View Full Version : From my Sunday customer on another forum.

04-05-2009, 05:33 PM
It was saturday evening and after a quick chat to Rob about the weather and we were all set to go the next morning. Like a little kid at christmas i was toooo excited woke up next morning about 30min before the alarm. Few coffees and a bite to eat my 2 mates and myself made our way to Mooloolaba.

After about 2 hours of going through what felt like a washing machine, we arrived at Cape Moreton where our main plan for the day was to troll HB and skirts for Wahoo and Mackeral. Roughly 30min into the troll the first fish was landed, a cranky little mack Tuna which for its size gave my mate a bit of grief.

http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y300/silver_my94_wrx/SQCS008.jpg (http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y300/silver_my94_wrx/SQCS008.jpg)

Short time later i was onto another cranky Mack Tuna, half through the battle it took a larger run than normal and put me off balance and nearly putting me on my ass. When it was boated all was explained :o

http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y300/silver_my94_wrx/SQCS012.jpg (http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y300/silver_my94_wrx/SQCS012.jpg)

http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y300/silver_my94_wrx/SQCS014.jpg (http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y300/silver_my94_wrx/SQCS014.jpg)

We continued our trolling around cape in which we were plagued with Mack Tuna for few hours. Then finally the reel screamed and line peeling off at a ridiculous pace. This was no Mack Tuna :P A heavyweight battle went for around 5 min then we saw colour, WAHOO!!!! No scales but this would of pushed at 16kg, hell of a fish!

http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y300/silver_my94_wrx/SQCS018.jpg (http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y300/silver_my94_wrx/SQCS018.jpg)

After a quick and easy release into the esky we had high hopes of anticipation. Out with the skirts and HBs for more action. Hour or so passed along with many more mack tuna, the boat was queit, i was dosing off. Then a sound we all like to hear zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz.. My mate was onto ANOTHER!! This was played up way more than the first. We gained most the line back fairly easily, then i think it realised what was happening. We had it beside the boat, then it was gone just as quick peeling off 30-40m with ease. Rob gave chase to it to keep it in front of mate and keep the tension on it. It then decided to swim towards the boat, where at this stage we thought it through the hooks. My mate reeled in line like no tomorrow to keep up :D :D

FEEL THE PAIN!! hahahaha

http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y300/silver_my94_wrx/SQCS020.jpg (http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y300/silver_my94_wrx/SQCS020.jpg)

When it changed direction we realised it was still there, also taking back the line we gained :o This thing was very cranky! We had it next to the boat, and yep it decided to take another ridiculous run. Boat back in gear and continue the chase ;D This was its last run, we had it by the boat again and finally in the boat :o :woohoo: Similar size to the first one, but a totally differnt performance!

barely able to hold it up :)
http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y300/silver_my94_wrx/SQCS025.jpg (http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y300/silver_my94_wrx/SQCS025.jpg)

After this it shut down a bit with a few mack tuna here and there to keep us busy. From hearing reports of the other boats out trolling it was a tough day, so we did very well considering. Few boats landing some little black marlin as well still :o :woohoo:

At around 230pm we packed up and called it a day.

A big thanks to Smithy from South QLD Charter Services (www.sqcs.com.au (http://www.sqcs.com.au/)) We all had a great day out!!!! I cant recommend him enough to head out with, cant wait for my next 2 trips ive arranged in the next 2 months, woohoo!

Eddie

Fishing_Freddy
04-05-2009, 05:44 PM
Another great read and some hard work by the sound of it. Well done.
Ken :beer:

04-05-2009, 05:49 PM
Nothing like happy punters - Well done Smithy.
We trolled and bottom bashed from the Goldy to the Cathedrals on Sat and Sun for a few squire and hassled a few trag.

04-05-2009, 06:21 PM
great read thanks smithy, top wahoos

do you think i was a shark that hit the tuna? or another mack or hoo?

justin

backlash08
04-05-2009, 06:34 PM
thanks Smithy, heard you guys on the radio, figured that you had a reasonable day given the conditions. We thought about having a troll but stayed with baits on the bottom and did no good east of the cape
cheers - Craig

Benno1
04-05-2009, 07:53 PM
top shelf Smithy...as always...thanks to Eddie for sharing :D...cheers for the piccies and report :D

Mrs Benno1
Sunny

trueblue
04-05-2009, 08:27 PM
What tackle is that there Smithy? is that the 15 kg BB elites with 15 kg line, or is that a bit heavier gear there?

trueblue
04-05-2009, 08:28 PM
another thing Smithy, what breed are your rod holder extensions shown at the corner of the boat for trolling?

where did you get them?

nipsta
04-05-2009, 08:36 PM
hey smithy nice trip well done long time no see i gather your days at the coucil are long gone i gather . since i saw you at that aaapa course a few years back
cheers simon

nipsta
04-05-2009, 08:39 PM
hey smithy nice trip well done long time no see i gather your days at the coucil are long gone i gather . since i saw you at that aaapa course a few years back
cheers simon

Midnight
04-05-2009, 09:22 PM
Gday,
Well done Smithy. A good day had by all.

Trueblue, they are Reelax Rod Riggers by the look of 'em.
$265 a pair in the Reelax cattledog.

Myles

vertico
04-05-2009, 10:10 PM
trueblue ill be making some stainless ones of those soon if you are interested ?
someone else is also interested on these boards :P
sean
give me a ring....

04-05-2009, 10:17 PM
Justin,

def a shark. Been sharked quite a few times now along with being taken into the reef by other trevors.

Mick,

Myles is right. Reelax rod riggers. $129ea at Wellsys. Yep a 15kg Backbone Elite matched to a TLD20 I bought off Koppy. I also have a 10kg one for 8kg line but I fish 10-15-24kg on charter. I have a couple of older Shimano Beastmaster rods there in the pics as well. Mostly TLD25s, some 20s and a Tyrnos 20 with 24kg on it.

Simon,

yeh that is a few years ago now. Don't miss it. Council amalgamations are still proving tough at home.

nipsta
05-05-2009, 05:41 AM
not wrong about tough people all over the place and not happy campers for sure

uripper
05-05-2009, 07:45 AM
thanks for sharing - great read & pics
any tips please on lure type /colour /spread pattern /speed etc??
MalM

JJT
05-05-2009, 08:35 AM
considering the looks of the weather top notch smithy

05-05-2009, 08:36 AM
Always got a couple of skirts out rigged on wire, both marlin type skirts and/or bullet heads or lead head high speed type skirts on the riggers and then I chop and change a fair bit with the minnows on the flat lines. So far the skirts have claimed more wahoo with the minnows only claiming 3. One on a 190 Halco and the two others on a Lively Lures Blue Pilly. My other main minnow, the same as Frankoo, is the 4" Lively Lures Mack Bait. It is more a tuna catcher though.

The faster you go the better, like 8knots. It is a judgement call with your fuel though so I have just been plodding around at 6knots and 2,000rpm probably burning something like 7 litres an hour most of the time.

trueblue
05-05-2009, 10:15 AM
trueblue ill be making some stainless ones of those soon if you are interested ?
someone else is also interested on these boards :P
sean
give me a ring....

yeah mate. I'm interested. will call you in a couple of weeks.

Liberty
05-05-2009, 12:13 PM
Ripper report Smithy!

ooglie74
05-05-2009, 01:25 PM
Weather looks windy in a few pictures there mate.
Nice hoo though mate.

Cheers Troy

07-05-2009, 08:04 AM
A bit of video of Tilly on the 2nd hoo.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SQkyqkJn-gQ&feature=channel_page