View Full Version : QLD Towing Laws

rat_catcher
08-08-2009, 05:47 AM
I have a general understanding of towing laws in QLD in relation to max weight of 3,500kg and max width of 2.5m, but I am trying to find the actual legislation someplace that describes in details the rules and regulations I need to comply with when I go over these limits.

I have searched online looking at QLD Transport and MSQ, as well as general search engine searches, but cannot find anything. I have heard different things about flashing lights, flags, signs, limits on time of day, limits on routes etc. but need to know the actual law.

I am looking at bringing a boat back from the US that is wider than 2.5m and weighs more than 3,500kg on trailer.

Can somebody point me in the right direction?

datamile
08-08-2009, 06:23 AM
Maybe one of these ?

http://www.transport.qld.gov.au/Home/Industry/Freight_and_heavy_vehicles/Heavy_vehicles/Guidelines_and_regulations/

08-08-2009, 07:41 AM
I don't think the weight is a problem as such but the width is.
Might just need some flags and flashy beacon as well as restrictions on towing times ie sunrise-sunset.

08-08-2009, 08:01 AM
Rat, I am fairly certain that once the boats beam is over 2.5mts you need a truck to pull it among the other things. Its the reason I didnt go ahead with a GlacierBay. I was really keen for the 2270 but I also need a 4x4. So buying a GB a 4x4 for camping and towing my other boat and a light truck was out of reach. Theres no way im payingall that rego every year.

marty666
08-08-2009, 08:04 AM
it will be in the transport act download it from the transport web site but is a lot of reading to find it.

ped cairns
08-08-2009, 08:21 AM
go back to qld transport site and type in top right hand side in search box, towing oversize trailer, towing trailers, try some different descriptions then read and get some of that in your head and ring them up monday after 830am i did yesterday and got through within 2 minutes and guy was very helpful about putting longer tray on ute.
from what i can work out it sounds like if you want to do it legal may be expensive a add time and hassels to a day out fishing.

all the best

Ped

walruss
08-08-2009, 04:19 PM
Well Rat catcher, i think I have found what you need. Its contained within the Transport Operations (Road Use Management—Mass,
Dimensions and Loading) Regulation 2005 and located at

http://www.legislation.qld.gov.au/LEGISLTN/SLS/2005/05SL188.pdf

and can be found at Pg 53 under the heading "Schedule 8 Statutory conditions on
guidelines and permits for oversize vehicles."

Essentially is says you must apply for a permit, and gives the fees a bit further down, however it also says that a permit may not be required depending on circumstance. As said you will still have to ring Qld Transport to find the correct dept to apply to.

Russ

MickInTheMud
08-08-2009, 08:06 PM
This is the form that explains it all you just have to find it on the Qld transport web site. ( I have it on my desktop but I can't remember how I found it)

Pdf_hvg_f4_guideline_excess_dimension_vehicles_f4_ v2.3[1]

Also of use is

escortMatrix[1]

Find these and you have your answer.

Cheers Mick

rat_catcher
09-08-2009, 06:04 AM
Thanks guys. Lots more searching and reading to do. I wonder why they don't make it easier to find the laws!!!! >:(

rat_catcher
09-08-2009, 06:10 AM
Pdf_hvg_f4_guideline_excess_dimension_vehicles_f4_ v2.3
Thanks Mick. I found this one;

http://www.transport.qld.gov.au/resources/file/eb74e607dd686e6/Pdf_hvg_f4_guideline_excess_dimension_vehicles_f4_ v2.3.pdf

I need to find the other now.

wrxhoon
09-08-2009, 11:34 PM
Not sure of the regs in QLD for oversize loads but anything over 2.5 mt will need a permit and that restricts your movements, time day etc..
I know that under ADR you will not be able to import and register a trailer wider than 2.5 mt regardless of state ( trailer , not load, load can be wider).
You have to make sure the trailer is only 2.5 wide and the GVM under 4.5 t, you can import and register over 4.5 GVM but it is a pain in the ass.
Keep in mind a lot of large boat trailers in USA are 102" ( 2.59 mt), you need the trailer to be 98". The other thing the lights and wiring don't comply with ADR ( easy/cheap fix), coupling, safety chains and more than likely the brakes won't comply either, this will be very expensive to make them comply with ADR.
If you want to know more about importing pm . but in any case don't import a trailer without a permit, she will have to go back .

bennyboy
10-08-2009, 08:39 AM
Just finished the QLD dept of Transport HVRAS training with them (heavy vehicle registration assessment scheme) which lets me register trailers over 750kg. QLD transport no longer want their staff measuring up trailers. Your trailer will need to be 2.5m spot on, or under. If it is wider there are no permits, no special permission. You can not get it registered. You would not want the boat on the trailer when you get it registered. Once the boat is on the trailer if it is over 2.5m wide there is no special permits, no wide load allowances or allowances to travel at special times. Plain and simply for boats your load is ilegial. Yes there is allowances for heavy machinery and other over size loads but there is no allowances for boats on a privatley registered trailer.
If you tow it to the boat ramp you can be fined (massive fines) and there is no insurance.
My advice would be to put the boat on a hard stand or pay to store it on the trailer at a trailer boat club.

Wahoo
10-08-2009, 08:45 AM
Hi B/B, has this just come in??

I ask this as a mate not long ago took his boat and tri axle trailer (3m wide ) to the DOT and got it all registered, so this means the DOT is Liable if something went wrong??

larfin
10-08-2009, 09:19 AM
I think some of the trailcrafts are wider than 2.5 and there are plenty of them on the road.
greg

bennyboy
10-08-2009, 11:42 AM
Yes there are plenty on the road, are they legal? No.
Previous to now I could complete a rego firm with whatever info I wanted and nothing was checked. Now I have to put my drivers licence number against my measurments and can be fined if they are incorect.
I have handbooks that state a trailer over 2.5m wide can not be registered.

Kleyny
10-08-2009, 12:40 PM
Thanks Mick. I found this one;

http://www.transport.qld.gov.au/resources/file/eb74e607dd686e6/Pdf_hvg_f4_guideline_excess_dimension_vehicles_f4_ v2.3.pdf

I need to find the other now.

This guidline is only for heavy vehicles (over 4.5t).

You need to get a police permit to tow anything over 2.5m wide with a vehicle under 4.5 tonne.

Hi B/B, has this just come in??

I ask this as a mate not long ago took his boat and tri axle trailer (3m wide ) to the DOT and got it all registered, so this means the DOT is Liable if something went wrong??

Is the trailer over 2.5m or just the boat?
They only measure the trailer not the boat on top of it.

neil

Kleyny
10-08-2009, 12:41 PM
oh i forgot to say the police permit is a yearly thing.

neil

wrxhoon
10-08-2009, 09:20 PM
Your trailer will need to be 2.5m spot on, or under. If it is wider there are no permits, no special permission. You can not get it registered.

This is Australia wide not just QLD, however you can get a permit for a wider load in VIC and NSW but they are restrictive, much more in NSW than VIC.

wrxhoon
10-08-2009, 09:34 PM
I think some of the trailcrafts are wider than 2.5 and there are plenty of them on the road.
greg

There plenty of boats on the road wider than 2.5 mts ( mostly USA built ) but they are not legal, not insured , the owners think they are insured because they pay the premium but they are NOT .

A dealer in Sydney sells contender boats , the 23' open has 8'3" beam and he claims thats 2.5 mt = legal width. This is not legal as it is 2.5146 mt , just 14.6 mm wider , if you get cought towing it you get a big fine just fo 14 mm .

This is the main reason I brought a Trophy from US, she is just under 2.5 at 8'1".

chopper3
10-08-2009, 11:59 PM
Hi this is my first post been reading forums heaps finally got game.
I have just imported a boat that is 2.7m wide and 8.3m long and will be putting it on a trailer. My understanding of the rules in QLD are that the boat trailer should not be wider than 2.5m as far as the boat goes I think the rules are, over that width u need to display a wide load sign and possibly a flashing light. Once you get over 3.2m you need escorts and are restricted to daylight hours. As for the weight that is determined buy the towing capacity of the vehicle, most of the new 4x4 have a towing capacity of 3500kg but you will need to check what your vehicle states. If it is heavier than that you may have to look at F250 or F 350 or small commercial truck. If you have an older vehicle that has no towing capacity label I think the rules state that you are able to tow 1.5 times the GMV of the vehicle as long as the trailer axels have brakes fitted. You can buy boat trailers with a GMV of 4500 kg this trailer are capable of carrying more, but the brakes are the limiting factor they will not guarantee them over this weight so the trailer manufactures rate them to 4500kg to be able to register them. If you have a look around you will see heaps of 8m+ boats getting around on trailers and at that length they will not be under 2.5m wide.

11-08-2009, 12:28 AM
Gents,

I read up on this a while back and spoke to a TPT Inspector that pulled me up to check my trailer. His words went something like:

"If I inspect your trailer and the trailer or boat is over 2.5m you will get a fine. Period!"

It's bloody stupid but you could be towing an ally trailer with a boat thats 2.51m wide made of Balsa wood that weighs just 100kg and you will need a 4.5t truck to tow it with.

Talking with the young bloke at Springwood recently and he said that he has had to ratchet 2400KC's square on the trailer because the overall width made it above 2.5m wide so he had to square the boat up before the TPT guys would let him go.

These rules are bloody stupid as is the TPT Dept. If they werent in place I'd probably have a Glacierbay 2270 Cuddy in my Driveway right now. But at 2.57m it is not worth my time.

rat_catcher
11-08-2009, 02:54 AM
This is why I am so confused!!!! :'(

I have heard stories stating over 2.5m for either the boat or trailer is a complete no-go and I have also heard stories that if the trailer is 2.5m wide the boat can be wider. I have also heard stories that if your boat and trailer are wider than 2.5m you can tow it with flags, signs and flashing lights.

I also don't understand how the towing vehicle being legal for 4,500kg vs 3,500kg makes a difference. If the BMT weighs less than 3,500kg, but is wider than 2.5m why do I need a vehicle capable of towing 4,500kg???

The biggest problem is finding the actual legislation or a document on a QLD Govt website someplace that says exactly what is correct.

If I do this it needs to be legal and insurable or it isn't worth the effort.

Confused!!!!!!!

11-08-2009, 06:03 AM
Ring Queensland Transport. Wait 1 hour. Get an answer.

Do the above four more times.

Average the result. That should approximate the regs...

But seriously, I went through the same exercise a couple of years ago, and it's one of the reasons I ended up buying Australian - I just couldn't find them!

Wahoo
11-08-2009, 06:27 AM
Is the trailer over 2.5m or just the boat?
They only measure the trailer not the boat on top of it.

neil

Hi Neil, the trailer is over 2.5m wide, after spending 2 hrs at the DOT, measure this an measure that and checking all the breaking system, this would make the DOT Liable if anything did go wrong as they gave the ok to get the trailer regestered, he does have flags and flashing light, Bennyboy post said this is not allowed, (not saying your wrong B/B) but yet the DOT passed this, Trailer is also ins, so who will go after who if something did happen? to me it will come back to the DOT

11-08-2009, 07:10 AM
I reckon you'd better ring someone like the coppers or transport to get a clear ruling.
Pretty clear max load width is 2.5m in QLD without permits or the like.
I know a lot of machinery operators (dozers, excavators and the like) have permits but are these available for loads not towed by commercial vehicles??
http://www.transport.qld.gov.au/resources/file/ebe7dd41d046fb0/Pdf_projecting_loads_brochure.pdf

BM
11-08-2009, 07:51 AM
In Vic, Vicroads has a department called "mass and dimensions". These are the people you need to speak to about the legislation and the overdimensional permit requirements.

No doubt there is an equivalent department within Queensland Transport who will have the right answers for you and the legislation links also.

On page one someone posted a link to the relevant regs didn't they? I haven't looked at it but I read the post.

BM
11-08-2009, 08:14 AM
From the link provided by Walruss, Transport Ops Road use Management (Mass, Dimensions and Loading) Regulation 2005

Section 25 - Width, states that a vehicle must not be driven that is over 2.5m wide. Note here: vehicle. Trailer is a vehicle, the boat is not.

Section 34b - Limits on projections of loads, states that a load must not project more than 150mm either side of the trailer. Presumably this would require the trailer to be less than 2.5 to allow the 300 overhang although there must be a permit provision somewhere for overwidth boats.

The only reference I can find to an "indivisble load" (ie; boat on a trailer cannot be easily divided into smaller portions to transport) relates to weights over 129 ton.

From what I can see here this regulation seems to be mainly related to trailers over 4.5ton. All up to 4.5ton are regarded as Light Trailers and will be covered in another regulation but will probably reference this regulation as being "the" regulation.

rat_catcher
11-08-2009, 08:26 AM
Section 25 - Width, states that a vehivcle must no tbe driven that is over 2.5m wide. Note here: vehicle. Trailer is a vehicle, the boat is not.

Section 34b - Limits on projections of loads, states that a load must not project more than 150mm either side of the trailer.

So from this I read it that the trailer cannot be any wider than 2.5m but the boat could be up to 2.8m in beam??

rat_catcher
11-08-2009, 08:27 AM
Ring Queensland Transport. Wait 1 hour. Get an answer.

Do the above four more times.

Average the result. That should approximate the regs...
That is exactly why I want to see it with my own eyes in writing!

bennyboy
11-08-2009, 08:34 AM
When I did the training with the Department of Transport QLD the training lady was in charge of training for the state. Getting the staff up to date was her responsability. She said they are in the process of training the whole state and only a small fraction of staff at Dept of Transport officers were currently trained and actually knew what they were doing in regards to trailers. This will change but will take a while. The lady gave us numerious examples of trailers getting approved when they were not legal. In the near future you will not be able to get your trailer inspectored at a metropolitan Dept of Transport centre, you will have to come to someone like myself. They do not want their staff walking around car parks and potentially getting run over.
At the end of the day ignorance is no excuse when you get pulled over by the inspectors in their utes. They will sting you for whatever they can.
If you want a boat over 2.5m wide for god sakes don't crash it on the road because some of the dept of transport staff don't know what they will be doing but I can gurantee you the insurance assessor will!

BM
11-08-2009, 08:40 AM
I'd say listen to Bennyboy if he has just recently completed a course in the relevant area.

This would make Qld possibly the odd man out BB as overwidth permits are attainable in all other states as far as I am aware.

rat_catcher
11-08-2009, 08:43 AM
I'd say listen to Bennyboy if he has just recently completed a course in the relevant area.
Agreed but I still want to see it in writing for my own benefit. I have been reading all of the relevant documentation but it is confusing as there are many different categories this could fall under, as well as definitions of the vehicle being the trailer only vs the load being the boat.

Also as it pertains to 'heavy' loads over 4,500kg vs normal loads.

My head is spinning!

BM
11-08-2009, 08:50 AM
Haha, you blokes need to move to Melb. Up to 3.5m wide there is not even a permit required in most areas. Mountainous areas require a permit but general roads about the state are permit free. You are only required to carry a copy of the gazette "Oversize Load Carrying Vehicles Oct 2007".

rat_catcher
11-08-2009, 08:50 AM
So from this I read it that the trailer cannot be any wider than 2.5m but the boat could be up to 2.8m in beam??

I have re-read this document again and what I stated above is incorrect;

http://www.transport.qld.gov.au/resources/file/ebe7dd41d046fb0/Pdf_projecting_loads_brochure.pdf

A load cannot project more than 150mm either side of the trailer and the max width of the trailer is 2.5m, but it also states that the max width of the load is 2.5m too.

So this 150mm overhang is applicable for trailers less than 2.5m, but still only allows the max width of the trailer and load to be up to 2.5m in width.

rat_catcher
11-08-2009, 08:53 AM
A load cannot project more than 150mm either side of the trailer and the max width of the trailer is 2.5m, but it also states that the max width of the load is 2.5m too.
Aha, EXCEPT if the load is indivisable. i.e. it cannot be broken down.

"If the load you are carrying is a single object that cannot be broken down into smaller pieces (known as an "indivisible" object) and the total dimensions exceed the legal limits, the vehicle may be able to operate under Queensland Transport's Performance Guidelines for Excess Dimension Vehicles Carrying Indivisible Articles. If the loaded vehicle or combination exceeds the limits in these performance guidelines, you may need a police permit and/or a pilot escort."

Now I need to read "Performance Guidelines for Excess Dimension Vehicles Carrying Indivisible Articles" to find what it states.

rat_catcher
11-08-2009, 08:56 AM
Now I need to read "Performance Guidelines for Excess Dimension Vehicles Carrying Indivisible Articles" to find what it states.
So I am back to what Mick stated in Post #8. Damn I have to re-read THAT document again!

BM
11-08-2009, 09:03 AM
Form 4 of the performance guidelines is the one you need. Google "Queensland Transport Performance Guidelines Form 4" and you will find it half way down the page of the first google result you click on. Only problem is it relates to trucks, semi trailers, mobile cranes etc etc!!!! No mention of cars towimg trailers...

rat_catcher
11-08-2009, 09:14 AM
OK my quest is over.......:'(

I found some restrictions in the document that blow me out of the water.....

-------------------------------------------------------------------
An oversize vehicle or combination, that is wider than 2.5m, must be accompanied by at least 1 escort vehicle in accordance with the conditions specified in the Performance Guidelines for Pilot and Escort Vehicles and Drivers (Form 7) when travelling on the following sections of road:

- Emu Park Rd (Yeppoon) between Lammermor Rd to Statute Bay (5.9km from Yeppoon)

- Emu Park Rd (Yeppoon) between Kemp Beach to Mulambin Beach (8.7km from Yeppoon)
------------------------------------------------------------------

Basically means there is no way to launch the boat at Rosslyn Bay without having an escort vehicle accompany me for the last little run to the harbor. These restrictions are either side of Rosslyn Bay and would stop an approach from Yeppoon or from Emu Park.

I also learned there are restrictions for Christmas, New Years and Easter that mean the oversized load cannot be trailered for a period covering all of these holidays, not even with an escort vehicle.

There are numerous other restrictions relating to flags, signs, flashing lights, fog, etc. that need to be complied with as well as other regional geographic restrictions that become tighter the closer one travels to the QLD SEQ.

Looks like this whole thing is NOT going to happen now!

Damn and the prices on boats over here in the US are insanely low right now! I need to go have a cry...........

bennyboy
11-08-2009, 10:13 AM
The scarry thing is how many Australian made boats are out there and being sold that don't even meet the local requirements

rat_catcher
11-08-2009, 10:18 AM
Looks like this whole thing is NOT going to happen now!

Damn and the prices on boats over here in the US are insanely low right now! I need to go have a cry...........
So I told the wife the bad news and her response was, "well let's get one that stays in the water then!" ;D

rat_catcher
11-08-2009, 10:19 AM
So I told the wife the bad news and her response was, "well let's get one that stays in the water then!" ;D
Frees up the money needed for the new 4,500kg tow vehicle too!

11-08-2009, 10:59 AM

not sure of the marina costs up there but i sold my "in water" boat for the costs purposes...boat at marina + anti foul + maintenance + a few other things = $150 per week before I even started the motors.
It was fun for the time I had it but am happier now with the smaller trailerable boat.

gofishin
11-08-2009, 01:00 PM
Rat-catcher,
Go down to the newso & get a copy of ‘Trailers & Towing’ (I think it is called), a publication by SeaMedia (i.e. F&B/Peter Webster). If not available, I am sure you can order one from their website. Over the past 5+ years they have been towing several big boats all over Oz, and very publically too. They have also produced many articles over the years (in F&B) however this recent publication would summarise/state all current legal requirements. Importantly, I am sure PW would be sure he has the ‘right’ info before he publicises it. As others have stated, depending on who you talk to at QLD TPT the regs seem to change on a daily bases as I found out last year.

I may stand corrected, however I believe the max permissible boat trailer width (without the boat/load on it) is 2.4m (or it used to be - unless regs have changed in the last 6 yrs). Max width of a trailered boat is 2.5m before restrictions are imposed. Beyond this width several restrictions come in to play. Then again, I haven’t read this current publication!

Wahoo
11-08-2009, 01:46 PM
[QUOTE=bennyboy;1057565]

At the end of the day ignorance is no excuse

well that should apply for the DOT also

Kleyny
11-08-2009, 04:50 PM
http://www.transport.qld.gov.au/Home/About_us/How_to_contact_us/By_email/

Why dont you get it straight from the horses mouth.

Because the response will be in writing they will get it right.

As i said you can do it you just need to get a police permit.

I looked into it for a mate that was going to do something similar to what you are thinking.

neil

Getout
11-08-2009, 06:03 PM
In Queensland, max width for any registered vehicle is 2.5m.... FULLSTOP!

You are permitted to carry loads in excess of the max legal trailering width (2.5m), on a legally registered vehicle (as per the Performance Guidelines for excess dimensional vehicles) These guidelines specify: headlights on, oversize signs, flags at the max width point, flashing light visible front and rear, max speed limitations, holiday limitations and some no-go roadways. The funny thing is that with an oversize boat, the flags stick out wider than the bit that is excess- dimensional.
It is possible (with some hassles) to tow an oversize (up to 3.5m) boat without a special permit, as per the rules above. The law specifies that if you can feasibly carry the load in a broken-down format or in another position to fit inside the max width, then you are in breach if you don't.
You would have to be very lucky to get a blanket permit that grants exemption.

The coppers don't want to know about it. They send you on the merry go-round to QLD Transport if you ask them.

There has been a move to standardize Aust max towing width at 2.6m. It seems to have fizzled.

Kleyny
11-08-2009, 06:24 PM
OK

I will say it one more time::) that guideline that you are all referring to is for vehicles over 4.5 tonne.

If you read the guideline pay particular attention tot 4 and 4.1 it gives you the vehicles that the guideline exempts from the mass dimension and loading regulation.

Any other vehicles must comply with another guideline, or the regulation.
The only other way to drive it legally down the road is police permit, as this will also exempt you from the regulation.

ALL of QLD Transport guidelines are for vehicle over 4.5 tonne (trucks)

neil

BM
11-08-2009, 06:31 PM
Pretty poor that its not a clearcut thing for you northern types. As I mentioned earlier, in Vic its up to 3.5m with no permit required (you need your flags, oversize signs and flashing lights etc). Very few restrictions and only some areas that require a permit, easily viewable on the easily downloaded Vicroads document.

It will be good to see a clear cut answer come about for Qld. I suspect now that it resides in a police permit. I wonder if they do an annual permit or if its a "special trip only" type of permit?

Hmm, this is from the QLD Police website and refers you back to the Q Tpt Performance Guidelines Form 4 that I referenced earlier.....

BM
11-08-2009, 06:40 PM
OK, this appears to be what we are looking for. It references single use permits and period permits (up to 12 months). Honky Dory is on the money. Bennyboy, you might need to ring the trainer that trained you guys and assist them with the error of their ways!!!

http://www.police.qld.gov.au/rti/published/policies/traffic-manual/10/Ch_10.htm

BigE
11-08-2009, 07:08 PM
and i thought going fishing was suppost to be relaxing

hercules
11-08-2009, 07:39 PM
I went to the transport department a couple of months back because of conflicting info . No one there new a thing so they put me through on the phone to a guy that did .
He said that unless you have a truck over 4.5 t gvm you can't do it . I questioned him again and asked if there was a way around it and got a no.
I told him i tow 4 tonne regularly with my chev and why do i need a truck to tow something a few mm wider and lighter than what i tow? He said it was probably because they are used to towing wide loads ::) .Garbage is what i was thinking .
He also said he had fined quite a few as well as some dealers that sell over width boats and try towing them .
good luck in finding a way around but from his info you need a truck . A stupid law from what i can gather but it is enforced .
Can't see how safer it would be towing it with a small truck , it doesn't make you a better driver . It should be skill based . My chev is only rated to 4.2 yet can tow 4.5t but not a mm over 2.5m::)

I hate stupid laws!

Mister
11-08-2009, 08:23 PM
Hey rat_catcher old mate, old buddy, old friend, bloody hell keep ya blood pressure down mate, some of the rubbish (err advice) you have here is not worth the heart attack.

phew what a &%$#@*&^% mess

SnapHead101
11-08-2009, 08:57 PM
Hey ratcatcher, I own a big cat that is 3.04 metres in beam. I live in Mackay Nth QLD and have approached and recieved a permit from the local police that states I may tow my boat during daylight hours with oversize signs, flashing lights, and flags. The permit states I may tow the boat with my Landrover 130 Defender and that the boat weighs 3.8 tons. The defender is legal for four tons as it is prior ABS model. So yes you can tow and I have the evidence for it. I now have my boat on the Marina and don't tow on a regular basis. The permit does state I need to take into account local restrictions (from memory), eg can't drive over some narrow bridges. If this is a big issue I can approach the local cop shop and see if the permit is still valid as it's issued on a yearly basis.
Good luck with it all. PS THere are about five 3000 Kevlacats that are 2.8 wide and towed on a regular basis.

thylacene
11-08-2009, 11:02 PM
it will be in the transport act download it from the transport web site but is a lot of reading to find it.

Use "Ctrl+F" cuts down on your reading, pick key words i.e. weight, maximum, gross etc.

You might get what you want here http://www.transport.qld.gov.au/resources/file/ebe7dd41d046fb0/Pdf_projecting_loads_brochure.pdf

Thy

rat_catcher
12-08-2009, 04:50 AM
not sure of the marina costs up there but i sold my "in water" boat for the costs purposes...boat at marina + anti foul + maintenance + a few other things = $150 per week before I even started the motors.
It was fun for the time I had it but am happier now with the smaller trailerable boat.
Yeah I know it is a serious concern. My neighbour in Rocky just sold a boat he kept in the marina due to the ongoing costs before he even got to use it. He had a 38' boat and said it cost him $10k per year before he cranked the engines!

I have heard the Keppel Bay Marina is one of the most expensive in QLD. Not sure if this is true or not, but it wouldn't surprise me.

The other option is keeping it on a cradle in the CCYC yard, although the problem there is I think a waiting list to get a hard stand area.

All food for thought though.

rat_catcher
12-08-2009, 04:53 AM
Go down to the newso & get a copy of ‘Trailers & Towing’ (I think it is called), a publication by SeaMedia (i.e. F&B/Peter Webster).
Yes I am very familiar with this publication and Peter Webster. I am a current subscriber to F&B that my old man sends over to the US every month for me! :)

I have a copy of that magazine but it is back in Aus. thus the reason to post the question here. I also still want to see the legislation with my own eyes.

In any case the whole exercise is a no-go for me due to the specific constraints in place around the road entrances to Rosslyn Bay.

rat_catcher
12-08-2009, 04:58 AM
You are permitted to carry loads in excess of the max legal trailering width (2.5m), on a legally registered vehicle (as per the Performance Guidelines for excess dimensional vehicles) These guidelines specify: headlights on, oversize signs, flags at the max width point, flashing light visible front and rear, max speed limitations, holiday limitations and some no-go roadways. The funny thing is that with an oversize boat, the flags stick out wider than the bit that is excess- dimensional.
It is possible (with some hassles) to tow an oversize (up to 3.5m) boat without a special permit, as per the rules above. The law specifies that if you can feasibly carry the load in a broken-down format or in another position to fit inside the max width, then you are in breach if you don't.
This is exactly as per my understanding now too, except in my case there are some specially named roads that require the use of a pilot vehicle that limit my access to my main boat ramp, so the whole exercise is a waste of time for my case.

There has been a move to standardize Aust max towing width at 2.6m. It seems to have fizzled.
That would have been a very good option as the standard US beam of 8' 6" (2.5908m) would then be covered.

rat_catcher
12-08-2009, 05:03 AM
The only other way to drive it legally down the road is police permit, as this will also exempt you from the regulation.
So then you are at the mercy of the local Police each 12 months to see whether you get a new permit. No thanks. If I am going to invest this amount of money I don't want sleepless nights every 12 months worrying the permit will not get renewed. From what I read I think the limitation of requiring a pilot vehicle near Rosslyn Bay would still stand though as this is a named road area in the legislation.

I need to re-read some of the documents with the 4.5 tonne vehicle weight in mind. I wasn't thinking of this when I read them last time, but I still think I am limited by the restricted roads in my area.

rat_catcher
12-08-2009, 05:09 AM
..........unless you have a truck over 4.5 t gvm you can't do it .
I am still trying to figure out how the 4.5 tonne truck fits into the picture too. More reading I guess!!!

rat_catcher
12-08-2009, 05:11 AM
The permit does state I need to take into account local restrictions (from memory), eg can't drive over some narrow bridges.
Yes this is the piece that means it is not going to work for me. I have two local restrictions on the approaches to Rosslyn Bay that mean I need a pilot vehicle. Obviously having to have a pilot vehicle every time I want to launch and retrieve is not going to work for me.

rat_catcher
12-08-2009, 05:13 AM
phew what a &%$#@*&^% mess
I agree.....why oh why is it so complicated!!!!!

rat_catcher
12-08-2009, 05:19 AM
I have heard the Keppel Bay Marina is one of the most expensive in QLD. Not sure if this is true or not, but it wouldn't surprise me.
I don't know how this compares but on their website it lists a price of $5,250 for 12 months to berth a boat up to 32'. And that is if it is paid 12 months in advance. If you pay more often the price goes up. Of course the price goes up the larger the boat too.

http://www.keppelbaymarina.com.au/content.php?id=marina

Getout
12-08-2009, 08:12 AM
OK

I will say it one more time::) that guideline that you are all referring to is for vehicles over 4.5 tonne.

If you read the guideline pay particular attention tot 4 and 4.1 it gives you the vehicles that the guideline exempts from the mass dimension and loading regulation.

Any other vehicles must comply with another guideline, or the regulation.

neil

As I read it, 4 and 4.1, outline maximum dimensions of the towing vehicle and do not specify a minimum towing vehicle mass anywhere.
Or am I looking in the wrong place??

Kleyny
12-08-2009, 08:47 AM
As I read it, 4 and 4.1, outline maximum dimensions of the towing vehicle and do not specify a minimum towing vehicle mass anywhere.
Or am I looking in the wrong place??

Getout and Rat catcher,

4.1 gives you the dimensions for each vehicle that the guideline exempts from the legislation: Truck, Trucks hauling one trailer, Prime Mover Semi Trailer combination, Special Purpose Vehicle inc cranes.

As us mer mortals dont know what a truck is we need to find out what they call a truck.

Because they don't give you the definition of a truck in the guideline you need to find it in the legislation the guideline attaches itself too.

I could not find it in the mass dimension and loading so then you go to the act as the MDL legisaltion comes under the act.

Go to page 443 of the act.

http://www.legislation.qld.gov.au/LEGISLTN/CURRENT/T/TrantOpRUA95.pdf

i hope this helps

and yes you are correct you fall to the mercy of the police every year for the renewal of your permit. I can not see them not granting it as there is allot of big and expensive stuff that needs a one off permit or yearly one.

neil

renies
13-08-2009, 07:42 AM
I have spoken with QLD Police - the office in charge of permits. He advises me that currently unless you have a truck 4.5T or over, you cannot tow an oversized boat with a private vehicle. Unless of course you obtain a police permit, or a written approval from QLD Transport stating that they have no objections to you towing an oversized load.

However, he has been approached by members of the boating community with this problem many times before. As far as he is concerned, police don't have an issue with oversized boats. So at the moment, apparently QLD transport and QLD Police are working on a solution. QLD transport are looking at issuing a new quideline to deal specifically with oversized boats.

Hopefully this comes out sooner rather than later and clears things up for a few of you.

Getout
13-08-2009, 12:37 PM
You know, with many boats, the bit that is actually overwidth can be very small, because of the taper of the hull outline and it is usually very smooth. Its not like a sheet of reo mesh or a grader blade that threatens to cut oncoming vehicles in half.

rat_catcher
13-08-2009, 01:14 PM
However, he has been approached by members of the boating community with this problem many times before. As far as he is concerned, police don't have an issue with oversized boats. So at the moment, apparently QLD transport and QLD Police are working on a solution. QLD transport are looking at issuing a new quideline to deal specifically with oversized boats.
That would be bl**dy great!!!! :D Any idea on timing? Thanks for the post this is good news.

rat_catcher
13-08-2009, 01:16 PM
You know, with many boats, the bit that is actually overwidth can be very small, because of the taper of the hull outline and it is usually very smooth. Its not like a sheet of reo mesh or a grader blade that threatens to cut oncoming vehicles in half.
Exactly and in a lot of cases we are only talking about 8' 6" beam which is 2.59m so only 9cm overwidth, which is only 4.5cm each side and yes it is only at the widest point of the boat.

13-08-2009, 01:23 PM
I have spoken with QLD Police - the office in charge of permits. He advises me that currently unless you have a truck 4.5T or over, you cannot tow an oversized boat with a private vehicle. Unless of course you obtain a police permit, or a written approval from QLD Transport stating that they have no objections to you towing an oversized load.

Hopefully this comes out sooner rather than later and clears things up for a few of you.

Edit

Just spoke to a mate who drives interstate big rigs. Hell the fines are huge and he especially says to watch out for oversize things going over state borders as it is not about where the trailer is registered but what state you are in in regards to overweight and oversize. He has changed the way stuff is loaded at borders because of this in teh past but doesn't do wide load stuff now and may be out of date. He used to have to carry a whole portfolio of up to date paperwork and permits especially for teh chemical runs he did and road trains.

So can you tow interstate like you can with a under 4.5 t trailer and be covered?

Bluntly they may be aware , working on a solution etc etc but unless they have an agreement with your insurer you are stuffed if anything goes wrong and all discretion ( official or unofficial) goes out the door as the stupid lawyers in wigs do it to the letter of the law and you go to goal.

It is all good till the music stops and you don't want to be the poor sap on manslaughter charges and damages without a insurer standing behingd you.

Anyone asked their insurer?

As for the DOT being liable - that's a joke. They have more back doors and ways to retreat than the Italian infantry. Oh and a bigger legal department to push it on to inspection people and information you supplied. You wouldn't be a winner unless you had deeper pockets.

Mister
13-08-2009, 08:34 PM
hey rat_catcher, old mate, old buddy don't be should not be confused by the majority of this bad advice. The advice is quite messy.

13-08-2009, 11:46 PM
There is a posible solution.......do what stefan does with his big pink rocket.......load it on the trailer on an angle.....the pink thing ships heeled over about 45 deg........it is on a semitrailer though.

now here is an interesting complication.......in some states ( havn;t checked about QLD) if you are to tow a combination over 4.5tonnes total combination mass you have to have at least a light rigid truck licence.....so that 2 .5 tonne boat behind the disco...is a truck.:-/

I thin k the reason behind the oversized laod having to be towed by a truck is about not allowing oversized loads behind pasenger vehicles more than anything..

Quite a bit of the requirements for trailers will not be found in the legeslation or regulations.....it will be referenced from australian standards......much of the stuff for light trailers for instance can be found in VSB01.... but only some of it is mentioned in the legeslation.
VSB01 is free......other standards you may have to pay for........ahhh...... but you need to know which standard to look in too:(