View Full Version : I can't take anymore.

Catweb
25-09-2009, 07:53 PM
After near on 35 years of boating my back is well buggered. Went out on my own 2 weeks ago for a run in the bay and perhaps a feed of K G Whiting. I did 6 drops in 8-10 metres of briney and my back was so stuffed from hauling the pick, I have only just recovered. 5 kg reef anchor and 4 metres of close link chain, so nothing out of the normal.

So tomorrow I am off to a marine engineering mob that specialise in supplying and fitting leccie anchor winches. I have a 4.9 Webster and I am keeping a very open mind given the potential difficulties in getting something to suit due to the short foredeck and terrible anchor well. Prepared to consider a drum winch or a horizontal jobbie, damn I'm so desperate I'll even settle for an upright capstan. This mob are telling me if it can be done they will do it, if it can't they will tell me so.

So a plea for help from anyone on here who knows of or has fitted a leccie to a 4.9 Webster or has any ideas.

My back and I will be eternally greatful.

Oh and BTW I managed to get 10 whiting, a very nice feed.

25-09-2009, 08:13 PM
Have you tried just using a retrieval Bouy and ring?

Catweb
25-09-2009, 08:28 PM
Yeah, thanks. Should have mentioned I have used the retreival bouy off and on for several years, but man even that does for me these days after a while.

Too many years of hauling nets and longlines by hand when I was a young mariner and thought working as and for pro fishermen was exciting! Foolish boy!

Salty_Dog
25-09-2009, 08:33 PM
Agree with finding_time.
We just added a Retrieval Bouy and Ring to the boat so we can anchor in 60-70meters. Works a treat... in fact it works so well, we will use the same idea when anchoring in 8-10meter when whiting fishing.

Total cost $100 and no mods to the boat.

dreemon
26-09-2009, 06:20 AM
For your back you might want to try " Bowen therapy" it's the only one that worked on mine and a few of my mates backs when all the other theropies just take heaps of your money with no results, also it's painless :D and only twice a year.

Crocodile
26-09-2009, 12:32 PM
Hello Catweb,

try these;

http://www.southpacific.com.au/index.php?page=shop.product_details&flypage=flypage.tpl&product_id=17&category_id=6&option=com_virtuemart&Itemid=54

http://www.woolfwinch.com.au/products.html

http://################.com.au/mini.html

These winches sit on deck and hold the rope and chain.
I believe that free-fall is a useful option.

Apollo
26-09-2009, 01:25 PM
Get a deckie - problem solved!

26-09-2009, 01:54 PM
Yer mate....I'm with you on the need for an anchor winch of some description.

I'm looking at a south pacific, maybe a 710, but I will need to add a bow sprit to hold the anchor perminently as it is difficult to access the fordeck on the runabout.

Anything to keep fishing without stuffing the back is worth a try. Deckies are fine but not always an option as when I want to go fishing I just go. Can't always be bothered with a phone around.

Good luck.

Catweb
26-09-2009, 03:04 PM
Thanks for the suggestions guys. I spent a few hours last night and this morning reading up on winches. I decided that while I would keep an open mind, a drum winch is really not my preference due to the very restricted area to fit one. This left a horizontal job as my preffered option.

After a couple of hours with winch people this morning, I am pleased to be able to say I have decided on the Maxwell HRC-8 horizontal job. They seem to be a high quality product and while these guys display and sell all the top brands they reckon this one outsells the others by 4 to 1. Might post a few piccies once the fit up is done.

Any feedback from you guys on Maxwell products appreciated as always.

27-09-2009, 08:57 PM
Will be interested to see the result. Could you let us in on the price as well.

Catweb
06-10-2009, 07:07 PM
Well guys as hinted I have had a Maxwell horizontal winch fitted. Only place for it to go was behind the anchor well. Had to have the foredeck beefed up underneath with some 8mm alloy plate.

It feeds into a storage bin underneath the fordeck. I have lost a tad of storage but worth it.

The "go" button has been incorporated into the existing switch panel and the circuit breaker mounted in a handy but not in the way location.

600 watt motor, 33m/min normal retrieval rate and 3 year warranty. 10 metres of 6mm chain and 100 metres of 8 plait, high tensile rope.

Tried it out over the weekend and this this is the dog's bollox!! I could not be happier with the result. Not a cheap operation but when I think of the extra drops I can do and the extra time I can spend on the water..........well HOW DO YOU put a value on that?

I am going to try and attach a few piccies so I hope they work!!

Sabre
07-10-2009, 06:39 AM
Catweb,

Well done...looks the good, and hope it does everything you want. Interesting set up and I'll be keeping it in mind......

Sabre

07-10-2009, 08:12 AM
Yep Well done, just another cost to make fishing easier. Its a one way street I think while the bickies are still about.

Just looking at the pics I was wondering why they couldn't have placed the winch on top of the well with the necessary reinforcing and access to the well sorted?

Catweb
07-10-2009, 12:57 PM
Thanks for the feedback guys.

Yes Jack, I did ask about having it fitted above the well. Aside from the considerable cost there was a bigger issue of the winch ending up far too close to the anchor. The manufacturer recommends a gap of about 800mm if possible. Had I put it above the well the gap would have been more like 300mm.

Might turn the anchor well into some form of dry storage as the next project....