View Full Version : Mixed bag/ Squid and what not to do with Lures

18-05-2009, 06:57 PM
Headed out from the harbour about 3.45 off to our rubble ground wide ............... but the weather was a sloppy SW so we settled to chase a few squid in the lights close to a shallow reef. Some good squid coming onto the boat kept us keen and managed a good catch.
http://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/PICT0075.jpg
And where not to face a freshly caught squid as one i just caught shot the oldman fully coating him in ink in the early morning hours.....Wasn't impressed.
http://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/16052009001.jpg

Okay so the wind eased and we motored onto to our spot in the slightly sloppy SW .
Gets to our spot and we see's some huge schools of bait being herded by big show's on the sounder while the brother in law in his boat started to troll while we anchored up. He scored a big yellowfin tuna and then he too anchored up seeing there wasn't any spanish to be caught at that time.
First couple drops i scored a nice thick trout from the bottom
http://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/16052009002.jpg
Then after that catches of blueys and Pink Hussars and surf parrots started to make our esky. then a metre long Cod hits the oldmans handline and after a long struggle he pulls him to the surface. After dehooking him and deflating him we held him with the gaff trying to revive him but to no avail....I don't like to take cod that big as they keep the pestilence down around the ground but we had to take him after 30 mins of trying to get him down.
http://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/PICT0056.jpg
! pm come around so we decided to pull up anchor and go for a troll before heading home.......... We had only gone 20 m beofre the X Rap gets slammed and we gaffs a nice spanish . then another straight after and then another...........
http://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/16052009006.jpg
Then we lured a small spanish about 40 cm thats after i unhook the first set of hooks gives a massive flick and drives the second set of trebles straight into my thigh with a angry spanish on my leg slapping around i grabbbed the lure to stop it from going any deeper. After couple mins we got the spano off and unhooked the 2 other barbs but the third one was deep and we snipped the last couople bards and bandaged up to head to the hospital.
http://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/16052009008.jpg
After a hours wait i was heading home with a lovely hole in my thighs and a feed to fillet.

Scored this pic on sunset while we were heading home yesterday on the water
http://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/PICT0065.jpg

MY ALIBI
18-05-2009, 07:11 PM
Good Fishin There Jt .f@#k That Would Of Hurt A Little Those Trebles In The Thigh, Sorry I Didnt Get To Catch Up On Me Way Out ,,,, Them There Reds Were Callin Lol

18-05-2009, 07:30 PM
I didn't pass you did you go thru Halfway?
Or North?

Always_offshore
18-05-2009, 07:53 PM
great report,beutiful day,great fish,shame about the double hookup.

Fishing_Freddy
18-05-2009, 08:31 PM
Great report sorry to hear about trebble hope it feel better soon. A few ales will help with the pain relief. Nice looking catch, the old cod would of gave a good fight on the hand line.
Well done
Ken :beer:

RAT-KING
18-05-2009, 08:36 PM
Well Done
Wat an awesome session,
Pity about the cod!
Cheers Simon

18-05-2009, 08:44 PM
Thanks for the photos again JT. It really made my day...... The colours on the trout are better seen here than on the phone. Did you :'( when you hooked yourself???

It has to be a good feeling when you see colour other than silver in the esky.

Thanks for the report.

Wags

18-05-2009, 08:56 PM
No i didn't cry
Just so silly more to the piont................. Using the 80 mono's on the Tyrnon's for trolling brings the big spano's in with full fury and thrashing like crazy with the lure's in there mouths.
Will get you onto the action in june hopefully

Fishbait
18-05-2009, 09:42 PM
Nice going JT - you know how to slay them - nice feed mate. Darren

18-05-2009, 10:26 PM
Turned out to be a good day on the water cept for the hooks.

nickstock
18-05-2009, 10:40 PM
Great report JT, looks like you made the most of the trip alright. The old man sure got a touch up by the squid ha ha.

nick

Midnight
18-05-2009, 11:12 PM
Gday,
Always the trouble with fishin heavier gear, cranky fish boat side!
I normally fish 24kg and you can sure drag 'em in, but they are normally a bit fiesty when you get them there!

I'm thinkin about going down to 8 or 15kg for my normal "eatin fish" trolling and leaving the 24+ for the billfish.

Myles

mangomick
19-05-2009, 01:48 AM
Dopey bastard;D
Nice looking esky load though JT.

19-05-2009, 06:02 AM
Gees what a big sook ,Jt...just grab the bloody hook with the pliers and rip it out,man and just keep on fishin'...;D

Nice feed there though,mate..I'm sure the pain went away after a bit of calamari, fresh trout and spanish and of course a few Jimmy's..;):)

19-05-2009, 06:18 AM
I'm hearing ya Scott.:P Was going to push it out the otherside but was too deep and had drunk my lst 3 jimmies:'( Should have done the 2 wraps around the hook and pulled but the oldman was up me.
What hurt the most was when i got into the car and my shirt got caught around the hookshaft where we clipped it off and near pulled it thru the otherside ::)

geeb
19-05-2009, 07:18 AM
Really great report - your old man does not look at all impressed reminds me of the sideways glances my father used to give me when whatever went wrong was my fault. Nasty treble bite - happened to a bloke I was fishing with in PNG - he was a smart alec and kept drinking as we went back to Port. Got to the Doctors - the treble would not cut - so flattened the barbs as best we could then pushed it through - no anasthetic as he had drunk too much - but not enough if you get my drift.

19-05-2009, 09:18 PM
Found a couple other pics on my phone the trout and quality of the blueys we caught

http://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/PICT0055.jpg
http://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/PICT0060.jpg

reel scream
20-05-2009, 07:51 AM
Great feed JT. I must think about getting some squid this winter- been lazy. Ouch to the treble.

Cheers Scott

Benno1
20-05-2009, 08:00 AM
another great trip J!!!...few spanish...a mixed bag...cracker trout AND a well decent feed of calamari...the spanish got its revenge on you BIG TIME!!!...oucheeeeee!!!...love your work :D

Fitzroy didnt fire for us like we'd hoped...but we still came home with a decent feed...ill put the piccies up later today...thanks for your piccies and report :D

Mrs Benno1
Sunny

JayT
20-05-2009, 09:17 AM
All that was missing from that trip is oysters kilpatrick by the sounds,
Feel the pain of that treble, thats a ripper;)
Cheers Jay

fisho85
22-05-2009, 12:26 PM
Cod, blueys, trout, spanyids, squid, yourself, you sure know how to catch anything mate. I dont think you want to hook up anymore big JT's do you, keep away from them one's. Nice catch mate im jealous as always, cheers for the report

Fisho85

22-05-2009, 06:23 PM
LOL Would have stretch my arms if i had to pull my fart body up from the depths .............................Shut up Wags

vertico
24-05-2009, 06:43 PM
i thought i put a post up but i cant see it, asked about how you find the squid on the reefs ? and how do you chase them
thanks
sean

24-05-2009, 08:32 PM
Mostly just take a chance sean ..................... With the LED lights on the boat if there are any squid around it usally brings them in.................. Plus locakl knowledge helps as be here all my life and have a few area's that i know that hold them. But being winter and there are some good shallow reefs about you know give it a go.............. And mix your squid jigs up cast a different colour around every 20 or so cast's
Goodluck

vertico
24-05-2009, 09:28 PM
so might be a good thing to try in the fitzroy lagoon at night ? what you think ?
sean

24-05-2009, 09:40 PM
Definaetly
And i think you wouldn't have to try for too long
I've heard then around 12 mile and Rockcod Shoals during winter night time

ronnien
25-05-2009, 12:56 PM
looks like right up & down the coast is giving up top fish.
great read jt & the pics also.
plenty of mack fillets i see there.

ron.

jake0
26-05-2009, 10:24 AM
very nice JT, i like the last pic

Wahoo
26-05-2009, 02:01 PM
well done JT, nice trout, and love the last pic of the sunset, can you e mail it to me? Pleeease............