PDA

View Full Version : boat acceleration

ubdkdd
17-05-2009, 12:08 PM
hey,

I am relatively new to boats, but am having some probs with my outboard.

I have a 90 hp mercury oil injected outboard which is causing me all kinds of headaches. I had the carbs stripped and cleaned earlier in the year, and a general service, at which point we bypassed the oil injection and started using premix... once done, it worked perfectly.

Now, however, when ever i open the throttle, the boat gets to about 60% of its previous revs and power, then just sits there. Occassionally, after a while of sitting one the plane at that output, it will find the remaining 40%, and taken off at a great rate, nearly leaving me in the water behind. It also seems to be sucking more fuel that it previously did.

I have checked everything i can think of as to what would be casuing it. I am presently thinking that maybe i ran a tank/s with a too heavy fuel ratio and things have got clogged up again... but, am not sure.

Any suggestions on why it might be happening??

cheers.

peterbo3
17-05-2009, 12:23 PM
How old is the fuel? Premix tends to degrade quicker than straight unleaded. If the fuel is fresh, then I would start with the carbies again. If you are using E10, that too may be a factor.

dreemon
17-05-2009, 12:27 PM
sort of sounds like a fuel prob and starving , but using more fuel shows it getting enough, maybe to much if a float is stuck open, a de-carb might help too ? does it smoke more ?

Monza
17-05-2009, 01:59 PM
Could be a spark problem. Does the motor sound a bit coarse/rough when running at full speed. It may pay to change the plugs.

I had a motor that ran fine at lower revs, but ran out of puff above 3500rpm. Turned out to be a faulty spark plug (which was fairly new) which stopped firing at higher revs.

boatboy50
17-05-2009, 02:32 PM
Hey,