View Full Version : 5m noble supervee?

don-one
01-06-2009, 07:44 PM
Hi guys.

I appreciate the amazing amount of info available on here about plate boats and the various builders.

Ive found plenty on the larger model supervee but nothing specifically on the 5m centre/side console model.

Anyone able to comment on them and how they stand up against the bluewater 5.2 or fisher 520?

tin can marlin
01-06-2009, 08:46 PM
I would be staying right away from this boat based on they are made in china which has a double edged sword cheap but not as good as a aussie built boat i think you can't go past the bluewater product imo. The fisher might be if col was still there.

01-06-2009, 11:22 PM
tcm..what makes you think the quality is any different to any other boat..you seem an expert on every make of boat known to man...I hope you have driven or travelled in all the boats you espouse or otherwise or are you just giving out an opinion based on nothing ????

stinky-stabi
02-06-2009, 06:55 AM
tcm..what makes you think the quality is any different to any other boat..you seem an expert on every make of boat known to man...I hope you have driven or travelled in all the boats you espouse or otherwise or are you just giving out an opinion based on nothing ????

my thoughts exactly pinhead well said ....::)

Kero
02-06-2009, 07:08 AM
Don't underestimate the Chinese when it comes to making quality products! Sure they are well known for making cheap (and poor quality) items, but they are making those products for a customers set production price.
I have been to the workshop at Redcliffe, where they fit them out, and I can tell you that the quality of these boats is very good. They have been built to a high standard, as specified by Noble. The Chinese are capable of good work, just because they'll make anything for any price, doesn't mean that all products are rubbish.
I was pretty impressed with this product and would love to own one. 8-)

JB
02-06-2009, 09:06 AM
crikey since when have noble been making thier boats in china??? Do they make the bigger versions there too?

jas

Mrs Ronnie H
02-06-2009, 10:23 AM
crikey since when have noble been making thier boats in china??? Do they make the bigger versions there too?

jas

JB
Last year I sent some stuff over to China by way of the freight company I work for. It was going to the factory to start production on the range of Noble Ally boats. The production as I understand it is in the capable hands of the owners son.
From what I was told at the time from a very reliable source-- a lovely gentleman that happens to own Noble his son was overseeing the whole production in China and the standard and quality would equal any boat made in AU.
As I also understand it the production of the larger custom built boats would remain in AU.

Ronnie

02-06-2009, 11:04 AM
There are too many stories of them being a bit squirrelly in a following sea for my liking. That deep V has got to help cut but then it is a double edge sword downsea. Constant V boats like old HHs are reknowned to be the best and safest ride. In game boat land everyone is tinkering with deep V at the front flattening out aft for speed and backing up ability but that is making those 70' game boats over there that cruise at 40knots with twin 2,000s or whatever crap downsea in big conditions. At 5m in an aluminium boat a few degrees here or there in the V is not gunna do much for your ride in any great percentages. Surely all that elaborate welding has got to ad cost compared to something coming to a normal chine. You might as well get whatever brand platey and save a heap of money for adding all the fruit like a good plotter and colour sounder and also allow to put trim tabs on. I also think that 7m plus boats here in Australia that are still legal towing width are getting close to some magic formula for length to width ratio. Why else do the Yank boats start to exceed legal towing width here once they get to about greater than 19' foot. There are a few stories floating around of our long pointy boats being a bit broachy downsea.

JB
02-06-2009, 11:11 AM
Smithy, i agree with a lot of your points. I wish they still made the old design "Pacific Sportsfish" models.. the 6.4 Bulletproof series would be my dream boat.

Jas

02-06-2009, 11:34 AM
Lot of bad stories about the old Sportfishes still being broachy and bashy. Never been in one myself. Would love to try out a Super Vee though. Think they cut nice into a headsea.

don-one
02-06-2009, 12:40 PM
Thanks Smithy, the deep v is one of my major concerns with the model. At 21' it is a lot more than the fisher or bluewater at 17. Ive heard great reports about the larger model hulls but is it too much v for a 5 metre model.

would be keen to hear if anyone has ridden in one and either confirm or deny Smithys suspicion of them possibly being unstable in a following sea?

Wahoo
02-06-2009, 12:52 PM
Thanks Smithy, the deep v is one of my major concerns with the model. At 21' it is a lot more than the fisher or bluewater at 17. Ive heard great reports about the larger model hulls but is it too much v for a 5 metre model.

would be keen to hear if anyone has ridden in one and either confirm or deny Smithys suspicion of them possibly being unstable in a following sea?

with the Bluewater or Fisher II, you can have from 17 to 24 deg, mine is at 21* find this great at rest also, they can build it to what you like

don-one
02-06-2009, 01:28 PM
Daz, I know that you can go up to 21' in the larger models like yours but i thought it was at 17' for the smaller 5.2m model that bluewater build???

Im pretty sure that the fisher 520 dual was fixed at 17' also.

Wahoo
02-06-2009, 01:58 PM
Daz, I know that you can go up to 21' in the larger models like yours but i thought it was at 17' for the smaller 5.2m model that bluewater build???

Im pretty sure that the fisher 520 dual was fixed at 17' also.

here is one of his great little 5.2's with a 21* deadrise

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v647/4xgold0/21deadrise.jpg

nickstock
02-06-2009, 02:03 PM
Floating porn that one Daz!

Very nice.

What would your ideal deadrise for a boat under 5.5 be Daz?

Wahoo
02-06-2009, 02:14 PM

Very nice.

LOL Nick, this is what his logo on his boats should behttp://img.photobucket.com/albums/v647/4xgold0/pornstar.gif ;D wait till you see his new design boats.....sweeeeet

Wahoo
02-06-2009, 02:17 PM

Nick, IMHO, i would think 19 is a great alrounder in a 5.5, you will get PPL that think different

Coontakinta
02-06-2009, 02:23 PM

Very nice.

I'll second that.

Looks like a helluva lot of boat for 5.2m:o

02-06-2009, 05:10 PM
I know what ya saying smithy about the Super V.

You saw mine the other week.

Others have driven the boat and say they had ' broaching ' issues. I say it's the skipper.

Thing is mine ( Pacific Sportfish 6.2 centre cab ) has a large alloy targa and does make the rig top heavy, so to speak. Once you get over on the side a little it will roll probably more than it should. Having said that, if you are aware of this, it is not a problem as you can drive to accomodate this.

" bashy ".... ? IMO, this boat and similar ( no strakes ) are as close to riding in a glass boat as you'll get from a platey. You'll have to ask anyone that has been in it. All but imposible to ' bash ' into a sea, certainly in a 45 degree run, you can make it bang a little. But again, easily avoided.

Back to the question.

sorry, can't help there............

back to the Nobles............... I have NO opinion on these except to say that when they stared out, they made astetic improvements over the Pacific. Also, being made in China, I do have reservations about the integrity of the materials used. I know people are saying the quality in build is there.

All IMO...................

Skusto
02-06-2009, 05:16 PM
have road in the larger noble 6.2 centre cab once goin into a sea they were great cut threw some fair size chop at considerable speed the across following sea felt a little bit funny tho, it never broached but it sort of started to but then corrects it self, a little bit hard to explain still a beautiful boat and once u got used to the way it acted in a following sea u got used to it.

02-06-2009, 06:02 PM
have road in the larger noble 6.2 centre cab once goin into a sea they were great cut threw some fair size chop at considerable speed the across following sea felt a little bit funny tho, it never broached but it sort of started to but then corrects it self, a little bit hard to explain still a beautiful boat and once u got used to the way it acted in a following sea u got used to it.

Yep Skusto, it does ' correct itself ' . I forgot to mention that.

Those big reverse chines do the job nicely. ;D

tinman
02-06-2009, 06:36 PM
I have a 6.2 Noble Super Vee, and have found the ride and stability to be fantastic, in head seas or following seas. I would buy another without hesitation.:)

Redhunter
02-06-2009, 07:13 PM
hi don one i would regard the super vees as being one off the softest rides in plate i looked at them for some time but the only killer was thay were very expensive top boat though.

SgBFish
02-06-2009, 07:57 PM

Very nice.

Depends what you want.

If ride is important 22 degrees (Yalta 555)
If stability at rest is important then less.

Also the original Haines 17 was a great shape but again suffered from stability at rest issues.

White Pointer
02-06-2009, 10:45 PM
There are too many stories of them being a bit squirrelly in a following sea for my liking. That deep V has got to help cut but then it is a double edge sword downsea. Constant V boats like old HHs are reknowned to be the best and safest ride. In game boat land everyone is tinkering with deep V at the front flattening out aft for speed and backing up ability but that is making those 70' game boats over there that cruise at 40knots with twin 2,000s or whatever crap downsea in big conditions. At 5m in an aluminium boat a few degrees here or there in the V is not gunna do much for your ride in any great percentages. Surely all that elaborate welding has got to ad cost compared to something coming to a normal chine. You might as well get whatever brand platey and save a heap of money for adding all the fruit like a good plotter and colour sounder and also allow to put trim tabs on. I also think that 7m plus boats here in Australia that are still legal towing width are getting close to some magic formula for length to width ratio. Why else do the Yank boats start to exceed legal towing width here once they get to about greater than 19' foot. There are a few stories floating around of our long pointy boats being a bit broachy downsea.

G'day Smithy,

There's a lot of really good information packed in this tightly written post.

How come the Fisher MAXI series with a 23 degree deadrise works so well and doesn't broach in a trailing sea? Is it just the amount of power that the transom can carry or the performance characteristics of the hull?

White Pointer

03-06-2009, 05:16 PM
I've been in a 6.5m Fisher Maxi and was not that impressed. It took me back to the days my mate Russ had a 5.5 JBS. It was 15 degree in the arse and banged like a dunny door. It used to hurt. I could do multiple days in my 585 Mclay and have done 16 and 11 stretches in the Stabi but the one day I did in the Fisher absolutely shattered me physically. My old housemate bought a 5.8 Maxi CC and I am yet to have a ride but will be soon. It will be great to compare. Also one of my regular customers has done a few days in I think it was a 6.8m Fisher and prefers the ride of my much smaller Stabi when he comes with me. I have also heard from a reliable source that a few of the bigger Fishers that went to NQ were a bit squirrely downsea. Can't wait to go in this 5.8 and see how it performs and get to drive it myself. He has been decking it out himself to save money and has the QL tabs on but not connected.

stinky-stabi
03-06-2009, 06:04 PM
Lot of bad stories about the old Sportfishes still being broachy and bashy. Never been in one myself. Would love to try out a Super Vee though. Think they cut nice into a headsea.

worked for 5 years in a 7m sportsfish called orion out mooloolaba crabbing an lining..was very good boat ...had a levy drive on it...you would have seen it????
big brass prop with a big steel ring (meter round) that steers the boat.....
made in italy...has any one else seen this set up ????...

i would have a sportsfish any day...after a stabi....lolololololololol