View Full Version : The 12mile:)

JayT
01-06-2009, 11:56 AM
Hey guys an gals,

Went for a run with my sidekick Al an hit cal 12mile twice in the last week resulting in some nice fish including a very healthy trout:)
Most fish came aboard from the result of live yakka's just fished on the bottom
with a snood rig an 5ball with the snaps an some others to pillies, Al was hitting pb's on nearly all fish an even landed a nice red throat an he also had a tussle with quite a large bronzy which I filmed:)

Also scored a coupla crabs on the first trip too so happy days:)
All in all a couple of great little trips with about 30ltrs per trip used,
Anyways heres some pics of the last 2 trips,

Cheers Jay

Tim_N
01-06-2009, 03:19 PM
Nice going Jay,
Some beaut specimens in that lot.

01-06-2009, 03:51 PM
Well done good to see thew 12 mile with some fish coming back on it.

Dean1
01-06-2009, 04:05 PM
Nice catch mate. What did the trout weigh in at? My mate caught an 8kg trout out there quite some years ago I can still see it pop out from under the boat it was a beautiful sight! Deano.

JayT
01-06-2009, 05:22 PM
Yeah spiro its fishing quite good at the mo.
Deano didnt weigh the trout unfortunately but she wouldnt have gone much under the 8kg bracket I reckon, was a beautiful sight in real time when she did just that an popped out from under the boat, with plenty of laughter an even a high 5 I think:)
First trout this far south for us an although I know they are there your usually bricked before ya know what has even happened!

01-06-2009, 06:10 PM
great fish for that area mate top work

cheers justin

jeffo
01-06-2009, 06:36 PM
where were the sandies?

JayT
01-06-2009, 08:23 PM
Funny you say that jeffo, on the first trip we were actually up at coochin with the pots an decided to head down near the boardwalk an grab a burger, so we did that an was looking at the bar thinkin too good to pass up ...so we skipped out for a look an decided to drop the pots in 20 odd feet just outside the bar, left them there o/night an on our return the next day 7 sandies, ripper!

Benno1
01-06-2009, 09:51 PM
nice one Jay!!!...that trout is an absolute PEARLER :D...good sized cod as well...crab sangas all round huh :D...cheers for the piccies and report.

Mrs Benno1
Sunny

jeffo
02-06-2009, 05:55 AM
thanks Jayt, we used to get a bunch of sandies just outside the mooloolah river in the bay there, but over the past few years they seam to have disapeared. I have always thought there has to be places to catch them outside yet still in close.

JayT
02-06-2009, 08:05 AM
Crab sanga's an beer battered cod...yes please:)
Jeffo thats what I kind of thought when I dropped them out there plus I was also thinking I may have had a better chance of them still being there when I got back too!
Cheers Jay

Fishbait
02-06-2009, 05:02 PM
Very nice fish Jay T - ya lucky buggers! Cheers, Darren

BigE
02-06-2009, 07:53 PM
Nice haul thorpy we should catch up again some time... i went for a run last week as well, a bit further nth. :-X SSSSHHHHH.

BigE

JayT
03-06-2009, 07:42 AM
Heard you scored a trip up there biggins:)
By the looks of the reds in the pics you did ok also!
Will have to get on to ya an find out all about it...
Cheers mate, chat soon hey

BigE
03-06-2009, 05:46 PM
Reds were good but i like that trout of yours reminds me of home.

BigE

JayT
03-06-2009, 10:44 PM
My bro headed out again today to smash some reds (1770) lucky bugger!
Yeah was an awesome trout....pity I didnt catch it tho....wont be long:)