View Full Version : What Would You Like?

NEWBY
06-08-2009, 07:24 AM
Guys n gals, I am going to be runing a fishing comp up here in Gladstone in the near future. It will be a fund raiser as I have recently pulled out of another fund raiser that I/Gladstone Motorworld used to be involved in heavily. So what I want to know is, what draws people to fishing comps besides great weather? What would any individual or team want to see or win in a comp?
Thanks for your help in advance. Please feel free to comment. Even if you are not a starter, please help out and vote. I want to make this a big one.

Reel Nauti
06-08-2009, 08:44 AM
I'd like to discuss this with you when I'm on the island. Come and visit for a night or 3. Many probs solved over a few drinks and a fire.

aussiefool
06-08-2009, 08:49 AM
G'day Mate,
Even though I never enter any comps I would like to see a comp that would score more points for a live weigh in as to the same fish dead. That way people need to be more local when they fish and not bring fish caught 50 - 100 kms away
Aussiefool

NEWBY
06-08-2009, 08:50 AM
I'd like to discuss this with you when I'm on the island. Come and visit for a night or 3. Many probs solved over a few drinks and a fire.

Mate I will be on the island of Vanuatu from Sunday this week for a week or so...lol...Wanna join me for a few drinks there?

Mate I am in for an island trip and a dew quieties to discuss when you are. Name the time.
Dates that are out are M&G 12-18th Sept. Next week as I am in Vanuatu. Most long weekends as I am out at the reef.
Just let me know mate.

NEWBY
06-08-2009, 08:52 AM
G'day Mate,
Even though I never enter any comps I would like to see a comp that would score more points for a live weigh in as to the same fish dead. That way people need to be more local when they fish and not bring fish caught 50 - 100 kms away
Aussiefool
Mate I agree but there are many ways to shear a cat...
Other thing is if I can gert fisheries to agree, the proceeds of donated dead fish will go to the charity/organisation. Either way, fish dont die in vein. Thanks fro the input. Food for thought.

06-08-2009, 09:21 AM
I have a few ideas big fella, with a few names to contact.

You are on the right foot with a ' charity " deal.

getting invloved with DPI&F is a great way to go.

People like... Capreef and Info-Fish should be contacted.

Others that should be brought on board are:-

tourism Qld

DERM

Ecofishers Qld Inc

Marine Queensland

The local fishing clubs........sport, game and social

Any VMR or Coast Guard

Local, state and federal pollies need to attend,,, yes I know that may not sound right, but a great opportunity for them to be seen with " locals " and also an opportunity to " get in their ear ".

Port Authority

and of course........... media.

Have a browse at other comp rules on their websites.

http://australianevents.com.au/content/blogcategory/38/87/

more later..................

><> ><> ><> ><>

DR
06-08-2009, 09:32 AM
why give out cash or prizes?? why not just trophies? maybe plaques ?. Cash & goodies to be had tends to bring out the cheat in some. Where as a trophy will attract people who want to be there for the cause & the fun..also prefer the Flathead classic style of comp, take a pic with a token & if you don't want it for the table or it's injured, release it..no sense in killing just to win something..

NEWBY
06-08-2009, 09:36 AM
I have a few ideas big fella, with a few names to contact.

You are on the right foot with a ' charity " deal.

getting invloved with DPI&F is a great way to go.

People like... Capreef and Info-Fish should be contacted.

Others that should be brought on board are:-

tourism Qld

DERM

Ecofishers Qld Inc

Marine Queensland

The local fishing clubs........sport, game and social

Any VMR or Coast Guard

Local, state and federal pollies need to attend,,, yes I know that may not sound right, but a great opportunity for them to be seen with " locals " and also an opportunity to " get in their ear ".

Port Authority

and of course........... media.

Have a browse at other comp rules on their websites.

http://australianevents.com.au/content/blogcategory/38/87/

more later..................

><> ><> ><> ><>
Cheers mate. I am thinking of aproaching VMR and using the funds for them. I believe they are a great asset to us all and are always in need of better and safer gear. I would like to split the funds to include Round Hill as well.

It will be interesting to see what the majority want here. I will follow your links too and maybe you, myself and reel nauti should organise a few cleansers and a meet...
Talk to you soon

NEWBY
06-08-2009, 09:55 AM
why give out cash or prizes?? why not just trophies? maybe plaques ?. Cash & goodies to be had tends to bring out the cheat in some. Where as a trophy will attract people who want to be there for the cause & the fun..also prefer the Flathead classic style of comp, take a pic with a token & if you don't want it for the table or it's injured, release it..no sense in killing just to win something..
The trophy idea works well for me but the lure of cash usually brings bigger crowds. As far as killing for nothing, the fish would be eaten by the angler or hopefully donated and wholesaled to fishmonger with proceeds going to charity or similar. Nothing dies for nothing.

06-08-2009, 01:57 PM
How bout a random draw prizes for those that don't catch heaps or trophy fish.

06-08-2009, 02:28 PM
I don't enter fishing comps..the idea of random draws for boats and cars etc ..might as well just be a raffle and forget masquarading as a fishing comp.
The main reason I do not enter is due to the cheating involved..people catching fish elsewhere and weighing them in...one down this way is a perfect example.
Get rid of the cheating and all could be good.

As most comps are for charities or a club's main income for the year then I can understand the giveaways but the way they are conducted down here...I would not enter one..PLUS..the prices they charge are a bit rich also.

I do wish you success in yours..these are just my thoughts on comps.

NEWBY
06-08-2009, 02:38 PM
How bout a random draw prizes for those that don't catch heaps or trophy fish.

Now wheres the competition in that? Like GAY F L.... Only game in the world you get a consolation prize if you miss the big sticks.

06-08-2009, 03:01 PM
If you don't like suggestions then don't ask for opinions.

Why must everything be about who's caught the most or the biggest?

Or maybe advertise it as only qualified anglers need apply.

NEWBY
06-08-2009, 03:21 PM
I don't enter fishing comps..the idea of random draws for boats and cars etc ..might as well just be a raffle and forget masquarading as a fishing comp.
The main reason I do not enter is due to the cheating involved..people catching fish elsewhere and weighing them in...one down this way is a perfect example.
Get rid of the cheating and all could be good.

As most comps are for charities or a club's main income for the year then I can understand the giveaways but the way they are conducted down here...I would not enter one..PLUS..the prices they charge are a bit rich also.

I do wish you success in yours..these are just my thoughts on comps.
Yeah mate I know what you mean. I will endevour to make sure through scrutineering that it is all fair and just. Anyone that declines scrutineering is probably up to no good anyways eh?

NEWBY
06-08-2009, 03:34 PM
If you don't like suggestions then don't ask for opinions.

Why must everything be about who's caught the most or the biggest?

Or maybe advertise it as only qualified anglers need apply.

Dave, hop off the high horse mate and read the text.....I stated that it is "competition" not a random draw. Like pinhead says, why bother with the token fishing if its random draws????? That would make it too much like the HOOKUP and thats not what its about. Hence the wording "competition" No need to get all shirty mate.

06-08-2009, 04:02 PM
HEY NOW I'm not shirty perhaps I should have added one of those smilie thingies. It does read shirty tho haha.

Just thought it would help get more bums on seats to help those needy folks. People like me to feed that tall horse.(insert smilie here)

Hope it turns out well and good for you.

Reel Nauti
06-08-2009, 04:35 PM
Would the Boyne/Tannum Hookup Committee help Newby, or am I swearing?

NEWBY
07-08-2009, 04:47 AM
Would the Boyne/Tannum Hookup Committee help Newby, or am I swearing?
Not swearing mate. Hookup are great people. But 3000 entries in a free for all prize draw takes away from the fishing. I think thats what "dogsbody" had in mind though. I want to run a fishing comp. Nothing else. For serious and not so serious fishers. Hookup is a family oriented thing. I dont even know if the majority want a junior section yet...
I havent approached the committee either. Not their thing. I have the staff and people to be able to do this right and I am still to appproach possible benificiaries so this post is to get a feel for what the MAJORITY want to have so I can put a proposal together.

Jurkyjj
07-08-2009, 06:49 AM

DR, this is one of the better suggestions that I have heard.
Taking a picture with a brag mat or the likes and having to show a token or something that is specifically designed for the comp, certainly allows for more integrity. In comps, there does tend to be a lot of cheats that come out....with pre-fishing done and so forth. BUT, to promote catch and release, with the proof needing to be a photo with the fish on a brag mat inclusive of a specific token or item is a cracker idea. ;)

This would obviously not stop the guys whom have three people in the boat fishing for one person entering the comp, but, certainly stops people fishing before the comp and pre-fishing for bigger fish. I like your train of thought.

This also promotes catch and release.....with this in mind, approaching the DPI and the likes would help get them involved in comps like this, due to the fact that you are promoting the fish stocks and catch and release. They would be more likely to help out and be involved with this advertised. :)

Great thinking.

Jason.

NEWBY
07-08-2009, 10:23 PM
DR, this is one of the better suggestions that I have heard.
Taking a picture with a brag mat or the likes and having to show a token or something that is specifically designed for the comp, certainly allows for more integrity. In comps, there does tend to be a lot of cheats that come out....with pre-fishing done and so forth. BUT, to promote catch and release, with the proof needing to be a photo with the fish on a brag mat inclusive of a specific token or item is a cracker idea. ;)

This would obviously not stop the guys whom have three people in the boat fishing for one person entering the comp, but, certainly stops people fishing before the comp and pre-fishing for bigger fish. I like your train of thought.

This also promotes catch and release.....with this in mind, approaching the DPI and the likes would help get them involved in comps like this, due to the fact that you are promoting the fish stocks and catch and release. They would be more likely to help out and be involved with this advertised. :)

Great thinking.

Jason.
The idea of trophies and awards etc is one of merit. I think if it were to be an Offshore only comp then cah and or prizes would be easier to police. I will put this one in the think tank. Like I stated earlier, scrutineering can always happen.

griz066
08-08-2009, 07:53 AM
Now wheres the competition in that? Like GAY F L.... Only game in the world you get a consolation prize if you miss the big sticks.

And get first pick of the draft for running dead last;D;D;D::)::)::)

Hookem_Herby
08-08-2009, 09:25 AM
Hey Newby,

Great idea :D
I personally think that if your chosen charity ends up being the VMR then that could have a very positive impact on numbers attending the fishing comp. I'm not biased, nor do I have a preference for one charity over another but I'm sure that just about every fisho and certainly ALL boaties have a real appreciation for the top service every VMR around Australia provides on a daily basis (365 days a year).
If you include Round Hill as well as Gladstone (maybe even Bundy? :o) then I'm sure a lot of people would enter just because they're glad the proceeds and money raised will go to a great cause. I know I'd enter for that reason alone ;D
Also, I think it's important for you to have an offshore and estuary section, with seperate (equal value) prizes. I know you're predominately an offshore fisho, as am I these days, but I think having a river/creek/estuary section will open it up to more people no matter whether land based or not. 8-)
Just my ideas and opinions mate.

Herby

NEWBY
08-08-2009, 12:00 PM
Hey Newby,

Great idea :D
I personally think that if your chosen charity ends up being the VMR then that could have a very positive impact on numbers attending the fishing comp. I'm not biased, nor do I have a preference for one charity over another but I'm sure that just about every fisho and certainly ALL boaties have a real appreciation for the top service every VMR around Australia provides on a daily basis (365 days a year).
If you include Round Hill as well as Gladstone (maybe even Bundy? :o) then I'm sure a lot of people would enter just because they're glad the proceeds and money raised will go to a great cause. I know I'd enter for that reason alone ;D
Also, I think it's important for you to have an offshore and estuary section, with seperate (equal value) prizes. I know you're predominately an offshore fisho, as am I these days, but I think having a river/creek/estuary section will open it up to more people no matter whether land based or not. 8-)
Just my ideas and opinions mate.

Herby
NJo arguments about any of that from me Herby. I havent approached VMR yet but will do so when I get back from Vanuatu on the 18th. I will ty and log in to keep this going while I am there. 1 more sleep.

Hookem_Herby
08-08-2009, 01:48 PM
Good stuff Newby, I was there in January this year top spot eh? ;);D
Never did make it up to Espiritu Santo though. :-[:'(

Catch ya,
Herby

NEWBY
08-08-2009, 03:56 PM
Good stuff Newby, I was there in January this year top spot eh? ;);D
Never did make it up to Espiritu Santo though. :-[:'(

Catch ya,
Herby
I havent been there either yet. Maybe next trip. I am going to look at boat berths this trip and some property up the north of Efate. I have a vision of a fishermans resort. Inner reef natural harbour and only a few minutes form the best Marlin fishing in the world. Resort and marina apparently planned for northern part of island too.

NEWBY
08-08-2009, 04:00 PM
Keep em comin fella's and as the date I put up is only favoured by a few, I wouldnt mind some ideas of when you think it would be a good time to have it. Reason I picked September is the changing of the seasons and usally, the best time for lack of wind. Warmer currents etc. last of the winter fish and the beginning of the summer fish....A fishermans wonderland.
If your posting a date, please also give me a reason for what date you would like.

Mrs Ronnie H
08-08-2009, 05:58 PM
Hi Newby
If you want a Family orientated comp then i think you should have it open to Beach/estuary and offshore. There are alot of parents out there that love to take their kids fishing and not everyone has a boat to get offshore.

I think you should be looking at a junior section to encourage "The Family Fisho" and keep it open to the perimeters above. Restricting to Offshore would also restrict entries.

As for prizes, trophies, Cash-- perhaps you could have a mix. Maybe a category for a Mystery catch,weight as well-- this be determined by the co-ordinators of the event and announced at final weigh in. Just my thoughts but i am sure any suggestions put forward will help in organising a great event.

I do have one question though-- Is it not possible to tell how old a fish is?? The color of its gills and its eyes. If so then would it not be possible to tell if someone has caught a fish much earlier than they say they did. JMO.

Any way good luck and hope all goes well

Ronnie

madman1
08-08-2009, 06:50 PM
Taking a picture with a brag mat or the likes and having to show a token or something that is specifically designed for the comp, certainly allows for more integrity.

Up here they ge the local newspaper involved and with catch and release the need a pic on the brag mat with the header of the newspaper with the date clearly displayed.

Seemed to work this year.

Good luck it all.

Dont leave the kids out and keep the entry fee reasonable. $40 per senior and $15 per kid gets a bit rich for the average family.

Think about a discounted family rate also.

sandbankmagnet
08-08-2009, 10:18 PM
Your poll is "what would you like to see in a fishing comp". If it's not too politically incorrect, could I suggest plenty of bare breasted women at the bows of each boat?

Just a thought. Maybe the women might have a different flavour of attraction.

09-08-2009, 02:46 PM
Just on the VMR thing as previously mentioned. What do they fall under are they a charity or a community service? Depending which catergory they fall in would this have any impact for any tax stuff or something other? Or is it all sweet no mater which one their in?

NEWBY
10-08-2009, 06:40 AM
Just on the VMR thing as previously mentioned. What do they fall under are they a charity or a community service? Depending which catergory they fall in would this have any impact for any tax stuff or something other? Or is it all sweet no mater which one their in?

I would think they are classed "not for profit" and "esential service" no tax and no problem

NEWBY
10-08-2009, 07:13 AM
So DATES peoples....any preferences for dates....?

Volvo
10-08-2009, 05:51 PM
Okay Big fella my two Bobs worth:) .
(a) I personally dont like Fishing Comps and especially the Boyne Tannum Hookup due to the impact it has on our waters over a short period of time by so many.
(b) I think it commercialises our passtime/hobby or however you wish to describe it and only feeds ammo to those who would wish to curtail our passion.
As for a Comp of sorts without the impact and at the same time raise funds for VMR, why not run some tye of Comp over a period of time (say six Months running) for maybe the biggest or weirdest of a species, fanciest name of a boat , or something in that regard.
That would not create an impact over a short period of time and the comp would not be related to a total catch or impact based.
Bit of fun for the Rec Fisho which may also at days end help unite Rec Fishos a tad more for times that unity may be required??..
A$$ registration fee which offcourse would go to the total VMR Donations as well as what you or other Businuss Houses in the District may want to donate.
No Disrespect to those that are for comps , just my personal feelings in this arena:) ...

Volvo
11-08-2009, 06:54 AM
PS.You have a good Holidy in vani ey:) ....

11-08-2009, 08:47 PM
Good Idea Mate
I 'll be there to show my support for it.
I heard you on the radio last week asking for everyone to dip into there pockets
Good on ya for charity
Family orintainted Fishing comps are always a great success
Beach and offshore bring out all avenue's to cover.
Hope all goes well mate

Owen
14-08-2009, 08:30 PM
About the only thing I'd like to see different from say the hookup formula is the overall winner scenario vs biggest of species.
Around here, biggest spaniard is almost guaranteed to take out top fish.
In IPSC pistol shooting there is a formula called a "Power Factor"
The idea is that it's easier to score better with a gun of lesser power, so they score less.
You could do the reverse.
Divide fish weight by the heaviest part of the line.
So a 25kg spaniard on 100lb line would score about the same as a 1kg bream on 4lb line.
Probably too hard to police effectively in a fishing comp though.

NEWBY
17-08-2009, 05:45 AM
Thanks for all the input so far everyone I really appreciate it. It is all being stored and getting ready for the comp to be born.
Still need dates though. There is not much support for the first week of September on the poll..Anyone with a better date please post....
TA

NEWBY
17-08-2009, 05:47 AM
Okay Big fella my two Bobs worth:) .
(a) I personally dont like Fishing Comps and especially the Boyne Tannum Hookup due to the impact it has on our waters over a short period of time by so many.
(b) I think it commercialises our passtime/hobby or however you wish to describe it and only feeds ammo to those who would wish to curtail our passion.
As for a Comp of sorts without the impact and at the same time raise funds for VMR, why not run some tye of Comp over a period of time (say six Months running) for maybe the biggest or weirdest of a species, fanciest name of a boat , or something in that regard.
That would not create an impact over a short period of time and the comp would not be related to a total catch or impact based.
Bit of fun for the Rec Fisho which may also at days end help unite Rec Fishos a tad more for times that unity may be required??..
A$$ registration fee which offcourse would go to the total VMR Donations as well as what you or other Businuss Houses in the District may want to donate.
No Disrespect to those that are for comps , just my personal feelings in this arena:) ...
Pete, 1 Greek fisherman for 2 days out at Johnsons has more impact on our stocks than the whole of the hookup...;D ;D ;D Remember mate, You and I have been fishing...I swear blind that they just jump on your hook...;) ;)

NEWBY
04-09-2009, 06:32 AM
Guys and Gals I cannot thank you enough for your responses. This has helped me out big time as I start the preparations for this comp. I will keep you all posted on what the final outcome will be.
Thanks again.

robersl
25-09-2009, 06:18 PM
Maybe donate fish to people like meals on wheel ect in the area or aged homes to be served to the elderly ect for dinner at no cost

shane