View Full Version : Elephantitus of the GT

matt__hill
13-06-2009, 04:02 PM
went out off tweed today with leighton in his rig. Fishing was a bit slow but a quick move out to the back of the 9 mile seen this baby come up for me on a gulp squid on some heavy snapper gear. 50lb castatway and 40lb fc100 leader was its undoing with a certate 4000 hyper on strudwick bluewater 8-10kg stick. that fish was the christener for that rod which was a last minute purchase because i needed something a little lighter to chuck around heavier jigheads
I'll let leighton provide the proof

Leighton
13-06-2009, 04:57 PM
great fish, spent a good 5 mins swimming it
Happy to see the big fella head towards the bottom

matt__hill
13-06-2009, 05:17 PM
reputable sources put it at a bit over 40kgs
just nudged out my PB gt by about 37kgs ;)

beautiful fish glad to see the big guy swim off

backlash08
13-06-2009, 05:25 PM
monster, great to see it returned

gaintsquid
13-06-2009, 05:27 PM
wowwwwwwww

Keechie
13-06-2009, 05:45 PM
holey shit absolutely awesome fish ocngratualtions.

ffejsmada
13-06-2009, 05:46 PM
Great fish boys, top capture, well done!

How long was the fight???

Cheers, Jeff.

matt__hill
13-06-2009, 05:47 PM
about 15 mins or so but we tried to stay on top of the fish most of the time with the electric

13-06-2009, 06:03 PM
That certainly tested your gear. Great fish

vertico
13-06-2009, 06:06 PM
matt well done mate..... how was the bar
you sure you didnt release it into the esky ?
hahha welldone on releasing such a beast of a fish
sean

matt__hill
13-06-2009, 06:21 PM
bar was a millpond mate and yes it def went back

Chamelion
13-06-2009, 06:23 PM
Holy snapping duck poo.. That's not a fish, that's a whale!

Well done!

13-06-2009, 06:28 PM
Matto what a freaking monster trev" "well done

Just_chips
13-06-2009, 06:29 PM
what a fat turd ... i mean the fish you know that don't you?

whykickacatalong
13-06-2009, 06:32 PM
Awsome fish. A testiment to both the gear and the anglers ability.

oddbudman
13-06-2009, 06:32 PM
Top fish matt.

I've had one of those rods for a few years now, not ultra sensitive but I find it makes a very versatile offshore boat rod. Can throw plastics, metals, light jigs and use it for bait jigging. I'm looking forward to giving it a go with some of those Lucanus jigs this winter. The rods can put the hurt on pretty well.

oddbudman

JB
13-06-2009, 06:53 PM
Hi mate, thought it was you.. pulled in my boat beside you on the way out at the ramp. Top catch.. it was a pretty slow day fishing wise but the conditions were awesome out there.

Jas

Pistol_P
13-06-2009, 07:07 PM
MONSTER.....Top fish boys.!!!

Tailortaker
13-06-2009, 07:13 PM
Well done,,,thats a frickin Monster

whatscracken
13-06-2009, 07:31 PM
Holy smokes, that is a HORSE! Top effort

matt__hill
13-06-2009, 08:31 PM
JB
yeah same here mate i had a massive mental blank of your name lol
i said to leighton that i knew u from here and the other site as well apart from that fish it was a pretty slow day we did get dusted by good fish 3 times throughout the morning tho

cheers everyone beautiful animal it was. there was video footage also but i dont think it is "G" rated after seeing that thing beside the boat ;)

lunchcutter
13-06-2009, 09:00 PM
well very small fish there hey lol lol

tfish
13-06-2009, 10:28 PM
sttttrrruuuuth. thats an animal...id be claimin 50 kgs on that horse...lol well done on an excellent fish.cheers trav

slyman
13-06-2009, 11:01 PM
WOW! :o Thats a friggin beast! Well done mate! 8-)

Thanks for mentioning you used a Certate Hyper 4000, I've just purchased one of these and put it onto an Egrell S10H, thanks to Krudd and his cheque. If thats what its capable of pulling up then I'm looking forward to christening it! Bring it on!

gillogs
14-06-2009, 05:15 AM
great fish,bet it put a grin on your face when the big fella swam away,not many fish you could'nt turn up towards the boat with a ball tearer of a rod and reel combo loaded with 50lb braid.great effort cheers to ya gillogs

frankgrimes
14-06-2009, 07:32 AM
Already been said...Absolute Monster!!!

Awesome effort indeed!

hookinin
14-06-2009, 07:48 AM
Great job on landing a fish like that and i guessyou could say your drag is bed in now.
Gaven

death_ship
14-06-2009, 06:08 PM
struth!!!
i wouldnt have wanted to fillet the bugger either

Crumbo
14-06-2009, 11:27 PM
Damn, That Pic you showed me at work today definately did not do it any justice! That is a real stonker!

Kiktz
15-06-2009, 02:03 AM
HaHa Fatty, Good one mate. Just feel sorry for the fish having to see your ugly mullet. Congrates again on one cracker of a fish.

P.s Dont be so Happy to have something Fishy in your Lap for a change. PMSL

cobiaman
15-06-2009, 06:02 PM
nice fish mate, they go hard dont they...

breamnut
22-06-2009, 07:53 PM
fantastic fish matt and well done leighton on the pics, good to see u salying some brutes though i havent seen you's in a while...

setthehook
22-06-2009, 08:19 PM
now thats awsome mate!!

23-06-2009, 06:09 AM
Congrats on a nice fish. It's fun when you bust a pb by a few hundred percent!

nickstock
23-06-2009, 08:18 AM
That is the sort of quality that you pay $5000 on Nomad for! Unreal fish mate, a true Monster!

Nick