View Full Version : Oh Yeh Baby!!!!! More pics added

megafish71
13-05-2009, 08:23 PM
Well today was the first time the new Seaprowler hit the water, for those of you who haven't been in a boat with a Verado on it, all I can say is "Oh yeh baby".
Still have a few more jobs to do on the boat to finnish everything off, but we are nearly there. Will put up a few pics from today, was going to take some more pics of all interior and the underdeck eskies this evening, but the camera just broke. So heres a couple of pics from today and I will try and get a hold of another camera tomorrow and post some more then.

Cheers Ron

O-3
13-05-2009, 08:27 PM
wow...very nice boat.:o

Alchemy
13-05-2009, 08:27 PM
Ron,

She is a sensational looking rig. Congratulations on getting her in the water at last. I hope you can get some more pics up.

fez
13-05-2009, 08:36 PM
Ron,

Congratulations on finally getting the thing in the water. The process was a long one but I am sure you will enjoy the hours you can now spend out on her.

Look forward to the upcomming reports.

fez

13-05-2009, 08:40 PM
Congrats. Must be a big weight off the shoulders now you are so close.

What transducer have you gone for? Is the 275 so you can blast to the reef in good time on the good days?

13-05-2009, 08:50 PM
Very nice. What are the specs on the boat?

megafish71
13-05-2009, 08:58 PM
Congrats. Must be a big weight off the shoulders now you are so close.

What transducer have you gone for? Is the 275 so you can blast to the reef in good time on the good days?

G'day Smithy, I am running a 600w 20deg tilted element through hull transducer in this one, it read the bottom at WOT today, was only in smooth water though, will see how it goes on our first trip offshore. Still waiting for a couple more props to try, we only got it up to 48mph today, but couldn't get it to rev over 5700, so we still have to find another 500rpm. If we get the right prop might get to about 50mph. Will make it a quick run to the reef if the weather is good.

Ron

megafish71
13-05-2009, 09:04 PM
Very nice. What are the specs on the boat?

Horse, boat is a 7.2mtr Seaprowler, heaps of info and more pics here http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?t=123414&highlight=megafish71

Ron

13-05-2009, 09:15 PM
Looks great Ron - congratulations on getting her on the water

sleepygreg
13-05-2009, 09:39 PM
Looks like a weapon Ron. Sweet ride. Look forward to many reports of succesfull trips.

pilchardjones
14-05-2009, 06:27 AM
very impressive boat - congratulations on the result.
where do you run to the reef from?
steve

pilchardjones
14-05-2009, 06:28 AM
o - i see your avatar now - cairns.
top work.
steve

14-05-2009, 07:06 AM
She is a beaut! Must have been very exciting and a little nerve racking that first launch, will give you a wave anytime I see you you fly past me:)

Stuart
14-05-2009, 07:38 AM
Great looking rig mate although Im lost as to why you went with such a huge donk though. Where are you going to do 50mph and why?

Stu

14-05-2009, 07:44 AM
mate well done,

know you have been doing this build for a while and what a result, that should get you out to the reefs pretty quick, look forward to more pics

mike

chop duster
14-05-2009, 09:45 AM
Ron,
Nice choice of outboard mate, i'm sure it will continue to impress you for a few years yet, we are still amazed at how well our 250 goes after approx 600hrs.
Have you been to veradoclub.com ? If not, get on there right away and download the owners tips, very informative read, and will save you sercicing costs for sure.
What prop are you running? hard to tell from the photo's, but I guess a mirage or a vengence in 19" pitch. The motor will loosen up a little once you get a couple of hours on the clock, although 5700 is way too low, you want to achieve around 6200 especially if you are running fairly light (new boat, could only assume so).
Also, who did you purchase the outboard from? boatscene?

Stuart,
we regularly fang out to the reef on the flat days @ 50mph. It's not all about top speed, the bigger donk will give a faster cruise speed as well.

Donny Boy
14-05-2009, 09:57 AM
Very, very nice look, that.

Good to see her out on the water....

Enjoy....

megafish71
14-05-2009, 12:38 PM
Ron,
Nice choice of outboard mate, i'm sure it will continue to impress you for a few years yet, we are still amazed at how well our 250 goes after approx 600hrs.
Have you been to veradoclub.com ? If not, get on there right away and download the owners tips, very informative read, and will save you sercicing costs for sure.
What prop are you running? hard to tell from the photo's, but I guess a mirage or a vengence in 19" pitch. The motor will loosen up a little once you get a couple of hours on the clock, although 5700 is way too low, you want to achieve around 6200 especially if you are running fairly light (new boat, could only assume so).
Also, who did you purchase the outboard from? boatscene?

Stuart,
we regularly fang out to the reef on the flat days @ 50mph. It's not all about top speed, the bigger donk will give a faster cruise speed as well.

Your dead right mate, its not about the topend, its all about the good cruising speed with good economy. Tried out several props, all a tad tall, waiting for a couple of enertias and a smaller 4blade to test. I bought the verado through Tully Boating World.

Ron

Blaster Bretty
14-05-2009, 06:30 PM
Wow what a beast of a boat...in fact i would call it a ship! love that pic of the mrs in front of it!

bretty

Midnight
14-05-2009, 08:16 PM
Gday,
She's a cracker Ron! Perfect for the Cairns scene. I agree with going the big donk. Better to baby a big one for a nice cruise than to wring a small donks neck just to get there. Plus when you fill a 200L bin with Reds you will want the grunt on the way home;D

I notice you have gone for the QL Tabs. I asked the Volvo man at the Brissy boat show to convince me they were the go over traditional tabs, Lencos,Bennetts and the like, but he didn't manage to do so.

I would be pleased to hear how you find them.

Good luck with the new vessell!

Myles

megafish71
14-05-2009, 09:15 PM
Gday,
She's a cracker Ron! Perfect for the Cairns scene. I agree with going the big donk. Better to baby a big one for a nice cruise than to wring a small donks neck just to get there. Plus when you fill a 200L bin with Reds you will want the grunt on the way home;D

I notice you have gone for the QL Tabs. I asked the Volvo man at the Brissy boat show to convince me they were the go over traditional tabs, Lencos,Bennetts and the like, but he didn't manage to do so.

I would be pleased to hear how you find them.

Good luck with the new vessell!

Myles

G'day Myles, this is the first time running the QL tabs, have run bennets before and I must say that I already prefer the QLs. Will be keen to head out in some rough stuff and see how the tabs will perform.

Now as for the 200L bin, thats not big enough so I built a 400L esky under the main deck ;D ;D now all I need is a bit of good weather to go and find some.

Cheers Ron

Midnight
14-05-2009, 11:08 PM
"so I built a 400L esky under the main deck "
That's the go Ron!

Yeah I hope the wind backs off for you soon.
Was a glassout here today offshore from Cape Moreton, and I was at work:'(

Please let me know if you notice any significant "stern lift" with the QL's or if it really more just a "bow down" effect. Also how they go with levelling the boat up and any adverse drag effects from their use.

I am pretty well sold on the Lenco's at this stage for my boat but am intrigued by the QL's and the fact that the likes of Cabo etc are fitting them.

Have fun,

Myles

welder
15-05-2009, 03:46 AM
That is one SWEET RIDE and a awesome motor.
Have you checked out , www.veradoclub.com (http://www.veradoclub.com) Glen runs a great site there just for the VERADO motors.

Again that is one nice chunk of Alloy.

Wahoo
15-05-2009, 07:47 PM
Very nice Ron, great motors and heaps of grunt, that 275 is more like 300hp, what Enertia have you tried? i might be able to help in the department....

well done

megafish71
15-05-2009, 08:34 PM
Thanks Daz, have sent you a pm. Im out your way tomorrow if your going to be about.

Ron

dazza
16-05-2009, 06:51 AM
hi ron,
nice rig mate. hope the weather god's are now kind to you and plenty of hours go on the new boat.
i have a prop here that may suit. 13 1/4 x 19 i think i have a 20 around somewhere as well, came off the old 225 zuke when it got sent to the wreckers
let me know if i can help
dazza

Moffy
17-05-2009, 08:30 AM
Looks great mate - some nice work there on the dash layout - very clean.

imagine the fuss if you got one of the 300s instead of the little 275.....

should be a great platform to get out there when most locals here can't cause of the weather and even better when its calm!!

early days yet - but seabreeze showing it might be ok next weekend (good tides too) - you might be able to score some reds in her soon!!

Moffy

nickstock
17-05-2009, 09:03 AM
As Daz would say,

Pure Alloy Porn!

That is one very sweet ride Ron, I look forward to reading some reports.

Nick

megafish71
17-05-2009, 07:11 PM
Ok guys, got the new camera sorted today, so here is the pics of the rest of the fit out. Still have to get the seat at te front of the console upholstered and a few other little things done. The esky in the main deck area is just under 400lts and the two in the raised fordeck are 50ltr ea.

Cheers Ron

megafish71
17-05-2009, 07:13 PM
A few more pics

18-05-2009, 12:57 AM
Couldn't agree more. I love my V-Rod, and so does the wife...

Donny Boy
18-05-2009, 01:26 PM
My god Timi !!

That thing's a weapon !!!. :o:o

old_mate_china
21-05-2009, 10:37 PM
Back on line and wow. I've been fortunate enough to see this rig in real life and looks even better than the pics show it up. .... not that they're bad either.

Hows the signwriting going? Should help to complete the picture!

22-05-2009, 05:42 AM
My god Timi !!

That thing's a weapon !!!. :o:o

Donny, I agree. But please don't refer to Mumsy as a weapon...

;D;D;D

megafish71
22-05-2009, 07:16 AM
Back on line and wow. I've been fortunate enough to see this rig in real life and looks even better than the pics show it up. .... not that they're bad either.

Hows the signwriting going? Should help to complete the picture!

G'day Lee, all of the decal work should be done next Wednesday or Thursday, went out prop testing on Wednesday arvo, we banged the rev limiter with both props tried, should have more props here this arvo and will give it another try tomorrow.

Cheers Ron

BrenMac
25-05-2009, 12:45 AM
Fantastic looking rig Mega. Great choice of donk, these VRods are just an absolute pleasure to own.
Can only echo the other guys posts- go sign up on the Verado Club website, some fantastic info there.

Have fun with it mate!

Brendan

Wahoo
26-05-2009, 03:11 PM
how did the prop go Ron, any luck?

bobp
26-05-2009, 08:56 PM
good to see a few more vrod owners on here:D:D
they are just an orsome motor or prob a more accurate term would be propulsion platform as the motor is just one part (steering ,throttle ,vessel views system monitoring) and much more just look at the wiring loom there is so much room for expanding he system and it is all on 1 loom
just wish i could use it all (afford it):P

hope you enjoy your new toy :):)

bob

megafish71
27-05-2009, 02:15 PM
how did the prop go Ron, any luck?

Daz, didn't get to run it, had a bit of trouble with the DTS, the dealer is on to sorting it out, have asked them to order in some other props to test when I take the boat to them. I hope this is the only bug I have with the system. BTW I think I will have to lift the engine up a hole or two. (see pic) as it is I turned the 17 4 blade to 6080 so maybe the 17 enertia mite be too small.

Managed a little jack the other night, only went to a close rock as the DTS was playing up.

Ron

megafish71
27-05-2009, 02:19 PM
Ment to say thanks everyone for the heads up about the Verado Club, great site and I have been a paid up member since I decided I was fitting a Verado.

Ron

Wahoo
27-05-2009, 02:35 PM
G'day Ron, just recieved your message on the phone, doing the wheel bearings and had hands full of grease, whats happining with the DTS? by the looks of them pics, i would lift it one hole for sure, maybe even 2, looks to be to much drag where it is, you should get an extra 150 - 200rpm each hole, so the 4 blade 17p would run where it should, did you slab that jack up for bait...........lol......
but yeh, lift the motor before any more prop testing

chop duster
27-05-2009, 02:37 PM
what problems are you having with the DTS? haven't heard of any problems with it before? thanx
Also, engine needs to come up a hole or 2. What RPMs were you sitting on for the pics and trim height?

(edit: WHAT DAZ SAID )

megafish71
27-05-2009, 06:44 PM
The problem with the DTS appears to be a faulty sensor in the controller. Waiting for the tecs from Mercury to clarify. May just be a change of binnacle controller and or PCM. What this fault means is that the PCM and ETC (electronic throttle control) don't agree on throttle position. This makes the system continually change rpm by 50 or so revs and will not allow max rpm.

megafish71
27-05-2009, 06:50 PM
what problems are you having with the DTS? haven't heard of any problems with it before? thanx
Also, engine needs to come up a hole or 2. What RPMs were you sitting on for the pics and trim height?

(edit: WHAT DAZ SAID )

Pic was taken crusing at about 4000rpm at 30mph, cant tell you what trim setting it was at. Weather was calm. (see pic)

Ron

old_mate_china
04-06-2009, 11:40 AM
Hey Ron

Better update us with the signwriting and prop / motor height trials. Any luck this week or been too busy to play with the toys?

megafish71
04-06-2009, 03:31 PM
Nothing sorted yet Lee, having the Merc mechanic coming up on Saturday to do some further investigating on the DTS problem. The decals are all finished and look great. Will take some pics of them on the weekend.

Cheers Ron

rich158
13-06-2009, 10:25 PM
Great looking rig mate although Im lost as to why you went with such a huge donk though. Where are you going to do 50mph and why?

Stu

Hmm I'm thinking there are a few reasons.....

1. Out & back quick = more fishing time.
2. It'll be a big buzz if you can get over the price at the fuel pump.
3. Be honest, Ultimate big boys toys, all of us would if we could!

4. Owner of bikini in avatar will enjoy out & back quick.;D

Looks like a great boat. Very cool, Enjoy!

Rick.

Moffy
25-06-2009, 06:58 PM
How'd you go Ron - get the DTS issue sorted? - you'd have to be chaffing at the bit to get it in the water this weekend. Pity it'll be too calm for you to really test the hull out:-X

Wahoo
25-06-2009, 07:58 PM
C'mon Ron, Spill the beans mate.....and put up a few pics with the Graphics, bet your a happy chap now.......lol........

megafish71
26-06-2009, 02:54 PM
C'mon Ron, Spill the beans mate.....and put up a few pics with the Graphics, bet your a happy chap now.......lol........

Haven't taken any decent pics of the finished product yet, maybe get some action shots this weekend, now that the DTS problems are all sorted. Thanks again for the lend of your prop. See ya on the water.

Ron

megafish71
29-06-2009, 09:25 AM

Pic for you, still having DTS problems, not happy.

http://i640.photobucket.com/albums/uu126/Seaprowler72/P6060156.jpg

chop duster
29-06-2009, 12:46 PM
Ron,
you got to be kidding! still having problems? can you give a short description of what is happening? this just isn't on! might be time to take it elsewhere for a second opinion.
P.S - boat looks the goods

nickstock
29-06-2009, 02:49 PM
What a dead set machine. The graphics topped it off Ron!

That boat is exactly what I want..........only about 1.7 meters smaller;D

What are the issues that your having?

Nick

29-06-2009, 02:55 PM
Looking really good now! like the big comfy looking seats and how far does that engine tilt up!

Wahoo
29-06-2009, 04:04 PM
that looks shit hot Ron, turned out a treat

PS: thanks again for replacing the lock on the screen door mate,

megafish71
30-06-2009, 09:38 AM
Ron,
you got to be kidding! still having problems? can you give a short description of what is happening? this just isn't on! might be time to take it elsewhere for a second opinion.
P.S - boat looks the goods

The slimline binnacle controller has been replaced and everything seemed fine, put approx 4 hours on it before the alarm went off again, same fault code displayed on VV screen but this time the contoller had no response at all, where as before you still could select gears and get up to approx 4500rpm. This time it would only stay in neutrel and idle. The fault only happened twice and both times was while selecting reverse, the only way to clear the fault and get the controller to respond was to turn everything off and switch the battery switch off for a few moments, then switch the power back on and restart the engine. Everything ran well for the 2hr run home but it still shortend our fishing trip as I just didn't trust the system to stay out for the rest of the night. Any ideas, I am really starting to wonder if I will ever trust this bloody DTS system.

Ron