http://static.thecouriermail.com.au/Promotions/fishing/

sweet ;D

whatscracken
10-05-2009, 05:21 PM
Yeah its a good idea after all the recent changes

10-05-2009, 05:26 PM
NSW have them already.
They've had them since the licenses came out if I remember correctly.

Angryant
10-05-2009, 05:26 PM
Good on the Courier Mail for this - it's a shame that Fisheries won't supply the same when bag limits and/or sizes change.

11-05-2009, 09:33 PM
I'll be up for one on each side of the boat

Good idea to whoever thought it up.

ronnien
11-05-2009, 09:49 PM
good idea... but you will find that the bag & size limits will change to much so off comes that sticker & on goes another 1.

the tackle shops up here are sick & tired of this happening & now they dont even sell them anymore.

ron.

11-05-2009, 09:56 PM
FYI.

I like the idea for identifying species, but

a Sticker will shrink and is NOT acceptable to a Fisheries officer of a legal way to MEASURE fish. :-/

Just make sure the fish are 2-3cms over and there will be no probs. ;) ;D

mod5
11-05-2009, 10:44 PM
Good on the Courier Mail for this - it's a shame that Fisheries won't supply the same when bag limits and/or sizes change.

Have another look. These are being provided by the Government through the Courier Mail. Even have the Govt logo on them. ;)

11-05-2009, 10:54 PM
http://www.dpi.qld.gov.au/cps/rde/dpi/hs.xsl/28_3011_ENA_HTML.htm

Measuring device. DPI&F recommends using a sturdy ruler or coil tape measure to determine the length of catch. Adhesive or stick-on devices can shrink when exposed to weather and be unreliable.

quoted from the above page.

Angryant
12-05-2009, 03:03 AM
Have another look. These are being provided by the Government through the Courier Mail. Even have the Govt logo on them. ;)

Oops, my apologies - I didn't even notice the logo. I'll have to go to the optometrist sooner than I thought.

honda900
13-05-2009, 01:32 PM
If your looking for something along the same lines, but have a measuring stick,

I was in Leisure marine a while back and on the front counter they have a stand with picture cards (dont know what else to call it), high quality pictures of fish, size, bag limits, good eating and coral fin reef fish all the info you could want, plastic coated as well to keep the moisture out.

they are pretty good value, good photos and both sides of the card is full of pictures best part, they were $10.00, mines in the boat now..

Honda

darylive
13-05-2009, 07:21 PM
Well why do you have to buy the Courier bloody mail to get one?

If it is like anything else that comes out of the courier it is probably not right anyway.

Where is the Govt. web site to get it free?

16-05-2009, 09:50 AM
Hmph. Snapper not important enough to be on the poster?

What's with that?

16-05-2009, 09:54 AM
did i miss read, :o????????????

red throat emperor legal size 25 cm and a bag limit of 10!!!!!!!!!!!!

just looked on dpi website, it still says it 38cm and 8

be careful fellas don't get caught out by this marvellous peice of journalism ::)::)

going by there size limits, i could have bought home from the banks last night 30 tasty red throat all around 35-37cm!!!!!!!!!!!!

bennykenny
16-05-2009, 11:58 AM
yeah it is a bit strange, i also thought that some of the lure rigs were a bit funny, i know most of us know what a bimini and albright knot is, but most of the novices out there who are reading this poster havent got a clue, and not even a explanation as how to tie one of these knots, oh and i thought the quote jewfish is just an overgrown whiting was a classic.

Nic
16-05-2009, 12:31 PM
Well the chart was at least accurate in other ways. There was, if you recall, a photo of a cooked prawn and a helpful caption saying 'Prawn'.

Kleyny
16-05-2009, 02:47 PM
did i miss read, :o????????????

red throat emperor legal size 25 cm and a bag limit of 10!!!!!!!!!!!!

just looked on dpi website, it still says it 38cm and 8

be careful fellas don't get caught out by this marvellous peice of journalism ::)::)

going by there size limits, i could have bought home from the banks last night 30 tasty red throat all around 35-37cm!!!!!!!!!!!!

But wasnt the poster given to the courier mail by the government?

So if this is the case, the stuff up is a govermnet booboo.

but that never happens does it.::)

neil

Whitto
16-05-2009, 03:34 PM
I guess you get what you pay for:-[......and God forbid you should accuracy as well;D

16-05-2009, 04:20 PM

Anyone notice....... No SNAPPER on the sticker!

Ekimus
16-05-2009, 05:07 PM
Can you catch female muddies now??

BaitThrower
16-05-2009, 06:36 PM
Yeah and pretty poor resolution on the fish images too on the sticker. Couldn't identify a great white from a whiting from those pics ;)

dreemon
16-05-2009, 07:42 PM
Yea I noticed no snapper , It's an important one to get right on size and bag limit nsw and qld, I thought the pics were a bit blurred, on mine anyway

darylive
16-05-2009, 09:33 PM
Well I bought the courier just for the sticker.

Got home dug through umpteen pages of Bull$#it only to find there is no bloody sticker only a token. :(

Now from what you all say it is wrong anyway.

I can't say I am surprised what would you expect when you combine the ability of the Labour Govt with the skill of the Courier Mail :-/.

Incompetence and deception >:(

Kero
17-05-2009, 06:41 AM

Measuring device. DPI&F recommends using a sturdy ruler or coil tape measure to determine the length of catch. Adhesive or stick-on devices can shrink when exposed to weather and be unreliable.

During the winter mornings I suspect that most of us can suffer from a bit of shrinkage, leaving the device unreliable. Yet we'll all proudly say that it is really a lot bigger than it looks!;D

17-05-2009, 11:09 AM
doesnt mention female muddies are a no catch, and do QLd now call them blue swimmers as NSW does? Hasnt Qld always called them sandies? Small mater yes, but whynot add it to the list of mistakes on it.

Whitto
17-05-2009, 11:26 AM
The old we get what we pay for syndrome......The roosters who put this together proberbly thought there was no need to mention Snapper......Why would the punters want to know about a turtle.....Fair dinkum it makes ya wonder:o

Ausfish
17-05-2009, 11:36 AM
Mistakes or not, at the end of the day it has put fishing on the front page of the paper and shown it as a fun and family past time. The photo could have had a kid or two in the tinnie with mum and dad, but hey, it is still good to see.

jayvee
17-05-2009, 11:45 AM
the photo of the jack looks like it was frozen for 2 weeks before it was taken, and the redthroat sweetlip size limit of 25cm WTF??? it looks more like a redthroat emperor to me with a size limit of 38cm. and i wasnt aware dusky flathead could only be targeted in depths to at least 30m. oh yeah and find me 1 jack fisherman on here that throws lures for jacks using only 30cm of leader...considering jacks are king when it comes to rubbing you off on structure. id be thinking nothing less than a meter of leader!!!!
just my thoughts
JAYVEE

17-05-2009, 11:52 AM
Just as a sideline to the first sticker thread but have you looked at the relevant species on the sticker, for instance:-

1.When is the last time you have caught a Murray Cod in Queensland?
2.Where is the snapper size and bag limit?
3.Where is the Pearl Perch size and bag limit?
4.Where is the Parrot size and bag limit?
5.Where is the Cobia size and bag limit?
6.Where is the Yellow tail kingfish size and bag limit?
7.Where is the Maori cod size and bag limit?

These are just 7 species I am targeting and snapper, kingfish and maori cod would have to be highly regulated within Queensland.

I think they had space for another 10 descriptions, but wait, maybe they were just targeting the casual fisherman that catches fish to 90 centimetres. I think not!

I think I am in the target fishermen category and the Queensland government has spent a sum of money on a publicity stunt that has failed in my opinion.

What do you think? Have they catered for you catch categories?

17-05-2009, 11:58 AM
what do you expect..you got it for free..and you gave some money to News Corp..Rupert would be saying thanks to you all.

dreemon
17-05-2009, 12:17 PM
Very true, it was half way thought out, and would rather see fish on it that are more commonly caught and quick referance to get the fish back in the water faster if it's not leagal size,

I would like to see Ausfish make the sticker and all members can vote what species are worth while and then it can be made very accurate ,
I'd buy one for sure ;D

whatscracken
17-05-2009, 12:39 PM
I agree BaitThrower, the image quailty is piss poor alright. They have really missed the mark on what could have been an effective tool for every rec. fisho.

17-05-2009, 12:59 PM
Very true, it was half way thought out, and would rather see fish on it that are more commonly caught and quick referance to get the fish back in the water faster if it's not leagal size,

I would like to see Ausfish make the sticker and all members can vote what species are worth while and then it can be made very accurate ,
I'd buy one for sure ;D

dreemon..why don't you design them and have them made and you could sell them to members and others..you might make a dollar.

17-05-2009, 01:00 PM
what do you expect..you got it for free..and you gave some money to News Corp..Rupert would be saying thanks to you all.

It was on the counter at the servo where I was getting fuel at 8.00 pm Saturday and I asked if I could have one. The operator said yes and then I asked if I had to but a paper and he said no. Did you pay for yours?

17-05-2009, 01:02 PM
Angla..I did not get one..not interested in a sticker for in the boat...I rarely buy a paper anyway..just as easy to read the news online...plus I hate Murdoch so not really interested in adding to his coffers.

17-05-2009, 01:11 PM
Might be a reason for the Snapper exclusion, Fishery's only go to any form consultation once they have designed a plan to force their ideological outcome through, probably more to come from these emperors men.

NSW has had them for donkeys, at least 15 years to my memory.

dreemon
17-05-2009, 05:17 PM
dreemon..why don't you design them and have them made and you could sell them to members and others..you might make a dollar.

If anyone wants to do it feel free . . . I have heaps more carpentry skills than I do puter or fishing knowledge , i'd like to see it done though, we caught a teraglin and spangeled emporer yesterday, but since I don't catch these regularly, we were flippin through fish guide books to see what they were and size, luckly they were way over and happy to see them in the esky;D , caught the s/emp when I was untangling a bad braid mess ( 2 lines) that made a spiderweb accross the tinny then felt the line go off ! , wish I had a vid of it :P

castlemaine
17-05-2009, 06:46 PM
If your looking for something along the same lines, but have a measuring stick,

I was in Leisure marine a while back and on the front counter they have a stand with picture cards (dont know what else to call it), high quality pictures of fish, size, bag limits, good eating and coral fin reef fish all the info you could want, plastic coated as well to keep the moisture out.

they are pretty good value, good photos and both sides of the card is full of pictures best part, they were $10.00, mines in the boat now..

Honda

Good call Honda, I bought mine at BCF (aghh) and good investment for 10 bucks. Recommend it!
Cheers8-)

red rock cod
18-05-2009, 01:07 PM
LEGAL LENGTH FOR RED THROAT SWEETLIP IS 38 CMS NOT 25 CMS AS COURIER MAIL POSTER SUGGESTS.:o

red rock cod
18-05-2009, 01:09 PM
Red Throat Are Still 38cms

wirlybird
18-05-2009, 09:06 PM
the pic looks like a blue spot emperor which is 25cm legal size

RayDeR
19-05-2009, 09:12 PM
Maybe snapper is not on there... cos someone is probably going to ban it completely.

Ray de R

wayno60
20-05-2009, 09:30 PM
Last weekend the mrs got the Courier Mail and in it was a token to get an updated size and bag limit stickers that you would normally stick on the seat of ya tinnie.
it go's thru all the local fish blar blar blar ::) then it gets to the crabs.

Blue swimmers
SL: 11.5cm min
no bag limit
Female blue swimmers are a no take species.

Mud crabs
SL: 15 cm min
BL: 10

Now were fem blues always aloud to be taken and now their not?
just thought it was strange that there is no mention about fem muddies and for sure they would have said the same about jennies.

uglyfish
21-05-2009, 07:28 AM
all female crabs in qld are a no take species,always have been

wayno60
21-05-2009, 08:45 PM
yer i knew muddies were just didnt know about the blues.

Ausfish
23-05-2009, 04:37 PM
I have been contacted by a Newsagent that has about 150 of these stickers left over.

If there is an organisation that can use them please contact me and I will pass on your details to the Newsagent.

I know there are some questions and concerns over the stickers but I am sure some kids fishing clinic or school or something could use them as they are.

26-05-2009, 09:23 AM
Maybe snapper is not on there... cos someone is probably going to ban it completely.

Ray de R
Close but no top self prize there for you.
The real reason for no snapper pictures or limits is that they were made especially for Pinhead. He's never caught one so what's the use of having the picture??
It's just a pity Pinhead's not interested in stickers. :'(

Angla..I did not get one..not interested in a sticker for in the boat...I rarely buy a paper anyway..just as easy to read the news online...plus I hate Murdoch so not really interested in adding to his coffers.

honda900
26-05-2009, 02:18 PM
There is a pic of the picture card in this thread, it is good value.. has all the species mentioned by everyone in this thread in it and the info is correct.

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?t=150315

HOnda

26-05-2009, 03:34 PM
Close but no top self prize there for you.
The real reason for no snapper pictures or limits is that they were made especially for Pinhead. He's never caught one so what's the use of having the picture??
It's just a pity Pinhead's not interested in stickers. :'(

not interested in snapper anymore finga..i have changed species now...I am going to become a grinner specialist.

26-05-2009, 04:21 PM
Is there a picture of Grinners on the sticker then??
What's the legal size and bag limit on the little darlings?? :)

26-05-2009, 04:21 PM
not interested in snapper anymore finga..i have changed species now...I am going to become a grinner specialist.

Interesting tactic that Greg. You will never catch another Grinner, and you'll bag out on those damned Snapper every time you go, poor chap...

honda900
26-05-2009, 07:45 PM
Pinhead,

Can help you out heaps with grinner mark.s. got buckets of em..

HOnda.

wirlybird
30-05-2009, 05:01 PM
has any one ever eaten a grinner?

Just wondering what they taste like not willing to eat one myself he he

Foxy4
30-05-2009, 10:11 PM
Yeah I picked mine up bt have yet to stick it on the boat somewhere. Sure is a great idea.

trueblue
30-05-2009, 10:47 PM
crabs eat the grinners - don't waste them - good chewin bait for the crabs. Still need mullet or something oily in the bait as an attractant, but a bit extra bait of something else keeps the crabs chewin on food instead of each other