View Full Version : Looking at buying cat

getoutnow
08-06-2009, 10:01 AM
What would be the differences besides price when NC 2300 TO A KC 2400 OR THE 6.2 Tournament with ideal power train

Dean1
08-06-2009, 10:10 AM
What would be the differences besides price when NC 2300 TO A KC 2400 OR THE 6.2 Tournament with ideal power train Mate

id say the NC may be roughly the same price as a 2400. The 6.2's are a cheaper option with late model 4's. If you can afford definately buy one with 4's as the fuel bill will hurt you. Theres many 2400's for sale at the minute id bargain with them all if it was me coz you could get yourself a great bargain in these times.

Regards, Dean

getoutnow
08-06-2009, 11:07 AM
Could be onto something Thanks for that;D

Maccas
08-06-2009, 12:48 PM
Have a look on Boatsonline or this looks a pretty good one on Boatpoint.

http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=6737236

There's a lot of KC 2400 for sale at the moment, but good SC2300 and KC 6.2 with 4 strokes are harder to find. Freight is also a cost unless it is reasonably close. Where do you live?

Maccas

Dean1
08-06-2009, 02:28 PM
Yeah Ive seen that 6.2 Maccas its a very clean looking boat it looks like a grown up version of mine ;D Suprised it hasnt sold. Ive thought about getting a bigger cat maybe but its not all positive the bigger they get. One day. My 5.2 is doing the job just a bit more room for long trips wouldnt go astray. Deano.

Maccas
08-06-2009, 02:59 PM
Hi Dean,

Yeah that 6.2 looks good and has good gear with it as well. I'm surprised it hasn't sold, just shows that the market is sh#t cos I reckon it is good value. I hear what you are saying about a bigger boat but unless you need the cabin space then the fishing room is the same as 5.2 so all you get are bigger bills plus you need a bigger tow vehicle which is more $ and fuel.
Maybe the KC2400 is the way to go as that may have more fishing room. I haven't been in one, just had a look at one on trailer and fishing room didn't look a lot bigger to me.
I had a look at a KC2100 today when I dropped my boat off for some work and although the 2100 is bigger than my 5.2 it had less space than mine for fishing. I do have the single seat boxes though.
Have you seen my thread on anchor winches for KC 5.2? I'm looking for info from anyone that has one on their KC 5.2. I think it may be hard to get them to work seeing as the anchor well is not that big.

Maccas

sid_fishes
08-06-2009, 03:37 PM
my oath it looks good , and if i was a bit more certain about my employment over the next 6 mths it would be in my bloody driveway
ian

Dean1
08-06-2009, 03:46 PM
my oath it looks good , and if i was a bit more certain about my employment over the next 6 mths it would be in my bloody driveway
ian Ha ha well said Ian ;D Yeah ill stick to my 5.2 i cant fault it. I think your missus would like the bigger cab Ian. Youll get one mate just wait for these hard times to pass they will and always do. Cheers.

08-06-2009, 03:47 PM
Ive seen that boat in the flesh and it sure is tidy and very very well looked after!. Btw if you look at the first photo, the one at the dock there's a devilishly handsome guy in the fawn fishing shirt on the last boat in the line, it's me!;)

ian

sid_fishes
08-06-2009, 03:54 PM
devilishly handsome!!!!!!!!!!!!

ian

Dean1
08-06-2009, 03:55 PM
Hi Dean,

Yeah that 6.2 looks good and has good gear with it as well. I'm surprised it hasn't sold, just shows that the market is sh#t cos I reckon it is good value. I hear what you are saying about a bigger boat but unless you need the cabin space then the fishing room is the same as 5.2 so all you get are bigger bills plus you need a bigger tow vehicle which is more $ and fuel.
Maybe the KC2400 is the way to go as that may have more fishing room. I haven't been in one, just had a look at one on trailer and fishing room didn't look a lot bigger to me.
I had a look at a KC2100 today when I dropped my boat off for some work and although the 2100 is bigger than my 5.2 it had less space than mine for fishing. I do have the single seat boxes though.
Have you seen my thread on anchor winches for KC 5.2? I'm looking for info from anyone that has one on their KC 5.2. I think it may be hard to get them to work seeing as the anchor well is not that big.

Maccas Yeah mate ive been in a 2400 and I personally wouldnt benifit enough for the extra $$$ They are faster and a bit roomier but with a price too pay.

A 5.2 is more practical than a 2100, same hull just ours are hardcore fishing machines!!

Mate I wouldnt bother with the anchor winch thats what your deckies are for!!! A properly setup retrieval float etc on your anchor is all you need. I work mine from the rear the whole time except from when I need to let out/retrieve some rope obviously from fishing differen depths I get up the front. Save your $$$.

Deano

Maccas
08-06-2009, 04:33 PM
Yeah but I want something that will work when with my missus or my dad so has to be easy and I don't want to store all the rope in cockpit like you do, thats why looking at anchor winch.

Maccas

Mr__Bean
08-06-2009, 05:20 PM
I think from memory the 100 four stroke yammies are carby models and not efi four strokes.

This may also be holding the price down a bit.

- Darren

getoutnow
08-06-2009, 06:27 PM
What is the fuel useage on a 5.2 doing 25 knts in a moderate sea

08-06-2009, 06:44 PM
i'll use about 13l per hr per side at 25 knots but the boat prefers around 22- 23 knots and used a total of about 11 l per/hr per side!

getoutnow
08-06-2009, 06:58 PM
Yep so a 5.56 sc with 2000 75 2 strokes would do similar

Dean1
08-06-2009, 08:02 PM
Yep so a 5.56 sc with 2000 75 2 strokes would do similar No the 2 strokes will use more they wont match a 4. Id say around 40 litres an hr both motors.

09-06-2009, 09:58 AM
Darren,

a couple of years ago they did EFI up the 100 Yammie.