View Full Version : Representative fish

07-07-2009, 03:45 PM
Hi Guys and gals.

I would like your thoughts and votes on what you deem to be Queensland fish. That is, when you think of fishing in Queensland, what fish do you think of.

I have nominated several, but am open to ideas.

. ><> ><> ><> ><> ><>

bennykenny
07-07-2009, 03:58 PM
i voted other, cant belive you left out the old Mangrove Jack:-/ , it has to be one of queenslands greatest fish;D poor old jack, no one thinking about him:-[
cheers bennykenny

07-07-2009, 04:20 PM
Barra has gotta be the NT fish, Coral trout for QLD, would like to say Reds but seriously they grace far less typical anglers family dinner tables than the trouts do.

07-07-2009, 04:42 PM
I can feel some Pinhead sniping coming. WHERE'S THE GRINNER???

;D;D;D

murf
07-07-2009, 04:44 PM
Iodine Bream :P

haha

cheers Murf

07-07-2009, 05:01 PM
Nile perch or Bassa??
Seems most QLDer's eat the crap :-[

Steeler
07-07-2009, 06:16 PM
Would have to be a Puffer Fish ;D;):D

Regards From The Premier State

New South Wales

stessco
07-07-2009, 07:23 PM
mangrove jack

captain rednut
07-07-2009, 08:18 PM
wahoo and cobia

cuzzamundi
07-07-2009, 08:32 PM
Qld Groper or Turrum

STUIE63
07-07-2009, 08:46 PM
I voted red emporer if you have ever had a big one on the end of your line then you will know why

STUIE63
07-07-2009, 08:50 PM
Phil
maybe you can set up another poll for our southern neighbours it seems they feel left out and have already made a couple of suggestions for their poll 8-) ;)

Oh Gee
07-07-2009, 09:11 PM
I would have thought it would be a TOAD fish.

Steeler
07-07-2009, 09:26 PM
Phil
maybe you can set up another poll for our southern neighbours it seems they feel left out and have already made a couple of suggestions for their poll 8-) ;)

Hi Stuie63

We can't beat you's in origin to save ourselves,at least indulge us a little and let us have a fleeting moment of glory ;):)

STUIE63
07-07-2009, 09:34 PM
Hi Stuie63

We can't beat you's in origin to save ourselves,at least indulge us a little and let us have a fleeting moment of glory ;):)

lmao have a nice day

08-07-2009, 10:56 AM
I put several, including Barra, Emperor, Mackeral (I'm assuming you mean spanno?) and Barra, plus I selected 'other'. A couple of fish my NSW rellies keep asking to catch when they visit is either a jack or 'those big gold things you caught', ie fingermark.

nickstock
08-07-2009, 11:47 AM
When a state is mentioned I always think of the species that I would target.

QLD- Red Emperor, Coral Trout & Black Marlin
N.T - Barra & Fingermark
W.A - Sailfish, Blue Bone & monster Spainards (think Steep Point)
NSW - Blue Marlin, Yellowfin & Mako
VIC- Snapper & Southern Bluefin
Tas- Southern Bluefin, Rainbow Trout
S.A- 30 lb Snapper (think Whyalla)
ACT- Trout & Redfin

Nick

robersl
08-07-2009, 12:00 PM
What about the humble old Whiting

shane

08-07-2009, 12:15 PM
What about the humble old Whiting

shane
I associate the humble whiting to Vic.
The King George whiting that is because you cannot catch a summer whiting in Vic 'cause it's never summer ;)

Pedrokkas
08-07-2009, 01:29 PM
I would have to say coral trout, but after recently having some big red emperor sesh I have to go with them.

bushweek
08-07-2009, 04:33 PM
Nile perch or Bassa??
Seems most QLDer's eat the crap :-[

yer mate, this is true to a degree, lots of people that dont fish eat the shit nd buy it from woolies or coles:-[
i would rather catch dinner myself
but in my opinion i reckon for qld i would have to say spotty macs or mangrove jack, but thats just me

Ozie_3
08-07-2009, 06:43 PM
the true queensland fish.....after several bourbons....

has gotta be

without doubt

the...
Pineapple Fish (Cleidopus gloriamaris)

yeah it may be an aquarium species but how bloody queensland can you get....

maybe i should drink bundy rum.....

cheers chris (ex cocky 34 years ago)

and how rhe hell do we nominate :)

08-07-2009, 07:53 PM
Thanks so far guys and gals.

I like some suggestions and the Pineapple Fish has great appeal..

Looks as if the winners are Reds and Trout.

I will let you know the results of why I asked this soon and thanks again for participating.

shayned
08-07-2009, 11:49 PM
Come on redo with Jacks on it

Homer1
09-07-2009, 01:43 PM
Definitely Jacks

kevy
09-07-2009, 04:07 PM
what about the WAHOOOOO, cheers, kevy.

09-07-2009, 06:06 PM
Dugon, Dolphin opps...... there mamals ;D :-/ ;)

Barra !

Sea-Dog
09-07-2009, 10:27 PM
I associate the humble whiting to Vic.
The King George whiting that is because you cannot catch a summer whiting in Vic 'cause it's never summer ;)

I heard they had a 47°C day down there a few months back.

10-07-2009, 08:31 AM
Whatt???? No Tusk fish, Gold Spot Cod, Queenfish? Coronation trout?

Well I suppose they aren't the first species to jump at you -

Yep, I'd reckon for a represenatative fish - the Red emp (FNQ, NQ, CQ, Limited SEQ) , the black marlin (FNQ/NQ/CQ/SEQ) and the humble snapper (SEQ/CQ)

STUIE63
10-07-2009, 10:33 PM
how can we get 239 votes from 108 people voting there seems to be an awful lot of each way betting going on

geeb
11-07-2009, 08:45 PM
Tailor - the one that all can chase - no need for a flash boat - fish off the shore - narrowneck with a simple rig - the sojourn to Fraser - tales of Tailor - tales of tailor and sharks - the alvey reel - the first use of jigs - three hook rigs - pilchards, sea gar - soft plastics - tailor have to be the iconic queensland fish - they are fun to catch my father, grandfather and others hunted them - they fight - they bite - we all love to learn on them - they are tasty and make great bait - and a great meal - what more can you want........Geeb

hoodunnit
12-07-2009, 08:30 PM
The good old pig fish!

12-07-2009, 08:36 PM
SO is there a winner? coral trout or red emperor?

mike

Mrs Ronnie H
13-07-2009, 10:27 AM
My immediate thought was Flathead but after some serious thought --- whatever the species its all nice to eat (With the exception of those bloody Grinners.:) )and we have the best of both Salt and Freshwater fish up here.

Ronnie LOL

Chris Ryan
13-07-2009, 12:45 PM
SO is there a winner? coral trout or red emperor?

mike

Close call Mike, but the Coral trout wins the poll by just a snout looking at the results this morning. Although the Reddie would also be a good representation of QLD too - gee we are blessed with choice up here aren't we.