PDA

View Full Version : Making it safer!

thatsakeeper
27-10-2009, 04:43 PM
Im new to boating but im pretty concerned how i bought this boat and its current set up. Battery next to a fuel tank and a fuel filter over the battery, add a smoking passenger and im very uncomfortable.
I'd like to have whether its necessary i dont know, three separate areas in that rear area at some stage i might introduce a dual battery set up with some planned upgrades but i have minimal electronics currently and seal the whole lot off to reduce the risk of fire from a dropped cigarette, but maintain accessability and ventilation.
Ive had some coach building experience but im unsure how i would approach this and material to use. My step father is a carpenter so he might be able to assist in some sort of custom job.
Or am i just being over cautious cause ive seen many an older boat with this set up.

Geoff-
27-10-2009, 05:23 PM
maybe you are being cautious but I don't like the look of a battery and a fuel tank right next to each other either. Just because everyone else does it doesn't mean it's right!!

I would prefer the battery to be in its own battery box in the back corner and the fuel tank in the opposite corner. At least this example both items seem to be strapped down so they don't move!!

tenzing
27-10-2009, 05:29 PM
Wow. How do you change that fuel filter?
Remove the battery first?

Kdog
27-10-2009, 06:27 PM
Gday Thatsakeeper,
If I were you, I would be moving that battery away from the tank in one of those boxs as Geoff- said, also you should move the filter over to the port side a bit more.
Mate you are definitely "NOT" been over cautious, petrol and sparks do not mix well!!!

I know your new in boating, but do youself and friends a favour and do something about the setup, because if something happens {and it may not}you`ll be put of boating for life or worse sorry.

firstlight
27-10-2009, 06:58 PM
Hi Thatsakeeper,