View Full Version : Daiwa Saltist v Shimano Tekota

22-05-2009, 10:44 PM
Hey, I'm after a bit of a working comparison between these 2 reels.

They'll be used for bottom bashing up here tackling big reds in deep water.

I've decided on either of these 2 because I want level wind, the last thing I want to be worrying about is making sure the line lays correctly when I'm pulling 10kg of red up from 80m. A star drag is fine because the reel won't be used for trolling so once the drag is set, it won't need to be moved to strike etc.

I am leaning towards the Saltist L40HA (4.9:1 ratio) for the Daiwa as oppose to the higher ratio model, because I want to get the fish up as easily as possible, exerting less pressure on myself and my gear.

The Shimano will be the tekota 700, which has a 4.2:1 ratio, which I think is a tad slow.

Both have approx the same max drag and line capacity, I'd go a bigger size, but I'd like to keep weight down, i'll have 10kg reds on the end so I don't need any more pressure on me, and I don't think I'll need more than 200m of line for bottom bashing straight up and down.

I will be putting 50lb braid on the reel.

So who has the good or bad oil on these reels?

I currently use a good old cheap and nasty penn GTi combo I got as an impulse buy when I was invited on my first reef trip a couple of years ago, it does the job, but I want something lighter and more comfortable to use, plus I've got some rellies coming up shortly and if the weather plays the game a reef trip will be on the cards, being from NSW they don't have any heavy gear for reef fishing, so they'll be getting the penn, while I get the good stuf

Cameron Sims
23-05-2009, 02:45 PM
i have a tekota 800 and i fish bottom with it
i loaded up 9kgs on a snapper the other week
the ratio certainly isnt to slow
the level wind on these reel is strong as so it wont let you down
50lb braid will be great
i havent experienced any troubles:)
cameron

GPB
23-05-2009, 05:46 PM
Ditto on Cameron :thumbsup:, oh!! except for the "I loaded up 9kgs on a snapper the other week" bit :grin: .

Cameron Sims
23-05-2009, 07:49 PM
9kgs of drag
cam

samson
23-05-2009, 09:06 PM
If you want to save $ in the long run go the saltist as they are sealed better and don't need as much maintenance as shimano which seize regulay but i would piss the level wind off just something to let you down just when you need it, i own both shimano toriums and trinidads and have given up on them they get full rebuilds 4 times a year but have two saltist 50's that still get punished nearly 5 years now and not seized or blown out yet and they get fished hard commercially i wouldn't piss on shimano utter crap.

Ally Jack
23-05-2009, 10:54 PM
Scott,

I have both the Tekota 700 & 800 and a Saltist 40 levelwind. My thoughts are the 800 is too wide and makes the rod roll around when winding in. The 700 is good, the body size is right and the ratio is fine for bottom work, but the 40 is just that bit better. Hard to explain but it just feels sturdier, and I use it all the time now when I'm using a overhead. I use a spin rod/reel a lot when drfiting in the shallower water.
I still take the Tekota's out for my mates and they think there great so everyone's happy
I'd recommend either but if the budget can stretch buy the Daiwa.

Ally Jack

diabolical
24-05-2009, 07:22 AM
If you want to save $ in the long run go the saltist as they are sealed better and don't need as much maintenance as shimano which seize regulay but i would piss the level wind off just something to let you down just when you need it, i own both shimano toriums and trinidads and have given up on them they get full rebuilds 4 times a year but have two saltist 50's that still get punished nearly 5 years now and not seized or blown out yet and they get fished hard commercially i wouldn't piss on shimano utter crap.

I didnt think there was that much between the three reels mentioned. What exactly is seizing in the Shimanos that is not failing in the Daiwas. I presume bearings are the main issue or is it some other part failure ?

Do you service your own stuff ?

samson
24-05-2009, 10:53 AM
Diabolical i'm not saying dawai are the ducks nuts as i've got a newer model sealine that seizes reguly too but as far as the shimano reels i've mentioned the bearings don't last because of water intrusion and the drags soon suffer add to that other issues that lead to reels costing more to fix than they are to buy they end up sitting in a plastic bag in peices because shimano want's $350 plus to fix like my trinidad, feel free to take it by the way its rubbish.
As far as servicing basic drag and bearing fixes aren't a problem and save costs but for other major repaires they get sent to a professional.
But as far as the saltist the things are much better sealed and lasts a lot better, doesn't even need to be touched so in return saves $ but i only own two and after five years or so they still perform.
I've only seen one tekota and that sits on my mates shelf seized after one season and would need a sledge hammer to move the handle.

diabolical
24-05-2009, 11:18 AM
The major difference as far as I can work out is the Daiwa bearings are sealed and the Shimanos are not. No grease in the Shimano bearings means a really short life expectancy. A pre fish service would save what is mostly corrosion.

Alan Tani covers all this on his reel repair site.....alantani.com.

Thanks for the offer of the tn but I will stick with my Torsa.

samson
24-05-2009, 11:41 AM
There's seems to better side plates that don't let the water in on the saltist as far as pre-fish services i don't think so i fish as much as 200 plus days a year there's no time to strip down reels every fish i'm flat out getting any sleep as is.

diabolical
24-05-2009, 01:15 PM
The prefish service I'm talking about is on new reels which are more often than not leaving the factory with no grease in vital areas such as bearings. A prefish service would stop any corrosion BEFORE it has a chance to start.

24-05-2009, 01:32 PM
I ended up going with the saltist 40H, the high ratio model without level wind. I figured beause the spool is so narrow level wind wouldn't be required, especially using a high quality tire round braid and I have put on it. Plus the didn't have the LW in stock and due to dollar value and Govt CPI increases would've cost about 20% more.

I teamed it up with a ugly stick bluewater 37kg rod, which has a nice soft tip and more than enough balls and sppoled it up with 50lb braid.

Total cost was just over $500

samson
24-05-2009, 04:46 PM
You made the right choice matey, in the long run it will save you more than a few bucks.

Diabolical it doesn't matter how much you pack grease or put sealed bearings in if salt water gets in it stuffs everything bar pulling the reel down every time it gets wet your better just going for a reel designed better and kicking it in the arse straight off the bat.

GPB
24-05-2009, 09:29 PM

It might be better than pissing into the wind, wow! commercially fishing 200 days a year and not servicing your reels for 5 years, man you do need some sleep ;)

The Tekota 800 and 700 on my boat are still cruising after 5 years with normal use and a nominal service once a year, as with all my reels ;D

Dave71
25-05-2009, 09:04 PM
Scott. Hve yuo had a chance to use the new rod/reel. I had a look at the same set up today in Mackay and would be interested in hw it performs.

25-05-2009, 09:57 PM
Nah not yet Dave, only bought it yesterday! it won't get its first use for at least a week yet, the wind's kicked up a bit, I have a week and a bit off starting 4pm friday so hopefully the high down south pisses off and gives me some good weather.

Teabag73
25-05-2009, 10:19 PM
I have 2 Saltist a 50HA and 50H high speeds with one level wind and the other not. Both are on T-Curve 400 Jig rods and are farken awesome. You won't regret the high speed when winching up from 50m plus. Both are running 80lb Braid.....

26-05-2009, 08:52 AM
i was looking at the 50, but it would present the same problem I have now, wider spool means the reel wants to twist the rod under pressure. Besides I got planty of line on the spool, 50yds of mono backing plus 350yds of 50lb braid, If I run out of line then, the fish (or Russian Sub, as the case may be) was never meant to be caught.

I was a bit hesitant about the high ratio model at first, but the tacklo convinced me, not only from a functionality point of view, but price point as well as I mentioned earlier

Fisher4life
26-05-2009, 09:58 PM
Sounds like a similar set up as what i'm currently using for Reds scott.

I'm running a diawa saltist 40h with the level wind in the low speed gear ratio on a 10-15kg rod, and it's unreal.

I did alot of research into the reals and didn't want to toy with the high speed gear ratio bringing up large leads from the bottom, not to mention the fish. However 4.9:1 is still a fairly high speed ratio in comparison to the old TLD's and other significant offshore reels.

I figured pay a little extra now, and be happy in the long run.

They definately have a lot of pulling power!

27-05-2009, 03:09 PM
yeah that was my main worry too, effectively winching a big lead up from the bottom, but more often then not, I find myself doing the whole pump and wind thing anyway, fish or no fish.

True to form, i have have holidays booked from the end of this week and it looks like its going to blow up, so looks like it'll gather a bit of dust before I get to use it.

diabolical
27-05-2009, 06:23 PM
New Saltist lever drags due out in the next month or two look pretty smick. Single and two speed models in black and blue.

27-05-2009, 06:35 PM
yeah, would be nice, but the lever drag isn't needed for bottom bashing and just adds unneccessary bulk. I wouldn't mind giving one a go for trolling though, but I do like the 2 speed tyrnos

Fisher4life
27-05-2009, 08:14 PM
True to form, i have have holidays booked from the end of this week and it looks like its going to blow up, so looks like it'll gather a bit of dust before I get to use it.

So scott, we can blame the bad weather on you....?

Naa it's true to form, buy a new outfit and the weather turns sour. Just picked up my new saragosa bottom bashing set up today, so can't wait for the next break in the weather

27-05-2009, 09:01 PM
So scott, we can blame the bad weather on you....?

Naa it's true to form, buy a new outfit and the weather turns sour. Just picked up my new saragosa bottom bashing set up today, so can't wait for the next break in the weather

Go for your life, I'm already blaming myself.

I've got family coming up from NSW next week and they want me to take them fishing because I always manage to slip a photo of my most recent capture in any emails, now they think I'm thig un fisherman who catches shitloads every time he goes out. Well not the case, I just go fishing shitloads and as the odds go you have to get a great session in every now and then.

What size saragosa did you get? I have the 5000, great reel, caught some stonkers on it, just wish I went the 6000 though, only for the extra line capacity. Just watch the badges, they seem to just fall off, don't know why, they're only there for asthetics so I don't fuss about them. I would use loctite or something to make sure they stay on, but they are there to cover a couple of screws on the body so they still need to come off.

Fisher4life
27-05-2009, 10:13 PM
got the saragosa 14000 with a 15-37kg berkley jig stick, hopefully make deep water that little bit easier to bring those big sinkers up (and hopefully Red's) when the current is running. The big eggbeaters have more cranking power then the little saltist, and a stronger drag.

28-05-2009, 11:01 AM
yeah I also considered a larger saragosa, but stuck with an OH because I can just see myself using higher drag pressure and getting sharked, slamming the reel onto the gunnel. I larger egg beater is on the cards though, still saving for a stella, but might just stick with the 10000 because it will double as a popping reel for GT's too, an 18000 or 20000 might be on the cards down the track if I find the 10000 lacks a bit

nickstock
28-05-2009, 11:28 AM
got the saragosa 14000 with a 15-37kg berkley jig stick, hopefully make deep water that little bit easier to bring those big sinkers up (and hopefully Red's) when the current is running. The big eggbeaters have more cranking power then the little saltist, and a stronger drag.

Hi mate,

I am looking for a new set up to chase reds in under 40 meters of water. Seeing as you own both reels what set up would you recommend?

I am currently using a TLD 25 with a 24 kg Berkley Jig rod but find the TLD to be a bit heavy and it tends to roll a bit like Scott mentioned about the bigger overheads.

I am leaning to the idea of a big eggbeater but can not afford a saltiga or stella. What drag are you getting from the Saragosa and how much did you pay for your set up?

Thanks,

Nick

28-05-2009, 01:04 PM
Nick, the saragosa 8000 would be all you need in that depth spooled with 50lb braid. You'd get around 12kg of usable drag out one and a couple hundred m of braid. Should cost you roughly $400 I think, maybe a little more, the 14000/18000 (same reel, 18000 has deeper spool) would push it up to the mid $500 bracket I think, and you should see about 15kg of usable drag easy, but the specs say 18kg is what its capable of. AS for a rod, there's just so many to choose from you're best to just try them out for yourself instore with the reel until you find one that you like and feels well balanced to you.

If you want to stick with an overhead, the saltist 40 is great (though i haven't used it yet myself, but have seen a few in action), heaps of line capacity, narrow spool so you don't get the roll, 10kg drag (star drag), and you should see it for around $370 shelf price, be aware though that if its new stock, or you have to wait for it to come in, a price increase will occur of around 20% I'm told because of Govt CPI increases plus lower dollar (depending when the stock was ordered)

Next time I'm out, the little 5000 with 20lb is coming out when the esky is full, if only to see if I can raise one of the big red bastards, should be either fun, or seriously back breaking, either way, I'm looking forward to it.

billfisher
28-05-2009, 02:14 PM
New Saltist lever drags due out in the next month or two look pretty smick. Single and two speed models in black and blue.

Here they are:

billfisher
28-05-2009, 02:31 PM
Saltist Big Game:

Fisher4life
28-05-2009, 03:29 PM
Hi mate,

I am looking for a new set up to chase reds in under 40 meters of water. Seeing as you own both reels what set up would you recommend?

I am currently using a TLD 25 with a 24 kg Berkley Jig rod but find the TLD to be a bit heavy and it tends to roll a bit like Scott mentioned about the bigger overheads.

I am leaning to the idea of a big eggbeater but can not afford a saltiga or stella. What drag are you getting from the Saragosa and how much did you pay for your set up?

Thanks,

Nick

Hey Nick i can't talk about the performance of the new rod and the saragosa just yet as i haven't had a chance to try it out yet.

But i can talk about the diawa saltist. i'm running my saltist 40LW (low speed) with a penn 10-15kg rod with 50lb braid. It replaced a TLD25 on a shimano Tiapan 15-24kg rod running 60lb braid. The upgrade was astonishing, i could never go back to using an older style reel like that. The saltist is a much lighter and more compact reel which is more ergonomically sound to hold onto. It winches up 2kg of lead from 60mtr with ease, and the drag is so so much stronger, no more having to thumb the spool to hold the trout out of their holes, or to turn the head of those big reds or GT's. The overhead is a cheaper option, but it really comes down to your personal preference.

I was planning on buying another saltist overhead instead of buying the saragosa, but when we head out to the reef i prefer to have a spin reel and an overhead. The spin reel incase we see schools of macks/tuna/trevally on the surface and overhead for trolling. So i decided to spend the extra money and buy a strong spinning reel that can double as a deep water fishing rod/jigging combo.

The retail for the saragosa is $490ish and rod was $160. If you shop around you can get it alot cheaper, i ended up printing out a quote from cambells pro tackle and my local pro tackle store matched their price.

I think any new combo you will be happy with, but you'll have to wait for good weather before i can tell you how the saragosa will go. I'm just a little concerned i won't be happy with the rod because it's a 15-37kg, a lot heavier action then i normally use, but the sales guy guarenteed me i would be dissappointed if i got the 10-24kg rod.

Hope this helps
Josh

nickstock
28-05-2009, 08:50 PM
Thanks Josh,

For a cheaper rod, I am more then happy with the performance and weight of the the new Berkley jig range. I bought mine from Northern angler in Cairns and Matt did it for $99 for me. A ripper of a rod IMO.

Nick

Fisher4life
28-05-2009, 09:57 PM
Forgot to mention nick, they say you can get 20kg of drag from the saragosa. The young bloke from the tackle store told me to be careful with the drag, a few too many clicks of the drag and the rod will get pulled out of your hands he reckons... i'll have to wait and see.

Yeah the rod and guides etc. seem to be really good for the price. Can't wait to test it out.

GPB
29-05-2009, 08:54 AM
Forgot to mention nick, they say you can get 20kg of drag from the saragosa. The young bloke from the tackle store told me to be careful with the drag, a few click and the rod will get pulled out of your hands he reckons... i'll have to wait and see.

Yeah the rod and guides etc. seem to be really good for the price. Can't wait to test it out.

What!!http://i224.photobucket.com/albums/dd207/bunzo51/Smileys/Wacko.gif

19-07-2009, 03:57 AM
Know a commercial line and trap fisherman from NSW that specialises in spinning for bonito. Like Samson he gets a while out of Saltists but blows Shimanos up regularly. At the moment he is trialing a Banax and it is surprisingly still going.

I just got a Saltist 40 in the high speed version for $260 to my door for myself and also organised one for one of my customers. With Exoset 80lb jigging braid for $60 and a Berkley Dropshot jigging rod in the new silver colour for $115 it is one great budget jigging/bottom bashing outfit. Did see a Sunshine Coast tackle place doing Saragosas for high $300 mark at a sale last weekend.

Fisher4life
21-07-2009, 10:17 AM
To follow up on the saragosa...

The reel is fantastic, very strong and durable, and the drag is just awesome! I had to match it up with a heavier rod, i now have a 37kg bluewater ugly stick and it makes the deep water fishing for reds with big leads a lot easier and more enjoyable.

The only down side is the short jigging rod isn't the best for casting slugs at surface pelagics that pop up around the reefs. But you can't have everything....

Jurkyjj
21-07-2009, 07:17 PM
WOW!!
I have always owned Shimano gear and have always looked after my gear....as well as other peoples too.
I have never had ANY of my Shimano gear fail. Having said that...I don't fish every weekend in a year.
As far as saying that "I wouldn't piss on Shimano" I say that I feel that this is a tad harsh.
Everybody has had bad experiences with certain brands. AND everybody is certainly entitled to their own opinions, BUT, that is quite outrageous.
Shimano is a worldwide respected brand and I'm sure that if there were these many problems with the reels, they would be out of business.

Anywho, this is my two bobs worth.

Cheers, Jason

Jurkyjj
21-07-2009, 07:19 PM
BUT, to answer the question as the gentleman has asked.
For me, both are great brands and great reels, but, as per my post above........Shimano for me!!

Thanks,