View Full Version : Fish Identification & Knots Books

Ricardo
04-10-2009, 04:27 PM
I have been looking around for a fish encyclopedia or something similar which covers Australian species of fish (salt & fresh) so I can educate myself on what's out there in this great country of ours ;)

Also is there a book of fishing knots that is considered the holy grail of knots? :)

Richard.

goat boy
04-10-2009, 08:12 PM
G'Day Mate,

Grants Guide to Fishes would be considered the holy grail of (Aust) fish encyclopedias I suspect. Happy reading!

Goat

04-10-2009, 09:01 PM
Get a copy of Geof Wilsons Knot book

Stik-ugly
04-10-2009, 09:05 PM
As Horse stated Geoff Wilson's book on Knots and Rigs and it also comes with a DVD

STUIE63
04-10-2009, 10:20 PM
mate for the knots i just use the animated knots in the hints and tips section
http://www.ausfish.com.au/knots/

sparkyice
14-10-2009, 04:51 AM
http://www.animatedknots.com/index.php?LogoImage=LogoGrog.jpg&Website=

this is probably same as the one on here

14-10-2009, 10:48 AM
there are heaps out there

grants is a comprehensive book at arround $100 direct from the man himself..... but bot all that helpfull on habits and techniques.

AFN have a fish ID and techniques book.....cant remember name its in the boat.

steve starlins fishermans handbook is good

steve starlings encyclopedia of australian fishing is good......second hand only

martin bowermans fshing australia is worthwhile... second hand

AFN steve cooper fishing techniques is good and still in print.

anything by Vic McCristal

there are heaps of good books out there.

there are some duds too.....some have names similar to the great ones... so be carefull.

check title and author.

OH check your local libruray too.

the old books are gold..........check ebay...... but know aht you are buying.