View Full Version : Uncle needs help with outboard descion

Brejen
26-07-2009, 09:58 PM
Alright here we go.
My uncle who lives and fishes up the sunny coast is looking to re power his Cox Craft Rum Runner. He has got it down to two motors Optimax and the yammy carby model.

He is not sure which power to go as the boat now has an old evinrude 90 on it and does the job quite well but sits in the rpm range of that 4500-5000 mark thus using a little more fuel.

The question is: Is anyone else running either of these on similar older style of boats?
if so what sorta figures are you returning?
Are you happy with it?

He really is only interested in these two motors as he can get a good deal on either..
The yammy 90hp carbi is a bit cheaper than the opti 90 and the 115 opti is a little dearer again..
$$ are playing a little in the descion ATM but motor feedback is what he is really after to help him decide..

dnej
27-07-2009, 02:02 PM
Brett, How old is the old motor.It may not be rated the same way as today.
So a 90 today could be 10 HP more than the old motor, but it depends on its age.
David
In other words the 90 may do the job.My boat is about 950 kg with gear, and the 90 Yamaha is great for my purpose.What weight would the rum runner, plus gear , plus motor weigh?
David

dnej
27-07-2009, 02:07 PM
Brett, I found this test, it may help.
David
In the power department our test Bay Runner ran an old friend, a 130hp V4 two-stroke ‘Saltwater Series’ Yamaha. Some may consider this motor a little out of date compared with the increasingly popular four-strokes and high-tech direct injected two-strokes now available. Still, how well the Bay Runner performed with the traditional 130hp Yamaha was a poignant reminder that motors like this have lost none of what made them so popular for so many years.

The Bay Runner hull is rated up to a maximum of 150hp with 130hp the recommended power by the Cox Craft factory. And we thought the Bay Runner was a top performer as tested, delivering a top speed of more than 38 knots during speed-to-rpm runs. A 150hp would make the Bay Runner quite spirited and the Modern Boating team suggests that only those more serious about their skiing need consider the 150hp option.

krazyfisher
27-07-2009, 07:20 PM
I had a coxcraft reefrunner, just sold it at 4yrs old and I had a 90hp first up and changed quickly to a 140hp both tohatsu than changed again to a tldi115hp (like the opti) the 115 was the pic. I would go with the 115hp opti also get him to have a look at the tohatsu tldi. let me know if you any other figures

27-07-2009, 08:51 PM
G'day Brett, a mate of mine had a rum runner, matched to a 115 Mariner (or mercury) it was a nice balance - I reckon look at the 115 opti - certainly have the fuel economy thing all over the carby yam - although the 90 yam 3cyl is a petrol miser too

Brejen
28-07-2009, 05:19 AM
Thanks guys will pass on the info to him.......

I know the 175 opti on my new platey does the job just nice

whatscracken
28-07-2009, 05:58 AM
Tell him to go the Yamaha mate, the 90 is a great engine and cheap to run.

Coontakinta
05-08-2009, 11:03 AM
Optimax over a carby every day of the week, or as mentional above TLDI, but thats not one of the contenders

BUT....

The reality is, and its mentioned here over & over again for good reason, look at who can / will provide you with the BEST after sales service for your choice. I'm happy with my TLDI, but I wouldnt have one again if I didnt have a GOOD dealer network conveniently located to me.

As for the choices, its really like comparing apples with oranges isnt it. One is more fuel frugal, quieter, less smokey, more technical, needs specialist oil, & I think heavier than the other.