View Full Version : Cooktown boat limit

nickstock
16-07-2009, 09:21 AM
Cooktown Report 16/07/2009
G ‘day guys,
After Monday and Tuesday met Cooktown with glassed out seas, it was decided to head out on Wednesday morning with a mate. We left the ramp on sunrise heading out to chase a few Nannies from Tom’s spot. Fishing this place was going to be a new experience for me as I have not spent a lot of time chasing Nannies and the luck I have had are always a by catch whilst chasing other species on the reef. Tom is a bit of a ‘Red King’. He is one of the few blokes that I know that regularly bags out on ‘Reds’ of one species or another.
We were met with a slight chop and winds of approx 10 knots from the West. Trip out was quite good as we had the wind behind us the entire way. We had to keep an eye on the weather as we were fishing out of Tom’s 5 meter Tiller Steer Platey. The little 60 hp Yamaha Four Stroke hummed away silently and our cruise speed was approx 25 knots.

When we reached our first hang we were met with an impressive looking sounder showing 27 meters. The first baits over consisted of fresh Mullet and whole Cuttle- Fish which were abruptly smashed within seconds of hitting the bottom. My new 24 kilo Jig rod was doubled over and the 80 pound Rovex braid was humming off it at a great rate of knots. With a double hook up on the first drop I was impressed for a few minutes whilst fighting the fish. Tom called his for a Chinaman and I soon agreed when I saw colour at about 10 meters below the boat. The rest of the baits at this hang consisted of Hussar and Moses Perch with were hitting the baits before they hit the bottom.

We then decided to go for a spear as it was now about 9am and warm enough. We were spearing Bommies in approx 3-6 meters of water and speared 9 Trout around 2 kilos and Tom scored 5 nice sized Cray’s with 2 of the Painteds going over 4 kgs. Visibility was rather good (30 feet) due to the lack of rain that we have had over winter. No big sharks were seen which made me a happy chappie.

The day was getting on by this stage and we decided to have a troll. I picked up my PB Trout on lure, which snaffled a big Rapala in 5 meters of water. The Trout went 72cms and went straight to the kill pen. We caught a few Mackerel including a Sharkie that reached of a total length of 50cms lol.

We decided to fish a rubble patch the Tom pulled 12 Reef Jacks averaging 6 kilos, during his last session here a few months ago. To say the bite was hot would be a lie. With an amazing sounder display in 25 meters of water, in regards to reef species, all we could managed were more bloody Hussar, Moses and Grassy Emperor. Lucky for us we had some nice Mackerel around 8-10 kilos hanging around the boat. We landed a few of these fish on unweighted Garfish and Pilchards. We hooked a lot of Whalers around 5 feet that quickly became a pain in the arse. Some of these put on impressive aerial displays with one Shark that was approx 30 kilos jumping approx 3 feet out of the water more than 4 times. By this stage the weather had started to turn and it was no blowing 20 knots from the S/E. It was now just on dark and Tom made the call for last few bait’s down.

This proved to be a bad call as we ended up staying for the next hour. We landed our first Nannie at 6.35 pm and had reached our quota of Nannies by 7.15 pm. The fish were literally hitting the bait on the way down to the bottom and at one stage we had the school less than 3 meters under the boat. With a Frying Pan Snapper and a Robinsons Sea Bream taken on the baits that made it to the bottom, we had made our boat limit of 20 fish per person .

The trip home was long, wet and slow to say the least. The wind and chop made an uncomfortable ride with a top speed of 13 knots reached on the trip home. We made it back to the ramp at 8.45 pm and I was pleased to be back on land to say the least. As Wahoo & Dogfight could confirm, I have the build and metabolism of a Greyhound. I had not eaten since 11am and was absolutely starving to say the least. I often say it, but next trip out to the reef I am going to take a bottle of soy and wasabi for a backup plan if we stay longer than first thought.

A top day out with Tom where I learned a lot about picking fish on the sounder and a few tips on how to spear Tusk Fish (although I was un successful on this occasion) . The fuel miser of a motor that the 60 Yamaha Four Stroke is enabled us to use a miserable total of 48 litres of fuel all day after 14 hours at sea.
Chinaman
http://i238.photobucket.com/albums/ff241/viridis1/China.jpg
Cray spot
http://i238.photobucket.com/albums/ff241/viridis1/CraySpot.jpg
220 liter Esky by lunch time
http://i238.photobucket.com/albums/ff241/viridis1/Cray.jpg
Trout shallows
http://i238.photobucket.com/albums/ff241/viridis1/Glassedseas.jpg
PB lure caught Trout
http://i238.photobucket.com/albums/ff241/viridis1/PBTrout.jpg

I will attach more photos once I go out to fillet the catch this morning. I dont have any photos of the Nannies when we were catching them as I did not want to get my camera wet from the chop and spray.
Nick

Pazz01
16-07-2009, 09:34 AM
Good stuff nick.

Very nice haul. Makes me jealous sitting in an office. Wish I could be out there fishing.

Pazz

Mozza
16-07-2009, 09:57 AM
Great report. Top shots too.

Were the crays speared or grabbed?

Mozza

ped cairns
16-07-2009, 10:04 AM
Hi Nick
sounds and looks a great trip.
heading up past your way today lakefield, looks like it will be windy and cooler

gotta love the weather gods

Ped

Wahoo
16-07-2009, 12:40 PM
Nice work Nick, sure got a great feed in the esky, ...lol... dont ya hate them chinaman, and damn wind has kicked up down here, another great report

Swindells
16-07-2009, 04:35 PM
totally jealous, lovely looking cray too. we all pray for days like that. well done.

16-07-2009, 05:24 PM
Awesome report mate .............. Some nice fish caught by the sounds of it. Trout and crays what more could you ask for ....... Great trip

SWANO1
16-07-2009, 07:50 PM
great report, great feed , well done
cheers swano

Fisher-Too
17-07-2009, 02:44 PM
Awesome report and great looking crayz Nick - look forward to many more of your reports and successful ventures, gotta be stoked with that, cheers Mick

geeb
18-07-2009, 07:49 AM
Another great report from you - thanks. I hope you will continue to get good catches so you can continue to be able to post such fine reports and photos. Most informative and entertaining......regards...........Geeb

nickstock
18-07-2009, 07:56 AM
Thanks guys,

It was a pretty good day on the water. No massive reefies were landed (apart from the ever faithful 6-10kg Chinaman:-/ ) with the Trout being the heaviest Reefie landed. Most of the Nannies were only around 55 cms but still tastey;D Tom dropped a ripper of a Spanish that would of cracked the 20kilo mark. His double came undone right at the boat. I forgot to mention that we saw shitloads of Sharks and landed a few but we did not loose one single fish to the sharks? Very strange but not complaing either.

P.S

I have attached a few photos of the last trip I did out of my old boat before I sold it. Holly (my missus) had freiends Justin & Alarna come up from Cairns for a trip out to the reef.

We bagged out on Trout but only one small Red Red Emperor (yours truely) and no Nannies comming aboard. At one stage Justin was up the front of the boat having a leak with a 50 pound bait jig baited up over the side. He was in dreamland focused on other things;D when he hooked up on a school of small Trevors that pulled him off balance and as such ended up in the drink.

Whilst this was happening his missus Alarna said she had a snag and asked me to get it off (I was playing deckie all day). I told her to go and help her husband get back into the boatand I will get it off. On grabbing her line I told her she had either a big Trout or Cod on as I could feel some good weight and head bumps.

She asked me to pull it in and what happened next was a first for me;D About 3 meters below the surface a monster Spanish about 6 feet long bit the Trout in half behind the dorsal fin. I skulled draged the remaining Trout in to the boat only to be met with one of the biggest Spanish eyeballing me for a split second 2 feet below the surface.

The Trout piece that we were left with went 4 kgs so I am guessing that it would have went around 7 kilo?

Anyway,
A few pics.

Alarna with her second ever Trout
http://i238.photobucket.com/albums/ff241/viridis1/P1050939.jpg

Justin is the throwback King. Every trip he catches the biggest throwbacks of most species regardsless of it being a Slatey, Chinaman or Paddle Tail;D
http://i238.photobucket.com/albums/ff241/viridis1/P1050944.jpg

I pulled this Red Bass from less than 75cms of water by casting un weighted whole squid over the shallows and working it like a Stick Bait. My PB Red Bass to date landed on 8 kilo braid

http://i238.photobucket.com/albums/ff241/viridis1/P1050963.jpg

Justin trying to get back in the boat
http://i238.photobucket.com/albums/ff241/viridis1/P1050968.jpg

Half of the big Trout
http://i238.photobucket.com/albums/ff241/viridis1/P1050971.jpg

Holly was catching her fair share of 'No Keep' species with this Turtle. Greedy bugger smashed a live Spanish Flag fish deep on a handline.
http://i238.photobucket.com/albums/ff241/viridis1/P1050976.jpg

My Red
http://i238.photobucket.com/albums/ff241/viridis1/redemp2.jpg

Nick

twotins
19-07-2009, 07:10 PM
Great report Nick, sounds like an awsom day. Cheers Shawn