View Full Version : motor stand......?

yellahunter
05-07-2009, 05:59 PM
hey guys,

ive got a 25hp yammy that i need a motor stand for,
does anyone know where i can get one and what sorta $$ id be up for...?

any info appreciated,

TJ Bear
05-07-2009, 07:35 PM
Bought one at an auction suitable for a long shaft was $60. Would be easy to get one welded up though.

black runner
05-07-2009, 07:55 PM
If you are handy, buy yourself a cheap trolley from bunnings/supercheap, bolt some cross timbers to the uprights at a suitable height for the motor clamps. Cut away any of the metal cross members that may be in the way of the powerhead and then cut and bend the handles at the top if required. You may also need to add something to the base for additional stability.

I made one for my 8 hp aux from one of the smaller $15 solid wheel ones. Cost me $20 all up with bolts.

06-07-2009, 07:28 AM
Where are you Yella??
I might have something under the house.

yellahunter
06-07-2009, 07:49 AM
thanks for the tips so far guys,

finga im on the Goldy mate,

06-07-2009, 08:00 AM
thanks for the tips so far guys,

finga im on the Goldy mate,

What height of stand do you need? ie distance from transom bracket to floor
I'll have a gander under the house.
I'll bung something up later if I find it.
Might cost a bottle or 2 of Stoney's though ::)

yellahunter
06-07-2009, 08:16 AM
hey mate its a long shaft,
from the transom bracket to the bottom of the outboard is around 87cm.

06-07-2009, 09:17 AM
be careful of a 25HP and the 'small" motor stands, you need the bigger one, the weight of the motor is right on the limit for the small ones and I have seen on break (mine) and it is not so good for the motor, they are designed for up to about 10HP.

BaitThrower
06-07-2009, 10:41 AM
I do have one of those outboard stands you can buy fromt he boat shops for about $80. Good for up to 25hp according to them. I have had my 30Hp Yammy CV 2-stroke on it, and yeah its probably really pushing the stand, but it held it ok, so might be ok for your 25hp yammy if it isnt any heavier?

Yours for $45 (brisbane southside) Fine working order :)

Mexikan
06-07-2009, 04:28 PM
BCF sell them Im not sure what HP they are rated to hold or if they have ones with different KG ratings.They are pretty exspensive for what they are though around a hundred bucks I think.The modified trolley would sounds like a good idea.
Mex

13-07-2009, 07:26 AM
I had a look but nothing...sorry :(
If you have a spare bit of time we could knock another one up fairly quickly to suit your motor as I found some 40X40RHS and some steel wheels off a floor jack or some rubber wheels.

dreemon
13-07-2009, 07:36 AM
If you buy the timber for the stand and a box of beer for me I can build you one.
I've made one and have used it for my 40 hp and now I have my 90 hp on it,
I have some timber at my house, just need a bit more, let me know, Cheers

13-07-2009, 11:54 AM
Will be using timber to build one for my 25/4 yammi (75Kgs), square frame with 2 braced uprights, fit timber cross pieces and a swivell castor in each corner for mobility.

Estimate cost at around $50/60 plus a few hours work.

Now all I need is a device to lift the engine off the transom!!

13-07-2009, 01:22 PM
just be careful if using an old converted trolly, because the platform bit (that stops it tipping over) is no where big enough to cope wirh the weight of a motor and it will fall over, if you look at a "store bought" one, the frame protrudes way past the motor for stability. (the bit that sits on the floor that is)

wayno60
13-07-2009, 06:32 PM
this is one i knocked up in half an hour the arvo i got mine new yammy....
http://img12.imageshack.us/my.php?image=1002823modifiedinfirefo.jpg
http://img40.imageshack.us/my.php?image=1002824modifiedinfirefo.jpg
im just out at nerang if you interested and a bottle or rumbo will get the job done.

wayne