View Full Version : Todays Pics and a Few I Was Holding Over

28-05-2009, 07:41 PM
After sounding what seemed like 30 odd waypoints I finally pulled up on half a show not near any of my normal marks cause I could tell the troops were getting restless. I burnt up the dawn sounding but the fish bit all morning anyway which was lucky. There were more there than the sounder indicated and they were moving around a bit and I moved a bit on the pick but we just kept chipping away at them.

Best squire for Ken who organised the trip.

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2009/May/Pics004sm.jpg

His big young fella Liam making this ok gold spot estuary cod look small. He only fished about 1/4 of the day being seasick.

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2009/May/Pics006sm.jpg

Not a lawn of death, but a floor of death.

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2009/May/Pics009sm.jpg

And some cod from 2 weeks ago but still waiting on a few pics to come in. Thanks to Roger B who was aboard that day and who took them.

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2009/May/cod3sm.jpg

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2009/May/cod2sm.jpg

28-05-2009, 07:51 PM
nice fishing shall not be long now before im out there, better get in some of this season, whats the water like how far out before it clears? how was the temp?

justin

28-05-2009, 08:02 PM
Damn Smithy Another great pics
Moari Cod is a monster

outsiderskip
28-05-2009, 08:04 PM
good to get few
weather was great about time

pete

28-05-2009, 08:05 PM
Nice Moari Smithy..

SWANO1
28-05-2009, 08:36 PM
nice one smithy
much jiggin goin on, on ya boat atm ???
gunna have a hurt sesh 2morra off the cape see whats around.
good pics as usual , that gold spot looks like its blown a gasket .
cheers swano

28-05-2009, 08:48 PM
Swano,

getting into the Octopus jigs. Only one Shimano one left from the batch I bought from your stand at the T&T show. Got smashed up on the 30lb braid SP outfit today. First bust off ever on it on one of them in the rod holder. Other than that pulled a few AJs and kingies about 2 weeks ago.

Justin,

I was in green stuff all day. Has dropped a couple of degrees in the last 11 days.

28-05-2009, 08:56 PM
Good to finally meet you today Smithy.

Seems like a lot of locals hit the similar area you went to today.

We couldn't ' buy ' a snapper today, but troubled the bottom of the esky with some colour. Great day on the water.

nickstock
28-05-2009, 09:01 PM
What a ripper of a Maori Cod Rob! Good to see some nice fish coming aboard. What depths were you fishing?

Nick

28-05-2009, 09:23 PM
Most of my local SP spots are 6-25m and I will go SPs over bait time in water less than 35m. Over 35m and I will go bait more often than not. Most of my local reef fishing is done in 38-42m when I go south and 51-56m when I go north.

29-05-2009, 08:08 AM
Funny you mentioned the sounder reading Smithy - we had the same thing off Moreton today - just pinning individual fish away from structure on the sounder rather than 'shows', but then drop down and they seemed to be chewing better than they showed.

Also found a bait ball of 3-4 kg squire - got a couple off it before the sharks moved in.

DALEPRICE
31-05-2009, 07:07 PM
well done rob, looks like some happy faces.
thats a nice maori, the buggas are nice and thick in that 39m stuff
all at about 400mm.
top stuff
dale

SWANO1
04-06-2009, 06:39 PM
Swano,

getting into the Octopus jigs. Only one Shimano one left from the batch I bought from your stand at the T&T show. Got smashed up on the 30lb braid SP outfit today. First bust off ever on it on one of them in the rod holder. Other than that pulled a few AJs and kingies about 2 weeks ago.

Justin,

I was in green stuff all day. Has dropped a couple of degrees in the last 11 days.

hey smithy
bit late in reply but ya know what they say;)
we had a top sesh jiggin off the island in about 90m heaps of rat kings up to just over a meter ,the best king swallowed a snapper bound plastic in 95 m on my 3-5 spin late in the day . best boated was a 1330mm cobe hit a big surecatch 300gm knife, several double hookups and plenty of sweat , it sure gets ya in when ya sort it out ehh, sore shoulders next day so i think we did ok.
cheers swano