View Full Version : Breaksea Brutes

Reefmaster
09-06-2009, 03:54 PM
With a great forecast predicted a last minute call was made to fish the grounds off the breaksea well North of Fraser Island. The breaksea light region is green zoned so we stuck to the NNW of this area and fished close to shelf and also a bit in from it. It was a fair distance up there from Bundy and an area we had never fished before but had been keen to do for many years. There were miles and miles of dead flat country and we never found any reef over a few mtrs high. It was all just hard rubble bottom with a good growth of weed and corals spread over large areas which made the fishing a tough process. After a full day of driving on Saturday with a mixture of reefies including 4 nice big Blue Maori Cod and a couple of reds I was getting somewhat frustrated. Anchored on a show on dark but it didn’t fire so pulled the pick and hunted around for a couple more hours before anchoring for a sleep. Woke up early and hunted around for a couple more hours and with 15-20 knots of NW blowing and fuel starting to get low I was almost ready to give up but I persisted as usual before finally coming across a nice show on rubble bottom which looked exactly what I was looking for. It turned out to be a red school from hell and the action was second to none and simply awesome. Mixed in them were a few spangled sweeties and 1 large mouth nannygai but other then that just reds. There were three distinct red schools situated around the small area feeding on bait and each school had different sized reds. We soon found the school of big fellas and our gear and tackle was put to the test in a big way. Plenty of 12 and 13 kg fish were coming over the side then the size stepped up again and foxy pulled his new PB red of 17.9kg followed by the rest of the crew pulling a range of 15kg fish. Both me and foxy straightened a set of ganged 8/0 mustard 7766’s on a couple of monsters and foxy pulled the hooks on a red that felt a lot bigger then the 17.9kg fish. The action was crazy and I had my work cut out backing up onto the fish the whole time during crappy conditions while netting the boys fish, un hooking them and taking photos on occasions all while trying to catch fish at the same time myself. All fish were caught on rod and reel, 80lb line with a mixture of paternoster rigs and 10 ball running sinker onto ganged hooks. Bait was all types but large mullet fillets and half and whole tailor worked best. Lucky for us we had Foxys’s commercial license on board and we ended up with 30 reds and a great mixture of other reefies which was unloaded in Brisbane that night and distributed through Brisbane the next morning for all the punters who live here. Good to see local fish staying where it should and I’m sure many are happy to see local fish and not imported. We also ran into Jason Comino and his crew in Phill’s new seastorm up there and I was all too happy to give them a call when I found the fish and share the fun. The boys were a fair distance away from us when I called but joined us when the fishing was still ok and bagged 9 reds also with Jason finally getting his dream red of 15.8kg which he was stoked about. The boys were very very appreciative for sharing and are taking me and the crew out for dinner soon. Congrats to Andy and Foxy for there new PB’s also. On another note we had been fishing a spot for a fair time while a charter boat fished to the north of us and eventually he came straight at us and pulled up smack bang beside me while we netted a fish. I turned the boat around to re position and he did the same but threw the anchor out smack bang on top of the fish. We were only metres from each other at this stage and it turned into a yelling match with some not so kind words. He said well I anchored first so you p_ss off. Me and foxy were letting them have it and the crew on the boat had the hide to say “well we pay good money to fish too” We told them that they had a ###### of a skipper and what he had done was disrespectful and a low act. The worst part was he anchored incorrectly and the anchor was sitting on the fish while the boat was well away from them. They fished for less then a couple of minutes catching nothing before pulling the anchor and driving away off in the distance. The fish were put off instantly. The boat was called “Prime Mover” (ex boat that Palermo use to skipper) and I would strongly advise anyone who is thinking of using this goose to rethink and use another charter operator. A detailed article/pics will be in an up coming BnB.

http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/BreakseabigReds089.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/BreakseabigReds015.jpg

http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/BreakseabigReds056.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/BreakseabigReds042.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/BreakseabigReds083.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/BreakseabigReds008.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/BreakseabigReds012.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/BreakseabigReds062.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/BreakseabigReds038.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/BreakseabigReds068.jpg

http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/BreakseabigReds056.jpg

http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/BreakseabigReds074.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/BreakseabigReds098.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/BreakseabigReds117.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/BreakseabigReds087.jpg

Comino and the crew into some action
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/BreakseabigReds109.jpg

Reefmaster
09-06-2009, 03:57 PM
whales were an interesting site as they came around the Breaksea.
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/BreakseabigReds047.jpg

http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/BreakseabigReds049.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/BreakseabigReds032.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/BreakseabigReds027.jpg

And the charter boat that I don't recommend to anyone. Low act buddy
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/BreakseabigReds113.jpg

bowds13
09-06-2009, 04:01 PM
some cracker fish there! very well done!
good read aswell!

samson
09-06-2009, 04:10 PM
Looks like he's edging his bet's both way's that charter getting paying clients and selling the catch going by those symbols. Pity some idiots don't have the initiative to find their own spots, good fishing though regardless, must be a few around though we did the same up that way pulling 32 reds to 14kg recently.

Cheers samson

outsiderskip
09-06-2009, 04:13 PM
greg
u can actually report him for hindering you in a fishing operation
of a commercial vessel he is suppose to stay approx 200 mts away from you
great catch

pete

dayoo
09-06-2009, 04:15 PM
Nice report and pics Greg. I hear that the reds are on fire off Fraser as well.

Barry

f.t.r.
09-06-2009, 04:17 PM
always a good read greg

i will be interested if anyone on here knows of the charter cowboy you rightfully named and shamed.

matty

dfox
09-06-2009, 04:43 PM
Some good pics there greg, you must have some top shots for BnB.
Was great to get back out fishing with Andy again, we make a great team ;D.
Catch ya soon ... foxy
This is the only proof shot that you can read....

eotbmg
09-06-2009, 04:48 PM
Awesome stuff mate, The first pics of that red is fantastic.
Charter Boat...What charter boat...Low low act, you reckon if he is skippering a charter boat he'd have a few secret squirrel spots to keep the punters happy....Probably pissed his customers off, doing that sort of crap.
Thanks again

lethal098
09-06-2009, 04:54 PM
quality catch there guys, makes a lot of us very jealous, that sort of crap from a charter operator is a joke, have respect for everyone else is not that hard. give a little get a little. cheers Lee

Trent Butler
09-06-2009, 04:59 PM
Hey Greg,

A bloke by the name of Scott Spencer owns and runs "Prime Mover" out of Bundy. He does have a skipper to run the boat for him at times on Prime Mover so there is no guarantee that it was Scott that you had a little chat with! I have his phone number if you want to give him a call. You probably have some feedback for him if it was his skipper you tangled with.

Trent

PS. Did you tell him you where the reining Hessian bag race champion?

Whale Bone
09-06-2009, 05:12 PM
Nice red fish there
what depth did they come out of??

Anne-T-Dote
09-06-2009, 05:41 PM
Unreal boys. Just bloody unreal. That is the best it'll ever get. That even beats Eddie's trip with Billy up of Fraser a few years back, and even beats that trip you had to 1770 a while back Greggo.

Well done on the PB's Foxy and Andy. Did you get a PB as well Greggo or is it too close to call?

Imagine the fish responsible for those bust offs and straightened hooks - the mind boggles...

How was the current up there?

Frank OO
09-06-2009, 05:49 PM
Hi Greg,

You guys always come up with the fish but your story tells the real truth.

People don't realise how hard you have to work to actually find the fish. I also agree with your reasons for getting just a little angry when some low life comes up beside you and dropps the anchor.

I have lost count of the number of times that boats come up within a few meters and start fishing right beside you and wonder why you get angry.

I thin we may have to start a special section for Blow flies.

Well done Greg, Foxy and the Crew.

Frank OO

Fish_gutz
09-06-2009, 06:02 PM
That's some awesome red action and congrats to Foxy on the PB, that 20kg one isn`t far away !
I hope this clown in the charter boat gets keel hauled. No need for that sort of disrespectful rot. great pics and report and looking forward to the next issue of BnB.
cheers Andrew

murf
09-06-2009, 06:03 PM
top stuff boys :)

you put in the big hard yards for the quality fish you catch

its a big ocean and a goose in a charter boat does that to you, unbelievable

thanks for the read and pics

cheers Murf

mangomick
09-06-2009, 06:44 PM
What can I say. Theres fishermen and theres fishermen.
You guys are putting us to shame. top catch

09-06-2009, 06:45 PM
Thats incredible stuff yet again Greg. That is a monster red for a PB for Foxy . Great fishing guys congrates ......you definatly put in the yards for amazing results.
Looking forward to your read
Great pics and report

09-06-2009, 06:49 PM
Truely the stuff of legend and dreams...........thanks for sharing, great story and fantastic pics, as always.
Man youse must have been cranky when old mate lobbed that close, what a bludger!

twotins
09-06-2009, 06:51 PM
Wow Greg, Red heaven there mate I'm always impressed at the quality of your catch. What fuel consumption rate did you get? Cheers Shawno.

tfish
09-06-2009, 07:03 PM
What a knob.....i cant get over the hide of some ppl....especially CHARTER operators. Greg, always a fascinating read, really appreciate your reports. thanks for the photo's. cant wait for the b'n'b report. yeeeew. cheers mate. trav

ballsie
09-06-2009, 07:11 PM
Nice work again lampo,
I'm itching even more to get up to fraser in two weeks. Mate that is an absolute hell of a haul. What a knob of an operator in the charter. See ya for game 3 of the Origin at the Bellas residence.
Benny

09-06-2009, 07:38 PM
Greg, I can't believe you travelled all that way into the middle of nowhere and that clown comes along and ruins for you:-/ >:(

That would have to be one of the best posts I have come across on AF and I bet there are hundreds of members like myself trying to work out how the heck we can get out there:huh2:
Certainly not on Prime Mover :behead: :rifle: ;D.

I take it that its the best Red session you have had. Just unbelievable :2thumbsup:

Thanks for the report

hookinin
09-06-2009, 07:48 PM
Great read as usual andi can't say any more than all the others have. Look forward to bnbto read more.
Cheers Gaven

SgBFish
09-06-2009, 08:06 PM
Great report Greg and real persistance to find your own marks.

Well done.

Pistol_P
09-06-2009, 08:37 PM
Congrats Boys....

They are some AWESOME fish....8-) 8-) 8-)

Greg....Do you get done over by GT's at all up at Breaksea..??
There are some serious beasts around there I believe..??

09-06-2009, 08:47 PM
Bit lame.....but great catch (LOL). I think it is good that you mentioned that you had a pro licence on board and sold the fish locally. Also, thanks for letting us know how hard you worked for those fish. Pictures make it look too easy.

Dean1
09-06-2009, 09:20 PM
Hey Greg awsome report mate shame about the #%&@head tho. Great haul of quality there. Im yet to really nail the Reds but im getting closer. Love the first pic id love to get a few winch lessons off Foxy. Good to see your getting out regularly and getting your new rig well blooded. Cheers and thanks for the report. Deano.

09-06-2009, 09:22 PM
Greg,
read your reports for a long time, awesome stuff as usual, you guys always put in the hard yards sounding around,, got to ask... what sort of ground you look for when going after these reds,,

mike

vertico
09-06-2009, 09:23 PM
awesome fish greg......just awesome words cannot describe it.
Shame on the charter operator he deserves several uppercuts to the chin.
good work once again
sean

DALEPRICE
09-06-2009, 09:37 PM
well done boys, hats off to you all.

dave, should that read 16.9 kg without the stacko?????
lol......just joking

top effort and that red is a stonker

cheers dale

legsy11
09-06-2009, 10:57 PM
legends!!i have a photo of foxy that was given to popey that had a monster red that hes holding from about 3-4 years ago,thought it might have been heavier than his pb fish.anyway congrats,you must be one happy bunch of blokes.
mick.

seapup
10-06-2009, 07:27 AM
Top work boys some dream Reds there!! Great effort for putting the boys on top of them Greg!! They owe you a few cartons of beer as well as a dinner ah!!
Benny.

SWANO1
10-06-2009, 07:39 AM
bloody huuuuuge
great detail greg on the hard yards that lead into reward , as some one posted earlier" ya make it look easy ",but you and foxy are true tradesmen of your craft and never say die. Wonder how long it will be before this knob tries to get the post pulled , might be a connection with the previous owner ?.
cant wait to hook a grey lipper again up that way , hopefully wont be to far away.

foxy
you will need a new hat soon as the flash is rapidly fading that one , well done andy on the electric weapon again , i hear that reel is gaining quiet a lot of respect on gregs boat .

excellent report
cheers swano

10-06-2009, 10:05 AM
What more to sya blokes, well done - does that mean we get a feed of Red now Greg?

Skusto
10-06-2009, 05:14 PM
hi great catch just wondering what make of boat and size of boat you were in looks a nice rig.
bevan

jarhead
10-06-2009, 05:17 PM
Some very nice reds there Greg, love the top box pic full of reds, envious.
Cheers for the pics and read.

Wal

Spot82
10-06-2009, 05:32 PM
Thanks for a great report mate, always love reading your's and foxy's reports! Let alone drooling over the pics, those are fish that most people dream to catch, and you never seem to come home without the goods, even if it is hard work.

As someone else said you are certainly masters of your trade when it comes to catching reds.

Thanks again and look forward to reading BnB

Anthony

Stuart
10-06-2009, 06:47 PM
Great report and even better fishing. I have to ask the question as to how legal it is selling the fish through Foxys pro licence. If your boat isn’t listed on his license then from memory you can’t sell the boat. Also from memory your boat has to have the licence numbers attached to the boat in order to make it all above board. I’m not looking for an argument or even picking a fight, it’s an observation I wouldn’t mind being cleared up by Foxy.

Stud

dfox
10-06-2009, 07:09 PM
Great report and even better fishing. I have to ask the question as to how legal it is selling the fish through Foxys pro licence. If your boat isn’t listed on his license then from memory you can’t sell the boat. Also from memory your boat has to have the licence numbers attached to the boat in order to make it all above board. I’m not looking for an argument or even picking a fight, it’s an observation I wouldn’t mind being cleared up by Foxy.

Stud

Stuart, the fishery up there is in the L2-L3 area. My licence is an L1+2, L3+2 RQ, which means i have two tender vessels on the licence that are allowed to fish for Coral reef fin fish. Under current legislation i can put the numbers, card and logbook on any vessel under 7 meters and opperate it as a tender.
Years ago every tender had to be registed to a nominated vessel and it took several weeks to change it to another vessel. Now as long as the tender is under 7 meters it doesnt matter. Everything is done by the book, the fisheries are red hot on the line industry. $500 and $1000 fines on every little infringment ... foxy

Stuart
10-06-2009, 07:12 PM
No worries mate.

Stu

samson
10-06-2009, 07:45 PM
Hey foxy what you did was legal as you've stated as i do the same with my two boats useing the big boat as the primary and the small as the dory which can be used as the primary by taking logbooks and licences from boat to boat but just check mate because with new dory rules i've been advised that no coral reef species can be caught for sale on the base L1,L2 and L3 dories unless it is an RQ dory which i don't have and can't justify the price.

Cheers samson

dfox
10-06-2009, 09:24 PM
Hey foxy what you did was legal as you've stated as i do the same with my two boats useing the big boat as the primary and the small as the dory which can be used as the primary by taking logbooks and licences from boat to boat but just check mate because with new dory rules i've been advised that no coral reef species can be caught for sale on the base L1,L2 and L3 dories unless it is an RQ dory which i don't have and can't justify the price.

Cheers samson

That is correct samson the dory must have an RQ symbol as well, fortunately all of mine do ... foxy
It should have said L1(2) L3(2) RQ(2) SM(2) N6

vertico
10-06-2009, 09:38 PM
top stuff foxxy nice reds :P
sean

MyWay
10-06-2009, 11:46 PM
excellent excellent boys

foxy i think i told you this before take shot gun with you next time
u can shot pig in 200yards u can shot his anchor rope from few miters
that was so bad move from that charter >:(

and can you register my boat as tender :)

myway

whatscracken
11-06-2009, 05:20 AM
Another great report mate, thanks

samson
11-06-2009, 10:01 AM
Yeah thats more like it foxy, do you get much use out of your RQ and SM dories i'd find it hard to trust fish counts and other quota rules to other punters as i've already been fined for a mistake my crew made in my L1 dory as they were under my direction, but as long as they know how to fish i guess it makes it worth while,who know's i might get me one of those RQ dories if i could justify it for the price.

Cheers samson

11-06-2009, 10:55 AM
Awesome stuff again Greg!

Fixation
11-06-2009, 01:47 PM
Hi Greg,

Mate that was some trip you guys had. Image if the 8/0's didn't staighten on some of those fish. I wonder what sized black lipped monster would have surfaced...
Thanks for the read mate. Very enjoyable.

Craig.

dfox
12-06-2009, 04:16 PM
Yeah thats more like it foxy, do you get much use out of your RQ and SM dories i'd find it hard to trust fish counts and other quota rules to other punters as i've already been fined for a mistake my crew made in my L1 dory as they were under my direction, but as long as they know how to fish i guess it makes it worth while,who know's i might get me one of those RQ dories if i could justify it for the price.

Cheers samson

The way i operate samson there valuable,with the amount of RQ in most catches it would be hard to justify not having one. Keeping the count is difficult, using a smaller ice box as a brine come dumping box and as it fills unload and count the fish into the main box is probably the best way to avoid miscounts ... foxy

The_Tub
12-06-2009, 07:19 PM
great report greg!

its a dream to catch fish like that,would have been great,it's a shame to see arrogance like that charter boat operator>:(

Deelirious
13-06-2009, 09:15 AM
Boys,
Its reports like this that make it worth logging on to the Ausfish site! Can't wait to read B&B and see the rest of the pictures.
Happy days
Ed

Fisher4life
13-06-2009, 12:10 PM
They are some HUGE reds that guys found, they are the sort of reds that drive us fisherman to spend hours away from our families and countless amount of $$'s. Thanks for the report.

It's good to hear about the time and effort you actually have to put in to find marks for the reds like that.

Are you pulling these reds up with deck winches, or rod and reels?

Josh

dfox
19-06-2009, 09:11 PM
They are some HUGE reds that guys found, they are the sort of reds that drive us fisherman to spend hours away from our families and countless amount of $$'s. Thanks for the report.

It's good to hear about the time and effort you actually have to put in to find marks for the reds like that.

Are you pulling these reds up with deck winches, or rod and reels?

Josh

Josh all caught on rods mate ...

bondy99
19-06-2009, 10:50 PM
I never did hear back from Reefmaster after sending him a reply to his message.

1. Where did the boat leave from
2. How much (cost) for the outing

You can send me a pm if required.

Thanks, Peter

20-06-2009, 09:39 AM
Bondy,

I think if you read it again he says he left from Bundy so I am guessing he put in at Burnett Heads. You will also find it is a private boat and on this particular trip they had Foxy's yellow numbers on it so they could commericially line fish.

bondy99
20-06-2009, 02:49 PM
Thanks Smithy,

Good to clear it up for me,

In my email to Reefmaster I said I could chip in towards costs, I use to work on a commercial trawler / dropliner in NSW a few years ago.

Cheers, Peter

kitty_cat
21-06-2009, 10:14 AM
greg and co yous are the reefmasters well done

foxy my boat is in survey and under 7mtrs;D so any time you need a spare tender ::)

wayne

Michael Sharp
22-06-2009, 02:29 PM
Good haul Greg, congrates to the boys on there P.Bs. Great to see you back and into it, look foward to the read in BnB. That arshole in the charter boat has no respect for the other boats who fish the sea, and the code we fish, and can't fish himself. Stick it upem mate there is starting to be more and more of these idiots.

Kid
23-06-2009, 10:15 AM
Great catch Greg, trip of a lifetime mate.