View Full Version : Calling All Cat Owners - Advice Needed

Sabre
04-08-2009, 12:59 PM
Hello Guys,

I am wanting your advice on two points, regarding a 5.0m Markham Whaler:

Would repowering with 2 x 50hp 4 strokes be sufficient? (no motors on it at present and don't know what was on it - would like to be putting on 2 x 60hp but price is a killer, so trying to save where possible)
I understand counter rotating motors don't come in smaller/mid range motors....Does this matter in this case?Thanks for your time and info,

Sabre

05-08-2009, 12:47 AM
Counter rotators will not be an issue this small. I have seen other Markhams in this size powered with 50hp a side. Check what the manufaturers rating is. I think the 60hp Yammie High thrusts would have it absolutley flying. At the end of the day 2x50hp should do though.

John Buoy will be the best to comment on this one.

Catweb
05-08-2009, 06:05 AM
I had a 4.9 and ran twin 60HP Mariners fitted with 11" pitch S/S props. Was a good match. Pulled 5600 RPM at 35 knots. Bought it new in 1982, sold it in 1985.

It is currently for sale at local boat yard and the old 60 Mariners are still on it! They are asking $15K for it which is more than it cost me new 27 years ago!

And as mentioned counter rotating props are not an issue in this size range.

Sabre
05-08-2009, 06:17 AM
Catweb,

As a previous owner of a Markham, what's you opinion of these boats, as opposed to a 5.5m Aussie Whaler?

Sabre

Catweb
05-08-2009, 06:37 AM
Sabre

The 4.9 was an excellent riding boat and particualrly impressive in a beam sea which is unusual for cats. I think the fact it was not a beamy boat helped in this regard. It was still a 16' boat though and if you flogged it into a sea it would pound a bit, but not as bad as a mono of same lenght.

The one thing I did not like about the 4.9 was that it rode very low in the water at the bow when off the plane and sounding around. In a steep chop this would usually result in taking a greenie over the bow which which run straight up over the windscreen and into my lap! The 4.9 Webster I have now rides much higher in the nose and I have never looked like taking one over the bow.

I traded "up" from the 4.9 Whaler to a 5.5 Whaler with 115 Yams. Biggest mistake I ever made, was a pig of a boat, bum heavy, numerous prop changes to try and get it to stay on the plane in a sea, which was hard to do at anything under 4000 rpm and 30 knots, which would scare the living suitcase out of you as well as beat you to death.

And don't get me started on what it was like in a big beam sea.

I don't know what the newer 5.5's are like, but from my experience I would run like a scalded cat (pun intended) from the old 5.5!

Sabre
05-08-2009, 06:48 AM
Catweb,

Do you mean a 5.5m Markham Whaler or a 5.5m Aussie Whaler?

Dean1
05-08-2009, 07:10 AM
I had a 4.9 and ran twin 60HP Mariners fitted with 11" pitch S/S props. Was a good match. Pulled 5600 RPM at 35 knots. Bought it new in 1982, sold it in 1985.

It is currently for sale at local boat yard and the old 60 Mariners are still on it! They are asking $15K for it which is more than it cost me new 27 years ago!

And as mentioned counter rotating props are not an issue in this size range.
A good example of how some cats dont depreciate at all from new mate ;) Must be a funny feeling to see your old girl sitting there for those dollars, many people wouldnt have a clue what new price was. Cheers.

John Buoy
05-08-2009, 07:04 PM
Hello Guys,

I am wanting your advice on two points, regarding a 5.0m Markham Whaler:

Would repowering with 2 x 50hp 4 strokes be sufficient? (no motors on it at present and don't know what was on it - would like to be putting on 2 x 60hp but price is a killer, so trying to save where possible)
I understand counter rotating motors don't come in smaller/mid range motors....Does this matter in this case?Thanks for your time and info,

Sabre

Gday mate Twin 50's will push it just nice 60's would be awesome
but if budget is the issue then the 50's will do fine.
Mine run WOT at 5900 rpm pushing solas stainless props
Cruise at 24knots and total fuel usage of 2.7klm per litre
I have a 4900 Dominator which is loaded and carries a fuel pay of 100litres
per side which gives me a range well over 500klms
Fully fueled and 3 blokes was becoming an issue on how i liked my cat to handle
and after experimenting with Permatrims needless to say it solved all my
concerns.
Heaps more postive trim and up on the plane in a flash and my landings
are more positive.
What year you looking at as technically it's a 4.9mt.

http://img187.imageshack.us/img187/3402/boatataltonaramp003.jpg (http://img187.imageshack.us/i/boatataltonaramp003.jpg/)

Regards Frank

Catweb
05-08-2009, 08:04 PM
Sabre, 5.5 Markham Whaler.

Dean 1, $13.8K on the water with S/S props, Lowrance 1510, AWA crystal set marine radio, 9 gauges, Silva compass, safety gear, canopy, trailer with hydraulic brakes, leccie trailer winch. And it seemed expensive at the time. The other boat I was looking at was a 17L Haines with 100 Evinrude and that was $10.5K new. You could not buy one of them now for that either!!

Catweb
05-08-2009, 08:14 PM
Frank, nice looking rig. Evolved a tad from the old 4.9. Great range too.

My old banger had 15 gallon tanks each side. But the old 2 pot 60's were pretty good on fuel. Just a shame about the floor mounted mercury TnT pumps which were forever blowing seals. Hard to believe they could still be working.

Sabre
06-08-2009, 06:17 AM
Frank,

That's an awesome looking machine.....something to aspire to.

To answer your question it is the 4.9m, about 1988. I agree with the 50's being fine, just wanted to get others opinion.

Did you ever have a drama with them being too low to the water in the bow, as you know there isn't much height to the top of the windscreen......

Sabre

John Buoy
06-08-2009, 09:59 AM
There is a huge difference in models Sabre
between the current shape and pre 2000 models.
and some of the traits that are suspect in the
model you refer too was
Porpoising
Water over the bow
Stress cracks along the tunnel seams.

The use of Permatrims in the 4.9 whalers
has solved the porpoising issue and can give you more lift in the bow
to stop that annoying spray over the top
The Permatrims also have assisted in getting engine heights up
on the transom as you can afford to set the cav plate up to 40-50mm
above the hull line.

Do you own one and look at repowering or are you looking
to purchase a 4900 whaler.
Please note that member Firecat has the 4900 whaler and has done some extensive mods to his and well worth contacting.;)

Regards Frank

Sabre
06-08-2009, 11:20 AM
Thanks Frank,

I'm looking at purchasing a project Whaler, among other Cats.....

Sabre

06-08-2009, 11:49 AM
I reckon you should be looking at buying a 6 metre Rebel Cat!

julian1
06-08-2009, 03:41 PM
I reckon you should be looking at buying a 6 metre Rebel Cat!

what makes you say that Noel ? do you have one you neeed to sell ? or because you reckon they were good ?

Tri N Hard
06-08-2009, 07:50 PM
The 5m markham whaler is a different boat to the 4.9m,i think the 5m come out in early to mid 90,s.It had a lot sharper entry and was a bit wider.it didnt have the cirmetrical sponsons.I had a 4.9m it had twin 70,s that was a good match.I think the twin 50 4,s will be a bit sluggish out of the hole,why not go for fuel injected 2 strokes.

John Buoy
06-08-2009, 08:50 PM
The 5m markham whaler is a different boat to the 4.9m,i think the 5m come out in early to mid 90,s.It had a lot sharper entry and was a bit wider.it didnt have the cirmetrical sponsons.I had a 4.9m it had twin 70,s that was a good match.I think the twin 50 4,s will be a bit sluggish out of the hole,why not go for fuel injected 2 strokes.

Yes correct but the 5mt was not a Whaler it was the Markham Hookem;)

Regards Frank

Tri N Hard
06-08-2009, 09:12 PM
Your right im thinking of the 5.3 markham whaler

Scaredy Cat
07-08-2009, 07:52 PM
If you started to get real serious, Pm me and it might just be enough to persuade me to upgrade my 2006 4st bigfoot’s to something bigger, could be a good deal all round.

Sabre
11-08-2009, 06:36 AM
Scaredy Cat,

Sent you a PM,

Sabre

Sabre
11-08-2009, 06:41 AM
Bob f 57,

Sent you a PM,

Sabre

11-08-2009, 08:31 AM
what makes you say that Noel ? do you have one you neeed to sell ? or because you reckon they were good ?
Because I am going to sell mine! simple huh?