PDA

View Full Version : Tournament style Fishing Boat for moreton bay

mookyandlumpy
16-09-2009, 07:00 PM
hey all ,
looking into upgrading my tinnie,
my 4.2 mr tinnie was my first boat, i have no experience in tournament style fishing boats, so i thougt ill ask in here

i like the look of the nitro 640
http://www.boatsales.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=6747221
but the low sides worry me, and it would seem out of its element
i also like the bluefin sports range, the thundercat8-) especially

im not really after a perticular boat to go and buy but more a recommendation of what style is needed as a minimum for moreton bay

any help would be great :)

thanks mooky

lethal098
16-09-2009, 07:16 PM
mooky, the bay can be extremely unpredictable and i would think on one of those days where it starts great and turns quickly a boat like that would become dangerous very quickly, i would be thinking you would be better lookin at a runabout style, half cab or centre console type boat. But it all comes down to what you will be using it for and how far you will be going. cheers Lee

Midnight
16-09-2009, 09:20 PM
Gday,
What Lee said!

That Nitro is a Broadwater or lake/river boat, not for Moreton Bay unless it is gonna be like it has all this week, glass out and predictable.

Get yourself a Haines V17r or similar( or bigger if the budget allows) and enjoy a nice smooth and safe ride.

The Bay can be a b@stard at times, most summer afternoons in fact!

Cheers,
Myles

Dodgy_Back
16-09-2009, 09:24 PM
Yes the Nitro 640 is quite a small boat. I do know of one bloke that fishes the bay quite often in his 640 , but it is on the small side.

Mick

Coontakinta
17-09-2009, 04:32 PM