View Full Version : Strangest things you've seen at a boat ramp

therapy
15-08-2009, 06:59 PM
Gedday all,
Long name for a thread I know but I thought I would share some picks of something weird I saw the other day at Scarby ramp. They are pretty self explanatory though we speculated for a while about the destination of the tank (Moreton? D bay?). Just wondering what weird and wonderful things you have seen at boat ramps that you wouldn't expect to see.

15-08-2009, 07:10 PM
The strangest thing i've seen at a ramp and i've seen it a few times is people getting ready to head offshore in large quintrex's !!!;) (eg 650 offshores) It just sends a shiver down my( and i'm sure theres) spine!!!:o

15-08-2009, 08:05 PM
I saw a troupe of naked belly dancers on one of my dreams at a ramp sometime last yr......still trying to find that ramp in real life though......

bushweek
15-08-2009, 08:26 PM
mine would have to be a tinnie with 2 small cows loaded in it heading up the logan river.....

15-08-2009, 08:27 PM
I once saw ' no ramp rage ' at peak hour.................... not !

I've seen a brand new Quinnie Spirit land on the concrete.

I've seen a few go A over T on the slippery stuff...... :)

How about the Tilt Tray Truck that launchs a Pro boat at 1770.... !

>

Fishbait
15-08-2009, 08:37 PM
Gedday all,
Long name for a thread I know but I thought I would share some picks of something weird I saw the other day at Scarby ramp. They are pretty self explanatory though we speculated for a while about the destination of the tank (Moreton? D bay?). Just wondering what weird and wonderful things you have seen at boat ramps that you wouldn't expect to see.

Now where would this bloke be going with a TANK? :o Really................ Was it found in Moreton Bay itself or is he stealing it or what? Very interesting alright! Should give it the local paper for a laugh.

therapy
15-08-2009, 08:57 PM
Now where would this bloke be going with a TANK? :o Really................ Was it found in Moreton Bay itself or is he stealing it or what? Very interesting alright! Should give it the local paper for a laugh.

A question I have asked myself a few times since Friday I assure you!!:o When we got back to the ramp he had it strapped up to his cat which was tied off to the pontoon there. While we were waiting to get to the ramp he motored off into the blue yonder, tank bobbing along happily behind.;D Bizarre to say the least! Finding Time, those cat owners are kooky bunch hey...lol
Jack, if you find that ramp please post it here or pm me!!;);)

Cheers....Terry.........

Iceman R
15-08-2009, 10:02 PM
I've heard of getting tanked but thats ridiculous!! ;) maybe that was his' Kill Tank' and he was planning to bag out on a few hundred species...lol

Talk about Strange.. I saw a guy drive up the ramp the otherday and straight into the back of some guys boat trailer.... He had dark glasses on but I didnt see any dog on the passenger seat....lol

Little grey men
15-08-2009, 10:25 PM
This isn't a really weird thing but it did spin me out a little. Myself and a few mates took my young bloke to Clontarf about a week back for a bit of a night fish.
I took Caleb for a walk to the ramp because he wanted to go out onto the pontoon. There was a tiny little tender tied to the end of the pontoon....no worries, as we were walking back a nice new Range Rover was trying to back an itty bitty boat trailer down the ramp. The first attempt jack knifed really bad....and he kept reversing !!! crunch, scrape. The second attempt was better but he drove it straight off the side of the ramp onto the mud....nowhere near the water.
It took me a while to realise that I was staring...I was transfixed. I could hear muffled swear words coming from the car which snapped me out of my daze so I thought we'd better bug out, and go back to catching little bream.
I'd say the poor bugger had waited til everyone else had gone home before attempting to retrieve his boat. He must have been cranky as hell seeing me staring in awe.
Have you ever had your body telling you to walk away but your brain saying...Nah, lets hang around and see how this ends up. ?

beaross
15-08-2009, 10:41 PM

I know there are some big fish out there, but isn't your run-of-the-mill party balloon enough for a floater?? jeezzzz...:D

Bladeca
15-08-2009, 11:13 PM
A tilt tray dropping off a homemade houseboat/floating shed. Might have originally been easy to just winch it straight onto the tray at the house but trying to get it off into the water was a different story :o .

BR65
16-08-2009, 07:28 AM
Not at a ramp, but at the Abel Point Marina at Airlie, a bloke wearing only a fluro orange G string cruising past me in his big gin palace boat, that image is still seared to the inside of my eyelids!

16-08-2009, 07:43 AM
Not at a ramp, but at the Abel Point Marina at Airlie, a bloke wearing only a fluro orange G string cruising past me in his big gin palace boat, that image is still seared to the inside of my eyelids!

you could have looked away..hehe

ShaneC
16-08-2009, 08:45 AM
Saw a car with a trailer reversed still running on the ramp with nobody to be seen. Guy had backed boat off trailer and left the car there!! Wallet, phone, everything still in car. Drove it to the carpark and left him a note with my moby so he could retrieve his keys. Was pretty funny, and I scored a carton yeeaaahhhh!!!

Wahoo
16-08-2009, 09:49 AM
one of the two hull boats for the waters we have up here..........

Mark-P
16-08-2009, 09:59 AM
Hows this !

Mrs Ronnie H
16-08-2009, 12:02 PM

Maybe it is part of a new artificial reef being set up by Anna sly and her buddies

Ronnie

16-08-2009, 12:03 PM
one of the two hull boats for the waters we have up here..........

Try reading this thread mate, and read it slowly so you understand!;)

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?t=153533

honda900
16-08-2009, 12:25 PM
A week ago Manly ramp 2 young blokes putting there tinny in the water, at low tide the ramp is very shallow, so ol mate backs his ute down till water is way up over the rear wheels of the car, water lapping at the door. me and adam_g had a laugh then went round to the other ramp.

Different day same place, we are returning, dropped off G to get the car and trailer, watching a bloke at the top of the ramp, was obvious from the 4 attempts at reversing , advise from the wife and his mate that he was new to boating. At the top of the ramp he kicks the 2 stroke over fires it up while his mate is trying to reverse. I was thinking surely he will turn if off now, nup, lets it run the whole time on the ramp while backing it down. finally they get it to the water and he lowers the skeg, to get a bit of coolant in the engine. :o

Well I thought that would be the end of it till I realised his trailer was in the water to just over the bottom of the tire, with a glass boat ol mate lowers the engine as his mate literally dumps the boat off the trailer onto the skeg, the boat is sitting at about a 60 degree angle, so he jumps on the trim control, well the noise it made.. as it was grinding away some of the skeg on the concrete.

HOnda

Fishbait
16-08-2009, 08:14 PM
Something similar to Honda900, I saw a bloke about 2 weeks ago - must have undid his winch strap and chain before launching, whilst reversing down the ramp, the whole fibreglass boat just slides off the trailer as he reverses and is sitting high and dry on the concrete ramp. Ouch!!!!!!!

BR65
16-08-2009, 08:50 PM
you could have looked away..hehe

True!
It was like a car crash, you know you shouldnt look, but you cant help it :'(

thephotoguru
16-08-2009, 09:03 PM
About a month ago I was down at Althus creek for a fish, was at the bluewater side boat ramp. There were a couplle of people fishing and on the oter side of the creek at the othe boat ramp there is a guy trying to reverse down the ramp.

After about 6 attempt he lest his mat out to giude him doen the ramp. the biggest problem was that he was going do way too fast and almost jacknifing the thing every time.

One time he actually knocked his mate over with the boat, eventually getting the boat on the water they load the boat up with all the gear they need. His mate is already in the boat when he jums in and starts the motor, put it in gear to presumeably reverse out into the creek, he bives it a good fist full of throttle but it was in forward and ends up launching the boat up the boat ramp.

By this stage anyone that was fishing was laughing uncontrollably and even the mullet I was trying to catch i the cat net were having a giggle.

I actually felt sorry for the guy as there were about 10 people openly laughiing at this guy.

Who need the movies when there is a boat ramp near by.

Cheer Eamon

Ocean_Spirit
16-08-2009, 09:27 PM
I saw a couple of guys the other week drive their boat onto the wrong trailer!

The bloke in the car was pretty happy with the rig he ended up with on his trailer though!

upstart
16-08-2009, 09:29 PM
I've often seen people dragging tanks over to Cape Upstart from Molongle Ck to their holiday homes. Also seen whole trailers being towed over. The tyres keep them afloat and all you can see is the winch post sticking out of the water. Makes for a slow old trip!!

rumy1
16-08-2009, 09:51 PM
I thinks it's not a poly tank but in fact a new poly boat which is going in direct competition against PolyCraft.

Iceman R
17-08-2009, 12:03 AM
Ocean Spirit... what Ramp was that? I might back the trailer down and see if I cant pick me a 685 cruise craft or 7m plate ally...;)

rat_catcher
17-08-2009, 05:02 AM
I hope that tank doesn't fill up with water half way over....it would be the biggest bl**dy sea anchor I have ever seen!

As for funnys as the boat ramp, the best one I saw was the guy that tied his boat to the pier bow out after launching so he could go park his car and then when he came back he gave her her a heap of throttle but forgot to lower his leg. The prop was half in the water and half out and everybody standing on the pier got a good drenching...the guy didn't even realise what he had done. He just went on his merry way and as he got a bit further out he lowered the leg.

It was definitely a classic seeing the looks on the faces of the people that got an impromptu shower. ;D

CHEE-FEE
17-08-2009, 01:32 PM
Ramps should be declared a "###### Free Zone". I love the ones that go out and buy the big huge boat with the 4WD and have absolutely no idea how to back the thing down the ramp, let alone the ettiquette required to do so and not cause World War 3. Nobody is forgiving at fishing time!!!

NICK.

goat boy
17-08-2009, 03:07 PM
I saw a bloke reverse straight down the middle of a 2 lane ramp. Slides his boat in, drags it off to a sandy bit. He returned to the car not to move it, but to lock the door, he then hopped in his boat and took off, car and trailer still on the ramp!!!! (there was another 2 boats tied up at the pontoon waiting to use the ramp).
With everyone wondering what the hell was going on the other 2 boats took off (in disgust I presume, and rightly so). Old matey returned about 15 minutes later, drives boat straight on trailer and off he goes. Some people.....

Skusto
17-08-2009, 06:08 PM
I saw a bloke reverse straight down the middle of a 2 lane ramp. Slides his boat in, drags it off to a sandy bit. He returned to the car not to move it, but to lock the door, he then hopped in his boat and took off, car and trailer still on the ramp!!!! (there was another 2 boats tied up at the pontoon waiting to use the ramp).
With everyone wondering what the hell was going on the other 2 boats took off (in disgust I presume, and rightly so). Old matey returned about 15 minutes later, drives boat straight on trailer and off he goes. Some people.....

if that happend to me i would of let the pricks tyres down all 6 of em!!

marty+jojo
17-08-2009, 07:45 PM

I have had a similar experience at Pinkenba boat ramp, with a W*anker on a jet ski, he was testing a ski and left his car and trailer on the ramp, with his door wide open. I was very tempted to let his handbrake off.
Marty.

seajay535
17-08-2009, 11:04 PM
Old mate could live at newport and instead of getting tank craned over house as they don't seem to have much room there. Decided to float the tank around and drag it up the back way.

welder
18-08-2009, 03:58 AM
Strangest thing I have seen at a Launch ramp ? That's a easy one................

Someone that can actually LAUNCH or LOAD their boat in a very short amount of time and get the heck out of the way !

18-08-2009, 06:52 AM
Strangest thing I have seen at a Launch ramp ? That's a easy one................

Someone that can actually LAUNCH or LOAD their boat in a very short amount of time and get the heck out of the way !
Oh, good.
The problem is not localised to Australia then. :'(

welder
18-08-2009, 03:14 PM
Oh, good.
The problem is not localised to Australia then. :'(

Oh no, it's a world wide thing . I watched it again this last weekend , he backed onto the MIDDLE of the ramp and proceeded to load all their crap, the dogs, the kids , waited for his buddy and wife ,loaded their crap and then had to discuss where to park the truck and trailer, 20 min. later he launched the boat .

I was loading the gun in my mind. >:(

Iceman R
18-08-2009, 03:46 PM
Oh no, it's a world wide thing . I watched it again this last weekend , he backed onto the MIDDLE of the ramp and proceeded to load all their crap, the dogs, the kids , waited for his buddy and wife ,loaded their crap and then had to discuss where to park the truck and trailer, 20 min. later he launched the boat .

I was loading the gun in my mind. >:(

lol I dont care who you are...Now thats funny!!!:D well not at the time for you obviously mate but I can appreciate what you're saying! I thought it was just me who thought like that....:P

tsea
18-08-2009, 08:39 PM
Up at the casino ramp at Broadbeach a while back and saw a new cruisecraft resort get backed down and the trailer get sunk. Guy starts motor and mate undoes trailer coupling and boat and trailer reverse away!
Could not believe what i was seeing until i noticed all the ratchet straps wrapping the trailer to the boat.
Turns out the owner was driving his trailer around the corner to his canal front boat ramp that had no road access.

TC

18-08-2009, 09:34 PM

I woulda dragged his CAR AND TRAILER into the middle of the road!

Jackinthebox
19-08-2009, 02:04 AM
I have had a similar experience at Pinkenba boat ramp, with a W*anker on a jet ski, he was testing a ski and left his car and trailer on the ramp, with his door wide open. I was very tempted to let his handbrake off.
Marty.

Yeah, I've had this happen to me twice. Car locked up with trailer in water and nobody to be seen. Both jetski trailers.

One of them came back and he was the owner/manager/mechanic/tester? of a well known jet ski dealer here on the Gold Coast.

He then told me to get out of the way cause my boat was tied up to the pontoon about 10 feet out from his trailer and he reckoned he couldn't maneuvre into the trailer with my boat there. I told him "funny that, I couldn't maneuvre out of the water with your bloody car there!"

After a nice exchange of words, he jumped in the car whilst mumbling something about bloody fishos not having a clue and screamed out of there. If these are the guys that are selling them, now you know where they all get it from!

19-08-2009, 06:52 AM
Down Evans one day there were 2 jetski guys parked across the ramp. Yep, across it.
It's a 5 bay ramp so no worries but they were sitting on the last bit.
Thye moved pretty quickly when I started backing the trailer down...and not stopping.
Some words exchanged and I kept backing.
People my age can be hard of hearing...and blind when they want 8-)

And then there was the day the guy with the hovercraft came into the ramp....and kept going up the ramp, through the carpark onto his trailer.
How good is that I thought :D

jeffrey_h
19-08-2009, 10:02 AM
Just saw the same thing on Sunday Finga.

A large rubber duck pulls up to the ramp at Manly Habour, Brisbane, lowers the back wheels and the one at the bow. Starts a motor and drives up the ramp and round to his car and trailer in the carpark. Steered with the same steering wheel that turned the motor and front wheel. Had hyd. power to 1 of the back wheels

Jeffrey

Si
10-11-2012, 04:18 PM
while not too strange i have seen nudist skippers and partners a few times around the goldy. saw santa with a big sack cruising around once too.

wayno60
10-11-2012, 05:24 PM
so your the one following me around......

ranga7
12-11-2012, 06:49 AM
Strangest or funniest thing I've seen was something i did. I hadn't been out for ages and was pretty excited, i backed the boat down, jumped in and drove it off over to the pontoon, grabbed me mate and headed off. Next thing he was pissing himself laughing, i looked over and heres my navara and trailer still on the ramp. Was very funny. Tried to get out of it by saying i thought id leave her there it would make things easier and quicker when we get back.

fat-buoy
12-11-2012, 09:44 AM
I have told this story before but it is too funny not to tell again... I was fishing at Dohles Rocks a number of years ago.. the rocks are pretty much out from the ramp 50m so I was watching the comings and goings all morning.. the ramp was very shallow and ran a long way out until it was deep enough to launch but this guy with a tinny must have thought that once the trailer wheels were touching the water he was right to launch... so he undoes his tie downs and gives the tinny an almighty push from the front.... it came off the trailer allright, right up until it got to the back of the trailer and basically upended itself so the front was sticking straight up in the air... if that wasn't comical enough (for an onlooker but not for him) the whole boat did a barrel role off the trailer and landed upside down beside the trailer in 2 inches of water..... if I wasn't on a hot bite I would have gone to help but as it was ... well you know ......

MTAQ/BTAQ
12-11-2012, 12:59 PM
I was at the Scarborough Boat Ramp pontoon and saw this BIG boat come in, it was about 15 meters, there were 2 people standing on the pontoon and this boat reversed up to be centimeters from the pontoon - there was a husband and wife standing at the back of the boat - I was amazed how close it got without touching - I said that they must have a very competent and experienced skipper - the wife just pointed at her husband and he had a little hand held remote control which was controlling the whole operation. The 2 just stepped onto the boat and they were gone - the wonders of modern technology!

justlovefishing
13-11-2012, 06:12 AM
watched a brand new falcon ute with tail gate down back in to the water at rossyln bay ramp deep enough to alow his mate to drive the jet ski on to the back. then just shut tail gate and let half of the sea run out of the ute going back up the ramp. Wouldnt like to be the poor person who brought that ute in 18 months time

Drifty75
13-11-2012, 11:27 AM
I've forgotten to undo my strap once.. PUSH PUSH PUSH.. OH CRAP!! Lucky nobody was there to see. lol

At Clontarf I watched a guy with a zodiac n 30hp yammy back down the boat ramp until the back of the boat was in line with the edge of the water. Get out, walk around and half push it off then realize it was going to hit the cement so backed a little further.. pushed it off, outboard was down, landed on that and stopped.. Drove forward and it fell on the ground. Lifted motor up and dragged into water properly.

And the whole boat would have only been 12' tops.

13-11-2012, 11:59 AM
My local ramp at low tide is a bit like an ice rink, the slime is just so slippery, any time I am there and see someone launching or retrieving I try to warn them, some listen, some don't, lost count of the amount of cars that have gone into the drink when the rear wheels just skidded without getting grip when the owner was trying to push the boat off, and the amount of people who have gone tits up walking down to the boat, I do my best to tell them, but some just give you the "look" and continue on, only to end up on their bum a second later. Only a week ago there was a guy in a big cruiser looking boat parked on the ramp getting all his rods and reels ready, and he hadn't even started on the lights and tie downs, I left before it got ugly as there was a few boats just arrived to use the ramp.

13-11-2012, 12:51 PM
TOL........