View Full Version : sunday night off moreton

outsiderskip
07-07-2009, 05:46 AM
left manly about 3pm sunday arvo with greg [lafin ]
on board travelled across the bay and off shore doing 60 klm and was out there in not time to our first spot.a few nice snapper boated soonand with sun going down did one more drift before going out wide got these 2 stonker perlies that were aroung 3,5kgs .after arrivingout deep did a short drift found few trag and odd nice snapper dropped the anchor and fished most off the night pulling in mostly trag with odd snapper only, sharks were thick again loosing many rigs
at one stage we had to stopfishing at 11.30 because we had lost 11 fish to sharks in a rowso we had 3 hrs sleep then back into catching again
the last 2 yrs shark have been a nuisancebut this year is the worst ive experenced
few pics

pete

kitty_cat
07-07-2009, 07:24 AM
nice job pete bloody sharks sounds like it could of been a much larger catch ,
season looks like might be a good one if we can get out with the weather

wayne

outsiderskip
07-07-2009, 07:37 AM
wayne
be a lot better to get rid off the sharks too

pete

reel scream
07-07-2009, 07:40 AM
Couple of nice round fat Pearlies. Very healthy looking. Did you check out that mark?

Rufus
07-07-2009, 07:51 AM
Hey Pete,
Good to see you got amounst them. Bugger about the sharks. Mate, lucky i did not come with you, was up most of the night driving the porcelain bowl, Some bad food somewhere through the day.
Give us a call next time you go out.

Cheers, Mark

scoota
07-07-2009, 07:54 AM
Nice work there Pete!

Heard you on 21 saying you where getting into the trag.
Share farming is a real problem in the deep atm.
We fished shallow and no problems.
A few other ausfishers out there sunday as well. Pretty sure we saw Liberty 2 around the cape on dusk.

Scoota...

Frank OO
07-07-2009, 07:59 AM
Hi Pete,

They are the best Pearlies I have seen this season. Funny that you only caught two.

I love eating Trag so I will be keen to see if they stay around for a while.

Well done mate. Good call on the weather.

Frank OO

outsiderskip
07-07-2009, 08:11 AM
frank caught them just on dark
would been nice with few more that size

peteo

seamaid
07-07-2009, 08:28 AM
:D Nice bins of fish Pete, The weather would have been nasty on sunday night,
Shame about the blockes in the grey suits.
Ged

nickstock
07-07-2009, 08:33 AM
Whoa ! A few ripper Pearlies there mate!

Nick

Fisher4life
07-07-2009, 09:05 AM
Good job pete, Great to see you still getting into some good fish. Shame there was only 2 of those pearlies.

I'm surprised your not finding more snaps this time of year.

Josh

outwide1
07-07-2009, 10:01 AM
Hey pete,nice going mate!Going to have to do a trip together soon hey?mick outwide1

bondy99
07-07-2009, 12:31 PM
Very good effort Pete, maybe a couple of sharks would have been good to get if they were under 4 foot. They make good eating too.

Midnight
07-07-2009, 12:52 PM
Gday
Nice pearlies.

I was thinking exactly what Bondy said! Just turn them into barrels and gut them at onto ice asap. Just watch the sharp end of course.

Myles

outsiderskip
07-07-2009, 01:01 PM
these were not small sharks
they were taking whole fish not parts there off

had them on top last trip
they were around 8-10ft long

pete

07-07-2009, 04:44 PM
top fishin pete some nice trag there

justin

vertico
07-07-2009, 05:03 PM
top fishing pete how was the trip back in across the bar :P

outsiderskip
07-07-2009, 05:08 PM
no troubles
bar was flat

07-07-2009, 06:49 PM
Glad yo got a decky Pete. I bet when the first two Pearlies popped up you thought you were on the mother lode. I can accept a fish or two to the taxman in grey but what you are copping this season is beyond a joke:-/

vertico
07-07-2009, 07:23 PM
yerh i heard you had some near misses :P

outsiderskip
08-07-2009, 04:45 PM
i did but mate hit the wreck

Seahorse
08-07-2009, 08:54 PM
Hi Pete.
Mate, glad u went well. thanks again for the phone call, it was appreciated.
Maybe another time.

greg

Fishing_Freddy
10-07-2009, 04:16 PM
Great looking catch shame about the tax men taking so many.
Well done
Ken :beer:

outsiderskip
10-07-2009, 10:00 PM
never had so many grey suits taking fish
as i have this year
pete

vertico
10-07-2009, 11:00 PM
wind faster you old weak fella :P

bondy99
11-07-2009, 11:46 AM
Pete, you might have to use sunset mode.

RAT-KING
11-07-2009, 05:34 PM
Well done sounds like a great night!
I would say the problem with the suits is only gonna get worse, with the decline of fish and no-one targeting the noahs.
Cheers Simon

Jurkyjj
11-07-2009, 06:07 PM
Fantastic Pearlies Pete.

Great session by the look of it!! Bloody sharks. Certainly makes a session a nightmare when they won't stop taking fish.

Cheers, well done.