-11-2009, 07:02 AM
I have been in both a thousand times, and if you forget how the Kcat is finished off, and all the accessories that make it what it is, I reckon the Sharkcat will have the edge in straight out performance, but as a boat to own, then maybe the KC would top the chart, the Sharkcat is very bare in fitout from new, like as in there is nothing except seats! mind you there is a fair old price difference too.

06-11-2009, 09:04 AM
Tono,

go the one with Optis. Just think of them at black ETecs and you'll be right! Same noise and smell and smoke as your current white motor :-).

insideout
06-11-2009, 03:20 PM
[if Ihave to sell mine.. Cheers..[/quote]

What, What ,What???:o :o :o

sowden1942
06-11-2009, 03:36 PM
Hi Stinky Stabi. I have a 2000 5 mtr Webster Twinfisher with a 2002 Honda 90 four stroke, with all the extras for $25000. gives us a ring on 412332675 if interested.