View Full Version : Car topper on a festiva?

darklight
26-10-2009, 02:06 PM
Hi Guys,

My name is Simon - I'm from the UK but been living here in Brissie for the last 3 years, and I reckon its time I started living the lifestyle a bit and getting out on a boat :)

Trouble is, I've got a festiva for a car, and due to having just bought a house, wont be getting anything bigger for a while.

So - I reckon a car topper tinny is the way forward. I was thinking max. 3.5 metres. Probably a 8hp engine I could transport in the back of the car. I dont doubt my car's ability to pull the weight, I just want some local's input on wether it is doable. You guys will know far more about this than me (e.g. local laws etc), and can hopefully point out problems with my plan.

I'll be using it for fishing around the islands in the south of moreton bay, and I'll always have a mate with me, so I'm not worried about the work involved in getting boat on & off the car.

Does this plan sound silly, or should I give it a go? Does anyone else drive a boat around on top of a smallish car?

STUIE63
26-10-2009, 02:08 PM
mate get a trailer , much easier and the festiva should be able to tow it

26-10-2009, 02:20 PM
also look at a kayak, a 3.5m tinnie will be way to big for the festiva!

26-10-2009, 02:21 PM
Yep, get a trailer.
The Festiva will look like a pelican when the wind gets under the tinny and it takes off.
Bunging a biggish tinny on the roof of a small car sounds like something a pommy would do so you'll definitely look like a tourist if you go down that road. ;D

Just be aware of the maximum towing weight of the Festiva too.
Which Festiva have you got??

26-10-2009, 02:24 PM
geees A tinny on the roof of a Festiva would sort of look like a Tortoise! get a trailer, you wont be sorry, far better than lugging stuff into the car, out of the car into/onto the boat, lugging it all back into the car when finished, then back out of the car when you get home, not to mention salt water in the car, dripping onto the roof when you come back in, I reckon I just turned myself off car topping for life after reading that!

26-10-2009, 02:25 PM
At least for vehicle insurance purposes if you never take the tinny off the car they will classify it as always garaged:)

darklight
26-10-2009, 02:34 PM
also look at a kayak, a 3.5m tinnie will be way to big for the festiva!

Thanks for the quick replies!

In what way is it too big - physically? Can you have something on a roof rack if it overhangs? Or are you thinking it'll be too wide, or too heavy?

Back in the UK I used to put a canadian canoe (around 40kgs but skinny) on top of a 0.9L Metro (a bit bigger than a Mini) and that went alright. Looked stupid though. :)

And regarding towing - I found someone that was willing to fix a tow bar to my car, but I cant really get any definite answers to how much I can tow. Its a 1.5i engine. I'm not even sure if its rated to tow anything?

A kayak is my backup plan. It has its advantages sure, but I'd really like something with an engine if possible.

26-10-2009, 02:36 PM
Just wondering don't know if it will apply although are we allowed to carry anything that sticks out to either side past mirror width? will the tinny (roof racks) be wider than this??

26-10-2009, 03:06 PM
Hi Simon

If your staying here and going to get into boating your Korean built car may not be the ideal vehicle for a boating lifestyle.

Apart fom everything else your vehicle has a 500kg, with brakes on the trailer, towing capacity. This you will find to be a problem as we don't usually fit brakes to trailers until the weight is 750kg so your trailer will be a "special"::)

So if I were you I'd work out what sort of lifestyle you want to be part of, choose the appropriate boat, ( we on here can help!;) ) then flog the Festiva and get an appropriate tow vehicle to make your "lifestyle" reality.

If theres a Mrs Simon:-* explain how unsafe the festiva is and how boat on the roof will rust the car as explained earlier and how it cannot tow safely esp with the "loved" ones in the car not to mention the bubs!

"AFs We're Here To Help!!!!;)

Standard Specifications: For a '98

Make:FORDModel:FESTIVAVariant:GLXISeries:WFYear:19 98Body Type:5Door HATCHBACKDoors:5Seats:5Engine Specifications:

Engine Type:MULTI POINT F/INJEngine Size:1.5LCylinders:INLINE 4Max. Torque:115Nm @ 3500rpmMax. Power:56kW @ 5500rpmPower to Weight Ratio:17.7:1 kW/kgBore & Stroke:78x78.4mmCompression Ratio:9.4Valve Gear:SOHCDrivetrain Specifications:

Transmission:4 SP AUTOMATICDrive Type:FRONT WHEEL DRIVEFinal Drive Ratio:3.736Fuel Specifications:

Fuel Type:PetrolFuel Tank Capacity:38LFuel Consumption (City):8.5L/100kmFuel Consumption (Hwy):5.8L/100kmWeight & Measurement:

Kerb Weight:991kgGross Vehicle Weight:Not ProvidedHeight:1450mmLength:3995mmWidth:1670mmGrou nd Clearance:Not ProvidedTowing Capacity:Brake(500kg)Steering & Suspension:

Steering Type:RACK & PINIONTurning Circle:9.4mFront Rim Size:4.5Jx13Rear Rim Size:4.5Jx13Front Tyres:165/70 R13Rear Tyres:165/70 R13Wheel Base:2390mmFront Track:1420mmRear Track:1418mmFront Brakes:DISC - VENTILATEDRear Brakes:DRUMFront Suspension:Independent,macpherson strut with coil springs and anti-roll bar.Rear Suspension:torsion beam axle with coil springs and anti-roll bar.Other:

Released Date:01-Jan-1998Discontinued Date:31-Dec-2000Average Kms:Not ProvidedValuation Range:Average Dealer Resale Price: $6,100 - $7,320Service Interval:6 mths / 10,000 kmsWarranty Period:24 mths / 50,000 kmsVIN Plate Location:Driver Side Eng ScuttleStandard New Price:Not ProvidedCountry of Origin:KOREA

darklight
26-10-2009, 03:20 PM
Well that is sad news - but thanks for providing a definite answer.

Due to having just bought a house (and yes, because of the mrs) I wont be getting a new car anytime soon - it'll have to stay a dream for a bit longer.

But a kayak will fill the gap. I'll look into that instead.

26-10-2009, 03:27 PM
Buy the boat before you have too many rug rats or you will be buggered for years!

Micadogs
26-10-2009, 03:36 PM
Hi Darklight, Towing is the way to go. The downward force of a trailer is equal to approx 10% of its total weight. If you assume the boat weighs 100kg and you put it on top of the vehcile you will have 100kgs of downforce on the vehicle (wind resistnace not accounted for). If towed then you will only have 10kgs. Albeit the trailer will add weight, but for comparisson purposes you can go up to the maxium 500kgs (50kg downforce) and still be 50% in front.

STUIE63
26-10-2009, 03:52 PM
mate just tow it I don't think a little tinny , trailer and motor will come anywhere near 500 kg's

darklight
26-10-2009, 04:58 PM
mate just tow it I don't think a little tinny , trailer and motor will come anywhere near 500 kg's

No I'd think not far over 200kgs for the boat & motor (not sure about the trailer - cant be much?)

But it looks like a festiva is rated for 500kgs for a braked trailer. It doesnt mention unbraked, which I guess means it isnt rated for unbraked at all - so illegal?

Plus wouldnt I have problems with a 1.5L engine pulling a boat our of the water on a ramp?

26-10-2009, 05:22 PM
DL it will tow it easily - anywhere.

70kg boat, 30kg engine, 50kg all boating fishing stuff inc 10 to 20l of fuel. Light trailer 80kg max.

I would be surprised if you ever saw over 300kg total tow almost no matter what.

26-10-2009, 06:03 PM
I think the braked 500kg is a boo boo
http://www.drive.com.au/used-cars/FORD/FESTIVA/12614480
or if it's newer
https://www.aaa.asn.au/roadtests/reports/268.pdf

Best to look in the manual I reckon :0

sleepygreg
26-10-2009, 11:41 PM
A 3.5m tinny, with a small hp outboard, and a lightweight trailer should be a walk in the park for a festiva. I used to tow a 3.6 quinnie special, with a 6hp johnno, on a very dubious pipe framed trailer........behind an old 1.3lt ford escort. Towed that sucker every where from narooma to port macquarie (not fast mind you...but always got there). And modern tinnies are lighter than the old girl...especially cartopper models...just put em on a lightweight trailer instead.

toecutter
27-10-2009, 07:58 AM
My old neighbour had a Festiva and when he wanted a tow bar fitted no-one was prepared to fit a tow bar to it because apparently they aren't designed / or approved or whatever for use with a towbar here. Maybe a 2.4 metre inflatable & 6-8 hp outboard would do the trick, as these should fit inside the hatch quite well.