View Full Version : 44.1 Kg Spanish Mackerel

A_DIFF_PERSPECTIVE
29-06-2009, 08:34 AM
I thought this may be of interest to anglers who love chasing spaniards.
The fish was close to topping 100 pounds; about 97 lbs.
It was caught trolling a big dead swim bait, on rod and reel. My brother Jason, another friend Joel Sheppard and myself fished together and the fish was boated about 2 miles offshore out of Gladstone, Qld. It took about 8-9 mins to land on 80 lb braid. The capture was filmed, as part of my up and coming DVD on Spanish Mackerel.
The fish and footage was a welcome addition to be added to the film.
Enjoy the couple of pics!
Johnny Mitchell

thump-a
29-06-2009, 08:39 AM
Great catch ; Did you release it ???

Pistol_P
29-06-2009, 09:01 AM
Now thats a spaniard..!!!.....What a beast.

Chris_2184
29-06-2009, 09:02 AM
what a horse!! well done......was that 2 Miles off Facing Island? Is that all you got of d'ya get onto a few more spanno's? were u just swimmin big ribbon fish?

29-06-2009, 09:12 AM
holy cow batman! That should help your DVD sales.

Wahoo
29-06-2009, 09:39 AM
thanks John, now that is what I want to catch, sweet, i would like a copy of your DVD when its done, that is a prize fish, hope your getting it on a mold

Te Whiti
29-06-2009, 10:54 AM
That is an absolute monster! It's not everyday you see a fish like that. Well done.

Spectre
29-06-2009, 10:57 AM
Mate ......that is one animal spanish .....top effort indeed.

I am sure the Fisheries Research lads would be interested in the frame ...if u kept the fish. Not often they would see a fish of that calibre.
They will arrange collection etc.

Phil

tfish
29-06-2009, 11:36 AM
ANIMAL. great capture. thanks for the pics. cheers trav

richos
29-06-2009, 12:32 PM
awesome spanish!!

marty+jojo
29-06-2009, 01:41 PM
That is a freakin monster spaniard well done.
Marty.

SimonT
29-06-2009, 01:48 PM
Mitch,

I hope you can put us onto fish like that in December. Awesome fish mate!!!

Simon

JayT
29-06-2009, 02:13 PM
One of the best Spanardo's I have seen ever I reckon:)
8-9min on rod an reel top job!!!
Big bait...big fish
That dvd sounds the goods boys, well done!
Cheers Jay

jarhead
29-06-2009, 02:50 PM
Top fish mate.

Wal

nickstock
29-06-2009, 02:53 PM
Whoa!

What a monster!

Where can I get a copy of this DVD. Quality saltwater fishing DVD's are very few and far between mate, I am sure that I would be pleased seeing footage of that monster alone.

Nick

Plastic_Magic
29-06-2009, 03:14 PM
Nice Work Johnny thats a monster spanyard.

Cheers Lachy

29-06-2009, 04:32 PM
that is a cracker, the boys fishing outa stanage bay are after the magic 50 kg this year. plenty around by reports, using ribbon fish up there.

Kid
29-06-2009, 04:45 PM
great fish mate.

Kid

29-06-2009, 05:29 PM
awesome blue mate

justin

Spot82
29-06-2009, 05:33 PM
That is a monster!!! Awesome effort.

Anthony

BeastMaster
29-06-2009, 05:57 PM
OH YER !!!! Great Fish - Well Done!!
Beast Master

29-06-2009, 06:08 PM
That is a champion fish .............. A welcome trophy to any angler
Congrates

Fish_gutz
29-06-2009, 07:07 PM
absolute monster....... can`t wait for the vid.

whatscracken
29-06-2009, 07:30 PM
Great spanyid fellas

frankgrimes
29-06-2009, 08:24 PM
Crikey!! What a monster!!

Be interested in the dvd too...going to be available online or?

RAT-KING
29-06-2009, 08:30 PM
I was only worried about jellyfish, crocodiles, sharks wen in the water, now monster spaniards sary stuff!
great fish

reel scream
29-06-2009, 08:48 PM
That is a bloody Beast. I think my wife is even getting a chub.

ozassassin
30-06-2009, 07:23 AM
Well done, it's not every day you pull one like that in

supertinny
30-06-2009, 08:23 AM
Sweet mary jane!!! Thats what im after. Also interested in the DVD.

BLOOEY
30-06-2009, 08:25 AM
It's already been said but Holy snapping duck sh!t that is a freaken HORSE. Great catch. Ben

30-06-2009, 08:48 AM
Horse of a fish. Well done in getting it to the boat....and getting it IN the boat.

ffejsmada
30-06-2009, 09:39 AM
I not gonna comment on that beast, 'cos everyone's already said it!;D

30-06-2009, 06:37 PM
:o :o :o :o Now that is a fish

Any hints as to the technique :)

trilogy
30-06-2009, 10:15 PM
I recently got one 19 kg, I should have rigged it up as a livey and maybe upsized him.

setthehook
30-06-2009, 10:24 PM
mate that is awsome!! well done! absolute beast..

A_DIFF_PERSPECTIVE
01-07-2009, 03:54 PM
Thanks for the positive comments. It leaves a smile on our face, and it will for a long time. Spanish mackerel are like spent cartridges when boated and released fish do not survive too well. The fish was filleted and shared around. We have eaten plenty of it already, very nice. Together, the two fillets weighed over 30 kg. The fish's head, frame and insides have been kept for DPI research, as part of their ongoing mackerel studies. This fish took a slow trolled wolf herring on ganged 8/0 hooks, the first one I have rigged up this season. We use several types of baits throughout the year, so I guess it was a lucky catch on that bait at the time. "Right place, right time". I have caught a few 80 odd pound mackerel, but this one makes those even look small. The fish was caught off Curtis Island, another region that I have been filming for many years, as part of a series of fishing and lifestyle DVDs. Mud crabs have by far been the most exciting underwater topic to film on Curtis. They are extraordinary creatures.
The Spanish mackerel DVD will cover techniques, bait rigging, underwater strike footage, spearfishing footage and live action mostly from my 4.4 metre tinny. Common captures manily include fish from 15 to 34kg, with all sizes amongst, including the 44.1kg fish from above.
In the old days, 40-50 kg fish were not uncommon, and some regions along our east and west coastlines still produce 40-50 kg fish each year for lucky anglers. Offshore reef systems like the swain reefs hold their share of massive fish. So, we will respect the fact that our turn came on the weekend just gone.
Johnny Mitchell

Wahoo
01-07-2009, 04:16 PM
G'day John, Your a bit more game than me eating it, still cant get over how huge it is, So how do we go getting a copy of your DVD?

01-07-2009, 04:55 PM
Son of a Bitch! Tucker up Boys! What a fish!

A_DIFF_PERSPECTIVE
01-07-2009, 05:05 PM
Ciguatera poisining is a questionable affair considering even 1 kg coral trout have been blamed for making people crook. The last episode I heard of came from a very small maori wrasse (now protected). Eating the big fish did make me think twice, but we have eaten multiples of dozens of 30+ kg spanish with no problems yet. "Touch wood". Plenty of Chinaman fish got eaten in the last 20 yrs by many anglers, and I'd bet $ that plenty got eaten in restaurants and fish 'n' chip shops by those that didn't know what they eating or serving. I'd happily eat the next mac as well. Ciguatera seems pretty rare, considering.
Johnny

A_DIFF_PERSPECTIVE
01-07-2009, 05:07 PM
Simon T,
I'm hoping you can guide me in December. I'll be on holidays then, who knows what may turn up on our Shoalwater trip. I'm waiting to see you doubled up on a GT on one of your home turned blanks. Cameras rolling.
Johnny

mangomick
02-07-2009, 08:36 AM
Mate that mackies bloody awesome but what really impresses me is that chair.;D;D

A_DIFF_PERSPECTIVE
02-07-2009, 10:05 AM
Yea, the lounge chair is the funny part. It fits in the mate's boat, so it goes as part of a joke. they say you can't catch 'em in the lounge room, but you certainly can from the lounge chair. What's fishing, without a bit of a laugh?
JM

Redfisher
02-07-2009, 10:16 AM
johnny,
when are you heading up to shoalwater bay. i generelly do about 3 trips a year down into there from stanage, i was there in march this year and am heading back up in august and possibly december.

A_DIFF_PERSPECTIVE
02-07-2009, 11:50 AM
Redfisher,
Early December is the date for our mission back to Shoalwater. We are on board the Lady N for a week or more. I 'kinda' gate crashed another charter crew. I snooped and asked questions, and then got an invite. It is a good excuse to take cameras. What do you fish for when you go? I'm planning another exploration trip from Stanage in August, south, to see what things of interest we discover.
Johnny

Redfisher
05-07-2009, 04:41 PM
yeh im heading up early august as thats when shoalwater finally opens up for fishing, i go down in my own boat and tow a 13 foot tinnie, in august we will be mainly be fishing for grunter. when we go in december we will be targeting fingermark and barra. when im up there in august i will prolly head out high peak for a night or 2 weather permiting.
redfisher

Massive
06-07-2009, 04:29 PM
awesome fish, green with jealousy