PDA

View Full Version : Best time to visit your beautiful country fishing wise

Ken+
02-07-2009, 01:26 PM
Hi everyone!

I've been reading this board for quite a few years now and finally signed up in 2007. Since I live in Canada and I have little experience with saltwater fishing, I haven't contributed at all and pretty much just try to read and learn in silence.

I've been waiting for the chance to visit Australia for quite a while...and I think I may finally be able to visit in the next 2-3 years! ;D

I would like to know what is the best time to visit and experience some unique fishing.

The fish I'd like to try and catch are:

barramundi
saratoga
mangrove jack
giant trevally
small black marlin
dogtooth tuna
mackerel
snappers
groupers (coral trout)
and basically any fish that I may catch

Since Australia is in the southern atmosphere, I assume summer will bring warm waters to the coast for pelagic fishing? Would November or January be good times to visit? I'm definitely trying to avoid December since it is too close to Christmas and I may not be able to purchase reward flights in December.

Knowing the timing would help me plan the trip a couple of years in advance. I hope to arrive in Sydney and travel up the coast eventually reaching Cairns. I would love to fish along the way. Obviously, I would need to visit the Ayers Rock for sure...but only for 2-3 days there. All other times would be spent fishing as much as I can aside from sightseeing.

Anyways, much appreciate your input.

I would like to show you one of my most memorable fishing experience from a trip I took to British Columbia last summer. Sturgeon fishing is definitely a lot of fun! ;D

[/url][url]

Ozie_3
02-07-2009, 02:03 PM
hey ken,
mate sounds to me you need to base in fnq (far north queensland) say cairns... probably get most those species off a jetty :)

just dont come in cyclone season...october to september...lol... january to march i think....or whenever they like